BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Preferred Plumbing & Drain meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Preferred Plumbing & Drain include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Preferred Plumbing & Drain
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 06, 2007 Business started: 01/24/2004 Business started locally: 01/24/2004 Business incorporated: 11/30/2004 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathleen Graves, President Mr. Luis Duarte, Office Manager(Sacramento Location) Mr. Bryan Graves, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Luis Duarte, Office Manager(Sacramento Location)
Principal: Ms. Kathleen Graves, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Leak Detection Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Graves 6, Inc. Graves 7, Inc.
Products & Services

Preferred Plumbing & Drain specialize in plumbing and sewer contracting services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Preferred Plumbing & Drain has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3437 Myrtle Ave Ste 440

    North Highlands, CA 95660 (916) 424-5157 (916) 966-0103 (916) 988-8050 (530) 888-1416 (916) 348-3097 (916) 929-0253 (916) 485-5100 (916) 258-7060 (916) 355-8554 (916) 929-3238 (916) 726-3191 (916) 676-1555 (800) 414-8076 (916) 786-0907 (916) 354-1800 (530) 666-5976 (916) 786-8425 (530) 621-3260 (916) 458-4229 (916) 221-3858 (916) 256-3660 (800) 414-0340 (530) 753-6810 (916) 391-0137 (530) 674-0207 (530) 666-1162

  • 503 Bangs Avenue, Suite H

    Modesto, CA 95356 (209) 668-1224 (209) 524-3008 (800) 414-0340 (209) 948-9220 (209) 333-1393 (209) 823-9477 (209) 835-9342 (209) 524-3008

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1980 Olivera Rd Suite F

    Concord, CA 94520

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 621-3260(Phone)
  • (530) 666-1162(Phone)
  • (530) 666-5976(Phone)
  • (530) 674-0207(Phone)
  • (530) 753-6810(Phone)
  • (530) 888-1416(Phone)
  • (800) 414-8076(Phone)
  • (916) 221-3858(Phone)
  • (916) 256-3660(Phone)
  • (916) 258-7060(Phone)
  • (916) 348-3097(Phone)
  • (916) 348-3098(Phone)
  • (916) 354-1800(Phone)
  • (916) 355-8554(Phone)
  • (916) 391-0137(Phone)
  • (916) 424-5157(Phone)
  • (916) 458-4229(Phone)
  • (916) 485-5100(Phone)
  • (916) 676-1555(Phone)
  • (916) 726-3191(Phone)
  • (916) 786-0907(Phone)
  • (916) 786-8425(Phone)
  • (916) 929-0253(Phone)
  • (916) 929-3238(Phone)
  • (916) 966-0103(Phone)
  • (916) 988-8050(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this business to come and repair a leaking faucet. They sent out one of their employees who came two days in a row(06/23 and 06/24). After informing him that the faucet was still leaking he denied it. I went ahead and paid him( $406.29 on 6/23 and $117.22 on 06/24) and he left. The following day after he left my faucet were still leaking. I have called them so they can fix the problem but it has been difficult establishing contact.

Desired Settlement: I just want the leaking faucet to be fixed.

Business Response: Business states they have been in contact with the customer and the issues have been resolved.

Consumer Response:  


Consumer states that they have spoke to the business and an agreement had been reached. A refund for half of the amount paid would be given.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/11/14 I hired Preferred Plumbing to clear a backed up drain in my laundry room. Later that night, my kitchen flooded due to a improperly replaced drain trap. The next day my laundry room flooded due to the drain not being cleared properly. At this time I contacted the manager about my experience. He agreed to give me a refund for the poor service. I had another plumber clear the drain properly. On 2/7/14, instead of a refund, my credit card was charged a second time for the same amount ($140). I cancelled my credit card and contacted Preferred Plumbing again about my refund. I was told I needed to fax a copy of my bank records to show the charges. I did this and still did not receive my refund. I contacted them again and spoke with a manager (**** *****), and was told that he would refund the double charge, but not the original amount because I signed an after service survey saying that I was satisfied with my service. I explained that that was signed when the service person completed the job, before the poor work flooded my house twice. At this point he agreed to refund the full $280. He said that a check would be mailed out the following Tuesday. The following Friday I contacted them again and was told a mistake was made and that a check would be mailed out the following Tuesday (again). The following Monday I again contacted them and informed them that if I didn't receive my refund by that Wednesday I would file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I still have not received my refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the full $280 that I was repeatedly told was being mailed to me. I will consider this matter resolved when I receive a check from Preferred Plumbing for $280

Business Response:

We have contact Mr.  ***** and sent his requested refund for 280.00.  The original person handling his complaint has been out with a family issue and did not pass the info on to accounting.  We apologize for the dropped ball.  
 
Check is being sent today 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I don't know if I have a case? When my shower backed up I looked in the phone book for a plumber. Preferred Plumbing had a two page ad advertising free estiments. I called them and the woman who answered the phone said that the estiment was free. She said they would be over to my house in a hour. Two hours later they had not arrived and I had to leave for a Dr. Appt. My son was home and when they came be told my son he had to snake the toliet before he gave him a free estimate. When I got home he was snaking the toliet. I told him I just wanted a free estimate, he had my son sign papers to pay for the free estimate. He then said that a man from Modesto wold have to come to run a camera down the line & it would cost $250.00 to see what was wrong in order to give us a free estimate. I said ok because I felt pressured into it. He came & spent 2 hours with the camera and to my observation it should have not taken more than 20 Min. for the camera and so the free estimate cost me $800.00. The ad in the phone book is misleading and the woman on the phone was also misleading. They never told us that it was going to cost us to give us a free estimate. They also broke the end off our weathervane & bent it when they were in our backyard.

Desired Settlement: What happened to the free estimate?

Business Response: If all charges were not explained prior to doing the work and our customer was not satisfied we will do what it takes to make them happy. We never want people to feel like they did not get more than they expected. We apologize for any miscommunication or lack of communication. This will be handled to their satisfaction today. ***** ******

Consumer Response: Concerning our complaint against Preferred Plumbing, they have sent us a full refund of $800.00 - Thank you for your help in this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A slab leak was discovered under bathroom floor this was all cold water. This was fixed but still the hot water line was leaking. My Smud bill was now $980.00. All my hot water was running out into the parking lot. Preferred Plumbing said a house repipe was call for. Very invasive and and costly. Then repair of walls and floors! I called another plumbing company and they said this could be fixed by a simple slab leak repair which only took 4 ours to do and only $3,500.00 to fix it. Now I just have to deal with Kitchen Mart.

Desired Settlement: My money back.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
***** ****** our location Manager contacted Mrs ******* on 6/30/13. He discussed our work and the reason we felt at the time and still feel a whole house replumb is needed as this system will fail in the future. With that said the other plumber she contacted was able to make repairs to the hot water line and also had some criticism of our repair which was correct. Since Preferred Plumbing wants to make each customer happy and did not do so in this case we agreed to refund Mrs. ******* 3200 as agreed between her and ***** our location manager.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had coupon for $20 off service. When it was time to pay the bill I was told that $10 would be taken off the coupon for "administration processing fee 2/11/13 called Preferred Plumbing for plumbing backup. Was told I would have a call w/in 15 minutes. 1 hr later no call; called what I believed was another company but was the same company. Was then told that "****" would be calling me w/in 15 minutes. **** showed up at my door approx 1 hr later. **** indicated he has been told never to contact the customer. When time to pay bill told him had $20 coupon. **** told me that there was a $10 admin fee bringing my coupon down to $10; no where on coupon does it mention $10 admin fee. Man called from Preferred Plumbing on 2/12 & I expressed my concerns. Told me he would issue $10 back to me on Friday, Feb 15, 2013. On Feb 19th received voice mail from Preferred asking where to send the check and whom to make it out to. Preferred Plumbing did the work - they have my address name as this is where the work was performed. Another attempt on Preferred Plumbing's part not to issue me $10. No check has been received. Bait and switch in my opinion. They use the $20 coupon to get you in the door then tell you it actually is for $10 because of their "admin fee".

Desired Settlement: My $10 back along with a discount for my inconvenience. I paid Preferred Plumbing a total of $340.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** V.P. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@yahoo.com We had processed Mrs. ******'s 10.00 refund because of her disagreement with our Admin fee. We had not mailed it out yet and agree she should of received it more timely. Our accounting dept had not sent it out by mistake, which is not ok and not per our own policy. We hand delivered a refund of 50.00 due to her inconvenience for the wait on the 10.00 refund. She accepted our apology and extra refund. please let me know if you need any thing else or any more information. thank you ****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
Preferred Plumbing has compensated me for their poor customer service Please close this complaint. Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Advertising in the Yellow Pages stated service to be started in 60 minutes or less. I called the local number for this company and was ignored for over five minutes. I disconnected and recalled, was connected with a dispatcher immediately. I stated my request and was told that a service man would be there with the 60 minute time-frame. At 60 minutes, the company called me and said that due to some conflicts the service man would not be there for another hour. That was satisfactory. After and additional 90 minutes with still no service person on site, I called and asked where he was. I was told that there was still a conflict and that he would arrive at my location within 45 minutes. After and additional 60 minutes and no service man in sight, I called and cancelled. I then called another plumbing service and was treated with the utmost respect and they adhered to their promised calling and arrival times.

Desired Settlement: Cover the bill from the replacement company.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
**** **** our area manager contacted Mr ****** and apologized for the delay that day. we explained that we usually can respond per our advertising in 60 min, but had an extremely busy day that day. We are sending him a discount via for future services if they arise. We offered to look at the bill he got from the other company to review a possible reimbursement, but he said that was not necessary at this point. He was satisfied that we contacted him after his complaint with the BBB to apologized for the delay that day.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did receive a telephone response the very next day. Had an amicable conversation with Mr. **** and everything that is stated in the response is accurate, EXCEPT, for the receipt of a discount coupon for a possible future service.

Business' Final Response
we contacted the customer again and he had not received the discount for future services as promised. We sent out again and customer confirmed he is satisfied. We again thank him for bringing this complaint to our attention to help us get better

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to fix leaks in pipes. Preferred plumbing on contract number XXXXXX failed to fix leaks in pipe and pee trap under crawl space. We wrote them a check for $735.00,and discovered the following day that the leak had not been fixed.I've attempted several phone calls to Preferred Plumbing to talk with a supervisor or owner but my calls are not returned. They essentially ripped me off for 735.00.My next step will be small claims court. Any help or advice you may be able to offer will be greatly appreciated. I've never delt with such an unprofessional and incompetent group of people as Preferred Plumbing.

Desired Settlement: I want my $735.00 back.A full refund.Preferred Plumbing simply failed to uphold their end of the agreement by failing to fix the leaks.They have been unresponsive to my attempts to speak with an owner or manager.I have never encountered a more incompetent group of people. If I can't get a refund with your help I guess I'll have to go through small claims court.I'm not sure how that process works and I'd rather not go through the hassle.Please help me if you can Thank-You,****** ******

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
**** Hare our Bay Area Manager has contacted the customer and resolved the copmplaint with a refund and apology. We are also sending a discount for future services. We have termed the tech that caused this complaint due to poor workmanship. We have also corrected the dropped ball from our management team Thank you ****** for bringing this to our attention. This will help us get better. A satisfied customer with fixed plumbing is always our goal, we obviously failed here. We carry a 98% satisfaction rating, but do make mistakes from time to time. We are always willing to fix our mistakes and learn from them. Thank you again ****** ****** V.P.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1