BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Frontier Property Management & Sales?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Frontier Property Management & Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Frontier Property Management & Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Frontier Property Management & Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 26, 2008 Business started: 04/15/1999 Business started locally: 04/15/1999 Business incorporated: 04/15/1999 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 1260412.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 478623.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Carol R. Griggs, Owner Mr. Tommy Griggs, Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Carol R. Griggs, Owner
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Frontier Property Management Frontier Property Management, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers property management services.


Additional Locations

  • 14641 Mono Way

    Sonora, CA 95370 (209) 217-6610 (209) 736-1888

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 217-6610(Phone)
  • (209) 736-1888(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the 3 years I rented from frontier property management, my phone calls were not returned, my service and repair requests were ignored and my complaints went unanswered. I was denied a move out walk through, denied reimbursement for propane purchased as stated as common practice by their office and was not given proper explanation of security deposit disposition within the 21 day legal limit.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed my security deposit and credited for the large amount of propane left in the tank.

Business Response:

Dear ***** and ****,

A walk through was completed with you and your mother prior to move out and you and she pointed out items you believed you should not be held responsible for and I pointed out items you needed to fix prior to moving.  You did not request another walk through and I tried to contact you by leaving at least 4 messages during your last week, none of which were returned.

Your security deposit disposition was sent 13 days after your move out, well within the required time frame, and as you did not provide the post office with a forwarding address, it was returned as undeliverable and we have the return envelope with post mark to prove the timeline.

Any issues you may have with your propane company should be directed at them as we have no control  over agreements that you have with utility companies!  Most tenants shut off their service for propane well in advance of their departure so they have the opportunity to use the contents of the tank and not abandon it.

Your security deposit will not be returned and in addition you are being charged for $718.94 in back rent, $71.69 in late charges and $2330.00 in repairs/clean-up work. 

After your security deposit was applied, you still owe $1718.63 which will be an issue for collection at the home owner's discretion.

***** ******

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

This information is incorrect. You did not do a walk through with myself or my mother in law. Rather, you came to the home to show it to a prospective tenant and I simply pointed out a few pre existing issues I was trying to have repaired prior to giving my 30 day notice that I did not want to be charged for. 
I did speak with ******* asking for a move out walk through and copies of my move in papers. I was told my file was empty and that although I still had possession of the home I was not within my limits for a walk through. 
 
I am copying a formal letter I will be sending certified to your office with more detailed information. I will contact ******* and ******* propane for exact dates of the last propane delivery. It was well before I put in my 30 days notice, not within it. Non of which should matter as I was told by this company, ***, ******* and yourself that your policy is to charge the new tenants for the propane and reimburse the old tenant. This letter details out pre existing repair issues that you are trying to charge me for. It points out that you have neglected to provide me with invoices and receipts for exact costs of repairs you state were needed upon my departure which is all clearly stated in the tenant/landlord laws. It also points out that I called you well before the 21 day limit giving you a correct mailing address for the disposition. You suggested I go through the new tenants mail at A home I no longer occupy to wait for the disposition you sent there. I told you I did not feel comfortable going through other peoples mail on a continual basis let alone even once for the chance that the disposition may arrive. I was informed by ******* that this dis potion sat on her desk with no address for several weeks after I gave you my address. 
 
Furthermore, you state you left me 4 messages. I have saved the one message I received from you stating I could not use my deposit to pay rent. On the contrary, it was I who was continually leaving messages for you and your office that throughout my 3 year tenancy went unanswered more than 90% of the time. 
 
The following letter will be sent certified to your office...
 
May 28 2014

***** ****** 
Frontier Property Management
***** **** ***
****** ** *****

Dear *****, 

This letter is in response to our face to face conversation on May 21, 2014 in your office, regarding the security deposit disposition, and a letter I received from you on May 27 regarding a propane issue I brought to your attention during our conversation on May 21. 

On May 7, 2014 I spoke to you over the phone and gave you my current mailing address so that I could receive a copy of the security deposit disposition before the legal 21 day limit as stated by the California Government consumer affairs document. On May 21 I entered your office because, 12 days after the 21 day limit, I still had not received the disposition. I was informed by ******* at the front desk that she had JUST mailed the disposition on Monday May 19th,  2014, 9 days after the 21 day limit. You provided me with a copy and on Tuesday May 27th, I received the mailed copy ******* sent. All line item charges are written in with the word ESTIMATE next to them. No actual costs or receipts of materials/work completed were provided with the disposition, I have yet to receive a copy of actual costs with receipts as stated required by law in the Consumer Affairs document sections 210-222.   

I requested a move out inspection over the phone with ******* on Tuesday April 15th. I was denied this inspection as I was told I should have requested it at least one week prior to returning my keys. ******* stated these limitations were outlined in the move out papers I should have received via mail, but never did. 
By Law, if my security deposit disposition is not mailed out within the 21 day period, I am entitled to a FULL refund of my deposit.  In addition, I was denied a pre-move out inspection, which I am entitled to BY LAW!  Further more, there are several line items which I am being charged falsely as stated below.
 1. Clean up of landscaping.
 In my move in papers,  it was noted that the grounds were completely unkept and overgrown. A $300 credit was issued to us for mowing the lawns. This amount was not adequate enough to cover all clean up required. This did not cover the tree work and severe weed eating that was required. We left the outside grounds in better condition then it was handed over to us with the $300 credit in mind. This is satisfactory per the consumer affairs document. No receipt of work was provided.  
2. Window washing and balance of cleaning the home. As noted in my move in survey papers the home was not deep cleaned. Prior to moving out I spent 3 days along side a hired housekeeper deep cleaning every inch of the interior of the home. We left the property's interior cleaner then when we moved in. This is satisfactory per the consumer affairs document. No receipt for work was provided. 
3. Replace door jam where broken. Again, in my move in document, it is noted that the entry door was jammed and not securing properly. This issue was pointed out to ******* during a home inspection our first year of living in the home. This issue was also raised with Victor's personal home maintenance man during a service call to repair other damages to the home. This was an existing issue that continued to worsen from lack of repair. No receipt for replacement was provided. 
4. Replace various lightbulbs of various types. Most of the homes lightbulbs were burned out prior to our initial move in. We replaced several of these bulbs upon departure of the home. The others fall under the consumer affairs law that the home was left in the same condition as when we took possession of it. No receipt for replacement was provided. 
5. Replace cracked switch plate cover. As stated in our move in survey damage to several switch plates existed. There is no note as to which switch plate was cracked. No receipt for materials or work done was provided. 
The prices being charged are not of fair market value. No receipts of materials or work done were provided as stated as required in the consumer affairs document. I was denied a move out walk through and I was not given a security deposit break down within the 21 day limit as stated in the consumer affair document. Therefore I am due a total refund of my security deposit. 

My 30 day written notice was given in the office on Tuesday March 18 2014. I had recently received a large propane delivery. After receiving my bill for this delivery I contacted your office. I spoke with *** the first time I called. I was told it is cus***ary for the new tenants to pay for the propane. I was told someone would call me back about the issue. A few weeks later prior to my departure from the residence I called the office again and spoke to ******* who also informed me the new tenants would be responsible for paying for the propane. ******* and ******* had informed me that the tank is homeowner owned so they could not reimburse me but that it is cus***ary for rental agencies to charge the new tenant and reimburse the old tenant. ******* confirmed that this is Frontier's policy.  After I did not receive a return call from your office, I came in to ask about it in person. ******* called ******* in front of me, and then confirmed once again that the new tenant should have been charged for the propane I purchased but was forced to leave in the tank. I then had a meeting with you, *****, and you told me the same thing. You even gave me an amount I would be reimbursed as it is your policy to charge the new tenant for the percentage left in the tank by the old tenant. This policy must be honored. 

I will expect to receive a full refund of my security deposit and a reimbursement of the $1400 worth of propane left in the tank upon my departure as promised by ***, ******* and you.  I have sent this letter to the Better Business Bereou and I have filed a formal complaint.  
I have spoken with legal counsel and have been advised to try to settle this matter personally. However, we are prepared to litigate the issue. In addition, if this is not resolved in a timely manner, I will contact the Department of Real Estate in regards to your practices of denying pre move out inspections and returning Security Deposit Dispositions after the allotted 21 days.  If you choose to disregard my rights, I will file a Small Claims Suit.   You have until July 31 to return my Security Deposit in Full and to Reimburse me for the propane in the Owner's tank in the amount of $1400.  

 Thank you for your time and prompt resolution to the above mentioned issues. 

***** and **** *******. 

Sent from my iPhone
 

Business Response:

The security deposit disposition was mailed to you on May 1, 2014.  As you had not given the post office your forwarding address, it was returned to us.  I have the envelope postmarked May 1, 2014.  Estimates were provided which is acceptable by law.  The actual bill that was received from the vendor was sent to you with disposition that was revised to reflect actual costs on May 27.

  1. Clean up of landscaping. At move-in you accepted a credit of $300 for you to do the landscape cleanup.  As you accepted this credit, you accepted the responsibility to leave the property in a clean, mown, condition. 
  2. Cleaning:  Most of the home was very clean.  However, the oven was new and you left it in a very filthy condition inside, on the glass top and the hood.  In addition, you left laundry in the washing machine that took a great deal of effort to clean up and get the smell out.   Many of the kitchen cabinets still were dirty and some had personal belongings in them.   The floors were dirty, the fireplace had ashes in it, and there were stickers that required a great deal of time to remove from the refrigerator.  The windows were not washed.
  3. The door jam:  You had previously reported specifically that the security door locking mechanism was not operating properly.  The door jam was not broken there.  It was broken at the regular front door keeper.  That is why you were charged for that repair.
  4. Light bulbs:  No note of missing light bulbs was made in the move in inspection nor the notes provided later. 
  5. Replace cracked switch plate cover:  This was deleted from the 5/27 security deposit disposition per your request at that time. 

 

When you came in to the office and spoke to ******* regarding your move out inspection, she told you that you could have one but you stated to her that you probably were not going to get your deposit back anyway so you did not schedule it.  As I stated previously and as you agree,   I spoke with your mother and you on an earlier date regarding work that must be done prior to move out and at that time, you mentioned several items that you did not want to be held responsible for and you were not.  I also called you several times during the end of your tenancy and you never called me back. 

 

It is normally the policy of most propane companies to credit the outgoing tenant for the propane in the tank and charge the incoming tenant.  In your case the propane company is not willing to accommodate you, and we have no way of forcing them to give you a refund for services they've already provided. You should not have had the tank filled if you knew you were about to vacate the unit.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: the details submitted are inaccurate. 

 
On May 7 2014 I spoke to you ***** via phone conversation to give you my updated mailing address for the disposition to be mailed. You told me I should go check the mail at the old address. I told you I did not feel comfortable going through someone else's mail for the chance that the disposition may or may not be there. I gave you my correct address, the PO box I used the entire time I lived in the house and asked you to mail the disposition there. You agreed. When I came into your office in May 21 to speak to you in person because no one from your office was returning any of my calls regarding the disposition and propane issue, I was told by ******* that the disposition sat on her desk unmailed for 2 weeks as she didn't know where to mail it. She said she had just mailed it a few days prior on May 19 to the address I gave you over the phone on May 7th.  
On this day may 21, when I visited your office, ******* who had previously told me over the phone that I would receive a refund for the propane called the propane company in front of me and verified your office owed me the refund. You and I discussed this matter in private. You told me to give you a few days to work on the issue and to expect a refund. You now keep saying I shouldn't have accepted a delivery if I new I was going to move out. My last propane delivery was on February 12 per ****** and ******a. I gave my 30 days notice to vacate in your office on March 18th. I called to cancel my service with ****** and ******* on March 26. I did not receive any further deliveries after February 12. The propane tank is very large. We used it more frequently in the winter months. The propane in the tank at that time would have lasted us all summer. You can see by the timeline, I canceled my service soon after I put in my notice to move. The time table of my last delivery should not even be of concern though because I was told by ******* and *** via phone conversation that it is policy for your office to reimburse the propane left in the tank once a new tenant established service. I was told by you in the office on May 21 that this was correct and I should expect to be reimbursed shortly. ****** and ******* have advised me this is your policy as have former employees of yours. You gave me your word in the office that day. Your word should be honored regardless when my last delivery took place.  
 
Yes, I accepted a $300 credit towards landscaping shortly after moving in to the home. This credit was to aid in some of the clean up of the yard. Prior to getting the keys to the house I was told by ******** that your maintenance man would give me at least 100 feet of defendable space. This did not happen. The weeds were over 6 feet tall, the lawns were nearly 4 feet tall, all of the trees were in need of serious trimming and all the garden beds were so overgrown you could not even see the perimeter of them. I negotiated the $300 credit with ******* agreeing we would rent a mower to mow the lawns as the homeowner had locked up all of his yard tools. The $300 credit did not cover the tree trimming, weed eating or weed and debri removal. We left the landscaping in much better condition than how we received it keeping the credit in mind. Out of courtesy we did try to rent a mower to manicure the lawns prior to moving out. We were told by Sonora rentals that due to severe fire risks, we could not rent a mower. 
 
*****, on May 7 when I spoke to you over the phone I told you I thought maybe I missed a cabinet in the kitchen that had a few items i had set aside to return to a friend. I also told you I had done some laundry my last day of cleaning and felt I forgot to double check I had everything. You assured me that you had done a walk through and nothing was left behind. You are now stating there were in fact things left behind in the washer and in a cabinet. This is very upsetting that I specifically asked you about these things and you told me no. But now you are trying to charge me for the removal of these things. I am confused why you would tell me I didn't leave anything behind when clearly I did. You denied me the opportunity to get my stuff back and are now charging me for it. 
 
You said the interior of the house was clean but are charging me $250 for cleaning.  You say the floors and windows were unclean and are charging $350 for the windows. I know the windows were washed by the cleaning professional I hired. And I personally scrubbed every floor surface at the home the last day I was there. I took great care to make sure the floors were clean. 
 
You are also charging me for the door jam that had pre existing damage. In my move in inspection papers I noted the front foor was jamming and not locking/unlocking properly. I noted the entry door was getting stuck and hung up. I was told by ******* on a visit she made to the house because of a rat infestation that anything costing less than $100 to fix would be our responsibility when I pointed out to her that the door was really beginning to jam up. We replaced the door handle and lock. This did not remedy the situation. On a visit from victors maintance man Nathon, we pointed out the issue to him as well. I showed him the cracking door jam. He suggested it looked like the door may have been kicked in at some point. I let him know the door had been jamming since we moved in and lack of maintance was causing the issue to worsen. You are charging me $150 for a pre existing issue that worsened over time due to neglect of maintenance from your office despite my requests to have it fixed. 
 
I looked over my move in papers and realized there are no notes about the light bulbs. I had noted it in my own personal notes but never transferred it over to the move in papers ******** gave me. There were several bulbs out including the ones in the kitchen and living room. It is my fault for missing this line item on the inspection papers. However I do not agree with $70 for replacing them. You need to show receipt of these bulbs. 
 
You say I talked to ******* in the office and asked for a move out inspection and then changed my mind because I didn't think I would get any of my deposit back anyway. First of all, this doesn't even make any sense. I didn't talk to her in the office about this matter, I called her. She said I was outside of my timeframe. That I would have had to request it 7 days prior to move out. She said this was all detailed in my move out papers which I should have received in the mail. I did not get these papers. Also, why would I ask for an inspection to avoid having avoidable deductions from my deposit and then say never mind because I'm not going to get a refund anyway? The whole point if this inspection is to get the refund!!! 
 
*****, you came to the home to show it to a prospective tenant, not to talk to me about my move out. Just as you were getting ready to leave I asked if I could point out an issue in the bathroom that I was trying to get maintance on and did not want to be blamed for. That is all we talked about. We did not discuss anything else. 
You say you called me several times to talk about my move out. I received two messeges from you which I still have. One to say you wanted to show the home and one to say I could not use my deposit to pay my last months rent. On the contrary, it was I who spent 3 years leaving message after message for your office and getting so frustrated by the lack of response I received. My biggest regret is not writing down every single time I called or emailed your office trying to get an issue resolved. 
 
I do not wish to keep arguing these little points with you. I merely wish to resolve the issue. You say you are within the 21 day limit even though you didn't send the disposition to the address I gave you. You are trying to charge me for several pre existing issues. You denied me a walk out inspection. You denied me the opportunity to recover things I left in the home by telling me I didn't leave anything behind but are now saying I did so you can charge me. You promised me a propane reimbursement and are now denying it by saying I shouldnt have gotten propane in the first place. Your business practices are unacceptable and I am asking for you to right your wrongs in a timely manner to avoid any further escalation of this matter. 
 
 
 
 
 

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rather than returning our security deposit of $1800, the company is stating we owe $502.86 in various repairs and the local water company. We just received the PDF of the Frontier Property Management disposition of our $1,800 security deposit, reducing it to a mere $500 to be returned. It is outrageously inaccurate and, in a word, a lie. The "problems" noted in the disposition, such as "Sliding Door Bolted" and "Replace Master Bedroom Door - Estimate", are utter nonsense. There was a slight hole in the master bedroom door that was there when we moved in and that ******* emailed about, and nothing was done about it. We lived with it, it was minor, and certainly did not require replacement of the door. It states we owe the water company money, which we have always paid directly. I don't know what piles and holes they are seeing. We paid a handyman $360 before we left to repaint, remove picture hooks, general yard cleaning, tree trimming and gutter cleaning. The grass was not in good condition when we moved in. We have been landlords ourselves before and have never seen a disposition such as this. We have over 50 photographs of the house time-dated the day before we moved out, showing it and the yard to be in excellent condition, we have both ******* ******* and the movers from Affordable Moving who are prepared to act as witnesses for us, and we can provide other evidence to refute these ridiculous assertions as well. We paid our rent every month on time, sometimes even before the first of the month (I believe we were late once with $100 of the $1300 rent in two years), and to be treated like this is outrageous. Unless this disposition is changed - to include only a deduction of the agreed $70 three days rent for July 2013, and the carpet cleaning, unfortunately we will have to file a small claims court lawsuit.

Desired Settlement: We want our security deposit back, minus $70 and the carpet cleaning.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The tenants in this case were under a lease with the owner of the property, not our management company. We did not hold the security deposit during the tenancy, the owner did. When the tenants moved out, we sent her our thoughts on what should be deducted, she added some, we typed it up for her and sent it to her tenants. At this point, whether we agree or disagree with the tenant, we have no authority nor ability to help the tenant with the security deposit disposition. The tenant must contact the owner directly.

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billed me for services not performed. Lied in their billing to me for services not performed. Falsely advertised my property for rent. Frontier Property Management was in charge of managing my real property until I fired them for fraud. They sent me multiple invoices for work not performed: Invoice of 7/7/12 - 8/7/12, Requested $357.00,for painting of a bathroom which I paid. Bathroom never painted. The invoice states $299.00 with $357.00, received. Refused to return the $357.00. Lied on the invoice about painting the bathroom. Said they even painted the baseboards and there are no baseboards in the bathroom. Service Order dated 8/28/12 for painting the house exterior with funds received from me for 3,375.00. However they painted over the doorbell rendering it useless. Did not pay for a new doorbell or instillation. Invoice dated 12/10/12 -1/9/13, for 797.31 for repairing my roof on Xmas Day in SNOW & SLEET. They did not come out on Xmas Day. The whole invoice is a lie. Frontier property management did not repair or inform me of "NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR" ITEMS. They may have charged the previous tenants for these repairs, but they were never made. They refused to show me the security deposit charges or refunds from previous tenants except for one tenant. That work was not done. The carpets are full of pet stains; never cleaned, garbage disposal jammed, repair bill for this is $135.00. Custom made vertical blinds are broken and missing, a missing door handle, stove is ruined and inoperable, doorbell is painted over by the painter they sent out and inoperable. This is clearly due to their negligence and needs to be replaced. Kitchen floor is gouged and tiles on the kitchen sink are broken. Doors have excessive scratches and holes in walls from hanging pictures and tape on walls and doors. None of these required repairs according to their rules were addressed or fixed. Failed to notify the owner of trees leaning and about to fall on the propane tank with the potential to cause an explosion threatening both the renters and the house. Their own policies state all of these things should have been dealt with and they were not. Frontier Property Management Employee, Alison Daniels DRE License #XXXXXXX, sent her father-in-law and unlicensed contractor to build a fence on my property with out my knowledge or consent. She in fact told the renters, that I had given permission when I know nothing about it. Frontier Property Management encroached upon my property by building an unauthorized fence. The unlicensed contractor did not live up to his agreement with the renters, required all the money up front in violation of contracting law and overcharged for the fence by making it smaller than the written agreement with the renters. Please note it is not the renters fault as they were fraudulently informed of my consent by Frontier Property Management. Also please note it is illegal for a Property Management Company to send an unlicensed contractor to do work on a property they are managing. This act can cause a property management company to lose their license. Also please note on 31 Dec 1012 Frontier Property Management surrendered it Western Construction License #XXXXXX. Encroachment on my property is very troubling and upsetting. Frontier Property falsely advertised my house for rent as having new carpeting and paint both on their website and in the Sonora Union Democrat. I'm very disappointed in the rating given by the Better Business Bureau for this company as it does not accurately reflect the truth. I would advise the BBB and any potential customers to read the reviews on Yelp.com, Insider Pages, Citisearch and Merchant Circle etc. before considering any of their services.

Desired Settlement: Actual Dollar Amount Owed

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
****** ******'s Questions Q. Bathroom never painted; estimate was $357, charged $299. Complainant stated the bathroom was never painted and that there are no baseboards in the bathroom A. Not sure why she is upset because the bill was less than quoted. The contractor stated that he did paint one bathroom for that price. Q. Painted over door bell rendering it useless A. The door bell is on the inside of the house, those walls were never painted during our term of management. However there may have been paint on the door bell button rendering the three dollar item inoperable which the painter would have gladly repaired or replaced had he been made aware of it. Q. Invoice stated roof was repaired on Christmas day in snow and sleet. Work not done on Christmas Day A. The emergency roof repairs were dated December 25, 2012. After reviewing the invoice with the contractor, the date was amended to Christmas eve and contractor reduced his bill by $299.76 Q. Did not inform about "not normal wear and tear" items A. Normal wear and tear items are paid for by owners, any damage over and above normal wear and tear items are a tenant responsibility. The normal wear and tear guidelines have been clearly established under California law. Q. Refused to show her security deposit charges for previous tenants except one A. Normally funds deducted from tenant's security deposit are provided primarily to the tenant and available to owners on request. These records are available for inspection for up to 5 years. No request has been made. Q. Security deposit work not done A. All security deposits are required to be reconciled and residual funds if any transferred to the tenant with a full disclosure of all work that was paid for and deducted within 21 days under California law. These records are available for inspection for up to 5 years. No request has been made. Q. Carpet never cleaned A. Any carpet cleaning that was paid for by the tenants and evidenced by paid receipts would be filed but would not appear on owner statements. Q. Garbage disposal jammed - repair bill $135 A. Final move in inspection by current tenant indicates that disposal and stove were in good working condition at time of move in. Q. Stove ruined and inoperable A. Final move in inspection by current tenant indicates that disposal and stove were in good working condition at time of move in. Q. Custom vertical blinds broken and missing A. Blinds were showing advanced age after five years of wear and tear, but due to owner's reluctance to do repairs, they were not replaced. Typically blinds after three tenants have fully depreciated as per court rulings and can no longer be charged to tenants. Q. Kitchen floor gouged A. Original videos taken in 2007 showed advanced age of linoleum and numerous gouges from moving appliances over a long period of time. These periodic videos clearly show no responsibility of the tenant. Q. Tiles on the kitchen sink are broken A. Original videos taken in 2007 clearly show cracks and dings in tiles so cannot be charged to tenants. Q. Doors have excessive scratches A. Doors are painted and would have been just wiped down not repainted as doors are normally painted at the same time as the home. Q. Holes in walls from hanging pictures A. Interior paint and normal picture hanging wall holes are considered normal wear and tear after 3 years and are the full responsibility of the owner as determined by California courts. Any tenant remaining less than three years is only responsible for a prorated share of the costs as per law. Q. Tape on walls and doors A. No tape was noted during the last inspection prior to returning management of the property back to the owner. Q. Failure to notify of trees leaning and about to fall on the propane tank about to cause an explosion A. A picture is worth 1000 words. All propane tanks in this community have been installed by propane companies in heavily wooded areas. Risk from explosion due to falling branches is non-existent. Please refer to the attached picture. Q. Unlicensed contractor sent by Alison to build a fence, required all $ up front and making it smaller than written agreement A. The tenant did request a temporary fence for their dogs. We advised them to use the existing fencing area, however, if they wished to enlarge it they would have to do so at their own expense and remove it when they vacated the property. They were also required to cause no damage to the property. A contractor and his helper, who were doing work on the property at the time, were asked by the tenant to bid on an expanded temporary fence. Contractor did not have time to do the work but the handyman came to an agreement with the tenant. An agreement was reached between the tenant and an unlicensed handyman unbeknownst to us. Work was accomplished and full payment was made to handyman by tenant directly. We did find out at a later date that there was a disagreement between the tenant and the person they hired and as we had no involvement with the fence issue we recommended that the tenant take the handyman they had hired to small claims court to recover any perceived damages Q. Fence done without owner consent A. Notes from Agent, ******: I called ****** Buckingam when the application was approved by Frontier to discuss the applicant with ****** for approval to proceed with a lease. During that time, I told ****** that the tenant requested authorization from her to enlarge the existing fencing area for their animals. ****** agreed they could proceed if the fence was not attached to the home Tenant was required to pay for materials and installation directly to whomever they hired. The tenant will remove the fencing when they move. Q. Improperly advertising as new carpet and paint A. There was a typo and it was corrected when discovered but was of no detriment to the owner.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Frontier Property Management informed me that the bathroom in my rental property they managed needed painting. I tendered them check #4390, on 23 July 2012, and they cashed the check. They never painted the bathroom. I have photos and witnesses. They defrauded me of $357.00, and refused to return the money and continue to lie about painting the bathroom. If they continue not to return my money I will file a complaint with the Tuolumne District Attorney FOR FRAUD. On 30 August I tendered check #4398, to Frontier Property Managment to paint the exterior of my rental property they managed. The contractor painted over the exterior door bell rendering it useless. Frontier Property Management has the obligation as the Company that sent him to paint my house to correct the problem. Since they refuse, my estimate for is $129.00 as the least expensive door bell and a service call from an electric contractor of $135.00 to install a working door bell. Total for this work is $264.00. Frontier Property Management states it is a $3.00. dollar item. If so, why did they not correct the situation as I paid them IN ADVANCEand they hired the contractor.? As the property management company for my property that hired the painter it is their job to correct what he ruined. I have photos of the external door bell and it is painted over with the identical new paint the contractor used. Witnesses pointed out to me how he rendered the door bell useless. Since you refuse to fix the door bell which the painter you hired pay me the amount other contractors say is required to fix the problem you created. Cost of door bell and instillation $264.00. Frontier Property Management deducted from my incoming rent and trust account $797.31, for a Christmas Day Repair in SNOW AND SLEET that did not happen. This is one of the most outrageous lies of all they have placed in writing to me. They were notified on 22 December 2012, of a minor roof leak. They choose not to respond until 24 Dec 2012. They claimed to have notified Carter Roofing by phone but I talked to Carter Roofing and they have sent me a written statement they were never contacted. More lies by Frontier Property Management. My contract with Frontier states I must be notified of any amount over $300.00 in repairs. They never notified me and claim they didn't have to because it was an emergency. My new $300.00 limit was done online and does not contain an emergency clause. I have the written proof. The definition of an emergency is a situation immediately requiring prompt action. Acting 48 hours after notification clearly shows it is not considered an emergency by Frontier Property Management. They did come to the property on 24 December 2012. They charged me for 4 hours labor when they actually worked for only 20 minutes. They charged me $200.00 for materials when the actual receipt from Lowe's is $31 dollars and change. I have a copy of the actual receipt. I have witnesses that state that the contractor only worked for 20 minutes. They claim they amended the date of the invoice. If they did so, it was only for their records so they could pass state inspections by lying. I never received a copy of an amended invoice. Frontier Property Management Claims the contractor reduced his amount by $299.76. If he did so, that money was never returned to me and Frontier Property Management kept the funds. Again More FRAUD!!!!! $299.76 deducted from $797.31 leaves a balance of$497.55 which is huge over billing/price gouging for 20 minutes work and $31 dollars and change for materials. I have witnesses to verify all of my claims. The actual wages for 20 minutes is $41.66 and lets round up to $32.00 for materials equals $73.66. $73.66 deducted from $797.31 equals a balance owed to me of $723.65. The $299.76 they state was reduced by the contractor went into Frontier Property Management's pocket as it was never returned to me. AGAIN MORE FRAUD! NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR items per Frontier Property Management contract Item 16, with all their renters and the items list states damages to NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR ITEMS must be paid for by the renters. On July 13, 2007, this property was in perfect condition with new paint and carpet (I have original receipts,) perfect condition of all blinds and window coverings, absolutely spotless all of the house, all appliances in pristine working condition, Garage Door Openers, no holes in walls, no tape on walls or woodwork, no broken windows, no holes in linoleum, no broken or missing blinds, no damaged garbage disposal, no malfunctioning ruined stove, no doors with holes or excessive scratches, new carpet and paint. All of the above items are now conditions of my house due to the incompetent, fraudlent, poor management by Frontier Property Management. Frontier clearly did not live up to it's contract to charge and repair damage caused by the renters from July 2007 until January 2012. I have been given to understand by previous renters they were charged and over charged for these items, but the repairs were never made causing me unwarranted replacement or repair all NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR of the items broken by renters. Kitchen floor, dining room floor, kitchen counter tiles broken, smashed fire place hearth will be over $6982.91. Final costs still coming in. Had Frontier Property Management properly taken care of my house none of these repairs would be necessary or be as expensive as they are now. Stove completely ruined and not usable, cost $499.00 plus sales tax. Vertical blind replacement of broken veins $723.65. Carpet cleaning $250.00, Removal of tape on woodwork/walls and touch up paint $100.00, Holes in walls $250.00 to fill holes and touch up paint $250.00. Repair garbage disposal $135.00. Replace Garage Door Openers never picked up by Frontier Property Management $135.00. Cracked Bathroom Window, $200.00 to replace. Repair damage to bathroom sink cabinet. 100.00. Since Frontier Property Management has managed the house nothing was repaired per contract due to "NOT NORMAL WEAR & TEAR." Your claim I'm reluctant to make repairs is outrageous!. PER YOUR OWN RECORDS I PAID TO YOU $9,028.71, IN REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE. HOW DARE YOU CLAIM I AM RELUCTANT TO MAKE REPAIRS. THIS IS ANOTHER GREAT LIE BY FRONTIER PROPERTY MANAGEMENT. I made no money on this house due to your FRAUDLENT MANAGEMENT. Subtotal Due $9,646.56 If security deposit charges and refunds are available as you state, why did you not give them to me when I requested them? I still don't have them. Still trying to change them to make yourself look better? Stating I did not request them is an out and out lie! Carpets have clearly never been cleaned no matter what you say. Again, why not furnish me the receipts? Garbage disposal jammed was not detected on your exit inspection due to your incompetence. The new renters immediately sent you a very long list ot NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR items that you never fixed in writing. They also sent me a copy and are willing to testify to those facts. Again new tenants informed you in writing of the stove conditions upon their move in and refused to use the stove. Another failure to correct durring your exit inspection. Blinds Repair: You site court rulings stating that blinds after 3 tenants and 5 years can no longer be charged to the tenants. YOU HAD THE HOUSE FOR EXACTLY 5 YEARS AND 3 TENANTS SO WHY DID YOU NOT MAKE THE REQUIRED REPAIRS as you state the court requires you to do? Again I made every repair I was asked to make per your own records. $9,028.71, in this last year alone. You never once asked me to make such a repair and if you charged the renters, you never made the repair. Kitchen Floor Gouged: They renters in the house before you got the contract to manage the property were in their long term and never moved the appliances. Both the stove and refrigerator belonged to the house and were left ther when they moved out and were thre for all the 3 different renters you placed in the house. I do hope you still have your videos and you have not erased, doctored or edited them and they will show new carpets, paint, blinds, excellent condition of everything. WHAT THE VIDEOS WILL SHOW IS HOW YOU NEVER TOOK CARE OF THE HOUSE. Your videos will show additional damage to sink tiles that you did not charge the renters for or take care of. Your contract with the renters states in Item 16, that scratches and gouges in the paint are NOT NOTMAL WEAR AND TEAR. Therefore it is your job to charge the renters and fix them. Again did you charge the renters and pocket the money? Again per Item 16 of your contract with all renters, holes in the wall are not normal wear and tear. I have a copy of your contract and once again you did not live up to your requirement. Pocket that repair money too? Tape was certainly noted on walls and doors and the new renters sent you a notice in writing and I have a copy of said notice and witnesses. I sent you a written notice not to ever step foot on my property again. The new renters informed you of the dangefrof the trees in writing as one was uprooted and about to fall. You never notified me. Upon learning of this problem I hired a licensed tree surgern and he removed the trees. I have a canceled check and a written contract with him. After the trees were down you tresspassed onto my property and took pictures. Again more lies by Frontier Property Management. I also have witnesses who will identify you as trasspassing on my property. Your statements about the encroachment unto my property is completely false. The signed contract is with Michael Daniels, Alison Daniels father-in-law, and unlicensed contractor. No other contract was there as I have witnesses. To clain that Alison Daniels husband Sean was the contractor is an out an out lie. Also it is against all contracting laws to charge more than 10% up front which only unlicensed contractors do. I never received a call from ****** Sharp or approved the fense. I can actuall prove my statements are true. I made it very clear there were to be no structural changes whatsoever without my express written permission. Due to Caroly Sharp's poor performance she was removed from working on my property. She couldn't even make an address change in 6 months and was the laziest person I ever encountered dealing with my property. That is why she was removed and why we did not have a conversation. Your statement about impoper advertising is not a typo. I informed you of the false advertising and a month later you put an ad in The Union Democrat stating the paint and carpet, even though you were asked not to. Just more lies, deception and fraud.

Business' Final Response
We have been communicating with ****** ****** for the past three months. Her state of mind will not allow a resolution as she prefers to file complaints rather than resolve the issues. Our contract with her required that any dispute be submitted to mediation or arbitration which she has refused. We are preparing to file a breach of contract lawsuit against her so that it will force her into a court of law to resolve this issue.

11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 1,350.00 rental deposit is not being returned to me per my signed rental agreement. In July 2009 I moved into a rental house at 56 No. Shepherd St. Sonora California. I always paid my rent on time. In 2011 I called the company about my dishwasher overflowing that morning and I need someone to come out to repair it. Three days went by befor someone came to the house. I was told he was a friend of one of the emplyees at Frontier Property management. He never spoke to me and never told me what he did under the sink. Two weeks later I recieved a bill for the call. I refused to pay the bill because they said that they founf a artichoke heart in the drainage tube from the dishwasher. I told them that I would never put any kind of pit in the dishwasher and never eat artichokes. The hard wood floor in front of the dishwasher became damaged from the water. two months went by and the dishwasher leaked again only this time water was dripping through my bedroom cieling which is directly under the dishwasher. I called the company up again and said there is still a problem with the dishwasher and that water was leaking through the bedroom cieling onto my pillowes. A month went by befor Allstate insurance agent and the owner came to the house to observe the damages. Again I was told I would more than likely be responsible for all the damage to the hard wood floor in front of the dishwasher and the dry wall repair in the cieling. I looked over my rental agreement and no where does it say I am responsible for damages unless I failed to report them in a timely manner. I reported the overflooding dishwashe each time immediatly. Five monthes went by befor repaires were made to the hardwood floor , the bedroom cieling and replacement of the dishwasher. I was told it took so long because the owner (the person who inspected the house with the Allstate Insurance agent has a severe stoke and was in the hospital for several monthes. The repaires were completed in the end of June. At the same time frame I recieved a 60 day notice to vacant the premises.I was told the house was up for sale and that they wish me out so that they could show it. I moved out on Labor Day weekend August 31st and dropped off the keys in the office drop box as requested. I requested a walk through and the person just said to be sure to clean all surfaces change AC filteres and be sure to trim the grass around the front and the sides. On 9/20/2012 instead of recieving my deposit I recieved a Security Deposit Dispositiion stating I owe 3,104.00 for repair to dishwasher and flooded bedroom, 350.00 for carpet cleaning( even thou I had them professionally cleaned four dayes tio vacating premises), 300.00 for housecleaning, 325.00 for yard clean up , 275.00 for a repair to a door jam, and 65.00 for a lare fee. All these fees are unsubstantiated and fraudulant. I have pictures and an eyewitness who can testify to how clean we left the place yard included. The paint around the door frme leading to the garage was cracling I did nothing to cause it to crack. The yaed was mowed I actually imprved it by putting sod in the back by the driveway two yeares earlier. I am afraid that they are trying to recoup the expenses for the repaires by placing me at blame and keeping my 1, 350.00 deposit which I gave in good faith. I was not late in moving out so there should be no late fee. I was told by Carol Sharp that I could move out on the 31st that it wouldnt be a problem since it was the weekend. and I never damaged the door jam etc etc. I was told by the person who helped me clean the house (Louise Frietas)and the garage that a week after recieving the disposition no changes have been done to the yard and that tthe realestate agent was showing the property to a couple.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund of 1, 350.00. In addition the cost for attourney advisement fees 60.00 and four houres of time spent on corespondences and paperwork for this case. I am a veteran I recieve disability after serving four years in the USAF as an officer. I believe this business underestimated my diligence in seeking justice. I also believe that they thought they could easilly get away with this since I told them I was moving out of the area.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you for taking the time to review this complaint, regarding a security deposit disposition. We strive to resolve all issues with our clients as soon as they are brought to our attention. In some cases such as this, the complainant does not contact us prior to filing their issue with the BBB and on the Web. We will make every effort to maintain our A+ rating with the BBB and address all issues in a timely manner. Sincerely *** & ****** ****** ( Broker/Owners) After reviewing the issues, in the case we provide the following report. 1. Carpet Cleaning - Final bill $208.00 Complainant did not provide a copy of a receipt for the carpet cleaning that she had done. In addition, we have 5 witnesses, plus our carpet cleaner who determined that the carpet was still filthy and filled with pet urine. Carpet cleaner re-cleaned the carpets, probed and UV lighted all carpeted areas to determine where pet urine was and then deodorized those areas. 2. House Cleaning: Final bill: $130.00 The home was not cleaned to the condition to which the tenant received the home, less normal wear and tear. We have 5 witnesses: Frontier agent, Frontier office manager, Owner, Realtor from another company, and the cleaner. 3. Yard Clean-up: Final bill: $383.50 - Again, we had 5 witnesses to the state of the yard at the time of move-out. Frontier agent, Frontier office manager, Owner, a Realtor from another company and the worker doing the year cleanup. Hauled away garbage and debris from yard, weedeated, hand weeded various areas of yard, trimmed bushes and trees, and blew off the entire property. Because the trees were the owner's responsibility, the invoice was reduced to: $350.00. 4. Repair and paint broken door jam: Final Bill: $275.00 We have before and after photos of the door jam. It was not just cracked paint. The door was visibly pulled out from the wall with the nails visible. 5. The late fee of $65 was a typo as it was actually a tenant invoice for the pipe to disposal being stopped up. The repair was under the $100 limit for tenant responsibility defined in the lease Section 11 b "Maintenance Concession: Tenant is responsible for ordering and paying for all maintenance and repairs up to $100 per month. A receipt for each repair must be submitted to Frontier Property Management. A list of approved vendors is attached and will be updated as necessary. In no case will Landlord pay for materials or labor contracted for by the tenant without prior written authorization. Repairs that are over $100 must be submitted in writing to and approved by Landlord before work is ordered." 6. The water damage: On 9/23/11, tenant called in to report that her dishwasher was leaking under the sink and that the floor was lifting. We advised her to turn off the water to it and do not use it. A work order was created that same day and issued to a maintenance person. When the maintenance person arrived, the water had not been turned off and it appeared she had been using it. The cause of the overflow was an artichoke stuck in the line. We have photos of this object. The bill for this work was $187.50 plus 3104.69 for damage to the floor and downstairs ceiling. The owner has decided to not pursue collection of any amount over and above the balance of the security deposit. All of this information would have been provided to you with the revised security deposit disposition that we send out once we have all of the final invoices. Based on the final Security deposit disposition: $208 Carpet cleaning $130 House cleaning $350 Yard Cleanup and garbage removal $275 Repair broken door jam $65 Dishwasher drain cleared out 7/9/10 $322 Dishwasher drain repair and floor damage 9/23/12 _________ $1350 If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us directly. ****** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX or *****@FrontierOne.com

Consumer's Final Response
I have read the rebuttal and agree to the terms except for two minor expenses. The charge for drain clean out of 65.00 has already been paid. Frontier Property Management deducted the cost of the repair man to come to the house to clean out the drain. I was billed 187.00 and have the bank statement from Bank of America which I will gladly mail to Frontier Property. I am sure it is just an oversight on their behalf. As far as the yard expenses I believe that they are confusing this property with another. There were no blankets left behind unless this was done by the new renters who moved in next door they too have a dog. I cleaned up the entire yard front and back and side along with a paid 75.00 for this work. I will however agree to this offer immediatly if they will reconsider the expense for the drain clean out since they already charged my bank for this. Sincerely ****** ******

Business' Final Response
We agree to a refund of $972. You may contact me with your address and we will send the check immediately. Sincerely, *****@FrontierOne.com

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service