BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

CozyWinters.com

Phone: (800) 340-1528 ,, El Dorado Hills, CA 95762 http://www.cozywinters.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CozyWinters.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CozyWinters.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated: 11/07/2002 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cale Reeder, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cale Reeder, President
Business Category

Internet Shopping Online Retailer Dryers - Hand Electric Heating Elements Foot Appliances Gloves & Mittens - Dress Blankets Camping Equipment Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail Ski Equipment - Retail

Products & Services

CozyWinters.Com is a internet based shopping company specializing in winter products.

Industry Tips
Shopping Online, By Catalog, Mail, or Telephone

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    ,

    El Dorado Hills, CA 95762 (800) 340-1528

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misleading returns policy that is inconsistent with general online shopping norms:Like many online merchants, CozyWinters actively promotes a "Money Back Guarantee" and an offer for free shipping for orders over a certain dollar value. There is no footnote or other obvious disclaimer attached to, or near, the prominent "Money Back Guarantee".I purchased a Christmas gift from this merchant; on arrival it did not seem to be good value for money, and I returned it promptly after Christmas. I paid for the return shipping.CozyWinters then refunded less than the purchase price, and when I queried that, they emailed me: "Please note that although we offer "free shipping" on most orders over $75, it is not actually free for us to ship. Customer choice returns will have initial actual shipping costs/fees deducted from any return that originally received our "Free Shipping Offer". This means the amount that you saved by selecting free shipping will be deducted from your refund."I replied as follows, and CozyWinters has never communicated with me since, nor has it refunded the remaining portion of my purchase price: "Given that your approach is very much out of the internet shopping norm, I think you need much more disclosure of your policies than a footnote well down on your rather dense web page. Indeed, your web page touts in large blue type your "Money Back Guarantee" (which does not have a footnote attached to it), and this unusual exception is buried well below. I believe that is misleading. I also find your logic nonsensical. Of course it costs you money to ship things. It is one of the costs of doing business. But that does not mean that I should bear your costs of doing business when I return an item to you (which I did at my own expense), any more than I have to pay for a portion of a brick-and-mortar retailer's rent if I return something to them."

Desired Settlement: Refund of $11.17 deducted from original refund.

Business Response:

Thanks for sharing your feedback and concerns with us. We take all feedback seriously and use it when appropriate to improve our customer's experience.  It's always good to understand how consumers interpret the terms and conditions of our policies.

Our Free Shipping Offer, is indeed an "offer", with a few conditions that are clearly outlined in our Store Policies. We make no effort to hide or disguise the terms of the offer. This policy has been in place and successfully served thousands of customers for over 11 years without change. Part of the offer is CozyWinters will deduct the actual shipping and handling costs from any return that originally received our "Free Shipping Offer". By choosing this shipping option the consumer is also agreeing to the terms and conditions of the "offer". If the consumer keeps their order, then they have a savings of the outbound Shipping and Handling costs. If they return the item for refund, then, per the terms of the "offer", the outbound shipping and handling costs will be deducted from the refund. This does not apply to an order with errors or defects, but only when the consumer chooses to return the product on their terms. This offer is no different than thousands of other websites, like Amazon.com for example.

My research indicates that we followed all of the terms for issuing the refund per the policy that the consumer agreed to when placing their order.

Thanks so much for allowing us to explain our position on this matter, and we do regret any trouble you had as we expressed personally in prior communication. 

Thanks and Sincerely, 
************* 
Director of Customer Service CozyWinters.com

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  the response provided does not meet the issues raised in the complaint.  The policy cited by the business is not presented in any sort of prominent way.  Moreover, it is entirely incorrect that this is a customary industry policy.  The business cites Amazon as an example, but Amazon does just the opposite: it refunds the entire purchase price for returned items sent with free shipping and does not attempt to deduct its shipping costs from refunds.

 
I would ask BBB to review the website in question and consider carefully my complaint, and withdraw its certification of this business if it persists in this behavior.

Sincerely,

Christopher Bogart

Business Response:

Thanks again for sharing your feedback and concerns with us. We take all feedback seriously and use it when appropriate to improve our customer's experience.  It's always good to understand how consumers interpret the terms and conditions of our policies.

Our Free Shipping offer has been reviewed by the BBB many times and meets their approval. It was reviewed again last week by the director of the BBB. As mentioned this shipping policy has been in effect for 11 years without change.

As for the mention of Amazon, I can only speak from my own experience and the last 3 returns I have made to Amazon their free shipping fees were deducted from my refund. There may be instances where they don't do that, but not in my experience.

Our research indicates that we correctly followed all of the terms for issuing the refund per the policy that the consumer agreed to when placing their order. 

Thanks so much for allowing us to explain our position on this matter, and we do regret any trouble you had as we expressed personally in prior communication. 

Thanks and Sincerely, 
***** ******** 
Director of Customer Service CozyWinters.com

5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'd like to replace a defective product with a similar one in a different brand. In Sept 2012, I purchased $200 battery heated gloves with one-year warranty. I started using them in December and by February, one battery no longer charged. I mailed it back at my expense and received a new one. Now, less than two months later, the battery has failed again. The company suggests that I repeat the same procedure: mail back the battery at my expense and they'll replace it. I don't have confidence in these gloves and would like to replace them with another pair from a different brand - or receive a refund. I find it reasonable to expect a $200 pair of heated gloves to last at least a year. These gloves have failed twice in six months.

Desired Settlement: I don't have confidence in these gloves and would like to replace them with another pair from a different brand - or receive a refund. I find it reasonable to expect a $200 pair of heated gloves to last at least a year. These gloves have failed twice in six months.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thanks for sharing your feedback and concerns with us. We take all feedback seriously and use it when appropriate to improve our customer's experience. Our research indicates that we correctly followed all of the terms for warrantying the product, per the policy that the consumer agreed to when placing their order. http://cozywinters.com/helpdesk/returns.html Customers have 30 days from the date of shipment to initiate the return or exchange of an item. After 30 days all sales are final and all items are subject to the terms and conditions of the manufacturer's warranty. Per our 30 Day return policy; CozyWinters.com is happy to continue to stand behind the product and warranty the merchandise. The warranty service allows CozyWinters.com to replace the current merchandise with new part(s) or the entire merchandise. WARRANTY SERVICE: - CozyWinters.com will be happy to issue a pre-paid return mailer to the customer to assist her in returning the merchandise to CozyWinters.com for warranty service. - Upon receipt of the return (merchandise) package we will fully test the item(s) at our facility or when necessary testing may occur directly with the manufacturer to determine any defects. - Once the warranty service is completed CozyWinters.com will ship the merchandise to the customer at no charge. Or CozyWinters.com can consider making an exception to our 30 day return policy and extend a store credit of $199.00. Extending a store credit will allow the customer to use the store credit towards another product from a different brand that is offered on our website. Thanks so much for allowing us to explain our position on this matter, and we do regret any trouble you had as we expressed personally in prior communication. Thanks and Sincerely, ************* Director of Customer Service CozyWinters.com

4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THEY WILL NOT REFUND MY MONEY FOR A DEFECTIVE PRODUCT PRODUCT PURCHASED ON 12/5/12 FOR $169.95 WAS A HEATED VEST. OPENED ON XMAS MORNING AND PLUGGED IN BATTERY CHARGER TO CHARGE BATTERY. TURNED ON THE SWITCH TO HEAT VEST....TRIED 3 TIMES IN THE MORNING AND RECHARGED BATTERY....PRODUCT NEVER EVEN GOT WARM. CALLED AND CONFIRMED RETURN POLICY AND PROCEDURES AND I FOLLOWED ALL DIRECTIONS. THEY RECEIVED PRODUCT ON 1/31/12 BUT THEY CLAIM 1/2/13. THEY SAID THE PRODUCT WAS SOILED, TOTALLY NOT TRUE, AND THEY SAID THE CHARGER WAS MISSING WHICH IS TOTALLY UNTRUE. I HAVE CONTACTED THEM ON 3 OCCASIONS AND THEY ARE UNWILLING TO RETURN MY MONEY....THEY HUNG UP THE PHONE ON ME THIS MORNING. I HAVE EMAILS FROM THEM AND THEY ARE REFUSING TO REFUND MY MONEY....

Desired Settlement: TOTAL REFUND OF MY $169.95 is only acceptable solution

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I am unable to respond to this complaint because the name on the order does not match the name on this complaint. Neither the Bill to nor the Ship to match. I would request that the person who's name was on the order is the one to initiate the complaint, since that person may have actually read the terms of our return policy. Thank you for your assistance.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ONCE AGAIN, COZY WINTERS CLAIMS THEY DID NOT RECEIVE THE CHARGER. FACCT OF THE MATTER IS THE CHARGER WAS RETURNED WITH THE JACKET....WHY WOULD I KEEP A CHARGER THAT WOULD DO ME NO GOOD. ONCE AGAIN, I ASSERT THE GARMET WAS DEFECTIVE AND THAT'S WHY I RETURNED IT....THIS COMPANY IS JUST TRYING TO GET MONEY BECAUSE I RETURNED THEIR PRODUCT. THEY ARE NOT TO BE TRUSTED AND CERTAINLY ARE NOT REPUTABLE.

Business' Final Response
Thanks again for sharing your feedback and concerns with us. We take all feedback seriously and use it when appropriate to improve our customer's experience. It's always good to understand how consumers interpret the terms and conditions of our policies. Our research indicates that we correctly followed all of the terms for issuing the refund, per the policy that the consumer agreed to when placing their order. The power supply (charger) was not returned. Testing of the returned merchandise, confirmed performance met manufacturer specifications. There was no defect found with any of the parts that were returned. CozyWinters.com will be happy to refund the cost of the charger (not returned) if the consumer returns the charger to CozyWinters.com. Customer can use the same RMA number when returning the charger to ensure our facility accepts the return package. Thanks so much for allowing us to explain our position on this matter, and we do regret any trouble you had as we expressed personally in prior communication. Thanks and Sincerely, ************* Director of Customer Service CozyWinters.com

3/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wish to file a complaint against Cozy Winters' false advertising' re: 'Free Shipping' on their internet website, www.cozywinters.com. The offer should have stated 'Price includes Shipping and Handling' fees. Please see emails attached which plainly states Free Shipping on items purchased. The order details are as follows: DATE: 21-Dec-2012 ORDER #: XXXXXX REFERENCE #: XXXXXX SOLD TO: ========== ****** ****** SHIPPED TO: =========== ****** ****** ================================================================== Ordered: 2 Shipped: 2 KH-XXXX-XXXX-HEATED Outdoor Heated Cat House $94.95 Ship Date: ================================================================== Product Total: $189.90 Sales Tax: $0.00 Shipping: $0.00 Discount: $0.00 Surcharge: $0.00 Grand Total: $189.90 BalanceDue: $0.00 Upon receipt of the items, I no longer needed them. I did not open the box, and wrote to Cozy Winters requesting procedure to return. I requested a UPS Return Label but was informed the company did not issue return labels. See email dated X-X-XXXX enclosed. I paid the return shipping cost of $28.58, copy of my postage receipt attached. On February 4, I sent an email inquiry re: Refund not yet received. On February 4, I received an email stating my refund is $170.24, not the $189.00 I paid, email enclosed. I stated in email dated February 4, I paid the return shipping cost of $28.58, now with Cozy Winters deduction of $19.66, my shipping Cost are $48.24. What happened to 'free shipping'? I was more than willing to pay the return shipping cost of $28.58. When I deal with other companies who advertise 'free shipping' they issue a UPS or FEDEX Return Label. The item is returned via the company's expense, and then deducted from my balance upon receipt by company. I understand that I am responsible for the return shipping costs if I simply did not need the item etc. But with Cozy Winters they are actually factoring in the shipping costs in the price they are advertising as 'free shipping'. If an item is returned, the customer pays the return shipping cost. Also the original shipping cost which the customer has already paid in the original bill is deducted from the return amount originally paid. In other words, I paid in reality, $170.24 for the product plus $19.66 in Shipping fees in the original price of $189.00 advertised as 'free shipping'. I pay for the cost of the return shipping of $28.58, plus I pay an additional cost of $19.66 for the return when the company receives the item. This is a total shipping cost of $67.90 the customer is paying. If this item was listed as legally it should be as 'Price includes Shipping and Handling' then I realize I will pay $19.66 in the original price. Cozy Winters should issue a postage paid 'return receipt' to the customer. Upon receipt the company would charge me $19.66 for shipping costs. Cozy Winters' false advertisement of 'Free Shipping' has cost me an Additional out of pocket expense of $28.58. I am requesting that I be reimbursed my out of pocket expense of $28.58 since I paid for the shipping costs both upon purchase and with return of the item. I can accept if Cozy Winters would not deduct $19.66 from my return credit and credit me with the full payment of $189.00. This is a scam and I think many of Cozy Winters' customers have been unjustly required to pay for shipping costs three times if the item is returned. Cozy Winters' customers are paying shipping costs listed as 'free shipping' falsely on their internet website. I am also requesting that Cozy Winters be required to change their Listings from 'Free Shipping' to 'Price includes Shipping and Handling so the customer is informed upfront as to the real cost of their items.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that I be reimbursed my out of pocket expense of $28.58 since I paid for the shipping costs both upon purchase and with return of the item. I can accept if Cozy Winters would not deduct $19.66 from my return credit and credit me with the full payment of $189.00. I think many of Cozy Winters' customers have been unjustly required to pay for shipping costs three times if the item is returned. Cozy Winters' customers are paying shipping costs listed as 'free shipping' falsely on their internet website. I am also requesting that Cozy Winters be required to change their Listings from 'Free Shipping' to 'Price includes Shipping and Handling' so the customer is informed upfront as to the real cost of their items.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thanks for sharing your feedback and concerns with us. We take all feedback seriously and use it when appropriate to improve our customer's experience. Our Free Shipping Offer, is indeed an "offer", with a few conditions that are clearly outlined in our Store Policies. We make no effort to hide or disguise the terms of the offer. This policy has been in place and successfully served thousands of customers for over 10 years without change. Part of the offer is CozyWinters will deduct the actual shipping and handling costs from any return that originally received our "Free Shipping Offer". By choosing this shipping option the consumer is also agreeing to the terms and conditions of the "offer". If the consumer keeps their order, then they have a savings of the Shipping and Handling costs. If they return the item for refund, then, per the terms of the offer, the outbound shipping and handling costs will be deducted from the refund. This does not apply to an order with errors or defects, but only when the consumer chooses to return the product on their terms. This offer is no different than thousands of other websites, like Amazon.com for example. My research indicates the we followed all of the terms for issuing the refund per the policy that the consumer agreed to when placing their order. Thanks so much for allowing us to explain our position on this matter, and we do regret any trouble you had as we expressed personally in prior communication. Thanks and Sincerely, ************* Director of Customer Service CozyWinters.com

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The 'false advertising' of free shipping is still not addressed. Please take this complaint seriously. Your continued flawed policy is cheating your customers of an honest transaction with Cozy Winters. I request to receive the shipping costs I paid to return your item. Are you taking a loss now by deducting the 'free shipping' cost from my original price? Are you taking the loss?, I repeat. As per your response, I am taking the loss by paying for 'free shipping' on the initial order. How can this be legal? I realize a ruling in my favor will cost Cozy Winters my refund plus many other unsuspecting misguided customers who are being fooled by your false advertisement of 'free shipping'. If you are deducting my 'shipping costs' from the returned item, I am also requesting the reimbursement of my 'free shipping' cost included in the original price. Cordially, ****** ******

Business' Final Response
Thanks again for sharing your feedback and concerns with us. We take all feedback seriously and use it when appropriate to improve our customer's experience. It's always good to understand how consumers interpret the terms and conditions of our policies. Our research indicates that we correctly followed all of the terms for issuing the refund per the policy that the consumer agreed to when placing their order. Thanks so much for allowing us to explain our position on this matter, and we do regret any trouble you had as we expressed personally in prior communication. Thanks and Sincerely, ************* Director of Customer Service CozyWinters.com

3/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Time taken to resend a product and charging a second shipping fee. In December my wife ordered a pair of heated gloves for me from Cozy Winters. However, when the gloves arrived we discovered that they were too small (we had underestimated the glove size that I would need) and we shipped them back. When a larger set of gloves had not arrived after a couple of weeks we contacted Cozy Winters and were informed that according to their policy they had 30 days to send another pair. Their policy about exchanging an item says that it has to be returned to them within 30 days. The policy about refunds says that Cozy Winters will normally be issued within 30 days of receipt. The policy about exchanges says that items for exchange are subject to the same criteria as items for refund but we are not asking for a refund of the money. Furthermore, although the web site says "Canadian Orders Welcomed" but we are told that we will have to pay a second shipping fee. I could find nothing about a second shipping fee for an exchanged item on the web site.

Desired Settlement: No second shipping fee to be charged.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I am unable to respond to this complaint because the name on the order does not match the name on this complaint. Neither the Bill to nor the Ship to match. I would request that the person who's name was on the order is the one to initiate the complaint, since that person may have actually read the terms of our return policy and understood that the return shipping on an Exchange is the responsibility of the consumer. Thank you for your assistance.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't accept the response from the business for two reasons. First, while their policy does not state that they will cover the return shipping fees for exchanges from International orders their policy also does not say that they won't thereby leaving the purchaser ignorant of their policy. As I indicated in my original complaint on their website they say that Canadian orders are welcome potentially leaving purchasers to believe that Canadian orders will be treated the same as American ones. Second, the statement that "any price differences of the exchanged item(s)" can easily be read to mean that if there is a difference in the price of the item sent back and the new item requested that the differential will be charged or credited to the original method of payment. It is not at all obvious that this statement applies to shipping costs. However, at this time I have made the points that I want to, i.e., that the company's policy regarding international orders is ill-stated. Therefore I will not be pursuing this any further.

Business' Final Response
Thanks for sharing your feedback and concerns with us. We take all feedback seriously and use it when appropriate to improve our customer's experience. My research indicates that we followed all of the terms for exchanging the product per the policy that the consumer agreed to when placing their order. The shipping fees for the original order only covered the delivery of the original order. Since that delivery was successful the delivery portion of the order was complete and there were no funds left over from the original order to cover any additional or future deliveries. Nowhere in our policy do we offer to pay the return shipping fees for exchanges for International orders. Our Exchange policy also states "Any price differences of the exchanged item(s) will be charged or credited to the original method of payment.". This would include the cost of the return shipping fees for that exchange. Thanks so much for allowing us to explain our position on this matter, and we do regret any trouble you had as we expressed personally in prior communication. Thanks and Sincerely, ************* Director of Customer Service CozyWinters.com

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cozy Winters ships items to their customers and advertises "Free" Shipping and when you process a refund, they exclude a shipping fee from the refund. RETURN RECVD: 16-JAN-2013 RMA #XXXXXX-XXXXX:Returned (1) KH-XXXX-XXXX-HEATED: Outdoor Heated Cat House Shipping_refunds; CozyWinters will deduct the actual shipping and handling costs from any return that originally received Free Shipping.: $11.72 Credit Due: ($83.23) 13-Feb-2013: WE HAVE ISSUED A CREDIT TO THE ACCOUNT DESCRIBED BELOW IN THE AMOUNT OF: $83.23. Account Type: Visa Last 4 digits of Account Number: 9552 CUSTOMER SERVICE REP: ***** ********* CozyWinters.com Customer Service The above are details of the order. As you can clearly see all of the email correspodane indicated that shipping was "FREE". Then when they processed the return and emailed me, they indicated they were deducting $11.72 from my refund for the FREE shipping. This policy was not clearly stated in the emails containing details of my order. When I contacted them, customer service repeatedly informed me of their "policy" and when I asked for a supervisor, she said he was busy assisting other customers, but I could email him, which I did. I'm not sure they understand the meaning of the word "FREE."

Desired Settlement: I wish a refund in the total amount of the return. The amount not refunded was $11.72-which they deam as the "FREE" shipping. I wish to have this amount refunded to my Visa along with the $83.23 they are in the process of refunding.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thanks for sharing your feedback and concerns with us. We take all feedback seriously and use it when appropriate to improve our customer's experience. Our Free Shipping Offer, is indeed an "offer", with a few conditions that are clearly outlined in our Store Policies. We make no effort to hide or disguise the terms of the offer. This policy has been in place and successfully served thousands of customers for over 10 years without change. Part of the offer is CozyWinters will deduct the actual shipping and handling costs from any return that originally received our "Free Shipping Offer". By choosing this shipping option the consumer is also agreeing to the terms and conditions of the "offer". If the consumer keeps their order, then they have a savings of the Shipping and Handling costs. If they return the item for refund, then, per the terms of the "offer", the outbound shipping and handling costs will be deducted from the refund. This does not apply to an order with errors or defects, but only when the consumer chooses to return the product on their terms. This offer is no different than thousands of other websites, like Amazon.com for example. My research indicates that we followed all of the terms for issuing the refund per the policy that the consumer agreed to when placing their order. Thanks so much for allowing us to explain our position on this matter, and we do regret any trouble you had as we expressed personally in prior communication. Thanks and Sincerely, ************* Director of Customer Service CozyWinters.com

2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a product and it did not work out. I wanted to return it, asked for a RMA #, but was told from company it is does not take returns.. Ordered and paid for a product called Thermo Soles, a product that heats your feet from a battery operated heater that looks like a sole of a shoe for my wife. It arrived on 1/31/13 and I put it on the charger, per instructions, and tried it. It did not fit her shoes well, they did not seem to work as well as she liked. That night she wanted me to send them back, I emailed the company and asked for a RMA number to return (as per their policy). I packaged up the items and awaited their reply. Today I get a reply that said more or less, they will not refund or allow a return based upon the fact they are used... What? We opened them, charged them, tried them on, and now that qualifies them for a no return? I have never, ever, had a place tell me that opening the packing constitues used (except in software). The **** thing is new, still new and was not cut to fit or anything. I think the company should change its policy or not be an internet company. I see they have the majority of complaints at BBB due to the same issues. Since I cannot touch, feel, try out, ahead of time, they should not be so strict a policy. This is stupid.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to allow the return of the product and refund my money.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Dear BBB, I have reviewed this consumer's order. There seems to have been a misunderstanding between our Customer Support staff and the consumer. On February 1 the consumer contacted us with an issue with one of the products that he had purchased that was not functioning properly. When our Customer Support staff reached out to him they were merely trying to offer suggestions on how to operate the product and in that communication they had information about the returns process. Since some of our products are electronic and consumers often need assistants configuring the product out of the box, all the Customer Support was trying to do was offer a solution to get the product functioning. But, our Customer Support agent did fail to fully understand the consumers concerns and did not take the time to call the consumer and get more information and fully understand his situation, which would have been our normal protocol. Once our General Manager reviewed the situation she sent the consumer the necessary Returns Authorization on February 4, so the consumer could return the product for a full refund. This situation has prompted us to provide additional training for the said Customer Support agent in an attempt to avoid this situation in the future. The last communication we received from the consumer was that he was returning the product for his refund. Sincerley, ****** ****** CozyWinters.com Management

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pair of Zanier Heated gloves from Cozywinters.com in November, 2011 and the gloves are defective. I purchased a pair of Zanier Heated gloves from Cozywinters.com in November, 2011. Six months later (April 2012) I noticed that the gloves did not charge after several hours of use but I assumed that this was due to the fact that the weather was relatively warm. When I tried to use them this fall in cold weather the gloves again refused to charge or deliver heat. Cozywinters customer support told me that the warranty had expired two weeks before my call. I was not even allowed to speak with technical support to see if there was anything that I could do to fix them nor would they attempt to repair them for a fee.

Desired Settlement: Repair or replace these gloves.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Dear BBB, On 11/23/2011 Customer called to request for warranty services for his order. Unfortunately at the time of the customer's call the order was outside of the one year limited warranty. Warranty services for this order are for one year from the date of shipment. CozyWinters.com will consider the delivery date as the start time for the warranty period and for this order the delivery date is 11/10/2011. Our customer service representative confirmed the warranty service period as per our 30 Day Return Policy and the product information. In addition; by accessing, using and placing orders via the cozywinters.com web site, customers agree that their access to and use of this web site is subject to these terms, conditions and policies. Returning an Item: http://cozywinters.com/helpdesk/returns.html You have 30 days from the date of shipment to initiate the return or exchange of an item. After 30 days all sales are final and all items are subject to the terms and conditions of the manufacturer's warranty. In most cases you will need to contact the manufacturer directly for warranty service or support. Product information: http://cozywinters.com/shop/zs-hzx-liion.html One Year Limited Warranty Includes: 1 Pair of Zanier Heat-ZX European Designed, Heated Ski Gloves with processor-controlled heating elements in each finger and thumbs with Impulse Control Technology 2 Power Packs (4 Lithium-ion batteries) 1 Global Recharger that can be used in US at 110v and Europe at 230v. (charges both power packs at the same time) As of 11/23/2011 CozyWinters.com cannot extend a warranty service that is now expired on a product that we are not the manufacturer. CozyWinters.com can contact the manufacturer and see if the manufacturer will consider extending the warranty period for this order. Once we have made contact with the manufacturer, we will contact the customer on this order with the results of our request to consider extending the warranty service to the date of the customer's call of 11/23/2011. Sincerely, CozyWinters.com Management

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Zanier gloves in question actually became defective in April, 2012, when I noticed that the gloves would not charge no matter how long they were left on. At that time I believed that the failure to charge resulted from a lack of drain being placed on the batteries because the weather was relatively warm. When I began to ski again in November (and the weather was cold) I found out that the gloves would not charge at all. I request that CozyWinters make an exception to the time limit in warranty deadline, which I missed by only two weeks, or request an exception from the manufacturer and repair or replace these gloves.

Business' Final Response
Dear BBB, We were able to receive an exception to the expired one year warranty from the manufacturer and have sent instructions to our customer to return the product for warranty service. Sincerely, CozyWinters.com Management

7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have consistently received defective merchandise I received a pair of Zanier battery operated mitts as a gift in Dec 2011. Since that time they have stopped working and I have returned them to have the company confirm that they are defective and Cozy Winters has sent me a new pair. After 3 pairs, the company said this Austrian company has been producing defective merchandise and would I like to try their own product which I did. I am now in their second pair of mitts which have stopped working also. Each time I ship the mitts back to the company it costs me $15. I cannot afford this anymore. The mitts last between 2 weeks and 2 months and then they stop working. the company admits they are defective. The last correspondence states" Upon our evaluation and testing of your battery heated gloves we have discovered that both gloves are defective." Dated ******. 1, 2012 I can continue this procedure of returning the gloves and getting new ones until Oct 15, 2012 when my warranty runs out. I cannot afford the shipping or the loss of use of the mitts as I use them for work. My customer ID is ****** and reference # is ******. Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter

Desired Settlement: I am seeking either 1. partial refund on the cost that I paid for the mitts. 2. Total refund on my shipping costs $75.00 3. Both

Business Response: Business' Initial Response Dear BBB, Please note that our customer for this product is ***** *****. *** ****** appears to be the recipient and user of the product. CozyWinters has stood by the original product purchased (Zanier battery heated mittens) made on 11/20/2010 with warranty service, and the recipient agreed to accept warranty replacement. We have paid for all of the shipping fees for the warranty replacement product to be shipped back to the recipient. It is the consumers responsibility to pay for the product to be returned to us. Our policy clearly states that "All return shipping charges must be prepaid." This is the policy that the customer agreed to when placing their order. According to our return policy: Customers have 30 days from the date of shipment to initiate the return or exchange of an item. After 30 days all sales are final and all items are subject to the terms and conditions of the manufacturer's warranty. On 3/23/2011 CozyWinters replaced the original pair of mittens and again in 7/15/2011. Both times, the replacement mittens were shipped directly to our customer's recipient, ****** ****** in Vancouver BC, Canada at CozyWinters expense. In September of 2011 CozyWinters allowed the recipient to exchange the Zanier mittens for a new pair of WarmGear brand gloves, and apply the cost difference as store credit towards a full set of heated foot warmers. The replacement gloves were shipped directly to our customer's recipient, ****** ****** in Vancouver BC, Canada at CozyWinters expense. CozyWinters also extended the warranty period for the WarmGear brand gloves to a full year. Warranty will end October 2012. 11/21/2011: Customer's recipient contacted CozyWinters stating the WarmGear brand gloves are no longer working. This pair was replaced on 1/10/2012. The replacement gloves were shipped directly to our customer's recipient, ****** ****** in Vancouver BC, Canada at CozyWinters expense. 5/23/12: Customer's recipient contacted CozyWinters stating the WarmGear brand gloves are no longer working. No other reason was provided as to why they are not working. CozyWinters has issued a new Technical Support Return Authorization number to have customer's recipient return the WarmGear brand gloves for warranty service. CozyWinters will honor the warranty and replace all non-functioning part or whole of the gloves for the customer's recipient at no charge. As you can see we are standing behind the products that we sell and have been paying our share of the shipping costs to return any warrantied product back to the recipient. We have sold thousands of pairs of these gloves and mittens with a very low defect rate. As to why this particular consumer is having problems we do not know why, but it is VERY unusual and unfortunate. Sincerely, CozyWinters.com

Consumer's Final Response (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is nothing new in this response. We are not disagreeing in the above events. The issue is I have had 5 pair of defective mitts and each pair has cost me $15/pair to ship back to Cozy Winters. I have the last pair here in my home because I cannot afford to send them back again!!! I want the public to know that these are a defective item. Not just one pair but 5 pairs!!!!!!! I have researched other sites and blogs and there is a consistent pattern of defective mitts. I am challenging the company to amend their return/refund policy. When the product is this defective at least pay for my shipping or give me a credit toward another product. I am not satisfied with their chronological order of facts---this was never in dispute. On a positive note I love my boot warmers---my fellow workers have asked where I bought them and because of the poor customer service in this UNUSUAL circumstance I have not recommended this company. Thank you BBB for all your time in this matter. Nothing has been resolved and my faith in this company has not been restored. Sincerely ******

Business' Final Response Dear BBB, I'd like to make it clear that we have never knowingly shipped "defective merchandise" to any of our customers. Our manufacturers have quality control systems in place and we have had a lot of good luck to have very low numbers of any defective products. We also often unit test replacement product to avoid any repeat replacements. Unfortunately, sometimes issues beyond anyone's control can arise after the product has been in use for some time depending on how the product has been used. Since this is an electronic product, it is also often very difficult to pin-point the cause of these issues, since we cannot see how the product was used or handled. That said we have always stood behind the products we sell and are always willing to warranty our products as needed within the product's warranty period. The issue of refunding return shipping fees is moot, since the 30 day return period has passed on the initial purchase of the product. Within that 30 day return period we usually pay to pick up any defective product or we refund a customer for their shipping expenses. Outside the initial 30 day return period it is the consumer's responsibility to return the product so it can be processed under the manufacturer's warranty. We have two options to offer: 1. If the consumer's product is indeed defective, the consumer can return the product for replacement under the terms of the product's Warranty. The consumer is still responsible for the return shipping fees to return the product to our facilities. 2. We are willing to issue a STORE CREDIT for the remaining value of the Gloves, which can be used for any product on our website. The consumer would need to return the gloves and is still responsible for the return shipping fees to return the product to our facilities. Sincerely, CozyWinters.com Management

4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2012 Delivery Issues
1/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues