Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


SOURCiS, Inc. operates Mexico Bariatric Center, a health care facilitator in for Mexico Medical Tourism.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sourcis, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sourcis, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sourcis, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 05, 2013 Business started: 10/01/2003 Business started locally: 10/01/2003 Business incorporated 10/10/2012 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Shahram Ron Elli, Owner Ms. Kathy Gonzalez, Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shahram Ron Elli, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Kathy Gonzalez, Administrator
Business Category

Medical Tourism Mobile Apps Search Engine Optimization Services Marketing Programs & Services Web Design

Alternate Business Names
MBC Mexico Bariatric Center Sourcis
Products & Services

This company offers medical tourism to patients in the US and Canada. Also do online marketing and web design services.

Additional Locations

  • 705 E Bidwell, Suite 2-111

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 983-0426 (855) 768-7247


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid my deposit for gastric bypass surgery, and cancel within the time frame given and was asured i woould get my deposit back that was in march. till this day i have not received refund they refuse to give it

Desired Settlement: 500.00

Business Response: Company states: The consumer needs to contact Dr. ***** and we have communicated this to her multiple times. We have provided the contact information to her already. Switching Dr's does not change the fact where the money had gone which is with Dr. ***** when he left our office. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
I did not hire Dr ***** I hired Mexico Bariatric. *** ***** the ower on one of his facebook post said that Dr ***** was not a share holder of vice president of the company he was just a doctor. I was also told by the coordinatior that if i wanted to cancel at any time i could and would get my deposit back. One of the main reasons i cancel with mexico bariatric is that not once but twice I felt lost with them. triying to get in touch with them was hard. when dr ***** left I was not notified by them and it took two weeks for me to speak to someone. after that the coordinatior that was working with me also left and again I was not inform of that. I sent *** ***** and Kathy Gonzalez and email more than 21 days before my procedure to cancel. also they did refund another patient who was also with Dr ***** her name is ****** ********. I

Consumer Response: Im trying to look for more 

4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had scheduled to have bariatric surgery through Sourcis, Inc who is DBA as Mexico Bariatric Surgery in January of 2015. The surgery date was set for June 17th. I sent in a $500 deposit with a contract about the surgery and deposit. I tried to contact my surgery specialist in March and was unable to get a response either by email or by phone. Acutally the phone number kept telling me that it was no longer available. I sent in a letter to the same address that I sent my deposit to and told them I wanted to cancel the surgery. I got a call in April saying that my Doctor had left their program. They said that the Doctor had left with all of the money so they did not have access to it. But she gave me an email address of the person that would help me get in touch with the Doctor. So I emailed her and she immediately responded. She told me that her Doctor did not have any money and did not even have record that I had scheduled a date for surgery. She told me that Mexico Bariatric Surgery had lied to me and that I need to report it and try to get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would just like to have the $500 deposit back. Since apparently nothing had been reserved or scheduled.

Consumer Response: In regards to my complaint #******** with Sourcis dba Mexico Bariatric Surgery.  I received a phone call from ********* who was very apologetic to the miscommunication that I had received and she promptly sent my money back to me.   I am satisfied with this resolution and do not wish to have any further complaint with this company. 
Thank you for your time and attention to this matter. 

1/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Mexico Bariatrics/Sourcis Inc to have a lapband taken out and a gastric sleeve revision. Final payment was made on on April 11th 2013 and I paid a total of $63,000 to MBC through Personal Checks, Credit card and Cashier Check. I have tried to work for months with the Mexico Bariatric Center to let them know I had a problem with my surgery. I was asked to get a fluoroscopic test done to prove that I did not have the gastric sleeve preformed. MBC state the test ws inclusive, and asked to get Endoscopy test. Final conclusion from the doctor states, "No Gastric Sleeve". My endoscopy the more elaborate test states that I did not have a Grastric sleeve even though I paid for the sleeve. I have now been told by the owner of MBC/Sourcis that I am on my own. The surgery doctor states that I should have had a swallow test done right after surgery to verify surgery completed. Since the swallow test was part of the procedure I contracted with MBC it was never completed, nor can they produce one which makes my case more relevant. I never had one done, and MBC can't produce the swallow test. This is a clear breech of contract with myself and the MBC. Mexico Bariatric Center states on their website that they are an industry leader in global medical tourism and weight loss surgery. This company is a third party with no medical knowledge and should not be allowed to schedule surgeries for anyone since they do not take the safety of the patient seriously. There are many complications could have had since this test was not done. I also was placed in a basement after my surgery without any nurses on the floor to help me if any emergency arised. It took a blown vein and a swollen hand to get the attention of someone that I need help ASAP. Please have someone review this business.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund for the pain and suffering that I have endured. I will again have to have the correct surgery to get gastric sleeve completed. $6250.00 is what I paid to MBC. $447.00 I paid for the airfare to have the surgery not completed. $600 for the fluoroscopic test and $1500.00 for the Endoscopy Test. Total Compensation $8797.00

Business Response: SOURCis, Inc (DBA: Mexico Bariatric Center) strives itself on patient support and care. We are deeply saddened by the experience of ***** ******* ******* with our service, and we promise to do everything possible to resolve this situation quickly and fairly.

***** ******* ******* originally contacted SOURCiS, Inc. (DBA: Mexico Bariatric Center) on 3/1/13. She scheduled to have the Lap-Band removed and if possible, get sleeved on 4/9/13 for total cost of 6,300 USD (not $63,000) with Dr. ***** *****.

She successfully had surgery performed on April 9, 2013 (see attached report from the hospital). The swallow test after her original surgery was given to her and not Mexico Bariatric Center. While having her pre-op tests performed in the hospital in Mexico, one of the rooms had a problem with the air conditioner. While the room was being repaired, ***** was put into a converted room temporarily. She contacted our US patient coordinator who immediately made a call to Mexico and she was transferred to a regular room with a nurse who stayed the night with her. 

It is noteworthy to mention that there are no refund or rebates on revisional surgeries. There could be inflammation or other medical issues relating to the prior bariatric surgery, these can prevent the gastric sleeve procedure from safely being performed.

***** contacted Mexico Bariatric Center (MBC) with displeasure on 11/15/13 after she was in contact with Dr. ***** ***** and got upset with him. She complained about gaining weight and claimed that Dr. ***** ***** removed the Lap-Band but did not perform the gastric sleeve procedure.

Mexico Bariatric Center then contacted Dr. ***** ***** on behalf of the patient. Dr. ***** informed MBC that he did remove the Lap-Band and performed the gastric sleeve procedure on *****. Dr. ***** ***** also told MBC that he offered to redo the surgery for no fee for himself, but the hospital and all other expenses would still need to be paid. However, Mrs. ******* opted not to go with Dr. ***** ***** - and declined his offer.

We've been given conflicting reports on whether Mrs. ******* has undergone the gastric sleeve surgery. Documentation from Hospital Mi Doctor in Tijuana shows successful completion of Lap-Band removal and gastric sleeve surgery on the April 9th, 2013.

On December 17th 2013, ****** ****, MD, from **************** ****** ** ********, says there is, "no convincing evidence of gastric sleeve procedure". However, ******* *******, MD, also on December 17th 2013 at the ******* ************ ***********, P. C. reports, "there is redemonstration of postoperatiave changes in the stomach consistent with gastric sleeve procedure". 

In clearing up the issue, we talked with Dr. ***** *****, who says he performed a "loose sleeve", on the patient. A loose sleeve is a less restricting gastric sleeve procedure, which is done on patients with less severe BMI's.

Our Response:
Because we discontinued working with Dr. ***** ***** early part of 2013, we contacted Dr. ********* *****, another bariatric surgeon, to look at the facts of this case. Dr. ********* ***** looked at this case and deemed it inclusive, whether the surgery took place.

In an act of maintaining good faith, SOURCiS, Inc. (DBA: Mexico Bariatric Center) offered ***** ******* ******* the following:
1. If there was no sleeve or plication done, Dr. ***** will perform gastric sleeve (normally $6600) and the only charge she will be responsible is the revision part ($1400) plus hernia repair* ($1000).
2. If the gastric sleeve was performed, she then would revise to gastric bypass surgery at Dr. ********* *****'s discretion. She will be given the special price of $7100 (normally $8300) for gastric bypass     revision plus hernia repair* ($1000) and she will be responsible for the full amount.

* The recent report shows ***** ******* ******* has a large Hiatal Hernia that needs to be repaired.

Our Stance:
***** ******* ******* declined our offer, then proceeded to suggest we owe her financial compensation. Even though ***** ******* *******, dissatisfied with Dr. ***** *****, has since contacted Dr. ***** ***** directly to book another bariatric surgery.

SOURCiS, Inc. (DBA: Mexico Bariatric Center) fully paid for ***** ******* ******* original surgery to Dr. ***** *****. SOURCiS, Inc. has fulfilled its contractual obligations with Mrs. *******, and deems it unnecessary to provide compensation at this time.

We feel that we have gone above and beyond in this case. We have done substantial research on this case to see what the appropriate action is to be taken. We are happy to discuss this case further, and welcome any follow up.

About SOURCiS, Inc.:
SOURCiS, Inc. (DBA: Mexico Bariatric Center) is a Medical Tourism facilitator connecting patients with physicians and surgeons in Mexico. In 2013, Mexico Bariatric Center has provided facilitation for hundreds of patients, a feat we can only achieve by being transparent in the Medical Tourism industry.

We do not promote ourselves or suggest we are medical professionals, doctors or physicians. In fact, our disclaimer located on every page of our site, as well as all of our documentation and contracts, prove this.

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service