Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lifekind, Inc.

Phone: (800) 284-4983 Fax: (530) 477-5399 View Additional Phone Numbers 1415 Whispering Pines Ln Ste 100, Grass Valley, CA 95945 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


We are the industry leader in providing high-quality organic mattress products for the bedroom and bath -- without compromise. We never stop striving for organic excellence or focusing on ways to improve our mattress products and manufacturing processes.

What makes Lifekind different? We make absolutely the purest organic mattress you can buy -- and we can prove it! No standard exists to certify that an "organic mattress" is actually organic. That's why we hold our materials up to scrutiny by third-party certifications that are accredited according to
the highest standards. By constantly seeking third-party certification for the raw materials that go into our organic mattress products and our manufacturing facility, we provide the real substantiation that proves our organic mattress products are truly organic.

Refresh and rejuvenate every night with the luxurious organic purity and comfort your body deserves!

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lifekind, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lifekind, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Lifekind, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 2000 Business started: 01/11/1999 in CA Business incorporated 04/03/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
The number is 138146.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Walter Bader, President Mrs. Jeri Kemmer, BBB Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Walter Bader, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Jeri Kemmer, BBB Contact
Business Category

Online Retailer Beds - Retail

Products & Services

Lifekind, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Lifekind®

Lifekind, Inc. offers the following product(s): Air Filters, Certified Organic Mattresses, Organic Bedding, Organic Crib Mattresses and Baby Bedding, Organic Latex Mattresses, Organic Laundry and Cleaning Products, Organic Personal Care and Bath Products, Organic Pet Beds, Water Dechlorinators

Method(s) of Payment
Major credit cards and personal checks (products will not be shipped until personal check clears).
Refund and Exchange Policy
Lifekind guarantees that every product is made to the highest possible standards of quality and organic certification. If an item is defective, we will gladly replace it and cover all shipping

90-Day Comfort Exchange on Mattresses
You have a maximum of 90 days from delivery for a one-time exchange on your mattress purchase (not applicable to custom orders). In the unlikely event that your mattress does not meet your comfort expectations, you may exchange it after you have slept on it for a minimum of 15 nights. This will give your body time to adjust to your new mattress. Please call for details.

Price Changes & Availability
In an effort to be environmentally conscious and responsible, Lifekind publishes just a few catalogs a year. Therefore, prices and merchandise availability may be subject to change. Please note that all previous catalog prices expire upon release of our current catalog. We also sometimes add or discontinue products during the year, so if you are searching for a product you don't see in the catalog, please call or visit our website at We reserve the right to correct typographical or publishing errors in our catalog and on our website, or technical glitches on our website.

Returns and Exchanges
With the exception of our mattresses, pillow tops, furniture, laundry and cleaning products, personal care items, and custom orders, any item can be returned within 30 days for a full refund, exchange, or in-store credit, as long as the product is received unused, and in its original packaging. For example, our pillows can be returned if you do not open or remove their sanitary-seal packaging. Please call 800-284-4983 for a return authorization number and instructions. No returns can be processed without a return authorization number. The customer is responsible for the return shipping charges.

Reporting Damaged Shipments
In the unlikely event that damage occurs during shipping, it is crucial that it be reported to us within 24 hours so we can notify the shipper for replacement and/or credit.

Allergic Reactions and Sensitivities
Test for material sensitivities with our free samples. While we do not warrant our products for individual allergic reactions or sensitivities, we will be pleased to send you samples of our mattress and bedding materials without charge prior to your purchase. Our production staff doesn't wear fragrance, nor do they smoke, and no chemically based product comes through our door. Therefore, there is little chance that our premises or your mattress or bedding can become contaminated. In fact, your mattress is made in the only organic-mattress Eco-Factory™ in North America. 
Industry Tips
Shopping Online, By Catalog, Mail, or Telephone

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lifekind, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1415 Whispering Pines Ln Ste 100

    Grass Valley, CA 95945 (530) 477-5395 (800) 284-4983


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a very expensive bed from Lifekind in good faith. I have an adjudicated illness for the last fifteen years and needed this kind of natural bed. The bed has problems. We have not been able to sleep well, and we both have severe aches and pains that we have never had from another bed. My husband slept on another bed for two nights to see if that would give him pains and it didn't. The other issue is that the metal in the bed is severely harming me. My doctor only recently told me about the connection between my MCS, EMF and a mattress with metal. I called as soon as we realized that it was the bed that was causing these issues and asked for an exchange. I was told that they would do that for me and I was appreciative. The problems started because ***** quoted me prices that I wrote down one day and they seem to have steadily changed each time I spoke with her. It created a lot of confusion and worry because I needed to have a safe bed asap. We asked to talk to Jerry, and she asked me to let ***** know by email what we were looking for. She seemed very nice and we awaited hearing back from *****. According to my conversations with *****, I asked for what we originally talked about and when we last spoke by phone, the prices had changed yet again. I called ***** to try to get to the bottom of why the prices kept changing and she wouldn't take my call. Subsequent calls to Lifekind proved fruitless. When I identified myself the phone it would go dead. After six times of this someone told me that they were instructed not to talk to me and the phone went dead again. Apparently Lifekind was okay with keeping my money and leaving us with a defective bed. We had to contact a lawyer who said they were breaking the law called the Calif. Consumer Legal Remedies Act. set forth in the Calif. Civil Code Section 1770A and 1770 A2. A few days after they received the lawyer letter, they refunded most of the money owed less $265. We have tried to recover the $265 to no avail.

Desired Settlement: We would like Lifekind to make us whole by refunding the rest of the money they owe us. We had to buy from another company and pay costs that we would not have had to pay if Lifekind had done what they said they would do. It is not correct for them to keep any of our money since they changed the rules and were breaking the law. We hope that they will step up and finally take care of this as it should have been. We look forward to a resolution.

Business Response: In order to ensure that our customers choose the mattress best suited for them, each customer at Lifekind goes through an extensive interview process with a product specialist before making a mattress purchase. Medical needs, sensitivities to materials and sleeping habits are discussed. In addition, every customer is informed that Lifekind does not give outright refunds.  In the event that a customer is not satisfied with their purchase, we offer a 90-day comfort exchange policy, in which the customer may exchange their mattress within 90 days of the original purchase for another, and a credit for the original mattress will be applied to the new mattress.  if the customer opts for the comfort exchange, it is explained to them that they will be responsible for shipping one-way. 

Lifekind made every attempt to resolve the customer's dissatisfaction with their mattress, but to no avail. In a final effort to placate the customer, Lifekind agreed, against our policy, to take the mattress back and to refund the customer all monies except half of the shipping, which came to $265.00, which was their responsibility for shipping one-way. We arranged to have the mattress and box springs picked up from the customers' home, and once the items arrived back at the factory and the paperwork processed, we issued the customer credits Totaling $3122.50.  ($3387.50 less the $265 for shipping on-way)

The original order for this customer was placed July 21 2014.  The customer needs to understand that they are accountable for their choices.  They chose to buy the mattress and agreed to the terms of the purchase, and yet now they don't acknowledge that we have bent over backwards to accommodate them.  We did not charge them a restocking fee, we did not charge them to pick-up the mattress and box springs, and we gave them back half of their original shipping amount.  

This complaint has gone on way too long, and the customer needs to know that despite all the negative comments and complaints that they choose to post across the internet, we will not refund them the $265.00. Take accountability for your part in the transaction.   Let it go.

Business Response: This is the last response I will make with regards to this former customer.  Our company stands behind our products, our customer service, and our integrity to treat the customer fairly.  We will not be  bullied into paying someone to silence their rants.  

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:   With Lifekind's inability to do the right thing, Karma has already come to bite this company in the back. Because of my position in many of the Environmental Illness  groups as well as the huge amount of people who seek my help and advice through other venues I  know of 9 or 10 people who were going to buy from this company but did not after hearing about my experience. They bought elsewhere because they  did not want to deal with a company that so easily broke the law and continues to deny and make excuses for it.  In adding up the numbers Lifekind's unwillingness to refund the $265 they owe me has cost them upwards of $40,000 or more.  I'm sure this amount will go ever higher as I will continue to let people know of my experience with Lifekind so that it will not happen to them.  I have all the correspondence and the lawyer's letter.  The proof is on my side.  As the saying goes....."you made your bed, now you can lay in it"   In this case with  Lifekind Inc.  this couldn't be more appropriate!