Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

RC Plumbing

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 403-2299 915 East Market St. , Stockton, CA 95202

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RC Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on RC Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 05, 2012 Business started: 01/25/2010 Business started locally: 01/25/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 946510.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Raul Chavez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raul Chavez, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Leak Detection

Service Area
Serving Stockton and the greater Central Valley.
Additional Information

Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Products & Services

This company offers plumbing contracting services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations


    915 East Market St.

    Stockton, CA 95202


    PO Box 2348

    Stockton, CA 95201 (209) 403-2299


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our HOA to Sunpointe Condominiums in Stockton Ca, is contracted with RC Plumbing to come and do repairs including back-ups in our sewers. On 9/29/14 They came out and the "out" of the 4 unit building is in front of my apartment before the plumber left he entered one of our bathrooms as there was still water backed up in the bathtub, while his trainee was outside working with the snake through the "out drain" The signature on the receipt/estimate is hard to understand but another plumber later told us it looked like it says ****** (I don't konw). Well this plumber told us that the reason there was water on the outside of the bathtub by the edge of it, was because our bath tub needed replacing and it had cancer & that the job needed to be done within the next 4 months or we would have serious problems. He gave me an estimate for that bathtub of $2,860.00 for new bathtub, shower doors and tiles. He gave me an estimate of the second bathroom which is only a shower of $2,989.00 to replace shower pan, tiles and "oh" he saw really bad water damage according to his view. Of course that was disastrous and caused me alot of stress in which I ended up breaking out from the news. He replaced the strainer in the bathtub with "silicone" which you don't use for that and charged me $89.00, he was suppose to use plumbers putty. My cousin works in the industry and he came to my salvation, he did both bathrooms for $1,680.00 NOt only that, but my bathtub was completely fine and there was no need to remove all the tiles from both bathrooms just one row, there was no water damage, the tub was great and RC Plumbing was only trying to rip me off because I was a woman. The fact that $89.00 was charged was excessive and he used the incorrect material to replace that strainer while we got the problem fixed by "them". I would like to report this company to the BBB and see what can be done, so that unknown women like myself don't fall victims to their unethical way of service. Thank you ***** ********

Desired Settlement: Refund of my $89.00 as well as a reimbursement for the expenses I paid for an incorrect estimate I received, when the plumber didn't know what he was doing. I called the owner left a message with the receptionist he never called me back, I also briefly described the problem which is why he probably never called back. thank you for your time,

Business Response: Business states that they are currently looking into the situation so they can properly address customer concerns. Business requested customer contact them to set up an inspection appointment of the bathtubs. Business has not heard from the customer yet. Business would like to state that all information provided to consumer was done for preventative reasons to avoid future damage. All services provided to consumer were following proper procedures and industry guidelines. Silicone is an acceptable product for certain applications. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
The owner of the business, I believe his name is ****, told me he would first speak to the plumber that gave me that estimate that day and then he would call me back and I told him that the bath tub was not in my possession any longer. The day the person I hired to do the unnecessary job to my bathrooms and replacing the tub  he had the tub in the back of his trailer that day, and it so happened that on that day there was another back up at the complex and that plumber (a different plumber from RC Plumbing) went ahead and saw the tub and even confirmed that he would never have given an estimate without being sure that there was in fact a problem, and it is then when he saw the invoice estimate paper and said it looked like the name of the plumber that gave me that estimate looked like it was ******, but he wasn't sure. It was then that that plumber ( I don't recall his name) gave me the owner's phone number and told me to contact him. My repair guy showed that new plumber the tub and he saw it was not necessary to have it replaced. Upon trying to track down my old bath tub, it has since been recycled. It took great effort to make phone calls as I have a full time job and I am also handicap and some things are difficult for me to do and I am limited as to what I am able to do.  Although RC plumbing quoted me on a job that was almost $6,000 I ended up having all the work done, including parts for $1,600 or so without the work even being necessary. It has brought me a lot of anguish, emotional distress, and cardiac problems all caused from the stress RC Plumbing made me go through. Then that plumber from RC Plumbing ended up charging me $89 to put in a strainer, that is a rip off in itself, and "no", silicone should not have been used as it was going to deteriorate. Plumbers putty should have been used when replacing the strainer, my late father was a also a plumber. There are businesses out there that see whom they think are defenseless women and they want to take advantage of them, and that is what I strongly feel was the issue here. Or this never would have happened.Attached is the original invoice I was given on September 29, 2014. I appreciate your response. The amount of time it took the owner of the company to first contact me was unacceptable and I do not appreciate that. This Christmas was a struggle for me as due to this expense I had to make sacrifices and sell some of my belongings, at times I didn't have food. I had to borrow money in order to pay my repair person who did the job. 

Business Response: Business states that they have contacted the consumer, apologized for the miscommunication and tried to clarify any misunderstanding. Unfortunately, the $89 service call fee was more than a fair price for the services provided.  Any licensed plumber within the area would have charged equal or above pricing for the service. In order for a business to survive in this industry it cannot operate providing service calls at below market cost.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I hope the owner of RC Plumbing supervises when possible his employees to make sure his business has a good reputation in the future. I would also like to suggest that he also make sure the service that his plumbers provide to the consumers is professional and outstanding so that they stand out from other companies in the plumbing industry.