Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Preferred Plumbing & Drain?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Preferred Plumbing & Drain meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Preferred Plumbing & Drain include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Preferred Plumbing & Drain
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 06, 2007 Business started: 11/30/2004 Business incorporated: 11/30/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 856944.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathleen Graves, President Mr. Luis Duarte, Office Manager(Sacramento Location) Mr. Bryan Graves, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathleen Graves, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Leak Detection Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Graves 6, Inc. Graves 7, Inc.
Products & Services

Preferred Plumbing & Drain specialize in plumbing and sewer contracting services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Preferred Plumbing & Drain has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3437 Myrtle Ave Ste 440

    North Highlands, CA 95660 (916) 424-5157 (916) 966-0103 (916) 988-8050 (530) 888-1416 (916) 348-3097 (916) 929-0253 (916) 485-5100 (916) 258-7060 (916) 355-8554 (916) 929-3238 (916) 726-3191 (916) 676-1555 (800) 414-8076 (916) 786-0907 (916) 354-1800 (530) 666-5976 (916) 786-8425 (530) 621-3260 (916) 458-4229 (916) 221-3858 (916) 256-3660 (800) 414-0340 (530) 753-6810 (916) 391-0137 (530) 674-0207 (530) 666-1162

  • 503 Bangs Avenue, Suite H

    Modesto, CA 95356 (209) 668-1224 (209) 524-3008 (800) 414-0340 (209) 948-9220 (209) 333-1393 (209) 823-9477 (209) 835-9342 (209) 524-3008 (209) 565-3969

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1980 Olivera Rd Suite F

    Concord, CA 94520

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/26/15 a technician named **** arrived at my residence at 9:30 a.m. to clear a drainage problem with the main line. At 10:05 a.m. the work was completed and I was handed an invoice for 2 hours of work at $145 per hour, for a total of $290. When I questioned the time onsite, **** called a dispatcher who said he arrived at 9:05, so I gave him the benefit of the doubt and wrote a check for $290. When I reviewed the invoice after the technician left, I noticed it had another customer's name and address on the top of the form, so I called the office. I spoke with ****** and explained the situation, that the technician had been onsite for less than an hour and gave me the wrong invoice. ****** said she added notes of the issue into their computer system, and that a corrected invoice and refund check of $145 would be mailed to me on 2/27/15.I didn't receive a corrected invoice or refund by 3/6/15, so called again, was transferred three times, and was told by a representative named **** that ****** was busy, and that a corrected invoice and refund check was being prepared for mailing on 3/7/15, and that I should receive it by 3/10/15. I still haven't received anything in the mail from Preferred Plumbing and Drain, and feel I'm being given the run around, so am contacting the BBB for help resolving this matter.

Desired Settlement: $145 refund.

Business Response: Dear Mr. *********, it is with great concern that I address this issue that you had with our company. I would like to make an apology on behalf of Preferred Plumbing and Drain. I am also disappointed with the customer service you have received, had this come across MY desk personally I assure you it would have been handled sooner. In an effort to improve the overall quality of our services we are refunding the full amount of $290.00. I will personally make sure a check goes out in the mail today, as it should have weeks ago. Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss any concerns that you may have in the future and I hope that we can serve you once again.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called on Monday Sept 29th after water was found leaking from under toilet when plunged- Guy came out that evening at 5pm went under house where access point was and stated a pipe was leaking I explai*** to him the shower drain pipe had been knocked off but was fixed and could he please focus on problem called in for He then snaked the drain said it was ok and flushed the toilet a few times and gave me a bill for 360.00 dollars- no quote was given prior to this and I questio*** the charge and he relied Im giving you as break since I was here almost 3 hrs- Would not of been there that long if he had went right in and worked on the issue called out for but he seemed more interested in trying to get me to have him fix a p trap on shower drain. I was not given a receipt and had to call into the office the next morning to ask for one.Tech called me and scheduled to meet at my work to get this completed- Form was filled out incorrectly and did not really what was done and breakdown of charges for service.That evening when I got home I flushed the toilet a few times to check on things and clear water came up from the shower- this was about 3:15- called service and informed them problem was not fixed and to please sent another plumber as the first guy wasnt qualified or professionalNew guy showed up around 5pm and seemed upset that he was called stating the other guy should be the one who came back. He then went under house with snake and cutter and came back out and said line was still full and snake hit a snag about 20 ft out and needed to camera the line- he would put ASAP on the request. Stated he was not going to charge me for tonights visit but had to write up a ticket stating he cut up roots in the system which was not true but said this was the only way not to be billed- ? I reminded him I was not expected to pay since first job was incomplete and Customer service person had confirmed this since when I called in. I asked for the manager to call me as I was not satisfied with how things were being handled. I informed Wednesday camera was not going to be available till Friday- appointment was scheduled for 8 to 9 and I asked for as close to 8 as possible due to a conflict with work. Two guys finally showed up right before 9:30. This time camera used and ****** marked a spot in the back yard and a 2 ft paint line was drawn to where supposed root was found - They then went back to their truck and made a call quoted me over 1800 to dig up and repair line. Price was reduced down to 1,400 after I reminded them I had already paid 360.00 and was told this would be applied to repairs. I asked how much I could save if I had the pipe dug out for them and was quoted 700.00 which I agreed upon with them returning Monday the 6th by 9am. Saturday October 4th 2 friends and I dug up the line where they marked and found no breaks, leaks or roots so we continued to dig all the way to out to septic tank and back towards house now creating a hole over three times the area ****** had said where the problem was. At this point I was concer*** they were wrong in their findings. Monday the 6th of October I waited and finally called the office asking where the Guys were as they had said they would be at the house no later then 9am. And it was now going on 9:30. She would check into this issue and call me back- I landed up having to call back again after waiting another 30 minutes for the promised return call. I was placed on hold and another person picked up- saying Im so sorry and that a ****** was being sent out. I asked her who was this person was and did he even know what the heck was going on and she said yes. I asked for the Managers name and asked again for him to call me as I was by this time very unhappy with the services and lack of follow thru. ****** showed up after 11:00. This after I had taken the morning off of work and waited over 2 hrs from the scheduled time. I had even requested a friend to be at the house to make sure everything was going to be done correctly making him late for his commute to work in Reno.****** came up my driveway and said dont shoot the middle man I found this to be disrespectful as it was not my fault the company has employees that seem incompetent and this just confirmed my thoughts that Preferred Plumbing and Drain employees have no respect for their customers.I asked if he knew why he was there and he replied to fix a broken pipe with roots.I asked why repair a pipe if its not the problem since we had found nothing he said well I can see about getting you the 360 back and we can both walk away and just call it a day. When asked if he could snake from new access point we found in our digging but he didnt have a snake with him as he was only prepared to fix the pipe.Discussion on how we should proceed ****** said we should dig up tank lid and look for roots and Septic needed to be pumped. He would fix the pipe as it needed a clamp (seal) on the intake pipe that is not there-Which I later found out from a knowledge Septic person that a seal was not intended for this spot. ****** also wanted to install a raiser on the access but Septic guy said that would be a major mistake as we would not be able to get a snake in after that was done. Agreement was made for ****** to come back out the following Monday October 13th by 11:30 and Confirmed no extra charges would be added on. I dug out the septic lid on Saturday Oct 11 and then called a septic company to have lid removed. This company called me back within 30 minutes and confirmed they would come out today if they had time to help me out. This Septic Company called me back 2 hours later and said *** will come straight out to my house. He had the lid off and noted some tree roots around intake pipe area and had the taken out and we watched the intake pipe flow free. Per *** this tank did not need to be pumped and *** even took the time to look over the pipes ****** wanted to replace and *** replied are you ki

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the 360 dollars paid the first night since problem was not resovled, I also paid an additional 250 dollars for the camera only to later find out this did not show the problem either or they don't know what they are seeing on the screen. Total spent 610.00 dollars for nothing to be completed by Preferred PlumbingI have taken time off from work had to cancel several appointments. I have also asked for a Manager to call me and this has never happened.

Business Response: After reviewing all invoices we have discovered that customer Teri Brock did sign that she was satisfied at the time, we found out after the fact that she was indeed dissatisfied.  We have spoken with Teri Brock and will be refunding the full $610.00 per our conversation today Monday November 10, 2014.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Preferred Plumbing and Drain damaged my flooring while doing an unrelated plumbing repair on May 29th, 2014. The company agreed to repair the damage, but after numerous appointment no shows the company still has not made the repair to date.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for monies spent hiring contractor to replace flooring.

Business Response: we have been in contact with customer to reimburse them for the damages done to the floor.

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug 27th,2014 my tenant plumbing was backed up for two days, so in desperation, I gave him the OK to call a plumber. He called Preferred Plumbing & Drain around 1pm. They came & gave him a quote of $280 to fix the problem. I agreed to pay this amount as long as my tenant plumbing is working again. A few hours later at 3:55pm, the service person **** called me to tell me that they couldn't fix the problem and it would cost me $750 to install a total cleaning system. I called my dad to see if this is a fair price since he is the owner of the house. He said that he will come & fix the problem and was furious at the $750 fee. I called **** at 420pm to tell him that I can't afford his quoted price. He said that he still need to charged me $150 for the time spent "trying" to fix my tenant's plumbing. I called his manager ***** to try to negotiate the price down since I don't see why I have to pay for a service that was not completed. ***** was very rude & condescending. He asked how my dad fixed the problem & stated that his service person would not be able to do the same task without heavy lifting machines. My dad is 64years old and he fixed the problem in 1.5hr without heavy machinery. He said he will leave the message to the other manager ****. I never got a call back from **** and they just had their secretary called me to collect the money for the "service" they provided.

Desired Settlement: I'm very unhappy with the customer service provided by their manager ***** & **** and feels like my complaint to the other manager is ignored. All they wanted is to collect my money for a service that they did not fix. I do not want to pay the $150 for a service that was not complete.

Business Response: I do apologize for the lack of communication and prior to receiving this email, I have spoke with the customer and ensured her that there would be no charge for the service call she had booked with us.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this business to come and repair a leaking faucet. They sent out one of their employees who came two days in a row(06/23 and 06/24). After informing him that the faucet was still leaking he denied it. I went ahead and paid him( $406.29 on 6/23 and $117.22 on 06/24) and he left. The following day after he left my faucet were still leaking. I have called them so they can fix the problem but it has been difficult establishing contact.

Desired Settlement: I just want the leaking faucet to be fixed.

Business Response: Business states they have been in contact with the customer and the issues have been resolved.

Consumer Response:  


Consumer states that they have spoke to the business and an agreement had been reached. A refund for half of the amount paid would be given.

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/11/14 I hired Preferred Plumbing to clear a backed up drain in my laundry room. Later that night, my kitchen flooded due to a improperly replaced drain trap. The next day my laundry room flooded due to the drain not being cleared properly. At this time I contacted the manager about my experience. He agreed to give me a refund for the poor service. I had another plumber clear the drain properly. On 2/7/14, instead of a refund, my credit card was charged a second time for the same amount ($140). I cancelled my credit card and contacted Preferred Plumbing again about my refund. I was told I needed to fax a copy of my bank records to show the charges. I did this and still did not receive my refund. I contacted them again and spoke with a manager (**** *****), and was told that he would refund the double charge, but not the original amount because I signed an after service survey saying that I was satisfied with my service. I explained that that was signed when the service person completed the job, before the poor work flooded my house twice. At this point he agreed to refund the full $280. He said that a check would be mailed out the following Tuesday. The following Friday I contacted them again and was told a mistake was made and that a check would be mailed out the following Tuesday (again). The following Monday I again contacted them and informed them that if I didn't receive my refund by that Wednesday I would file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I still have not received my refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the full $280 that I was repeatedly told was being mailed to me. I will consider this matter resolved when I receive a check from Preferred Plumbing for $280

Business Response:

We have contact Mr.  ***** and sent his requested refund for 280.00.  The original person handling his complaint has been out with a family issue and did not pass the info on to accounting.  We apologize for the dropped ball.  
 
Check is being sent today 

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I don't know if I have a case? When my shower backed up I looked in the phone book for a plumber. Preferred Plumbing had a two page ad advertising free estiments. I called them and the woman who answered the phone said that the estiment was free. She said they would be over to my house in a hour. Two hours later they had not arrived and I had to leave for a Dr. Appt. My son was home and when they came be told my son he had to snake the toliet before he gave him a free estimate. When I got home he was snaking the toliet. I told him I just wanted a free estimate, he had my son sign papers to pay for the free estimate. He then said that a man from Modesto wold have to come to run a camera down the line & it would cost $250.00 to see what was wrong in order to give us a free estimate. I said ok because I felt pressured into it. He came & spent 2 hours with the camera and to my observation it should have not taken more than 20 Min. for the camera and so the free estimate cost me $800.00. The ad in the phone book is misleading and the woman on the phone was also misleading. They never told us that it was going to cost us to give us a free estimate. They also broke the end off our weathervane & bent it when they were in our backyard.

Desired Settlement: What happened to the free estimate?

Business Response: If all charges were not explained prior to doing the work and our customer was not satisfied we will do what it takes to make them happy. We never want people to feel like they did not get more than they expected. We apologize for any miscommunication or lack of communication. This will be handled to their satisfaction today. ***** ******

Consumer Response: Concerning our complaint against Preferred Plumbing, they have sent us a full refund of $800.00 - Thank you for your help in this matter.

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A slab leak was discovered under bathroom floor this was all cold water. This was fixed but still the hot water line was leaking. My Smud bill was now $980.00. All my hot water was running out into the parking lot. Preferred Plumbing said a house repipe was call for. Very invasive and and costly. Then repair of walls and floors! I called another plumbing company and they said this could be fixed by a simple slab leak repair which only took 4 ours to do and only $3,500.00 to fix it. Now I just have to deal with Kitchen Mart.

Desired Settlement: My money back.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
***** ****** our location Manager contacted Mrs ******* on 6/30/13. He discussed our work and the reason we felt at the time and still feel a whole house replumb is needed as this system will fail in the future. With that said the other plumber she contacted was able to make repairs to the hot water line and also had some criticism of our repair which was correct. Since Preferred Plumbing wants to make each customer happy and did not do so in this case we agreed to refund Mrs. ******* 3200 as agreed between her and ***** our location manager.

2/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had coupon for $20 off service. When it was time to pay the bill I was told that $10 would be taken off the coupon for "administration processing fee 2/11/13 called Preferred Plumbing for plumbing backup. Was told I would have a call w/in 15 minutes. 1 hr later no call; called what I believed was another company but was the same company. Was then told that "****" would be calling me w/in 15 minutes. **** showed up at my door approx 1 hr later. **** indicated he has been told never to contact the customer. When time to pay bill told him had $20 coupon. **** told me that there was a $10 admin fee bringing my coupon down to $10; no where on coupon does it mention $10 admin fee. Man called from Preferred Plumbing on 2/12 & I expressed my concerns. Told me he would issue $10 back to me on Friday, Feb 15, 2013. On Feb 19th received voice mail from Preferred asking where to send the check and whom to make it out to. Preferred Plumbing did the work - they have my address name as this is where the work was performed. Another attempt on Preferred Plumbing's part not to issue me $10. No check has been received. Bait and switch in my opinion. They use the $20 coupon to get you in the door then tell you it actually is for $10 because of their "admin fee".

Desired Settlement: My $10 back along with a discount for my inconvenience. I paid Preferred Plumbing a total of $340.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** V.P. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@yahoo.com We had processed Mrs. ******'s 10.00 refund because of her disagreement with our Admin fee. We had not mailed it out yet and agree she should of received it more timely. Our accounting dept had not sent it out by mistake, which is not ok and not per our own policy. We hand delivered a refund of 50.00 due to her inconvenience for the wait on the 10.00 refund. She accepted our apology and extra refund. please let me know if you need any thing else or any more information. thank you ****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
Preferred Plumbing has compensated me for their poor customer service Please close this complaint. Thank you

11/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Advertising in the Yellow Pages stated service to be started in 60 minutes or less. I called the local number for this company and was ignored for over five minutes. I disconnected and recalled, was connected with a dispatcher immediately. I stated my request and was told that a service man would be there with the 60 minute time-frame. At 60 minutes, the company called me and said that due to some conflicts the service man would not be there for another hour. That was satisfactory. After and additional 90 minutes with still no service person on site, I called and asked where he was. I was told that there was still a conflict and that he would arrive at my location within 45 minutes. After and additional 60 minutes and no service man in sight, I called and cancelled. I then called another plumbing service and was treated with the utmost respect and they adhered to their promised calling and arrival times.

Desired Settlement: Cover the bill from the replacement company.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
**** **** our area manager contacted Mr ****** and apologized for the delay that day. we explained that we usually can respond per our advertising in 60 min, but had an extremely busy day that day. We are sending him a discount via for future services if they arise. We offered to look at the bill he got from the other company to review a possible reimbursement, but he said that was not necessary at this point. He was satisfied that we contacted him after his complaint with the BBB to apologized for the delay that day.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did receive a telephone response the very next day. Had an amicable conversation with Mr. **** and everything that is stated in the response is accurate, EXCEPT, for the receipt of a discount coupon for a possible future service.

Business' Final Response
we contacted the customer again and he had not received the discount for future services as promised. We sent out again and customer confirmed he is satisfied. We again thank him for bringing this complaint to our attention to help us get better

11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to fix leaks in pipes. Preferred plumbing on contract number XXXXXX failed to fix leaks in pipe and pee trap under crawl space. We wrote them a check for $735.00,and discovered the following day that the leak had not been fixed.I've attempted several phone calls to Preferred Plumbing to talk with a supervisor or owner but my calls are not returned. They essentially ripped me off for 735.00.My next step will be small claims court. Any help or advice you may be able to offer will be greatly appreciated. I've never delt with such an unprofessional and incompetent group of people as Preferred Plumbing.

Desired Settlement: I want my $735.00 back.A full refund.Preferred Plumbing simply failed to uphold their end of the agreement by failing to fix the leaks.They have been unresponsive to my attempts to speak with an owner or manager.I have never encountered a more incompetent group of people. If I can't get a refund with your help I guess I'll have to go through small claims court.I'm not sure how that process works and I'd rather not go through the hassle.Please help me if you can Thank-You,****** ******

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
**** Hare our Bay Area Manager has contacted the customer and resolved the copmplaint with a refund and apology. We are also sending a discount for future services. We have termed the tech that caused this complaint due to poor workmanship. We have also corrected the dropped ball from our management team Thank you ****** for bringing this to our attention. This will help us get better. A satisfied customer with fixed plumbing is always our goal, we obviously failed here. We carry a 98% satisfaction rating, but do make mistakes from time to time. We are always willing to fix our mistakes and learn from them. Thank you again ****** ****** V.P.