Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sunburst Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sunburst Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sunburst Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 19, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1981 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01011307.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01977380.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00935790.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Jill Steiner, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Jill Steiner, Owner
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Sunburst Properties

Additional Locations

  • 137 Riverside Ave

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 788-4223


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the time I was a tenant under Sunburst Property management (08/2009-08/2015), I feel that I was harassed and mistreated on multiple occasions. The first incident was in their office when i signed the rental contract. ******** became upset that I arrived 15 minutes early than the scheduled time and began telling her coworker who was about 2 feet from me how much she hated when people didn't keep their appointment. The 2nd incident involved Jill arriving to my home at 730pm to hand me a 3 day notice for not paying my rent. My rent check was given to them on time but misplaced by one of the women in the office. After handing me the incorrect 3 day notice, she began asking me why I had so many belongings in my garage and asked if the two friends who were visiting lived in my home and I had not reported this. She then proceeded to tell me that she lived in Lincoln and would be driving by the property to keep an eye out. The most recent incident occurred when I moved out of the home due to me purchasing a home. I called, spoke to ******** and requested and extra week after my 30 days was up with the understanding that I would be required to pay additional rent. She became completely upset and began telling me that I was required to return the keys, they were going to send a locksmith to lock me out of the home, and I was going to pay for the locksmith. I told her she was being very unprofessional and I didn't understand why they couldn't just charge additional rent, she hung up on me while I was explaining this. I called back, she said to me "I don't need to deal with this today" and hung up again. My husband called right after I did in hopes to resolve the situation, she stated to him that she was not going to go through all of this with him and hung up on him as well. I have since called them 4 separate times to try and resolve this issue, twice I've asked for the manager but they refused to let me speak with her, two other times I left messages with no return call.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to be thoroughly investigated for their lack of customer service, professionalism, and courtesy to clients. They are charging me for inaccurate items on top of keeping my full deposit. They are not honest with their allegations and refuse to return any calls and hang up when issues arise. I do not feel this company deserves to be in business any longer for all the terrible service they've provided to so many tenants. I believe my deposit should also be returned.

Business Response:

To answer *******'s letter, I do not believe that we mistreated her when she signed her documents in 2009.  Typically when people come in early to sign their papers we are happy, especially when they sign on a Friday (which was the day that they signed)  If I came by her house to serve a notice for non payment of rent, I would not ask anything about belongings in he garage, as I was just there to discuss rent and nothing more.  I don't believe a rent check was misplaced by someone in the office, it was just late.  Notices for non payment of rent are not served unless we can not reach the tenant by phone or they don't return calls.  If I had spoken to her regarding this, and if in fact a check was misplaced there would never have been a need for me to come to the property.  Of course we do drive by the properties that we manage, as this is part of our Management Service for the owners.

When ******* and Craig came into the office to give their 30 day notice, they gave us a specific date as to when they would be out.  Then an additional time was requested, which was accomodated, even though we had a anxious owner with a Mortgage Payment due and wanting the property re-rented as soon as possible.  We even had to put people off that wanted to see the property, as we awaited the keys being returned.  When the keys were returned, we sent out a locksmith to re-key the property as we do this when tenants vacate and ******* was still there delaying the process for showing the property and doing the necessary repairs even longer.  We had already postponed showings 2 times based on the word that the tenants would be out and were gone and they were not.

Once we got into the property damages were discovered.  We sent the tenants a letter along with the Security Deposit Settlement (which I have attached) and copies of the pictures that we had taken.  This explained everything that was deducted from their deposit.  As of this date, the letter has not been returned which means that they have received the letter.  We have pictures to substantiate the deductions, which exceeded the Security Deposit.  The owner doubts that he will ever be repaid.  ******* is more than welcome to come by the office and view the pictures.  If you need me to send copies I can.  ******* did call the office to speak to us and left a message and we did call her back and never heard back from her.

I am sorry that she is upset and stating the things that she has.  I always thought we had a positive working relationship, until now.  I tried to accomodate all of her requests during the time that she lived in the property and I don't feel that she was mistreated at all, I feel just the opposite.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Very poor customer service received from my property manager ********. She told me on the phone my bug issue would not be taken care of the same day I have called to get repairs on my unit and just recently to have a bug situation taken care of. My Property Manager ******** is always completely rude and harsh with me. They never follow up with me so I always have to call and apparently she gets irritated by that. I called to follow up on the status of the bug guy coming out here and she very rudely tells me "we have calls out, I don't have any new information and you just called and hour ago" I told her I didn't like her rude tone and that I was just following up because I have an 8 month old son and want to get this taken care of as soon as possible. She continued to tell me "Nothing will be taken care of today!" This was both disappointing in that it is a sanitary issue and also because every time I call in she is rude and short with me. I got very upset and told her to talk to me like a human being and she said "you don't talk to your property manager that way" almost like she was threatening me. I have tried to get ahold of the owner **** ******* to express my concern and have not been able to get her. The office wont give me her email or contact info and they even said **** doesn't use email, she only gets bulk... they continued with our computers are down and you can send a letter so we can get it to he." All I wanted was direct communication with the owner but was not given it. They were making excuses so that I wouldn't disclose what had happened. I want a new property manager as ******** is unprofessional and has no empathy for other people when she has a job where that is pertinent. I love my unit and the owner is great. I fear they will find a reason to kick me out and just get me out of the way. After ******** hung up on me, I called back twice. once to talk to **** which I was unsuccessful. I talked to ***** the front office lady who was great. She told me they were working on it which is all I wanted. ******** called me back shortly after saying a bug guy would be calling me. The bug guy did call me and he will be coming shortly. I'm not sure why ******** told me "nothing would be done today" when it is such a cleanliness issue. I feel like she only then made the attempt to help me after I called back asking to speak with the owner.

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak with the owner about this problem. I would like a new property manager assigned to me, and I would like an apology for the way ******** spoke to me with little remorse or empathy for my situation.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Hi Better Business Bureau, I wanted to let you know that I personally spoke to ********** ******** on Tuesday night. She seemed happy to hear from me. I was unaware of her concerns and listened to her tell me what had happened. I explained that I did not know there was any problem, as I was told that the problem had been resolved. She said that everything had been fixed and worked out but she still was glad to hear from me. I explained that I am gone sometimes taking care of my elderly parents in Southern California. Therefore, we worked out a solution for the future. Should she need to talk to me and she was satisfied with. I believe that this will take care of any future problems that she might have with the office. Should you have any questions please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I am leaving for the next week, but I will be back on the 5th of August. Thanks so much for your help. **** *******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)