BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Whisler Land Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Whisler Land Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Whisler Land Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 13, 1993 Business started: 09/26/1986 Business started locally: 09/26/1986
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Winger, Owner Mr. Mark Whisler, Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Winger, Owner
Business Category

Property Management - Industrial & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Whisler Financial Group
Products & Services

Whisler Land Company specializes in property management services.


Additional Locations

  • 1825 I St

    Sacramento, CA 95811

  • PO Box 161266

    Sacramento, CA 95816 (916) 446-6663

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 446-6663(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've asked to have mold removed and caulking replaced in my bathroom in my apartment. The office said they would fix it but no work has been done. I recently added a new roommate to my lease with The ****** Land Company in early October and at the time I received my addendum paperwork, I notified them of a mold and caulking issue in my bathroom. They assure me that a representative from their maintenance department would be by to assess the situation. No one ever came out to check. I called the office about 4 days later to make another request for maintenance to come out and left a message with that department's manager. I still haven't heard back from them. The mold is growing on the ceiling of my shower, has started to grow on the walls, and the caulking for the tub is almost non-existent.

Desired Settlement: All I I would like is for ****** Land Company to fulfill their duty to me as a tenant and have maintenance come out and fix the issues that they assured me would be fixed. I'm allergic to mold and now I have to shower elsewhere since none of the cleaning methods I've tried on my own are working.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
To whom it may concern , This letter is for the complaint case # XXXXXXXX filed by : ****** ****** (tenant ) . We received the complaint dated 11/01/2012 from The BBB and we immediately called the tenant and ask her the issue , we never have any records at all that she complaint about this matter prior to this case , But we did talk to her right away as we received the letter from BBB , We send our Maintenance Handyman to take care of the issue and it was resolved right away and we talk to the Tenant and told her in regards with the BBB complaint , she told us that she'll take care of it . But for our result ion and reply The Caulking in the bathroom has been fixed and in regards to Mold Issue she is notified to keep her bathroom tidy , ventilated using the fan in the bathroom . Please feel free to contact the office or email me if there is further questions. Our Phone # is XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason I don't accept their response is this: I notified the property management that no matter how clean I kept the bathroom or how long I ran the fan, the mold continued to grow. It had nothing to do with the cleanliness of my bathroom. Yes, they came out to fix the issue but I do not appreciate being told that I shouldn't complain to the BBB if I have an issue with repairs. The reason why I made the complaint in the first place was because they DIDN'T respond to the messages I left with their office. Not because I don't know how to take care of my apartment. My point is this: I'm grateful to the property management for coming out to take care of the issues I had but I don't appreciate them laying the blame at my feet because they were negligent in their duties to their tenants. If there is any work that needs to be done to my apartment and the property management doesn't return my calls again, rest assured I WILL file another complaint or move.

Business' Final Response
Dear Tenant, We apologize and did not intend to place the blame on the client. We take full responsibility for our client's maintenance issue and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the delay in response. As stated previously, somehow we did not know about the issue until it was brought to our attention in writing with the BBB complaint. Once we knew of the issue we sent a vendor out who assessed and corrected the issue. We rely on good communication and it is unfortunate when communication breaks down and results in complaints such as this one. As stated in our lease agreement and on our maintenance addendum we have a joint responsibility to care for and maintain the premises of our owner's property. Tenants are relied on to take proper measures to prevent mold/mildew from occurring and as a standard practice we remind all tenants of this when they report an issue such as this. We were not singling this tenant out nor insinuating that that they were not keeping their unit clean. We remind all tenants of the steps they can take to prevent mold from occurring and then if the problem persists we send a vendor out to take care of the issue right away. We value all our tenants and hope to restore a positive relationship with this one. Kindest regards, ****** Property Management

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Apartment was rented for one year. Deposit paid $1100On move out two representatives from Whister & Myself as well as myDaughter who was a former tenant as well. Did complete walk through andwas verbally told by both reps that there were no issues with the theapartment. That apt was spick & span. Whistler deducted $60.00 for a "turnover" clean- absolutely not needed as well as $76.00 for blindscleaned & repaired. When Whister was questioned and called at least 15times because they do avoid confrontation of their issues they said therepair was an error and to basically give us a "good residency experience"they sent us a check for $30.00. A call to two of the so-called vendersrevealed discrepencies we are prepared to handle in court if the balance of our deposit is not refunded promptly. ($106.00)Thank You.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $106.00 Due to company charging for work not done.Deposit & rent was paid in good faith, on time & NEVER late.We expect to have our money returned period.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
July 31, 2012 RE: BBB Complaint Response Dear Tenants: We are responding to your complaint filed with the BBB dated 7/10/12 related to your dispute regarding the security deposit refund you received on 5/21/12. Originally we received a letter from you dated 6/3/12 where you disputed monies deducted from your security deposit for the following items: #4 Blinds: $76 & #5 Cleaning $60. In our letter to you dated 6/14/2012 we explained that we believe that the charges are valid and conform to California's security deposit statute which allows landlords to use a tenant's security deposit for specific purposes reasonably necessary to restore the unit to the same condition as move-in. In regards of cost of cleaning, in our response letter to you dated 6/14/12, we explained that upon your move out the unit was not left in a condition to the standard of our company and required an additional professional clean to get the unit in the same condition as it was as when you moved in. However, in consideration of your concerns, and as a courtesy to you, we agreed to refund you half of the total cost to clean ($60) and you received a refund check of $30.00 dated 6/14/12. In regards to the cost of cleaning the blinds, it is our regular practice to have blinds professionally cleaned after each departing tenant. We have an invoice for the clean before you moved in for the amount of ($124) and for the cleaning completed upon your move out ($76). This clean was needed to bring the blinds to the same condition as prior to your tenancy. We take all tenant concerns seriously and promptly responded to your original deposit refund dispute letter dated 6/3/12. We researched the issue at that time and gave you our findings in a letter dated 6/14/12. Although the original charges were valid, in an effort to act fairly and in good faith we refunded you one half the cost of professionally cleaning the unit. Upon further investigation of your concerns in the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau, we find that we have acted in accordance with generally accepted good business practices and that no further refund is due to you at this time. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact our offices with any questions or concerns (916) 446-6663. Sincerely, Property Manager

Consumer's Final Response
In the letter which enclosed a $30.00 check Whistler even acknowledged error in billing and still did not refund to correct the issue. Whistler is flat out decietful in its' accounting practices.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1