BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Country Properties?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Country Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Country Properties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Country Properties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 24, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 826087.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01482233.

Business Management
Mrs. Cindy Puckett, Owner Ms. Nancy Dilworth, Owner Mr. Gilbert Johnston, Broker Mr. Tyler Puckett, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Cindy Puckett, Owner
Business Category

Real Estate

Products & Services

Country Properties is a full service property management, specializing in the management of residential properties.


Additional Locations

  • 448 Redcliff Dr Ste 112

    Redding, CA 96002

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have received a termination of tenancy dated Feb 25th 2014. The only reasoning I find on the document tenet has not lived in unit more then one year. It is not signed by the person whom is delivering the notice. It states I have until March 31st to vacate. I believe this is retaliation for the poor conditions of the building I have pointed out and asked to be repaired. There are many things wrong with it then my own unit. Exposed electrical fuse box's. The roofallingbuilding behind me which is numbered in conjunction of mine. If effects my health and welfare requesting and struggling to get repairs properly done. a lot of which has ben documented before to your agency. I am also disabled, low income with not much legal recourse available. I am currently contacting a low income legal serve for help if they are able to. I tired of the police being here from the neighbors that live on this same lot.

Desired Settlement: I want to stay in my unit with out any more hassle form the tenets or the owner. I'd really rather keep to myself. I want the repairs done property without hassle. The toilet will need a new handle as the plastic on finally twisted off. I would like that repaired. there is to much pressure from the toilet to be using plastic handles. I would like my bathroom painted proper so it all matches and no falling paint or cracks. Or a full refund so I can rent another unit, an to avoid being homeless.

Business Response: Tenants Lease terms:
Item #2: Month-to-Month: and continues as a month-to-month tenancy. Tenant may terminate the tenancy by giving written notice at least 30 days prior to the intended termination date.  Landlord may terminate the tenancy by giving written notice as provided by law. Such notices may be given on any date.


Toilet handle repair was dispatched to maintenance.  Tenants are responsible to notify the management company direct for any maintenance needs.


Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: country Properties has failed to provide proper safe housing. Safe and fair housing that does not make people sicker. The housing is not up to market value. Therefore I am retaining legal restitution. As I feel I have legitimist reason to inform the dangerous  conditions to the property owner. I have not stated anything that one of their Tech has not told me them self or to the property manager. the police are here all the time for disruption from the tenets. I have considered getting rationing orders due to this and notice disturbance after 10 pam or before 8 am per city ordinances. If the property owner can not protect their tenets and or provide safe constructional housing. then the property owner is at fault. This case has been reported the Redding Building Inspector. I am currently looking for accommodations however this could take time because of the low income I have to work with. this case should not be closed.

Sincerely,

******** *****

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved into the unit on 6/12/2013. Unit in bad shape has defective appliances, shabby conditions, ignoring issues when reported, AC, Stove, Frig someone took the wire from the front right burner and put it on the left front burner intermediate usage always slips. Left a bare wire touching inside. Showed to maintenance and ignored. Grease all in it with the wire. Stove is greasy, rusty, broken and old. 3 out of 9 windows open. One window that opens almost fell completely out first time I used it. Had to insert 4 wood screws. Missing safety rails on front and back porch. Back porch full of wood splinters. No front door lobby key or door bells. Took 3 weeks just to get a mail box key. Base boards missing and not painted recently. Had to report several times the hot water heater going out. Monitoring that issue seems stable as of today. Contractor came out 2 x's. Said it was electrical issue. Electric out side fuse box for #2 bare. Plugs are to close to kitchen sink less then 5 Ft. Old and rusty floor heater electric looks like cir 1970? Made by Marti the stove is a Tappen range also 1970's? Missing carbon oxide alarms. One to far from the kitchen. Lots of broken windows and panes. the shower and tub has a make shift shower that is causing water damage to the wall and retainer. Pint is bubbling up. It works with a hand held nasal and PVC pipe for the curtain. Bathroom sink needs a cabinet under it before the legs get jarred again and will fall off eventfully. Lights dim off and on. refrigerator needs cleaned out at the bottom my electrician friend said with a brush and vacuumed? The plate is also missing at the bottom of it. there is water damage around the sink in the kitchen due to linoleum and not tile. So it's starting to buckle. sink in kitchen needs new seal around it. Ants, bugs, cobwebs, and wasps everywhere. No laundry room for 4 buildings on one property divided into units. This one has 9 units. 5 in this house includes 4 across behind me same propriety. Where BTW the roof is so bad it's going to fall. It got lots of water damage there and a tarp over the roof for at least since I moved in. I did not note this until after I moved in. Toilet needs float and insides replaced. *** the maintenance person adjusted it once but it still runs. Mr **** the election said it's the float and needs new pieces. He also adjusted this better but still runs. Big burn in rug of bedroom and cigs and chop marks everywhere, floor counters etc. No wall boars for the rug so the rug edges are coming up. Some of these are not that important to me but some are critical as I don't want to be blamed for not reporting it. I'm going to pay for it when I leave and it's not my responsibility to repair. Moving is not an option because I am disabled. I am 53 years old on SSI. I just moved from a foreclosed house to get off the streets and out trouble to only walk into this nightmare. The sheet was so long when I inspected I ran out of room to write. My brother told me if I did not take this unit he would leave me on the streets and not help me anymore. He has since been fired by me and SSI and under investigation. I am also writing up a complaint to the city building inspector as that is what I was instructed to do by HUD. I would like the repairs done or free rent and or reimbursed for rent until the repairs are satisfactory and no longer a neighborhood hazard. It is a moral and safety issue. In the mean time tenets are doing their own repairs without permission, this is a gray line in legalities and I will charge if I am repairing it.

Desired Settlement: Inspect by a service company not affiliated non partisan, to replace stove, refrigerator, windows, sinks and shower. So that they are properly replaced with good workable appliances and not just any old junk that's cheap. the tenets have complained many times how things are not being taken care of. next door she said her frig had mold etc. and was from cir 1960's. Option two pay for all my moving cast including someone to help me pack and re locate. I am not moving as I can not afford it. I should not have to it is against the to tell someone to move if they don't like it. I will lose my deposit and pay moving costs all over again. I have only been here 3 months. and I have all these issues already being ignored for I don't know how long before me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
June 27, 2013 tenant sent a request for repairs - repairman was given the list the same day. July 3, 2013 tenant sent a new maintenance request - Plumber was dispatched the same day. This request included 2 items from June 27th - 2nd request was dispatched to the on-site repairman. September 30, 2013 - Management was notified of tenant's concerns via letter of complaint from the BBB. October 2, 2013 - Management conducted an on-site inspection. Contractors have been dispatched to repair items within our scope to repair. Our company procedure for repairs - Tenant notifies our office in writing of any reasonable maintenance needs. The request is then dispatched for repairs. In the event a repair is not satisfactory or a contractor does not call to set an appointment within a reasonable time (24hr - 2 weeks depending on the urgency of the request) the tenant needs to notify our office immediately. I believe Country Properties has shown the willingness to assist this tenant with repairs that are within reason.

Final Consumer Response
The stove was replaced yesterday. Note: Slight scratches but expected as it was from a reduced appliance store. Stove/oven operates as expected and received the manual for instructions. The elect. heater was replaced. The rail on the back porch has been installed. The remaining issue is the kitchen counter top and metal rim around the kitchen sink. I have been keeping it as dry and clean as possible. The water damage from previous tenet usage along with the chopped up linoleum cover. Has caused the counter to buckle and split out. The metal rim no longer holds the linoleum in and about 1/4 of it is missing. About 1/16 of it is breaking off. Caulking this area is not enough as it is breaking. No water leak detected at this time other then the damage along the back wall of the sink and the counter top as long as the length of the counter to inner wall. Approx. 3 yards on both surfaces. ***** called and said there where a lot of spiders on his inspection and that the fly larva was from garbage or a dead rodent/mouse etc. I sent another bug I found in my kitchen with the rent. keeping it clean has helped a lot as it was not cleaned when I moved in. The blinds are still dusty and have yet to clean them. The bugs however do seem to be dissipating other then the ants. I mentioned I did not smell anything but the neighbors down the lot of this property and is part of it. Let their dog defecate on our side of the fence by the Car Lot dealer. It is left in the drive for days on end. I have offered to donate my time to paint the bathroom if some supplies can be requested. 1 gallon of white flat and 1 gallon of white enamel or what ever else color the owner would prefer. 3 clean rolling pads ( @ the $ store ) 1, 4" and 2" brush or sponge brush. 1 roller for pads, 1 paint tray, 1 plastic type tarp, 1 qt of spackle. The vanity that replaced the old sink looks very nice. I would like to upgrade the paint as it has 3 different white tones and 1 color of cream. I will use the remainder paint to paint the inside of the wood windows as they have not been done in so long the paint is all cracked up if agreeable. I once worked for a contractor and also had my own painting business. My mum taught me what she knew at the time for Apt Mgr. Assistance. Please note : XXX-XXX-XXXX is my current number. Please make sure Country Properties and their affiliate's know that the old WA state cell phone is no longer active.

Final Business Response
As previously stated - Maintenance request must be submitted to the management company direct.