BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Trident Investment Corp

Additional Locations

Phone: (530) 751-7040 Fax: (530) 751-7035 1110 Civic Center Blvd Ste 102, Yuba City, CA 95993 http://www.tridentproperty.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Trident Investment Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Trident Investment Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Trident Investment Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 27, 1999 Business started: 11/15/1974 Business started locally: 11/15/1974 Business incorporated: 11/15/1974 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis McNeil, President Ms. Ruth Browning, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Ruth Browning, Director of Operations
Principal: Mr. Dennis McNeil, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Services Landscape Maintenance Contractors - General Home Improvements - Additions Remodeling Services Mold & Mildew Remediation

Alternate Business Names
Trident Property Management and Maintenance
Products & Services

Trident Investment Corp specializes in property management and real estate related services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1110 Civic Center Blvd Ste 102

    Yuba City, CA 95993

  • 3017 Douglas Boulevard, Suite 300

    Roseville, CA 95661

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 16,2014 I did a walk through of one of their properties. I asked if the residence had ever had an issue with "bed bugs" and or "cockroaches" I was told no.After deciding that this was a clean safe place for me and my children, I submitted my application. within a few days I was approved, I put my deposit down that Friday and the following Thursday I came in to sign all the necessary paperwork and pay the remainder. I was given my keys on April 24th and I began to move all of my stuff in the next 2 days. The first night I stayed there was Saturday the 26th. My sister and I went to sleep around 3 am and we awoke around 7:45 the following day which was Sunday the 27th. We both within a matter of hours received an extensive amount of bites due to a bed bug infestation. I immediately called the emergency number and was told I would have to wait until Monday morning. First thing Monday I called and spoke with the Manager of Trident,******. I let her know the situation and just how bad it was. within the past week, myself and my 3 small children were left homeless. I had to receive medical attention due to the swelling and reaction from a few hours of sleeping in my new home. It has been well over and week of dealing with the manager and pest control.Finally Friday May 2nd I went in while they sprayed. I was told it would be safe within a few hours and I could bring my children and we could stay. I decided to wait 48 hours just to be sure. I returned to my residence on Sunday May 4,2014 at 2:30 pm and began to look around and vacuum. once I got to my room I saw the huge amount of infestation along my bedroom wall. They're were several nests and still many live bugs. I gave them all my money to move in and in turn have been tossed around with unanswered questions. The manager has not met with me like I had asked several times. She told me I would receive renters credit. I have been homeless and left with nothing and nowhere to go. I just hope that someone doesn't make the same mistake.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the money I paid to get into my place, as well as the receipt I submitted for the items I needed to purchase to save my mattresses. I would like my lease to be dismissed and all of my belongings cleaned and heated and moved out of my apartment. If this is not done I will have no other option than to seek assistance.

Consumer Response: Trident property management and I have settled. They have released me from my lease, refunded my money as well as given me $1000 for my trouble. They had me sign a contract stating I forgo any rights to taking any further legal action against them and the owners trust fund. I just want the nightmare to be over and I will never again step foot near trident property again. They caused me to be homeless for 2 weeks until they decided to settle. It's been horrible. And the manager was extremely unprofessional.  She tried to tell me she had given me the entire amount I had paid trident... which was 912.38 and she tried to give me 699.00 after debating for a few minutes she said she had proof that she had paid me the additional money. She came back and said we will have the remaining balance owed to you in a check tomorrow.  I went yesterday and gave back my key and than she handed my check. The issue is now resolved but business wise they are horrible.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are trying to charge me for days that i wasnt living in the apartment and for carpet cleaning when the carpet wasnt cleaned before i moved in and also were cleaned in november when i had to vacate for 3 weeks while interier roof repair was done

Desired Settlement: just for me not to be charged extra im not looking for money

Business Response:

We have thoroughly reviewed the claims made in comparison to the tenant's file.  This review included the tenant file, the rental agreement, photographs, inspection reports, and receipts for expenses charged to the claimant.  We have determined the complainant was accurately charged to fulfil the terms of the contract. 


Specifically, the contract required a thirty day written notice to vacate.  As such, rent was charged for the period of thirty days from the date the complainant’s thirty day notice of intent to vacate was received.

 

In response to the issue of carpet cleaning charges, the complainant was charged to have the carpets professionally cleaned as outlined in the rental agreement.  The Cleaning Standard Addendum of the rental agreement states the following in regard to the tenant's responsibility at the time a property is vacated:  "Carpets: Vacuum (including around baseboard edge).  A licensed and insured carpet cleaning company must professionally clean carpets.  If you arrange to hire a professional service to do this, be advised that you are financially responsible if the carpet is damaged, in any way, or cleaned improperly.  A receipt for the carpet cleaning must be provided to management at the time of your move out inspection.  See manager/management office for company recommendation, if desired."  The complainant did not provide a copy of the required receipt evidencing the carpets had been cleaned after the property was vacated.  As a result, the carpets were professionally cleaned and the cost charged to the complainant.


Both charges are within the scope of the rental agreement and permissible by state law.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trident owes me money for denying access to property I paid rent for and failing to refund a tenant placement fee. I'm disputing check-out assessment. When I took the property at **** ******** Ave in **** ***** CA, Trident employee, *****, told me if we needed to break the lease early, this was common and we could just pay a tenant placement fee of $395 to have new renters take over our lease. The property owner decided to sell the property, so we were denied this opportunity. Instead, we were let out of a lease early, but still had to pay for 2 additional months. They considered this a favor, but it was not what we were promised. Since no tenants were going to be placed, they should have returned the $395 we paid. After I dropped off a check for my last month's rent of $1400, I received a notice failing to mention the $395. Although I spent at least 5-6 days cleaning the property, they claimed $423.75 in "damages." They insist since I signed a form about their cleaning expectations, that I'm responsible for this cleaning. However, I researched tenant property law and found their claims of damages to be illegal. They charged $300 for carpet cleaning (no visible stains, just a thorough cleaning), $63.75 to paint one faded wall, and $60 to clean very minimally dusty blinds. Each of these items is specifically pointed out as "normal wear and tear" at http://www.rentlaw.com/normalweartear.htm I stopped my check, knowing they would not fairly return my security deposit. I have tried to work with property manager, ****** ******** who has continued to flagrantly disregard many key points and insists now I owe them $2095 and are threatening to take me to collections, adding a stop-check fee and a 1 1/2% finance charge. They have $1400 of a security deposit and the $395 tenant placement fee I paid. Tenants were not placed in the property, so this should have been returned to me. Neither were mentioned in the letter. The amount that they should have mentioned as contested is $300. Regardless of what I signed, they have illegal practices in determining what are damages instead of normal wear and tear. I believe they have swindled many others out of thousands of dollars with their bullying, threatening collections and intimidating them because they signed their 1-sided papers. The crux of my complaint is that the amount they say I owe is completely false and they are threatening my credit rating. They have failed to account for the $1400 of my security deposit and the $395 ****** already agreed was owed me. The contested amount they should have noted was $300. Regardless of what I signed, the $423.75 cannot be classified as "damages" but are, in fact, normal wear and tear. I believe they clearly owe me the difference of $123.75. However, there is more. I checked out on 6/11/12 and turned in keys. By law, I should be able to access the property I was paying rent for but I cannot. I believe, in addition, I could have grounds to claim they owe me for the time I was denied access to my rental property. They also continued to charge me water bills, to the amount of $197.44. They claimed these were unpaid bills, which is false, as bills for June and July have not yet been printed by the city. Overall, Trident is a dishonest company with many 1-sided legal forms. I have heard of their reputation for bullying and intimidating tenants, and I want to put a stop to it. I believe they should be thoroughly investigated for corrupt practices, especially in the area of inspections, access to property, and correctly accounting for tenant payments. I am considering consultation with a lawyer to pursue a class-action lawsuit against them for all of the people they have charged for "damages" which clearly violate the law. I told them if they would desist, I would drop my frustration and complaint. However, now that they have even disregarded the $1400 security deposit and $395 tenant placement fee they owe me, I'm taking this to another level. I very much appreciate your help in this matter.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking Trident to correctly account for the monies I already paid: $1400 for a security deposit and $395 for a tenant placement fee. This would reduce their demands to $300. Of this, I would like for them to drop all false "damage" charges and repay me $123.75 that is owed. I am willing to work with them on the issues of denied access for the months of June and July, after keys were taken, but I believe they should pay me for the time I was denied access in June: $887. I did not pay July's rent, because they were clearly not going to give me the correct portion of my security deposit back. In addition, I believe they owe the citizens of Yuba City and Marysville a revisiting of their check-out practices, complying with tenant law.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response We have been in contact with the consumer and are seeking resolution. We have been in business since 1974 and strive to provide excellent customer service as evidenced by very rare negative reviews. We clearly communicate lease obligations and when the need to charge a tenant arises we provide documentation to substantiate charges. Our practices are neither unfair nor illegal. In this case, the consumer has been asked to provide verification of payment of the $395 he claims to have paid. We do not have record of the payment, but will gladly makde an adjustment if needed. If verification can be provided the amount will be refunded as it is mutually agreed the consumer did not owe for this item. Before any further action is pursued we will attempt resolution directly with the consumer. However, as this has been referred to our legal counsel for review no further comment will be made at this time.

Consumer's Final Response
I have been sent to collections for $695.90. I thought the complaint was resolved, but it has not been. Trident has not complied with California tenant law shown on this site: http://www.rentlaw.com/normalweartear.htm. They insist upon charging for items that the state considers normal wear and tear. Also, there has been some confusion regarding a utility bill, which has been paid in full. They are regularly charge for items that go against state tenant law, and I will not be paying them for this. Please investigate the illegality of their policies for cleaning and repairs after tenants vacate their properties. Thank you, ***** *******

Business' Final Response
Correspondence was sent to the complainant on September 12, 2012 in response to his claims that our business practices in relation to the handling of security deposits were contrary to state law. While California law does provide that a landlord may not use the security deposit to clean or otherwise remedy "normal wear and tear", California law also provides that parties to a contract may agree to any terms which they desire so long as the agreement is not itself in violation of public policy or for an illegal purpose in the first instance. With respect to Trident's utilization of funds to cover the carpet cleaning of the rental, the lease (which the complainant executed) specifically provides that the tenant will be charged for this service. A provision for carpet cleaning is certainly not for a patently or even arguably illegal purpose, nor is is contrary to any stated public policy. Here, it is a contractual provision which the tenant agreed to and is accordingly consistent with contract law in this state which permits parties to agree how certain issue between them will be resolved, even where the result is perhaps different than would be the case if there was no separate agreement in place on the issue. Trident operated within its rights under the law to charge for the carpet cleaning because the complainant agreed to pay the charge as one of the conditions of renting the property. With regard to the utility bill in question, both Trident and the complainant made payment to the utility provider resulting in an overpayment of the last invoice. On August 7, 2012, Trident was in contact with Mr. ******* and he confirmed he had received a refund check from the utility provider settling this previously outstanding issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Representatives of Trident have ignored my concerns and multiple requests for resolutions. They are unable to meet with me or return phone calls. Issues pertaining to: 1. Property Manager identified potential candidates that did not meet Trident's credit policies and had questionable income verification documentation. 2. Multiple requests were made of me to accommodate pets and negotiate on tenants with credit issues and offer a move-in incentive (2 weeks free rent) and a reduction in monthly rent amount. I accommodated all requests. 3. Despite the above accommodations, there was a 90-day delay before finding a suitable tenant. 4. Company required deep cleaning of home (using Trident's recommended vendor) and carpets before they could take over as Property Managers and show the house to prospetive tenants. After tenants moved in, I was advised that they I would be charged $50 to clean the property. I advised that this was unfair as I left it spotless at hand-off. I was advised by the property manager that I was dirtied during showing the property to prospective tenants. Requests for refund were originally ignored and then ultimately denied with no explanation. Invoice had not been provided demonstrating actual cost vs. what I believe to be an inflated cost that benefits the property management company. 5. Despite a thorough walk through upon hand-off of property, charges for eroneous repairs, replacement of light bulbs and air filters were applied. Requests for refund were originally ignored and then ultimately denied with no explanation. Invoice had not been provided demonstrating actual cost vs. what I believe to be an inflated cost that benefits the property management company. 6. Paperwork pertaining to lease agreement, full list of tentant names occupying the property, addendum to lease to include original expectation that tenants are obligated to provide landscaping services (for both front and back yards) and confirm company name/info that it has been secured with, was not readily provided despite multiple requests. 7. Numerous messages were left for Trident President, ****** ******, requesting assistance with issues and resolution. To date, he has not returned my calls. 8. Multiple requests were made to Property Manager regarding expiration of contract - clarification was needed to confirm the contract is based on a 12 month cycle and not a 13 month cycle. An explanation was provided the the previously assigned Property Manager requested I initial the contract with the change date since the contract was initiated in August 2012 and not June or July. Despite this information and the fact that 12 months equal a one year term. I was advised that my contract would end on August 31, 2013. Multiple requests were made to receive confirmation of a 12 month contract. Trident finally responded with advising that they were agreeable to terminating the property management agreement effective 1/31/13. 9. I made a request to meet with the property manager and/or her manager at the property so I may enter into a lease contract directly with the tenant and conduct a walkthrough at time of terminating the property management agreement. I was advised that neither the property manager or her manager are available to meet with me. 10. A request was made in response to the above to send a delegate in lieu of the property manager or her manager and to provide me with the contact information for the tenants. I advised that I was unable to agree to termination of the property management agreement until an appropriate hand-off and new lease was put into place as this ensured my protection and that of my property. I am awaiting the company's response on this item. 11. The company has failed the terms of this contract on numerous occassions, does not send me monthly statements unless I request them and charges me for monthly service fees in the months of August, September and October that did not apply as there was no tenant. I requested a refund and was again, ignored, then denied with no explanation.

Desired Settlement: Refund for all eroneous charges and those that I disputed based on the above information. Wilful coordination from company to ensure an in-person, appropriate and thorough hand-off of keys, deposit funds and lease/tenant contracts as well as a walk through of the property before I can engage in a new lease with tenant. Tenants' contact information and assistance with contacting tenants to schedule a meeting to conduct a walk-through and sign new lease. Professional response to telephone messages and issues raised.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The following is written in response to ****** ******'s complaint filed 1/24/13. In regards to Ms. ******'s complaint regarding the leasing of her property. The terms of the leasing of her property were determined at the time of entering into a property management contract with her. The rental rate, pet requirements, and a move in special were documented at that time and approved by her as the property owner. A complete marketing campaign was conducted in an attempt to rent out Ms. ******'s property. It is important to note the rental rate set by the owner was higher than the current market rate. The increased rent along with a large inventory were contributing factors for the length of time necessary to find a qualified tenant. In an attempt to try and re-rent the property as quickly as possible, a less than fully qualified applicant was presented Ms. ******. While this applicant was not fully qualified according to Trident's criteria, we permited the property owner to make the final decision of whether or not to accept them. Ms. ****** declined the applicant. The property was later leased to a qualified tenant. The tenant signed the rental agreement on 10/31/12. We entered into contract with Ms. ****** on 8/1/12. During the extended vacancy the unit became dusty - as any property left sitting vacant and being viewed would become. For that reason the property manager sent out a cleaner to the property before the tenants took possession. The Property Management Agreement Ms. ****** signed states and provides for the following: Page 2, item #1: "Cleanliness. In the event Owner provides cleaning services prior to occupancy (which are not contracted by management), owner authorizes management, in its sole discretion, to determine if additional cleaning is required. In the event management determines professional cleaning services are required, Owner agrees to pay all expenses incurred." Ms. ****** claims this charge to be unfair. However, this is clearly an aspect of the contract she willingly entered into. As a matter of fact, to date Ms. ****** has NOT been charged for the cleaning that took place, or any carpet cleaning before the tenants took possession. This was realized during the investigation of this complaint and we have contacted our vendor to request a billing. Ms. ****** also reported she was charged for "erroneous repairs". Upon move in the following was noted by our staff during the move in inspection of the current tenant: The florescent lights in the garage were in-operable, the closet in the master bath was missing a door ****. Two A/C filters were dirty and one of the smoke detector batteries needed to be changed. Two separate work orders were placed and completed for these items. Ms. ****** was charged for the labor and materials for the items that were needed to make the repairs. Ms. ****** requested a refund for these items. Her request was declined because Tridents actions were permitted within the contract. In addition, operable smoke detectors are not only a safety measure, they are a legal requirement. The Property Management Agreement sign reads as follows: Page 1, Section D: (Manager is permitted to...) "Repair/Maintenance: Make, cause to be made, and/or supervise repairs, improvements, alterations, and decorations to the Property; purchase and pay bill for services and supplies. Agent shall obtain prior approval of Owner on all expenditures over $200 for any one item." Both of the work orders that were completed did not exceed the $200 spending limit the contract permits. In regards to the owner's request for a refund of property management fees while the property was vacant. This is the first time Ms. ****** has requested those funds and that request will be denied. Miss ****** needs to read her contract as it clearly states the management fee and that the fee would be charged regardless of whether the property is vacant or occupied. Ms. ****** has also questioned the end date of the Property Management contract. Ms. ****** changed the end date herself - to the last day of August. She also initialed next to those dates. We have been in communication with Ms. ****** numerous times since we entered into the contract. Realizing the property owner was not satisfied with our services, and after speaking with the President of the company, we decided to offer the option of early cancellation. She responded with concerns for her property and tenants. She did make the requests mentioned in items 9 & 10 of her complaint to the BBB. We have informed the complainant we are not contractually obligated to meet with her at her property to sign a new lease with the tenants, that the condition of her property, nor the proposed new rental agreement have bearing on the cancellation of her contract. Ms. ****** was provided the option of picking up the requested documentation at our office along with any keys or funds she is owed. To date she has declined. Ms. ****** was given the tenant information on 1/24/13 via email. The rental agreement and addendums were provided to her on 1/15/13 also via email. Please note that a copy of all correspondence and the property management agreement are available to the BBB upon request. We have tried to accommodate all of Ms. ******'s requests, however she appears to simply have no regard for the terms of the property management agreement entered into.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Trident's claims in their response are grossly inaccurate and their attempt to deflect attention off of their poor business model and unethical practices. Regarding their claim that I had not been billed for cleaning services or carpet cleaning prior to occupancy, this information is inaccurate. I was billed and the monies were paid directly out if my reserves account, all of which was managed by Trident hence, one of the reasons for my complaint. Vendors that I contracted with for cleaning services and carpet cleaning were Trident approved and vendors that Trident utilizes. Those vendors billed me directly and were paid by personal check, all documentation is available upon request. Trident advised in their response that I read the terms of the property management agreement. Unfortunately, for a business that operates by employing underhanded tactics, as Trident has, the agreement does not specify provisions for how these practices will be addressed. Trident's response advises that I noted an ending contract date that would have extended the agreement 13 months. When advised that 13 months exceeds 12 months, and hence obviously, an error was made when this was discussed with the property manager, Trident refused to review and correct the error; they were adamant that a one year contract was the equivalent of 13 months. Trident's response is also inaccurate in regards to their offer and my acceptance of their offer to terminate the agreement early. I responded to the offer in writing and have terminated the agreement effective 1/31/13. Despite this fact Trident has billed me for property management services that appear to be for February 2013. When asked for an explanation, Trident failed to respond. Lastly, and most inappropriate, Trident employed legal counsel to craft and send me correspondence demanding I withdraw/retract my complaint with BBB or face legal action. The letter is hostile, retaliatory and hostile and illegal. I stand behind my statements with regard to Trident's erroneous charges, billing practices and extremely poor customer service. My demand for reimbursement of these charges remains and therefore I am not satisfied with Trident's response to my complaint. Thank you, ****** R. ******

Business' Final Response
We have previously responded to the complainant's BBB filing as well as multiple email replies attempting to resolve this issue with the client. Legal counsel was also employed to review the facts of the complaint and our response, counsel determined our actions were appropriate and concurred our handling of the matter was in complaince with the terms of the contract. We have reviewed the accounting again and confirmed the complainant was NOT charged by Trident for cleaning or carpet cleaning. In the event the complainant's records differ from ours she is welcome to provide evidence of the deductions from her account with us and we will again review the file and accounting. If, as she claims, the vendors billed her directly and she paid them directly then the costs she claimed were deducted from her reserve account (which was managed by Trident) were opbviosuly not - both situations are simply not possible. If she had objections to paying the vendors those objections should have been raised prior to them doing the work and prior to her personally releasing payment to them. With regard to the originaly contract termination date, we have previously resolved to permit the claimant's early release from the contract making the original contract end date a moot point. We regret this former client has been unsatisifed with our extensive efforts including providing documentation, explaining the contract, making concessions, and attempting to resolve this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: did not honor either of their move-in specials or inform me of time limits $99 move-in Special $300.00 Deposit ************************************* That is what I was told in June by ***** from TRIDENT Property I am on Sec. 8 housing so we have to obey their rules which are not hard to do and on a fixed income of $876.00 a month. The first set of paperwork I sent to Yuba City where lost in the mail, bank account information, drivers license, SS number,a $10.00 personal check and a $15.00 money order. .Sent second set, I am approved so I have to send a check for $300.00 for deposit and it will be cleaned and ready for me. Between ***** taking a leave for her knee, ******* taking over and my Sec. 8 worker the whole moving experience took to long and I did not receive any specials Trident had a 2 week free rent even on the 27th of July when I finally singed the lease for 1 year. On that day I found out that to move in would be $525.00 from thinking I am paying $99 to getting a money order for $525.00 put me in shock but time had run out I had no more time to look so I signed and paid of course they said no money back just credit. I never know how much credit I got what Sec.8 paid nor what was expected from me. But I do receive a nasty phone call telling me I have a 3 day to pay or move and one to Sec.8 also and that I owed $145.00 rent for Oct.. So I had to get a direct deposit advance plus a $15 charge so I could stay .On Nov 1st they will take it out of my check and then on the 3rd I'll be paying out $195.00 for rent sure doesn't leave much to live on. I feel that I did all that was required of me in this move and that there shouldn't be any reason for me not to get the $99 special they said they held it for a month for me it was empty for 9 months and it showed. I feel that they owe me not only the $99 special but the cleaning and repairing I did to make it liveable for me and an apology for the way they treated me and the disrespect they showed. I sent photos so they could see my house who would put bright green spray paint on chips in the kitchen avocado sink? ****** ******

Desired Settlement: i feel that for all the stress and expences involved in this move they should fix the things that are not right in the traitor pay me for the work I've done cleaning, caulking, painting and yard work. I feel that everyone was rude to me and I jumped though ALL the loops that was asked of me so maybe me not paying any rent until 2013 might make me feel a little better. Thank you

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This resident submitted her application and the events described below resulted in her tenancy being delayed. The unit was shown to the resident June 13. When she applied there was a move in special advertised that the first month's rent was $99. However, she applied on 6/27/12 and did not move in until one month later on 7/27/12 at which time the special was no longer offered. As a result of this applicant participating in a subsidized housing program we were required to submit information to the Housing Authority - the submission was made July 3. We then waited for the Housing Authority to process her paperwork and perform their required inspection. The Housing Authority was not responsive to our requests, we attempted to contact them on multiple occasions including 7/3, 7/5, 7/6, 7/9. In an attempt to accommodate this tenant we turned away another applicant that wanted the same unit. The Housing Authority inspection was performed 7/17 and required repairs to the residence which were made on 7/24. On July 26 the tenant was contacted and informed the repairs were made and her move in appointment was scheduled at which time she was again informed there would not be a move in special because of the time period that we held the unit for her and the unit was no longer being marketed with w amove in special. She was also informed she would need to pay her 1st month rent amount prior to occupancy. She moved in July 27 after signing the rental agreement which did not include any mention of a move in special and which clearly identified the rent due. Nearly a month after the move in, on August 17, we were contacted by the tenant inquiring about why she did not receive a move in special. The fact there was not a move in special was again explained in August. In September she spoke with members of our staff and the topic was again discussed. In October the complainant failed to pay the rent claiming it was a deduction for the move in special but later explained that her money had been stolen and she was unsure when she would be able to pay the rent due. She was served a Three Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit on October 19. Her payment was received October 22. The tenant's rent for the month of November has not yet been received and is past due. In summary, the unit was held over a month for this tenant resulting in zero revenue for the property owner, we accommodated this resident several times granting extensions to the move in date in order to make sure the unit would qualify for her to continue to receive housing assistance, the lack of a move in special was explained multiple times and agreed to in the terms of the lease.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) yes they did try to explain why I didn't receive the move-in special but I didn't even receive the 2 weeks free rent that was still in effect when I signed the lease.I claimed my money was stolen because it was by Direct TV and they are rude to emply that I was lieing to them.Direct TV was also reported to BBB.I've talked to other tentents that did in fact look at this proptry and said they had to get out of here because it smelled. I sent photos to Trident as to the shape that they acccommidated me.They are wrong because as the photoes show it was not cleaned for me.AS I stated the time I had to move had run out so I had no choise but to sign but there was no revenue for 8 months anyway. I paid the $300.00 deposit the $25.00 app. fee when I frist applied, the special was still going never recieved any notice that the special was over until the day of signing which should have been mentioned before. Trident is right about the time it took to get all the paper work in order but IT wasn't my fault so why am I being treated thia way? If it wasn't lost in the mail, if Laura didn't need time off,if Blinda hadn't taken over would it have made any difference?This was the worst moving experience I've ever,ever had. to this day I haven't heard one word about my rent being late or what is owed. On a fixed income theses are things that I need to know,maybe what I heard about them is true.But I'm not like Trident and won't go to their leval by being rude they are wrong I feel but am having to deal with it for the comming year, Thank you for your effort in this matter.

Business' Final Response
Our original reply provides our rebuttal to the claims made. The compainant has provided no additional information to respond to and has simply restated her displeasure with the move in process. The delay from the Housing Authority may not have been as a result of her actions. However, it is also not a result of our failure to assist or accomodate her. Since the date of our original statement we have been contacted multiple times by the complainant who is unwilling or unable to accept the explanations and documentation previously provided - including the paperwork she signed.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to have our AC fixed in a timely manner& negligence and/or insensitive to our uncomfortable living situation. As of 11/7/12 our AC isn't fixed Around Oct/17/12 our AC stopped working. One that early evening when the AC went out it had this weird burnt smell and wasn't kicking out cool air anymore. Around Oct 18th or 19th my husband Kris who is Active duty military called and left message for Tina regarding the AC issue. Tina NEVER once called us back regarding that Oct 18th/19th phone call. I believe I called Tina on Oct/23/12 first thing in the morning because it had rained early that morning and the house was really cold. We turned on the Heater and it had this weird strong burnt smell (similar to the smell when the AC stopped working)and we weren't too sure if the heater was properly working or not. That same morning Tina discussed how that smell was normal since the heater hasn't been on in a year. But to make sure there isn't a problem or whatever she put in a work order for someone to come check it out. Well ironically, these two guys showed up the same day within less than an hour from getting off the phone with Tina. While I had Tina on the line I asked her why she hadn't returned our from call from a few days prior and if the guys who were coming can go ahead and it fix when they evaluate the heater situation. Tina basically said that they don't normally fix AC's in the fall when it is cold. Because it got cold after we placed phone call. It was only cold like two days that week because it rained and it was windy. We've been suffering in this hot house temp ranging 78-81 degrees with ALL windows opened, back sliding door opened, ALL three ceiling fans on, and our three personal fans plugged in for a few weeks now. When I turn the oven to cook the house stays at 80-81 degrees for hours even after I turn off the oven when I'm done using it. I called yesterday 11/6/12 and left a message for Tina to please get our AC even though it is Fall it has been an unusually hot Oct and Nov and I want the AC fixed ASAP since it been about 3 weeks w/out a working AC. Tina ONCE AGAIN didn't return my phone today so I called the office and asked the lady who answered the phone, if I could speak with Tina's boss. The lady asked what it was regarding and I briefly told her why and how I felt that Tina wasn't doing her job. I was put on hold then the lady said Tina wanted to speak with me. Tina informed me that she received my voicemail at 8am and she put in a work order. Also how John was given my phone number but didn't think he'll have the time to come by today. OK why didn't she call back to tell me this info. I had to call her to find out what was going on. Poor communication and poor customer service on her behalf. She mentioned that she can't force him to come out today. Something how all orders are worked on a urgent basis and how it doesn't matter if it's 110 degrees out that having a AC working isn't IMPORTANT! I told her that if our AC wasn't fixed within the next day or so that I will make a formal complaint against her. Tina said there is no need to threaten her, nor make a complaint because her boss will just tell me the same thing. Now both of my kids have stuffy noses and sneeze and my oldest has a runny nose due to having the direct air from all the windows and fans on them.

Desired Settlement: I want the AC fixed ASAP please! No more putting it off. May be even only have to pay half of my December's rent payment for having to suffer living in a hot and uncomfortable house for weeks with my four month old, almost 3 year old son, and my husband for negligence and intensity on Trident's and Tina's behalf.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The first work order for the A/C was received October 19. A service technician was dispatched on October 24. The tenant ws contacted October 24 to advise of the status of the A/C work order request at which time she also reported the heater was not working property. The technician was contacted and the heater problem was added to the work order. The technician investigated the problems and found no problem with the heater, and reported the A/C was functioning properly with the exceptin of it being a little low on Freon but recommended against recharging the Freon at this time of the year. The technician also reported the possibility the A/C was freezing up because it was being run non-stop and being run when it is cooler outside than inside the home. A second work order was received November 7 for the A/C which was reported as not blowing any cold air. A technician was again dispatched and noted the fan blower was not working properly and the necessary repair to the blower was made. The tenant made several calls reporting the house was 78-80 degrees and it was too hot to sleep in such a warm house. We advised that calls are responded to as soon as possible and emergency calls relating to safety or those that could result in further damage are responded to first. The technician's findings were explained to the tenant and proper use of an A/C during cooler weather. In summary, the tenant's requests for service were responded to in a timely manner. The lack of air conditioning is not considered to be an issue that could potentially result in a home being uninhabitable. However, we responded to all maintenance requests and the issues have been resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ADDED ON FAKE CHARGES AFTER MY KEYS WERE TURNED IN, CHARGED ME FOR PREVIOUS DAMAGE. ON JUNE 26, 2012, I DID A MOVE OUT INSPECTION FOR THE HOUSE I WAS RENTING THROUGH TRIDENT, AND TURNED IN MY KEYS. 3 WEEKS LATER, I GEOT A NOTICE IN THE MAIL TELLING ME THEY TOOK MY ENTIRE DEPOSIT ($650), PLUS THEY ARE CHARGING ME AN ADDITONAL $120 FOR REPAIRS. THE HOUSE WAS NOT DAMAGED, IT WAS IMMACULATELY CLEANED, AND WE WERE GOOD RENTERS. THE "CHARGES" THEY ARE CLAIMING (RIPPED VINYL FLOOR) WERE NOT ON MY MOVE OUT INSPECTION FORM, AND THE DAMAGE WAS NOT DONE UNTIL AFTER I MOVED OUT AND TURNED IN MY KEYS. I AM BEING CHARGED FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THIS VINYL THAT I DIDNT DAMAGE! IT WAS DAMAGED AFTER I TURNED IN MY KEYS, THEREFORE I AM NOT RESPONISBLE FOR PAYING THAT. IM ALSO BEING CHARGED FOR "PET ODOR" TREATMENT, WHEN I HAD NO PETS, AND IN FACT I HAD TO DEAL WITH THAT NASTY ROTTING SMELL IN THE HOUSE SINCE I MOVED IN. THERE WAS ALSO A CHARGE OF OVER $100 FOR CLEANING, EVEN THOUGH I HAD A PROFESSIONAL COME IN AND DO IT ON MY OWN. THE LADY (VELINDA) THAT DID MY INSPECTION COMMENTED ON HOW CLEAN THE HOUSE WAS, AND HOW IT DIDNT NEED MUCH WORK. BUT THEN I GET CHARGED AN OUTRAGEOUS CLEANING FEE! THE HOUSE WAS DISGUSTING, MOLDY, AND SMELLED HORRIBLE UPON MOVE IN, AND IM GETTING CHARGED FOR IT ALL NOW. TRIDENT HAS A GREAT REPUTATION OF MAKING UP CHARGES IN ORDER TO GET MONEY. I AM DISGUSTED THAT THIS COMPANY HAS LIED TO ME AND CHEATED ME OUT OF MY HARD WORKING MONEY. I DID NOT DAMAGE, WRECK, STINK UP, OR TRASH THE HOUSE, AND IM GETTING ABSURD CHARGES. SHAME ON YOU TRIDENT!

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY FAIR SHARE OF MY DEPOSIT BACK. WHICH WOULD BE $220 OF FAKE CHARGES THEY ADDED ONTO MY ACCOUNT AFTER I MOVED OUT.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Dir. Ops. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@tridentproperty.com Trident has a very precise move out procedure in place to assist both proeprty owners and tenants in fairly assessing for tenant caused damage in comparision to normal wear and tear. This previous tenant also submitted their concerns to us and a response has previously been provided direclty to them. The claim of "fake charges" is unfounded as evidenced by our response provided to this prior resident. However, we did identify areas the tenant was due additional credits, and the credits were accounted for on August 1st , prior to our notification from the BBB of the tenant's complaint. Our company makes great effort to resolve issues directly with the consumer, which has already been accomplished in this case.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1