Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cook Realty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cook Realty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cook Realty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 31, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 12/20/1977 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00618471.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00999899.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00479391.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Trey Bonetti, Vice President Mr. Frank Cook, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Trey Bonetti, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Frank Cook, Owner
Business Category

Real Estate Services Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
Frank Cook Realty Inc.
Products & Services

Cook Realty provides real estate services and residential property management.


Additional Locations

  • 4305 Freeport Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95822

  • 4536 Freeport Blvd.

    Sacramento, CA 95822

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cook Realty manages my rental home in Sacramento. There was a change in tenants in November 2014. I was charged a "Placement Fee" in November 2013, and again in November 2014. I was also charged a "Management Fee" in November 2014. However, the Property Management Agreement stipulates that only one "Placement Fee" will be charged in any 12 month period. The management agreement also states that no management fee will be charged during the initial month of a change in tenants. I have called the broker, Mr. ******** ******* many times on his cell phone, and have left messages with his office...including emails...but he has not returned any of my calls.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund of the "Placement Fee" and the property management fee that was charged to my account in November 2014.

Business Response:

We have received Mr. *******’s complaint, and we responded to him directly on January 16th, 2015.  At that time we offered to refund his Management Fee of $181.25, but not his Management Fee of $70.00.  The Management Contract states that “…..no management fee will be charged for the first month under a new management agreement….”.   This was not a new management agreement.  We are due the $70 charge, and will not be refunding that portion.

 

In our January 16th email to him, we asked that he reply, and accept this resolution, prior to crediting him the $181.25.  We did not hear from him.

 

I have taken the step to refund the $181.25 as of today.  That will be the extent of our resolution.

 

Yours truly,

 

********* (****) *******, III

VP/Broker, Cook Realty, Inc.

4305 Freeport Blvd.

Sacramento, CA  95822

CA DRE Lic. ********

c: ###-###-####

w: ###-###-####

*******************

www.cookrealty.net

5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** ******, property mgmr, at ****** Realty did not fulfill contract. I entered into a property management contract with ******** ****** from ****** Realty on Dec 2012. She accepted my keys and I had a signed contract with her to manage my duplex. Ms ****** did not manage my duplex. In fact during the 2 months I was with her and company; she "lost" my keys to the duplex. I find there was no work being done to advertise the units and squatters had compromised my unit. All this happened under her supervision.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking damages to repair and secure my duplex. I have an estimate of $3000 from liscensed contractors for repairs.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXXx28 Contact Email: *****@cookrealty.net On 12/27/13, I performed a walkthrough of both properties and forwarded the owner the walkthrough reports. On 12/28/13, I sent vendors out for estimates for repairs. On 1/7/13, I began getting the estimates and forwarding them to the owner. I did not hear from him so I assumed he was working on them and would get back to me when they were ready to advertise and be rented. On 2/11/13, ***** *******, a ****** representative went out with myself to see the damage Mr. ****** was claiming occurred when he went to the property. The only damage that was there then that was not there prior to our initial meeting with Mr. ****** on 12/18/13 was the door to the storage shed was kicked in and it appeared to had been slept in and the lockbox was missing. ***** *******, spoke with Mr. ****** who had conveyed to her that we were to put the property on hold until he spoke with his insurance company. I have not heard back from him until we received the complaint through the BBB. I plan on mailing Mr. ****** his key back today (certified). There was no work done because he did not authorize any nor submit any funds to do any maintenance. I did not advertise the units as they were not habitable. Mr. ****** did not do anything to secure his units from break-ins, damages, or squatters. Mr. ****** did no repairs of any kind to get the units habitable. It is unfortunate that we could not help Mr. ****** but, with no owner cooperation it is impossible for us to perform our duties.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I can provide documentation including emails sent to ****** Realty that went unanswered showing the timeline of my case. I have cell phone dates and times showing that ****** did not respond to me for weeks after notifying them of their negligence regarding my property. As of today, 4/19/2013 I finally received my set of keys that I personally handed to Ms ****** on 12/28/2012. That represents over 3 months since I ended our contract. I do not accept ******'s claim that they provided any service regarding my property. In fact they were negligent in all aspects of our contract. ****** is not a trustworth company and am surprised they continue to exist as a business entity.

Business' Final Response
Yes, we did the walkthrough and I was handed a key for the unit on the right-side and Mr. ****** had a lockbox for the left-side unit which he gave me the code for. I have returned the key certified and I have a signed returned form through the U.S. Post Office. It was probably in transition when Mr. ****** responded on 4/15/2013. I scanned several estimates to Mr. ******. I was waiting for him to send in funds and approve them. Mr. ****** had stated that he would be doing a lot of the maint. himself and would let me know when it would be rental ready. I advised him to focus on one side at a time. Mr. ****** never contacted me until he found squatters there and ***** ******* talked to him because I was out of the office that week. Again, we were still waiting on Mr. ****** to get back to us because he stated he would get back to us after speaking with his insurance company. I can not find any emails for that period of time. I know Mr.****** called as we returned his call. ****** nor I can be responsible for the $3000.00 in damages Mr. ******'s property from squatters as he did not do any of the work advised and suggested by ****** nor did he submit any funds to get the work completed. The ripped open fence to the alleyway and the overgrown yard are an invitation to problems, Mr. ****** said he would be taking care of things and would like the estimates just in case he got busy and couldn't do the items. Without taking our minor suggestions immediately to stop the destruction of the property he left it open to continue the damage from the neighborhood/squatters, ****** can not be held responsible for fixing a property that we did not damage. We did not charge Mr. ****** any fees for our services. We only managed this property for a very short time, and without proper response from the owner as to our recommendations. Mr. ****** ended services with us voluntarily. He was not harmed in any way by us. ****** Realty did not cause damage to him or his property. ****** Realty considers this matter closed. We will not respond to any further BBB postings regarding this claim. Mr. ******, at his own discretion, may choose to pursue other avenues for restitution. ****** Realty will not be held liable for damages done to someone's property that was caused by others, and helped along by a failure of the owner to act on measures that could have prevented the damage from occurring. We stand behind our excellent track record with the BBB and our 25 plus years of providing excellent Property Management and Residential Re-sale Services with many satisfied clients.