BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PowerON Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PowerON Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PowerON Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 16, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 11/25/2008 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lorie Steel, Marketing Director Mr. Brent Kelley, CEO Mr. Jeremy White, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lorie Steel, Marketing Director
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeremy White, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Marketing Consultants

Additional Information

PowerON Services Inc. provides our Fortune 500 customers with "turn-key" TakeBack Solutions for their Consumer Direct, Educational, Small Business and Enterprise accounts. PowerON's team has the experience and professionalism you can rely on to work directly with your customers to complete a full service TakeBack experience. We also provide a completely automated back-end quoting solution that includes training and process support, which allows our clients to run their own "in house" branded TakeBack program.

Products & Services

PowerON Services, Inc. offers full-service, managed Trade-In Solutions for Manufacturers and Retailers.


Additional Locations

  • 8801 Washington Blvd Ste 101

    Roseville, CA 95678 (800) 673-6227

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 673-6227(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SOLD MY LAPTOP TO THIS COMPANY AND WAS QUOTED A CERTAIN PRICE. ITEM HAS BEEN RECEIVED BY THE COMPANY, NOW LESS THAN WHAT WAS QUOTED IS BEING OFFERED. I WAS QUOTED $191.70 FOR MY MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz 13" (Mid-2010) (P8600) (MC374LL/A). THEY AUDITED MY COMPUTER AND ARE SENDING ME PICTURES THAT ARE NOT OF MY COMPUTER IN ORDER TO GIVE ME LESS THAN WHAT I WAS QUOTED ORIGINALLY ($126.65). I STATED IN MY ORIGINAL QUOTE ALL ISSUES PERTAINING TO MY COMPUTER. THIS COMPANY IS CROOKED AND DISHONEST AND I FEEL I AM BEING TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF.

Desired Settlement: I WANT WHAT I WAS QUOTED ORIGINALLY OR MY LAPTOP BACK IN ITS ORIGINAL STATE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
The customer initially stated his computer was in "Good" condition using the web tool. This is defined as very light scuffing due to normal use. After the audit was completed, he was sent pictures of the bent housing and Hinge Misalignment. The customer contacted us stating that the images provided to him were not of his computer. We asked him to verify his serial number and provided him with what we have in our database. His other option was to have us return the item at no cost to him. Instead he responded with, "Your company is one crooked company. I've already submitted a complaint to the Better Business Bureau, I will wait for their mediation in this matter." Since none of the solutions would work for him, we have authorized payment in full for his quote. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction. He will have an email gift card within 24 hours.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rejected their quote and PowerOn returned my computer faulty I kept getting an email from Apple to recycle my old Dell computer after purchasing a macbook pro with retina. I did not want to but when I got a quote (Quote Number XXXXXX) for $132.85 from PowerOn after participating in Apple's Reuse and Recycling program, I decided to send my dell laptop. It was working perfectly fine and I sent it with a working battery (I also included the original dell battery which I had replaced), a working charger, the setup guide and the drivers and utilities CD from Dell. My laptop was working PERFECTLY well, in EXCELLENT condition. I only replaced it because it was too heavy, and I needed something portable for school. After sending the laptop to PowerOn, I got an email with a revised quote of $92.06, with the option of accepting or rejecting the quote. I rejected the quote and asked for my laptop back. I got an email from ****** ***** that my laptop will be sent back to me. My friends thought I should have taken the quote, and I replied to ask if i could change my mind and accept the quote. I received an email from ****** a few days later saying my laptop had been shipped, but I didn't mind. I wanted to still have a Windows 7 laptop handy. I got my Dell laptop back and on powering it on, I can't get beyond the Dell screen. I keep getting error messages to reboot. I've used the drivers and utilities disk, but it has proven futile. Dell support will only repair it if I purchase a warranty and I cannot afford one right now. I called Poweron on XXX-XXX-XXXX and spoke to a lady who took down my email, phone number and name. She said someone will call me back. I asked her when and she said as soon as possible. I asked her if I could call them myself and she said no. I asked why and she said someone will call me, and told me to have a nice day, then she hung up on me. I feel terrible. The laptop I sent has been tampered with and PowerOn sent me a faulty laptop, JUST BECAUSE I REJECTED THEIR OFFER. I can't determine what is wrong with it as I am not computer-tech savvy. Sending my laptop to them means I have to spend more money to repair the laptop. I regret sending my laptop PC to PowerOn. It would have saved me all the money and all the stress. I went on their website to check the status of the quote and it says AUDIT ACCEPTED and PAYMENT SENT. I'm not sure what that means because I have a faulty Dell PC here with me. The link to the status is here: http://reuse.poweron.com/public_trade_in/status/*********************************XXXXXX All I want is my FULLY FUNCTIONING LAPTOP BACK!

Desired Settlement: I would like the original quote of $132.86, otherwise I want my laptop functioning the way it was when I sent it to PowerOn.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@poweron.com The unit in question was sent to us for an audit evaluation. Once the audit was complete, it was deemed to be worth a value of $92.06. The reduced value was due to physical imperfections such as scratches on the casing and LCD keyboard abrasions. Per the terms and conditions of the agreement, the customer does have the ability to have the unit returned. This item was returned as requested. We do take customer service seriously, thus want to make sure a rapid and efficient solution is reached. The number displayed was typed incorrectly, but when dialed as a "966" number it reaches a different company. Our customer support technicians have been waiting for her call to assist her with the issue. Please call us at the correct phone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX or email to *****@poweron.com. We are ready to assist you immediately. Without direct communication, it is hard to determine the exact issue at hand. It sounds to me as though you have not re-installed the Operating System. For customer security, all data is erased from the computer during the audit process. This ensures that if the item is re-sold, the customer's private files will not be jeopardized.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bait&Switch. PowerOn quoted me $234 for my iMac, which I sent to them in perfect working condition. They claim it's damaged. Offer is now $52. PowerOn quoted me $234 for my iMac that was in perfect working condition with no physical damage. They received my iMac on May 6 and completed on audit on 5/14, saying my computer was in "poor" condition with three different types of damage. They sent blurry photos "documenting" this so-called damage, which I believe are not of my machine. Their adjusted quote is now $52.

Desired Settlement: I want my computer back and for other consumers to understand that PowerOn is running a scam. Please check the Apple Support Community board for extensive complaints about their bait and switch tactics.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you for using the trade-in program and we hope we are able to serve you in the future. As stated on the site's FAQ page, "the value depends on a variety of factors, including the demand for your specific item in the secondary electronics market and its condition. When you visit the website, you'll answer a few simple questions about your computer and describe its overall condition as good, fair, or poor. Based on the information you provide, the estimated fair market value of your computer and a quote is displayed instantly." After your computer is run through a thorough audit and inspection process, "PowerON will contact you if the final value differs from the initial quoted value. You can either accept the final value or have your product returned to you at no cost." During the audit process, it was found that the computer in question has vertical lines that are visible on the display. Since the computer possessed such defects, the value of the computer was reduced. The item was in "Poor"condition, rather than "Good". Since you are unhappy with the audit results and final value, we will be more than happy to fulfill our obligation and return the computer to you at no cost. We have also taken additional steps to expedite this process and have sent the item back using FedEx Express Saver instead of the traditional Ground shipping method. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions. Returned Date: 5/16/13 Method: FedEx Express Saver Tracking number: XXXXXXXXXXXX

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2009 Apple Macbook, Serial # XXXXXXZQFYT received cracked casing and no longer receiving AC charge since March 13, 2013 I purchased 2009 Apple MacBook, Serial # XXXXXXZQFYT on August23, 2012. I received 2009 MacBook with crackef plastic casing around AC adapter plugin area. On Wednesday, March 13, 2013, The 2009 MacBook stopped receiving nor accepting charge from AC adapter. I contacted Authorized Apple Genius support. Apple Genius determined that $649.00 would be required repair faulty 2009 Macbook which I received faulty from Power On. I contacted 'Power On' who has refused to freely repair. Power On also refused to exchange nor replace the faulty 2009 Macbook, Serial # XXXXXXZQFYT, which they sold me.

Desired Settlement: $441.99 Refund OR EXCHANGE WITH NO COST, NO SHIPPING .

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On August 23, 2012 this 2009 model year laptop was purchased from our eBay store. The item was posted on eBay for the cosmetic flaws that were displayed on the auction. Images and a description of the item stated that it was a fully functional unit, but it did have cosmetic imperfections such as a crack on the casing. Also stated on our auction was that the unit includes a 30 day repair or replacement warranty. This warranty is designed to allow time for the customer to receive the product and make sure that it is in good working condition as stated on the eBay auction. Due to the nature of used computer equipment, there are extended warranty insurance programs available through companies such as Square Trade. This would allow customers who purchase used computers on eBay to ensure they work for an extended period of time. The customer contacted us on March 14, 2013 (7 months after purchase)to let us know that the unit stopped working. We agreed to send him a replacement AC adapter at no charge to him since he thought this was the problem. He took the computer to a repair facility and they stated that the AC was not the problem. Further repairs were needed costing $650 through their service department. At that point, there was no need to send an AC adapter, because that was not defective according to the technicians. We strive to maintain high customer service standards and have managed to maintain a 99.8% positive feedback rating on over 29,000 responses. We achieve this through going above and beyond for customer service issues. We were willing to send an AC adapter if that were the problem, but it is not indeed the problem. We even accept returns or refunds outside of the 30 day period, but it has to be within reason. The computer worked perfectly fine for 7 months before having any issues. Any requests at this point would be considered unreasonable. A purchase of a NEW computer would only yield a 1 year warranty. This was purchased as a used computer with known cosmetic defects at a discounted price on a discount web store.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am unsatisfied as I did take the 2009 Apple MacBook, 'Under 3 Year, Apple Care Extended Warranty,' Apple Authorized Genius specialist determined that $650.00 would be needed, above the'3 Year Apple Care' warranty. And the 2009 Apple Macbook, received from merchant with crack in plastic frame around Apple AC adapter insertion location. 2009 Macbook stopped accepting nor receiving AC charge from Apple AC adapter for 2009 Macbook, Serial # XXXXXXZQFYT, on March 13th-2013. The merchant Never notified me of 'former existing' cracks in plastic around ac adapter insertion area. Had the merchant notified me prior, I would have not purchased the 2009 Apple MacBook. 'Power On' stated, on their website and on 'Ebay' that the 2009 Apple MacBook only had 'Cosmetic' surface damage to plastic. Yet, Authorized Apple Genius Specialist determined that the 'Cosmetic' 'Surface' was Not indeed, 'Cosmetic.' And I have documentation, providing, proving and showing that $649.00 would be needed to repair the 2009 Apple MacBook. Therefore 'Power On' did not properly describe, list the 2009 Apple MacBook. They deluded me in believing their term 'Cosmetic.' I contest, with Authorized Apple Genius, that the description 'cosmetic' was indeed an fallacy and not 100% of the truth. I purchased this 2009 Apple MacBook in good faith, believing 'Power On's' information provided. This information is false, misleading. Otherwise, Authorized Apple Genius Specialist would Not have made a bid of $649.00 to repair something 'Cosmetic!' Thus, I still stand invoking my 'Consumer Protection Laws' and my 'Consumer Protection Rights!'

Business' Final Response
The customer was also notified by Paypal and eBay that this item was purchased a lengthy time ago and is not eligible for a refund. He has also attempted a credit card charge back and it has been denied.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Apple recycling program - condition of computer received I recently received a revised quote for the computer I sent to PowerOn. It was 2008 ****** macbook, in what I considered good condition. The original quote was for approximately $280, but when the audit was complete they said that my computer was in 'poor' condition and were offering me only $85 because of a cracked housing. The housing WAS NOT cracked when I put it in the box to send to them. Since this is a pretty large difference, I checked all their reasons for such a low price. The reasons were cracked housing, missing power adaptor and LCD keyboard abrasion. I know for a fact that my computer was in no such condition, I took pictures of it before I sent it - there were NO cracks in the housing. I believed the crack occurred during shipping. But when I called PowerOn they said they took a picture of the box and there was no way it happened during shipping. So they probably dropped it themselves when they opened the box. Overall, I'm pretty disappointed and more than a little suspicious of this business MacBook Core 2 Duo 2.26 Ghz 13.3" ****** 2009 - purchase price of $979.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the company honor the original quote of $283.00 since they are obviously the ones who damaged the computer.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In researching this complaint, we have been able to provide some detailed information. We take customer complaints very seriously and strive to achieve 100% customer satisfaction in every transaction that we have. As stated by the customer, she had selected that the computer was in "good" condition using he web tool provided. This condition represents units that have normal wear and tear, but are free from cracks, scratches on the LCD, and defective parts. Unfortunately, upon the computers arrival, the condition of the computer did not match what was stated. The end result was a "poor" condition grading. We first inspect the packaging as the item arrives at our facility, and no shipping damaged was noticed upon this inspection. The item then went through the audit process where pictures were taken of two small cracks on the plastic housing, marks on the LCD, and the AC adapter was deemed to be defective. It was also found that the keyboard has defective keys as well as a defective track pad. All of these items play a role in the evaluation and final value of the computer. Based on the stated condition "good" using the web tool, the customer received an estimated value of $283 pending an audit inspection. After the audit was completed, the value was reduced to $85 due to the extensive imperfections that were found. As a result, the customer has the opportunity to accept this revised value, or deny it and have the computer returned to him/her at no expense to the customer. In this particular situation, the customer called our customer service representatives and threatened BBB action if we did not pay her. Our customer service representative then added $100 to the value of the computer in the interest of making her satisfied. This additional offer was accepted over the phone on the 27th, the same day this dispute was filed. The gift card in the amount of $185 was shipped to the customer on the 28th. Apple order number is (WXXXXXXXXX). Thank you very much for the opportunity to explain and please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recycle program quoted $300 for iPhone 4S only received $50 when complained about it I received my phone back in damaged no working condition Sent my iPhone 4S in for a quoted $300 apple gift card. After receiving only a $50 card I emailed and demanded my phone back. I received a damaged non working phone. I emailed back with pictures of the damaged phone and damaged box. Was told to send phone back to poweron and I would receive a full quoted pay out. I was informed today they received the phone however it is not the same phone that was inspected the first time. I have a witness to me opening the package and pictures of the phone and package along with the emails. They are now refusing to payout or send me my original phone back.

Desired Settlement: I want the full quoted $300 dollars not a gift card or my original phone back. If they can not provide my original phone the I want the $300 cash

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Regarding this particular trade-in, the customer originally sent in an iPhone 4s that had a third party screen. The quoted value of $300 was designed for a phone that has 100% original factory parts. Thus the quote was adjusted to $50 to account for this imperfection. After the customer received this notice, he requested his phone back. Per his request, we sent his phone back via FedEx. After receiving the phone, he stated that we sent the phone back and it had suffered a cracked screen. We asked him to send the phone back to us for verification of the serial number. Once we received the "cracked" iPhone, our technicians verified that the model and serial number of the phone returned by the customer did not match the original item that was traded in. At that point, the customer was notified of this discrepancy and was informed we would send this phone back to him as well. The customer was not satisfied with this information and immediately filed a complaint with the BBB. Our number one goal is to provide the highest level of customer service possible and we desire satisfaction with the trade-in program. In order to do this, we had a gift card for the full $300 expedited to him via FedEx. This card was delivered to the customer yesterday 11/13/12 and can be confirmed with FedEx tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXX. Even though we still do not have the original phone in our possession, we want the customer to be satisfied. Per the terms of agreement on the Apple trad-in site, all payments will be made via an Apple gift card, NOT cash. This is what we have provided.

Consumer's Final Response
Hello Again ****** We recently received your phone from FedEx today, and after attempting attempting to match the phone's information with the information we logged during our initial audit, we are able to determine that this phone is not the device that we originally evaluated. Considering this, your gift card has been canceled and we will send your phone back at the address you specify below at our expense via FedEx. Please let us know if you have any questions or need further clarification. Phone Originally Audited: iPhone 4S (32GB) Black (S/N: ************) Phone Delivered Today: iPhone 4 (16GB) Black (S/N: ************) On Nov 5, 2012, at 3:21 PM, **** ******* wrote: We have activated tracking information for this quote, and we will need to generate a gift card via US Mail for $300.00. We have already received a credit for the $50.00 that was accidentally generated. Please let me know if you have any questions. Thanks! Begin forwarded message: From: ****** ****** <*****@gmail.com> Date: November 5, 2012 1:04:25 PM PST To: **** ******* <*****@poweron.com> Cc: ***** ********* <*****@poweron.com>, **** ******** <*****@poweron.com>, ****** ****** <*****@poweron.com>, ****** ***** <*****@poweron.com> Subject: Re: PowerON Quote Number XXXXXX has been audited Can you please update me on the status of this. BR ****** On Nov 1, 2012, at 1:14 PM, **** ******* <*****@poweron.com> wrote: Hello ******, Thank you for the pictures, and we appreciate your cooperation. While we are unable to conclude that the phone has been damaged in transit, we would like to be satisfied with the program and will be awarding your quote in the full amount of $300.00. Once we receive confirmation that the phone has been shipped back to our location, we will go ahead and generate the gift card. I have attached the label to this email, and please verify the address that you would like the gift card shipped to. Your gift card will be shipping via US Mail. Thank you for your interest in the program and have a great day! <******.PNG> From: ****** ****** <*****@gmail.com> Date: November 1, 2012 9:44:46 AM PDT To: ****** ***** <*****@poweron.com> Subject: Re: PowerON Quote Number XXXXXX has been audited Here is the box and packing material that was received. BR ****** On Nov 1, 2012, at 9:13 AM, ****** ***** <*****@poweron.com> wrote: **** I received your email and sorry you had these probl

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been dealing with the Poweron for about 6 months and they have been great except lately they have been lacking in some customer service parts. I have addressed some of the issues with Jeremy White to Brent Kelley's attention, who I think is the owner of the company.

Desired Settlement: One of their sales reps owes me an apology and he needs to learn how to talk to a customer. Thanks for his help in the past, but I would rather deal with people who respect me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
PowerON strives to consistently provide exceptional service to our customers. We were disappointed to hear of Mr. ****** feelings regarding his most recent experience. On Monday, October 5th, noting Mr. ******'s desired resolution to this complaint, our eCommerce Specialist phoned Mr. ****** and issued the apology that was requested. We trust this matter is resolved and appreciate Mr. ******'s past business.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service