Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Whisler Land Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 446-6666 Fax: (916) 446-2136 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 161266, Sacramento, CA 95816 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sacramentorentals.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Whisler Land Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Whisler Land Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Whisler Land Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 13, 1993 Business started: 09/26/1986 in CA Business started locally: 09/26/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00937427.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Winger, Owner Mr. Mark Whisler, Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Winger, Owner
Business Category

Property Management - Industrial & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Whisler Financial Group
Products & Services

Whisler Land Company specializes in property management services.


Additional Locations

  • 1825 I St

    Sacramento, CA 95811

  • PO Box 161266

    Sacramento, CA 95816 (916) 446-6663

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/24/2015, I applied for an apartment with Whisler Land Company at 1813 O Street. The apartment was advertised as "available" on the website, with a $35 application fee. On 5/28/2015, I was notified via phone that my application was approved; however, the apartment I selected was already rented. Per California Civil Code 1950.6(c), the landlord should not charge the screening fee if there is no vacancy, or that there will be, within a reasonable time. I argue that I applied for an apartment at 1813 O Street, not any other address, and that Whisler Land Company already had a tenant approved prior to processing my application. Thus, the application should have not been processed to begin with, and I should have been notified that the apartment I chose was not available. Furthermore, I did not receive a copy of my credit report, leading me to question whether or not a copy was even ordered.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $35.00 to my credit card.Whisler Land Co. should also cease to charge prospective tenants for apartments advertised as "for rent" when they are no longer available. A copy of this report will be filed with the Department of Consumer Affairs to assure Whisler Land Company is not engaging in dishonest business practices.

Business Response:

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with applying to rent through Whilser Land Co. and are requesting a refund of the $35 application fee. Although we received this complaint and believe we followed our standard application process, as a courtesy to you, we will refund the fee. Although we are refunding the fee we would like to respond to the specifics of your complaint.

When you applied on 5/24/2015 the desired unit was still advertised and available. When we called you on 5/28 and left a message that you were approved it was still available as well. You stated in the complaint that you did not think that we actually ran your credit but how we have reached an approved status if we did not run your credit. We also left a second message for you on 6/8 because we had not heard back from you. The unit was still available at that time as well. In addition we had another identical unit for rent and our website explains that once your application is approved, if you miss out on the one you originally applied for, you would still be approved for up to 3 months if you find another property that we manage that meets your needs.

After leaving you several messages about your approved status, we only heard back from you when you left a voice mail on 6/23 stating that you wanted a refund of your application fee and you had submitted a BBB complaint. In your complaint you stated that you did not receive a copy of your credit report. All tenants are certainly able to obtain their credit report by simply requesting one. Please let us know by 7/7/15 is you would like a copy of your credit report. We will provide it but will have to charge the fee of obtaining it. If you do not want the report we will refund your application fee of $35.

We understand that you have found another place and wish you the very best moving forward. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Regards, ****** ******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I accept the business response and would like to accept the full refund of $35.00.
For the record, I was called after being approved and told that the apartment was not available.
I was called two weeks later and notified that a one bedroom, not two bedroom, was available within the same complex.
This was not what I had applied for.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I put in two apps (one for him and one for me) and paid a fee of $70 total for the credit check. We were told we would be contacted 2-3 business days. A week and a half after repeated efforts from us to obtain information and status as to what was going on with the apps, we were told someone else qualified ahead of us. However, we were misled to believe that everything was still processing as no one returned our calls or told us any different. We believe that our fee was taken but our apps were never processed and if they were processed, they were processed after they knew someone had qualified and there was no chance for us to be able to get qualified anymore as someone had already been qualified.

Desired Settlement: We would like out $70 back for the app fee we paid as believe our apps were never processed at Whisler as no one told us they were processed.

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear of your Customer Service experience with our company. We did research the matter and determined that you turned in your application on 3/30/15 and it was processed through our outside screening service on 4/1/15. Unfortunately the property that you were applying for was already rented by the time we received your completed screening report. Where the communication broke down is getting back to you with that information. For that we do apologize and will gladly return your two application fees of $70.00 (this will be mailed back to you at the address you provided). We want to assure you that this is not our normal procedure and although we do receive multiple applications on a property, we do try to respond to every person who turned in an application in a timely manner. Our typical process is that we show the property and accept applications until a deposit is in on the property. We notify people as they are approved and the first person to bring in the deposit is the one who gets it. If a person meets our criteria to rent and is approved but the property that they are applying for is rented by the time they are notified of the results of their application, we typically notify them that they would be pre-approved for any property that they make 3 times the rent on and if there is another available property that we manage that meets their needs we are happy to rent it to them. We follow fair housing laws and strive to be consistent and fair in our process with renting properties. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us to look at our services and make sure that this type of mistake does not happen again. We wish you the best with finding a rental property and would be happy to help you find one if you have a need for our services again now or in the future.

Regards,

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've asked to have mold removed and caulking replaced in my bathroom in my apartment. The office said they would fix it but no work has been done. I recently added a new roommate to my lease with The ****** Land Company in early October and at the time I received my addendum paperwork, I notified them of a mold and caulking issue in my bathroom. They assure me that a representative from their maintenance department would be by to assess the situation. No one ever came out to check. I called the office about 4 days later to make another request for maintenance to come out and left a message with that department's manager. I still haven't heard back from them. The mold is growing on the ceiling of my shower, has started to grow on the walls, and the caulking for the tub is almost non-existent.

Desired Settlement: All I I would like is for ****** Land Company to fulfill their duty to me as a tenant and have maintenance come out and fix the issues that they assured me would be fixed. I'm allergic to mold and now I have to shower elsewhere since none of the cleaning methods I've tried on my own are working.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
To whom it may concern , This letter is for the complaint case # XXXXXXXX filed by : ****** ****** (tenant ) . We received the complaint dated 11/01/2012 from The BBB and we immediately called the tenant and ask her the issue , we never have any records at all that she complaint about this matter prior to this case , But we did talk to her right away as we received the letter from BBB , We send our Maintenance Handyman to take care of the issue and it was resolved right away and we talk to the Tenant and told her in regards with the BBB complaint , she told us that she'll take care of it . But for our result ion and reply The Caulking in the bathroom has been fixed and in regards to Mold Issue she is notified to keep her bathroom tidy , ventilated using the fan in the bathroom . Please feel free to contact the office or email me if there is further questions. Our Phone # is XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason I don't accept their response is this: I notified the property management that no matter how clean I kept the bathroom or how long I ran the fan, the mold continued to grow. It had nothing to do with the cleanliness of my bathroom. Yes, they came out to fix the issue but I do not appreciate being told that I shouldn't complain to the BBB if I have an issue with repairs. The reason why I made the complaint in the first place was because they DIDN'T respond to the messages I left with their office. Not because I don't know how to take care of my apartment. My point is this: I'm grateful to the property management for coming out to take care of the issues I had but I don't appreciate them laying the blame at my feet because they were negligent in their duties to their tenants. If there is any work that needs to be done to my apartment and the property management doesn't return my calls again, rest assured I WILL file another complaint or move.

Business' Final Response
Dear Tenant, We apologize and did not intend to place the blame on the client. We take full responsibility for our client's maintenance issue and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the delay in response. As stated previously, somehow we did not know about the issue until it was brought to our attention in writing with the BBB complaint. Once we knew of the issue we sent a vendor out who assessed and corrected the issue. We rely on good communication and it is unfortunate when communication breaks down and results in complaints such as this one. As stated in our lease agreement and on our maintenance addendum we have a joint responsibility to care for and maintain the premises of our owner's property. Tenants are relied on to take proper measures to prevent mold/mildew from occurring and as a standard practice we remind all tenants of this when they report an issue such as this. We were not singling this tenant out nor insinuating that that they were not keeping their unit clean. We remind all tenants of the steps they can take to prevent mold from occurring and then if the problem persists we send a vendor out to take care of the issue right away. We value all our tenants and hope to restore a positive relationship with this one. Kindest regards, ****** Property Management