Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Pacific Storage Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 320-6600 Fax: (209) 465-9533 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 334, Stockton, CA 95201 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.pacificstorage.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pacific Storage Company include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Pacific Storage Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pacific Storage Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 31, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1856 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1856 Business incorporated 07/14/1932 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Public Utilities Commission- CPUC
505 Van Ness Ave Rm 4300, San Francisco CA 94102
Phone Number: (800) 649-7570
The number is MTR0015221.

Department of Transportation
C75 Room 4107, Washington DC 20590
Phone Number: (888) 368-7238
The number is 80356.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00992596.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gregory Tudor, C.E.O. Mr. Rich Colwell, V.P. of Operations Ms. Rudy Croce, Secretary Mr. Richard Steed, Vice President Charles Wagner, Chairman
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Rich Colwell, V.P. of Operations
Principal: Mr. Gregory Tudor, C.E.O.
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Shredding Services

Alternate Business Names
Pacific Records Management Pacific Shredding
Products & Services

Pacific Storage Company offers moving, storage and records management.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4601 Beloit Dr

    Sacramento, CA 95838 (916) 649-7320

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    523 N Hunter Street

    Stockton, CA 95202

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    550 E Trimble Road

    San Jose, CA 95190

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    734 Wilshire Avenue

    Stockton, CA 95201

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    820 Business Park Dr

    Modesto, CA 95354

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 334

    Stockton, CA 95201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 28, 2015 Pacific Storage help me move from Sacramento to Rocklin. It was noticed during the loading and unloading of the truck that the movers were not using blankets to protect the furniture. The driver did acknowledge damage to my side of the bed and informed me that the organization would fix their mistake. After the movers left it was than noticed that fresh scratches appeared on the night stand and dresser.On Friday April 3rd I reported the damage to Cara De Clusin and the claim form was returned on May 3rd (Claim Number ********). Since returning the claim form no one with Pacific Storage has acknowledged receiving the claim. An email was sent on May 11th to confirm that the claim had been received and still no response. Your organization also charged my credit card twice for the move on the weekend of March 27. The first time was on April 6th and the second time was on April 30th. I notified Cara immediately and was assured that the charge would not go through. The charge did occur and it look three business days to be credited back to my account.

Desired Settlement: I would like Pacific Storage to send a furniture repair person to fix the damage side of my bed and also scratches on the dresser and night stand.

Business Response: I talked to ***** ***** the driver and they padded all the furniture on move day . Me ******* elected to take basic Valuation so he goods are covered @.60 per lb and he was sent a claim notice No damage was noted on move day

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

The statement that Steve provided is not true.  The movers did not use blankets to protect my
furniture when taking my dresser and chest downstairs on the dolly.  When the movers brought up the furniture on
the dolly at my new place, once again there were no blankets protecting the
furniture. 


Business Response: As you can see from the attachment there was nothing noted as damaged on the customer service report that was signed by the customer.

12/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Pacific Storage Company for a household move from Pinole, California, to Roseville, California. On the day of the move I placed my KitchenAid Stand Mixer in the garage because I was going to take it in my car to keep it from being damaged. One of the movers stated he would take it, placed it in their moving box, and placed it in the moving van. After the move and several days after all the boxes had been unpacked, the mixer was not among the items. I called the company and they asked their drivers about the mixer and they stated that the van was empty when they left. I submitted a claim for $250.00 on August 21, 2014. It took several weeks to hear from the company. They offered me $15.60 to settle my claim, which I refused.

Desired Settlement: I want them to replace the KitchenAid Classic 4.5 qt Stand Mixer that was stolen.

Business Response:

Check #***** in  the amount of $250.00 was mailed to the customer last week.  She should be receiving it any day now.  Please let me know if you need anything else from me.  Thank you.

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 12/02/13, Pacific Storages Relocation Consultant, gave us a Not To Exceed Bid for furniture moving within home with 4 movers during a carpet installation project with insurance in the amount of $1702. The move was to include Masonite to protect the existing floors. On 12/26, Pacific Storage telephoned to advise the movers would report to home 8:30 9:00 a.m. on 12/27 We coordinated the start time with the installers. On 12/27, the movers arrived at 7:50 a.m. starting their billable time clock. The carpet installers arrived at 9:00. The 4 movers did not bring any Masonite and used filthy padding to cover existing flooring. One of the pads had grease on it. 1 of the 4 movers spent the day sitting in his truck outside the home. At the end of the day, the 4th mover demanded additional payment for the move over and above the quoted $1702. Cleanup for us was great given the filthy pads and grease stains. When we contested the overage and non-work of the 4th mover to Pacific Storage, we were told to submit it on the insurance claim form. 3/17 we sent in our insurance claim form for items damaged and for the overage amounts. Pacific Storage has ignored the insurance claim and not processed it. We have made repeated telephone calls to no avail. Using the BBB seems like the next option for homeowners.

Desired Settlement: 1.Processing of the insurance claim form for the damaged items during the move, with payment based upon the adjusters report;2.Reimbursement of $242 which exceeded the Not To Exceed Bid of $1702;3.Reimbursement of the cost of the 4th mover who did not perform work, 8 hours x $42 per hour for a total of $336; and,4.Reimbursement for our time, effort and stress caused by Pacific Storage ignoring our complaints and insurance claim.

Business Response: I have a copy of the estimate that shows the insurance was sold at $.60 per lb at no cost. The Customer Service report that was filled by out driver and Mr. ***** at the end of the move states that there was no damage noted. On a prior phone call with Deb I told her that would come inspect the damage and she refused. Talking to the crew the whole job was performed under the supervision of the *****'s and if there was damage they would have claimed it on the Customer Service Report. As for the estimate I informed Mrs. ***** we would refund her the $242.00 collected over the estimate but I could not deduct the cost of the forth man as nothing was noted at the time of the move. As for the floor we used pads as no equipment was used in the house therefore we did not need Masonite and nothing was mentioned about dirty pads

Consumer Response: I am rejecting, in part, this response by the business because: It is not accurate, nor complete. The driver required Mr. ***** to sign all documentation he presented to Mr. *****, noting at the time that everyone was "on the clock" so Mr. ***** should hurry and sign the documentation. It was only after everyone departed, on closer examination and inspection, that the damage was noted. The document signed stated, "no visible damage noted". At no time did the business offer to come inspect the damage as is the customary practice with a move damage claim. The business at no time offered to reimburse us for $242 which is only part of the amount collected over the estimate. Attached is a letter from the business dated May 2, 2014 which denies the claim and makes no mention of the overcharges of which we also complained to the business. As noted in the business' response to the BBB, the contract provides the insurance coverage was .60 per pound at no additional charge (see the initials JSB beside the choice of insurance), yet the driver collected an additional $150 as noted in the amount summary column (see the signed contract attached, ). The business owes us a refund of $150 plus the $242 for the costs which exceeded the "not to exceed charges bid of $1552", totaling $392 ($1944 minus 1552 = $392). The Not to Exceed Charges bid is also attached. We will consider the matter resolved when we receive $392.

Business Response: We have sent a release letter to the customer. Once that letter is signed and returned, we will go ahead and refund the $392.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that the offered resolution is satisfactory.  The matterand our complaint remains open and unresolved until the business actually sends us the release letter which they reference in their response to the BBB and fulfill their promise to refund the $392 upon their receipt of the executed letter of release.

My wife and I will await the letter of release which the business claims to have mailed to us. 

In the alternative, the business could also provide you with a copy of the letter of release which the BBB could transmit to us electronically, to expedite the refund process.

Hopefully the business has included a name and full address so the executed release may be returned by U.S. Mail and received and processed by the business in a timely manner.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

The business has stated in its response that it has mailed the customer a letter of release which must be excuted then returned to the business for the refund of the $392.

We have not yet received a letter of release from the business. 

We request the complaint remain open pending our receipt of the $392.  The business could have easily submitted a letter of release to the BBB with its response which would have then been transmitted to us by the BBB, but the business did not do so.  Likewise we could then execute the letter of release and both mailed the letter to the business  and upload the executed letter to the BBB for transmittal to the business.  There is no specificity as to how long the business will require upon its receipt of the executed letter of release to pay the refund of $392.  We request payment to be received by us within 7 calendar days of the business' receipt of the executed letter of release.

For the above stated reasons, we reject the business's response at this time.