BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gold USA of Sacramento meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gold USA of Sacramento include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gold USA of Sacramento
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 25, 2012 Business started: 05/05/2005 Business started locally: 05/05/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John Lee, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Lee, Owner
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Jewelry Designers


Additional Locations

  • 6051 Mack Rd Ste E

    Sacramento, CA 95823

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consumer states: Ring said to be 10K CZ but turned silver and turned jungle green. She charged me $10.00 to replate which turned again green. She said her son send out to replate. I bought so much from them. They know me and I know a lot of people. I will deal with the first jewelry shop, he's honest and never has his jewelry turned. I spoke to him about them. He does not sell plated jewelry.

Desired Settlement: Consumer states : Replace ring 10K CZ nugget, + 2 ring. Don't want necklace replaced. I spent over $400.00.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Case# XXXXXXXX 6/25/12 (first visit ) Purchased 1) 10k yellow gold wedding band. 2) 14k yellow gold bow ring. $195.00 7/20/12 Purchased 1) sterling silver necklace Repair 1) replaced stone on yg ring 2) added missing opal 3) plated imitation ring Note: she requested plating for an imitation ring. And this item is not bought from us. 7/26/12 Repair 1) add missing cz to ring 2) repair smashed nugget ring. And add cz stone. Note: none of these items were purchased from us. From the three visits. Total purchased : $225.00 Total repair : $ 40.00 I have included a copy of all receipts. To whom it may concern, Mrs. ****** is a very pleasant lady, whom upon our first encounter complained of a jewelry store that mistreated her. She explained they were mean and had questionable jewelry. She was helped with open arms obviously. Mrs. ****** states a ring turned "green." this ring was not purchased at our store but rather given to us to replate. I replated the obviously old ring in yellow gold. On our receipt copy ,I included, states "not real gold" and was picked up on 7/26/12 and signed by her. Even with all this knowledge and obvious misinformation by mrs. ******, I have contacted her and asked her to bring all questionable articles so that we can put her mind at ease. Sincerely, ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about may 20th 2012 i entered into a deal with Mrs. ***** (owner) at Gold USA, SHE WAS TO MAKE ME A RING, of 14kt gold at an approximate weight of not less than 40 grams, and not more than 42 grams. I supplied the gold and the diamonds for this ring of aprox. 45-50 grams gold and about 62-64 diamonds. The ring was cast and sized and i went in to check the fit. Perfect! After that I waited and waited for them to complete the ring before I handed over the diamonds to be set. But each time they said they wanted the diamonds first. So reluctantly i gave them the diamonds on or about the 8th or so of May hoping to have the ring by mothers day. Finally when i did go to pick up the ring i noticed that this was not the ring i had previously handled, worn tried on and fitted, and these were none of the diamonds i had given her that were actually set in the other ring that i personally had witnessed and worn. I came in to pick up my ring on thursday 17th approx. closing time 6;45 or so. The ring looked "suspicious"......being it was closing time and the lighting was poor, I couldn't tell for certain what was not right about the ring. Finally when i got home and took a good look at the ring, it was obvious that this ring i was handling was not in fact the same ring i had handled before. So the first thing the next morning i returned to the business to find that they were "closed". Finally when i was able to get back over there i asked what had happened to the ring and my diamonds?

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like to have my diamonds and ring replaced with the original diamonds i had given her to be made with, and to be sized correctly as should be with any custom jewelry.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response Gold USA of Sacramento is a community jewelry store that have served thousands customers in our eight years of existence. Doing anything from a simple battery change to complex custom work. ****** ****** has been a repeat customer for approximately 5 years and has been referred to us by his son, whom is a satisfied customer. We have performed four repairs and special orders for Mr. ******, and it seems there is a similar repetition to his cycle of business with us. Initially he picks up his order appearing to be satisfied, yet he appears days or even weeks later addressing his distress. Somehow the weight of gold is missing, stones have been changed, or some other gripe. He uses his imposing figure, and voice to intimidate and to coerce what he wants. Satisfaction is our main goal, and to each demand we offered a solution. Adding gold, replacing CZ, and even diamonds. In this recent and last encounter with Mr. ****** he appeared with a damaged ring we made for him last year. On good faith I offered to remake the ring for him. As soon as this was offered he wanted to change the dimensions of the ring and brought other rings to add to the ring. We clearly agreed on a design, and labor costs as indicated on the receipt. He brought some loose stones as well to add to the order. Keep in mine the appearance of loose stone are different than set stones. Upon completion, he appeared once again happy. And even signed a declaration that he was satisfied and will not complain again. As predicted he showed up several weeks later with a complaint, this time the ring is cheaply made and so on and so forth. He appeared with his roommate acting as some other figure. And even spoke of gun use over the phone. And finally this complaint to BBB. Since satisfaction is so important to us. I have contacted Mr. ****** regarding this fact and now are in the process of remaking this ring. He refuses to pay a design custom fee, because in his own words, " it's my design why do I have to pay for it?." it is frustrating when you try to give utmost customer service, yet people try to take advantage, and extort your services. Feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, or concerns. Sincerely, Gold USA.

Consumer's Final Response (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did receive a call from ****, one of the sons at Gold USA, on the 12th of July and he asked that I would come in and we'd work it out. He and I agreed that the ring should at least be made to fit my finger, this is a custom ring for me, that will be passed on to my sons after I leave....yes I am pretty particular about how it looks, feel on my hand, and how does it fit?! I did in fact supply the gold and the diamonds for this ring which offset the cost by several hundred dollars. **** and myself agreed i'd pay $200 dollars to make the ring as i had requested. The diamonds are another story......at this point they're gone and I ******'t want to spend alot of time on something that may not change. So as it stands we agreed to remake the ring free of any further charges, get this chapter over and done with. I have no bitter feelings toward Gold USA, (unfortunate things happen, life goes on)

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.