This business is not BBB accredited.

J B Painting

Phone: (916) 821-1001 8383 Zancanaro Ct, Citrus Heights, CA 95610


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J B Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J B Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 2013 Business started: 08/29/2008 Business started locally: 08/29/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00921411.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John Hughes, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Hughes, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers commercial, residential and new construction painting.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8383 Zancanaro Ct

    Citrus Heights, CA 95610 (916) 821-1001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: J B Painting was suppose to paint my house. I gave **** ****** a deposit of $350. He pushed the painting day forward 3 times. The day before he was suppose to paint I called to see if he was coming the next day. He didn't answer or call back until the next day at 1:30pm, and then only to tell me he would come the next day. He did'nt come the next day either. I live in the bay area. Its takes me two and half hours to drive to sac. I don't have time for this nonsence. I called him and asked for my deposit back. He said you signed a contract. I said no I didn't. He checked and said your right. There were words and he hung up on me. I called back and left a message saying I was going to call the BBB. He called back the next day and said he would return my money. That was 3 wks ago. I still have not received my deposit back.

Desired Settlement: I want my $350. back.

Business Response: Business states that they have every intention of refunding the customer. They will be issuing refund the first week of December. Business does have consumer contact information and will deliver the check in person.

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Interior wall paintings are not even. Very unprofessional in dealing with customer and always comes 2-3 hrs late of the agreed time. Mr. ****** gave as an estimate for the interior paintings on some parts of our house, and told us it would take 2-3 days to complete the job. On the first day, they arrived 3 hours late from the time that was agreed upon which is 09:00 am and only worked for about 5 hrs. At first, we we're fine with it. But the 2nd day, they were late again for 3 hours, they told us that they will arrive at 10:00 in the morning but arrived around 01:00 pm. and only worked until 6pm. But this time there are only 2 of them, so not much was done. The only thing that was painted was the formal living room. My husband and I already noticed that the paintings are not even especially on the side with the high ceiling. And he said, "No problem, we can fix that." On the 3rd day, I told them that they have to be on time @ 11 am, but they arrived at 12:00 pm. They worked longer this time until 7 pm but since there are only 2 of them, still the job was not done. I've also noticed that the work is so lousy and disorganized. They are already working on the hallway upstair while the hallway downstairs are still not done, and the uneven color on the formal living room hasn't been fixed yet. It seems that they are rushing everything. So they have to come back on the 4th day, and as usual arrived 2-3 hrs late. When I tried to talk to Mr. ****** about my concerns and them being late all the time, he brushes me off and said that "he don't have time to argue with me. That they will make the best of the time that they are here and let them work." I am paying them to do the job and I need to express my concern because it's our house they are painting. It seems that we are the one adjusting to their time and patiently waiting for them to come and finish whenever they want. We are a working couple and we don't have the luxury of time. They still didn't finish the job that day and have to come back on the 5th day. Still job was not done on the 5th day. The walls on the formal living room hasn't been fixed, the wall on the hallways on both upstairs and downstairs are also uneven, and also the edges near the cabinet upstairs. The stair railings and the post are not done, the base board paintings are overlapping. To sum it up, everything has to be re-painted. And when they came on the 6th day, my husband tried to tell them what they need to do but he refused to talk to him. So I approached him in a nice way but he gave me an attitude. So my husband got upset and told him to leave. Our agreement is that this will be done in 2-3 days. We gave him a down payment upon signing of the proposal and the rest of the payment will be given upon work completion. But we already paid him $950 dollars in total because he kept on asking for an advance payment. Now we have to pay another contractor to re-do the paintings. This is a waste of time, effort and money. We were patient with him and we tried understand his excuse. If he's just been NICE and tries to LISTEN TO OUR CONCERN we would have let him finish the job. He is just so arrogant and very unprofessional, and we can't deal with that.

Desired Settlement: Since my husband and I are not satisfied on the job they did and we have to pay another person to re-do the whole paintings, he needs to refund us even with half of what we paid him ($950). We can't let him finish the job because we can't deal with arrogant and unprofessional people.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Customer was unwilling to accomodate for the time frames originally agreed upon. I had pointed out that there was a problem with the matching paint for touch up. The owner asked me to leave the job and refused payment. I am currently owed for the work that was done and was denied future access to correct the problem.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We gave him more than enough time to finish the job. We asked him before we signed the agreement, how many days would it take for him to finish it and he said in 2-3 days. But he kept on extending it and coming on late everyday. We have a busy schedule that's why it is important for me to really finish it on time, but kept brushing me off whenever I pointed it out to him. My husband even has to take a day off so we can accomadate another day for them to finish it. He also refuses to talk to me whenever I voices out our concern on the wall paintings. And on the 6th day that they came back, he was rude and raising his voice on me when I told him that they have to re-do the whole painting because the color is uneven. My husband got upset because of his attitude so he told him to just leave. We paid him more than enough for his sloppy work. The agreement was after the downpayment, we'll pay the rest after the work is done. But everyday he asked for partial payment and because we want it get done right away and thought it might help, we gave him what he asks for partial payment. We have the agreement here to prove it.