Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

We Paint

Phone: (209) 937-2468 Fax: (209) 952-6714 2049 Kimball Hill Ct, Stockton, CA 95210 http://www.209wepaint.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that We Paint meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for We Paint include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on We Paint
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 26, 2005 Business started: 04/01/2003 Business started locally: 04/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 836278.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jason Gonzalez, Owner Michelle Gonzalez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Gonzalez, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors Contractors - General

Products & Services

We Paint offers the following product(s): Company offers painting and construction services.

Products & Services

WE Paint is a full service residential and commercial painting contractor including interior and exterior.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 2049 Kimball Hill Ct

    Stockton, CA 95210

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

After completion of painting the ceiling, there was a large area in the ceiling (approx 8x20) that looks extremely bad and needs attention/re-do. I have contacted Mr. ******** multiple times requesting him to inspect the ceiling, and take care of the problem.

In talking to him on the phone he in all rudeness informs me "We are busy, will call toy next week to let you know when we can come over to fix it", he repeats the same line each time I call him. he has bit yet been here, In fact after the work completed he never returned to inspect the work, ever.

One of his employees returned few days after the initial work was done (he was aware of a bad area) when he left he said "I really looks bad still". My boss ***** does not know about this!!

I request that Mr. ******** "We Paint" respond to this issue now, or pay for me to have someone else do this repair work, the ceiling looks awful.

Desired Settlement: I request that Mr. ******** "We Paint" respond to this issue now, or pay for me to have someone else do this repair work, the ceiling looks awful.

Business Response: The customer is unhappy with a patch in the middle of the ceiling. It is a patch. With lighting, angles and sheens and number of coats applied will all affect the finished product. The customer said she was aware of the patch and was happy when the painting was done, she was required to approve the patch prior to painting as stated in the contract. She approved it and the painting. She called us 3 months after the work was completed to complain saying she just couldn't live with it. I told her I would come with the foreman that completed the work when we had time. I told her  several times I would get in touch. We had work scheduled (booked) through August in early June already when she called. If she cannot wait then I guess she will have to pay someone else to fix it. My employee never told her it looked bad and why would he tell her "it looks bad and I don't know about that". and if so why did she not call for 3 months after. She ok'd the work and now she is not happy. Our warranty clearly states it does not cover settling or structural cracks. The paint is not peeling, there is nothing wrong with any thing. She just doesn't like the way it looks. Well she was happy to pay us when we finished and ok'd the texture repair and finished work. If she wants to wait as I asked her to I could look at it in early August. If she wants to continue on with this complaint I will leave it up to the BBB to decide. We completed the contract work as stated and she paid in full and now after three months she is not happy. I have attached our warranty and original proposal. The work was completed on 3/20/2015. In regards to the customer calling me, she did that 3x within 7 days. When she originally called I told it would be a while. not one, two or seven days as she kept calling. Quite honestly she was very rude and seemed to think we were just standing around in the middle of summer. She is not  a patient person I understand but I have customers that have already booked their work and our crews are busy. AS I told her if she can give me time to come by there and look at the work then I will. I honestly feel now that this person will not be happy no matter what. FYI, we were supposedly the 3rd person to work on her ceiling and she said this is something she could do it. We did everything included in the contract and was happy and now she is not... again 3 months later.

Consumer Response:

Responding to “We Paint” business”

Mr. ********

1.       This is not a “patch” the lighting in the room has not been changed. My ceiling has always has a uniformed color, never been a problem

2.       A person did fix a simple “hairline” size imaginary opening from an earlier earthquake “shaker”

3.       No 3 people has been here to work on the ceiling

4.       Mr. ******** has not been here to inspect the ceiling, how

5.       can he possible make comment. When he has not been here. He depends on his (Foreman employee)

6.       Who knows what to say to he’s ass, (after all Mr. ******** pay his wages) I paid Mr. ******** (before the paint was dry)

7.       I did show some good faith referring to the “totally over the top” advertising he uses, I thought he would honor his word.

8.       Mr. ******** us not at all honest in his statement regarding this- not the least-

9.       As far calling him, yes I have  called him once a week for sometime- not 3 times in 7 days

10.   I stand by my original complaint, and request that this is being attended to.  I invite Mr. ********  to come

11.   And inspect the problem, discuss in a civilized manner when this can be corrected, get it done, and life will in fact go on!! So let us do it. 

Consumer Response:  
Mr. ******** has taken care of the problem. the issue has been Resolved. Thank you.

7/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/7/2010 We Paint started painting at **** ** ****** *** ********* ** *****. I paid them $1,800.00 EXTRA to strip all window frames (18), remove all old paint from window frames. Wire brush rust scale, hand sand all frames to surface. Apply a rust inhibitive primer to all metal frames. Paint 2 coats of premium house paint on window frames. Repair all glazing on windows. In his add it states a 5-YEAR WARRANTY ON ALL WORK! As time passed most of the window frames rusted & streaked the window seals. Moisture also seeped in and damaged the inner window seals. Damage was visible on the inner walls & mold began to grow. The lower foundation was also supposedly repaired by We Paint. It now has many cracks and pieces chipping off. Before they finished I was told by Jason Gonzales-Owner do not call for each individual problem, but wait until I have a number of them and he would take care of them all at once and he would fix them. On 5/30/2014 I met with Jason to discuss the current problems. He said "what do you expect from a 70 year old house"? Throughout his repair of the house he constantly referred to the age of the house. He said just wait until we are finished and you will be pleased. On 5/30/2014 he implied that all the problems were normal for a 70 year old house and said he was not going to guarantee the work he had done. Though out the job Jason was uncooperative and blamed most problems on the age of the house which he was fully aware of. He never said his work would not have a 5-YEAR WARRANTY!

Desired Settlement: I either want all repairs done properly to my satisfaction or a refund in the amount of what it would cost for someone else to do it properly.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to ID# ********. On Friday May 30th at approximately 8:30 AM I , ***** ******** met with the owner at **** ** ****** ** ** ********* **. The owner, ***** ******** and myself began walking around the perimeter of the house. While walking around with the owner, he pointed out some cracks in the stucco/foundation and some rust stains on the galvanized metal window frames. I mentioned to him that the foundation cracks are just that and not loose paint or peeling paint and because we repair the cracks that doesn't not mean they will not come back. In my original proposal I mention the fact the foundation was badly damaged. The severity of the cracks can be seen in the before photos. Our work does not warranty any cracks from severity of the cracks can be seen in the before photos.Our work does not warranty any cracks from STRUCTURAL DEFECTS, SETTLING OR MOVEMENT. In our written estimate/proposal; it states "break out loose stucco on foundation, fill and repair to match existing" I have photos of before/after of all work completed and the owner walked the job at completion and paid us in full. Our Warranty also states that we do not cover "surfaces made of, containing, galvanized metal" and" any bleeding caused by Rust" will not be covered. Mr. ******** windows are made of galvanized metal and they are rusting due to poor zinc coverage during the original manufacturing. Again, We Paint's Warranty states we do not cover Galvanized surfaces or rust bleeding. during my inspection i was talked to by Mr. ******** in a very harsh and abrasive manner. He used the "F" Word over 10 times directly talking about me and telling me to "F" you in our two conversations. Yes, after our initial conversation I re-visited Mr. *******'s around 12 PM with the presence of *** *******. *** ******* is the ******* ******** sales rep for the Stockton, CA area. *** has been in the Paint industry for the last 25+ years. *** was there to give his professional opinion regarding the complaint. I will let you read ***'s professional opinion in the attached letter.
 
Mr. ******** was told that we cover peeling paint and there was none.  I did tell him the home is 70 years old and the foundation settling cracks and the rusty galvanized window frames were NOT peeling they were just a consequence of old age and those things  happen especially when they were neglected for such a long time. He continued his barrage of negative comments, foul language and very disrespectful comments towards me before i had to leave. He mentioned his threat of calling the BBB  2X to me during the conversation. I told him my reputations, the quality of the work and our warranty speaks for itself. Our warranty is very specific that it covers loose or peeling paint with 60 months or 5 years. Regarding all other comments in the Customer's statement of the problems, those are NOT TRUE. They are false accusations and are considered slander. His windows were old & broken. We stripped them, primed them and painted them and when they were done he said NOTHING. He never called me one time before 5/29/14, that was almost four years after the work was completed. This complaint is complete fraud  and totally false. I have attached the original proposal, before/after photos or and during our work, a copy of our 5 year warranty and the letter from *** *******. Please feel free to contact me at ###-###-#### to further discuss this matter.

Consumer Response:

We Paint puts a flyer in the Stockton Record Newspaper on a regular basis that states:
 
“Professional, reliable, trustworthy...from start to finish”
“100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED!
“5 YEAR WARRANTY ON ALL WORK!
 
In Mr. ********’s response that his warranty (which he never gave me a copy of) does not cover cracks in the foundation (he said his guy can fix it like new).  He did not say that it wouldn’t last. 
 
The window frames that he was suppose to restore are not made of galvanized metal nor was anything mentioned about rust bleeding through.  He told me he would strip all window frames(18), remove all old paint.  Wire brush rust scale, hand sand all frames to clean surface.  Apply a rust inhibitive primer to all metal frames.  Paint 2 coats of premium house paint.  Repair all glazing on windows for $1,800.00.
 
All the glazing Mr. ******** did is incorrect.  I pointed this out to him when I first saw it and he said that is the way they do it now.  In my own mind I knew it was wrong but did not argue about it at that time.  Several glass companies has looked at his work and said it is not right.  The glazing is suppose to be at a 45 degree angle so the water will run off it rather than just sit on the flat surface that he did and seep through and ruin the window sills and surrounding walls.
 
When Mr. ******** was finished he told me not to call him for every little problem.  He said wait until you have several and we will take care of them all at once. 
 
I do not like his “this complaint is complete fraud and totally false” accusation.  His add of 100% satisfaction and 5 year warranty is a complete fraud and totally false as things stand now.
 
***** ********

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  We Paint puts a flyer in the Stockton Record Newspaper on a regular basis that states:  Professional, reliable, trustworthy.. from start to finish.  100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEED!  5 YEAR WARRANTY ON ALL WORK!  In Mr. ********'s response that his warranty (which he never gave me a copy of)  does not cover cracks in the foundation (he said his guy can fix it like new).  He did not say that it wouldn't last.  The window frames that he was suppose to restore are not made of galvanized metal nor was anything mentioned about rust bleeding through.  He told me he would strip all window frames (18), remove all old paint.  Wire brush rust scale, hand sand all frames to clean surface.  Apply a rust inhibitive primer to all metal frames.  Paint 2 coats of premium house paint.  Repair all glazing on windows for $1,800.00.  All the glazing Mr. ******** did is incorrect.  I pointed this out to him when I first saw it and he said that is the way they do it now.  In my own mind I knew it was wrong but did not argue about it at that time.  Several glass companies have looked at his work and said it is not right.  The glazing is supposed to be at a 45 degree angle so the water will run off it rather than just sit on the flat surface that he did and seep through and ruin the window sills and surrounding walls.  When Mr. ******** was finished he told me not to call him for every little problem.  He said wait until you have several and we will take care of them all at once.  I do not like his "this complaint is complete fraud and totally false"  accusation.  His add of 100% satisfaction and 5 year warranty is a complete fraud and totally false as things stand now.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to Id#********. The BBB sent me a letter dated 6/25/14 that the complainer ****** ******** had not reposned within the allowed ten days he had. Therefore you said the matter is considered resolved and have closed the case. I then recieved another letter dated 7/2/14. I understand you (BBB) would still like me to respond. My response is that Mr. ******** still has not provided proof of any failing paint. That's the main reason a painter issues a warranty, same with any manufacture. Every reputable Company has a warranty that tells what is included and not. Mr. ******** also never asked for the warranty nor never inquired about one. Our  warranty is available on our website and anytime asked for one we provide it. The issues Mr. ******** is having are due to the poor foundation and age of the surfaces. None of which are covered in our warranty nor the industry provided warranties. In our previous letter we have shown our proof with photos, warranty, our response and the inspection of the ******* ******** sales rep *** *******. The Windows are single pane metal casement windows, they are prone to condensation, drafty, and made of poorly constructed materials. The condensation makes for moisture problems and therefore causes the rust. Not to mention they are  70+ years old. Any person in the window industry can tell you that. We could not warranty any material that is poorly constructed and has moisture problems. Br. ******** knows this as well. There is no painter, plasterer, nor mason that will fix a crack and warranty it to never crack again. Mr. ******** knows that and the photos provided show that prior to us repairing the cracks, they were repaired several times by several persons before including himself. The after photos also show our completed work and no cracks visible. As previously stated our warranty is very specific to industry standards and Mr. ******** does not have evidence or proof to any credible paint failures caused by us. As I mentioned before, this is clear fraud, and when we finished he was satisfied and paid us in full at the time of completion. If he felt anything was not doe correctly four years ago it should of been mentioned. I never take a deposit and never have. Why did he wait four years to make a complaint. His excuse is poor and if he wasn't happy then he shouldn't have paid. I have been in business going on 11 years and not one complaint. We have been voted "Best of San Joaquin" five years in a row. I have thousands of satisfied customers including Mr. ******** neighbors. As I said before, his accusations have no proof, merit and are completely false. I have included the PDCA (Painting & Decorating Contractors of American Standards with this response. The PDCA backs all  contractors and says in are 4.11 LATENT DAMAGE OR DEFECTS: Damage to surfaces by causes beyond the control of the painting and Decoration Contractor after the painting and Decorating Contractor's work has been completed. Examples of such include, but are not limited to, building settlement cracks, water damage, earthquake damage, nail and/or screw pops or expansion and/or contraction of substrate. (PDCA P1-09 Standard.
In section 2. Significance & Use "Latent Damage is due to conditions beyond the control of the Painting & Decorating  contractor. This damage is caused by conditions not apparent at the time of the initial painting and decoration. The Painting and Decorating contractor will repair and or/repaint the damaged area after receiving acceptance of its proposal and authorization to proceed on either a lump sum or time & material basis. As I stated before the settling cracks are never covered and are clearly spelled out in my warranty and the PDCS standards. Also as previously stated, the windows rusting is from the moisture issues due to the age of the windows and poor designs. These are both clearly defined in my warranty and the PDCA standards. Any work that would need to be completed would be now a separate contract and totally new proposal and Mr. ******** would be responsable for all costs. As I told him in the beginning the issues are not from our work. We performed the work in the contract as described and he walked it and approved and now four years later is not happy. What will we be responsible for next, his sprinklers not working properly, dead grass, his a.c not working? We are not responsible for his settling foundation problems nor the poorly insulated glass that collects condensation and causes his windows to rust. After the previous meeting where Mr. ******** used foul language, insulting comments, snide remarks, and behaved in a very hostile manner. We will never work for Mr. ******** again so charging him for the repairs is out of the question. His antics and false information has wasted your time and my time