BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Stonewood Insurance Services, Inc.

Phone: (800) 396-1485 PO Box 2528, Rancho Cordova, CA 95741 http://www.stonewoodinsurance.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stonewood Insurance Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stonewood Insurance Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Stonewood Insurance Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 30, 2007 Business started: 03/01/2005 in CA Business started locally: 03/01/2005 Business incorporated: 08/09/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

INSURANCE COMMISSION (LICENSING INFO.)
320 Capitol Mall 1ST Fl, Sacramento CA 95814
Phone Number: (916) 322-3555

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Clyde Sturgeon, Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clyde Sturgeon, Broker
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Auto

Products & Services

Stonewood Insurance specializes in writing California Non-Standard Personal Automobile coverage.


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 2528

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95741

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The payoff amount was $832.60 for the remaining balance. That of 91.00 was paid then cancelled because of non payment & the better business bureau has a case#********. I would like a refund please. Thanks ****** ******.

Desired Settlement: Just to refund me my money that i paid for total $357.52.

Business Response:

An auto policy was written through Stonewood Insurance on behalf of Mr. ******* by his broker, effective 4/01/14, policy #***********.  This is a six month policy, premium $411.00, not including fees and is currently active.  There is one vehicle on the policy, a 2001 ****** Sienna with one rated driver, ****** ** ******.  Shortly after inception, the policy was cancelled due to underwriting reasons, however that issue was resolved and the policy was reinstated.  The total amount paid to date on this policy is $315.90.  The initial down payment received by us was $92.57.  According to our file, to date there have been no cancellations due to non-payment.  The insured's statements of a payoff amount of $832.60, a purchase date of 8/07/14 and a problem occurring on 3/20/14 do not match the facts of this policy.  It's possible that Mr. ****** may be referring to a separate policy written elsewhere and should consult his broker.  If Mr. ****** wishes to cancel his policy with Stonewood Insurance, he may do so by submitting a written and signed request.  Currently the policy is scheduled to cancel for non-payment at 12:01 a.m. on 8/17/14.  Another option for him would be to allow the policy to cancel for non-payment.  If he did in fact secure coverage elsewhere, he can provide us with proof of this and we will review it to see if backdating the cancellation is in order.  Mr. ****** has been covered for his vehicle for the period of 4/01/14 to current.  There is no basis for a full refund. 

 

Respectfully,

Stonewood Underwriting Department

                     

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ****** ******* am a client of the insurance Stonewood Insurance now for some time.  But the past 4th of May, my family and I had an accident. We were returning home after visiting our relatives in Palm Springs. We live in  Bakersfield CA, but at the elevation of Redlands CA being 10:30 at night approx. the accident happened and the one who was driving my son. At the moment he felt drowsy and pretended leaving the freeway he fell asleep and crashed with the outside protective barrier. All the front end of the Explorer was damaged badly, there were no other vehicles involved, and also nobody was injured. Only the truck was damaged. When I reported to my insurance such accident, they responded that they could not help me with nothing only because the one that was driving was not on the policy. In the vehicle the only travelers were my wife, my son, and I. When we were with our relatives, I drank some beers and I did not dare to drive for fear of getting involved with a DUI even though I felt perfectly fine. My son suggested that he drive, since my wife is scared of driving at night and thats why my son drove the truck and of course he has his license to drive in force of California. 

Desired Settlement: Help me with expenses and with the financier since I am paying off the Explorer to Wells Fargo.

Business Response: We have been advised by the claims department manager that during the investigation of this claim, a recorded statement was taken from the insured.  During this call it was disclosed that the insured's son was the driver in the accident and that he was also a member of the household.  The policy requires that ALL members of the household over the age of 14 years, be added or excluded on the policy.  Prior to the accident, this driver had not been declared.  It was calculated that having this driver added to the policy would have increased the premium by 209%, which was determined to be material to the non-disclosure.  Therefore, the policy was rescinded due to Material Misrepresentation and coverage for the claim has been denied.  The insured has been notified and a full refund is scheduled to go out to him on 7/18/14.     

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was rear ended by one of Stonewood's clients.Fault was admitted, I had pictures of the damages and the appraiser came about one week later to look at my vehicle. The person handling my claim called me once after about 5 voicemails I left him. Unfortunately his call was during work hours and I missed the call. I called about another 5 times before I got a hold of him and he sent me the paperwork from what the estimated damages were. From there I heard nothing. I kept being ignored and when i demanded an answer,his reply was "your check was mailed yesterday." Two weeks later and still no check, I asked for a status update and he didn't have a clear answer. Now , he just ignores me. What kind of people work here? My vehicle is deteriorating and these people think it's okay to ignore me and not be responsible for the damages done to my vehicle .

Desired Settlement: Two months later and this has not been resolved. My vehicle is in worse condition now. I need a new appraiser to come and look at the new damages caused due to negligence. I need a different representative to handle my claim as I am tired of being ignored.I need Stonewood to expedite my request with diligence .

Business Response: We ask that you please provide us with the name and policy number of our insured.  Another option would be the name of the carrier and adjuster you have been corresponding with.  Since we are the General Agency for multiple carriers, we will need this information in order to direct and resolve the issue with the appropriate party.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:It still does not resolve the matter. 

The policy number I was provided is ************** and it belongs to ****** ******.  The Representative handling
my claim#******* , was ***** ********. Please notify me if additional information is required . 
Thank You . 

Business Response:

In regards to the claims process for the accident that occurred with our insured, below is a complete response from the claims department manager:

Ms. ******** was contacted on 5/19/14 to set the inspection of her vehicle.   She could not meet our appraiser until 5/21/14.  Her vehicle was estimated and photographed on 5/21/14, however, we had not spoken to our insured, ****** ****** yet.  We were able to make contact with our insured on 5/22/14 and confirm the facts of loss.  We spoke again with Ms. ******** on 6/3/14 and confirmed her version of the accident and verified there were no injuries.  Ms. ******** mentioned at that time that she had been pushed into another vehicle (which we’ll call the 3rd vehicle), but thought that the 3rd vehicle suffered no damage.  Because of the low limits for PD on the Lepage policy we attempted to verify whether or not there was actually damage to the 3rd vehicle so as not to prematurely deplete the policy limits.  We did not hear back from the owner of the 3rd vehicle so we opted to pay the damage to Ms. ********’s vehicle.  The check was issued to Ms. ******** on 6/18/14.   Unfortunately, the address on the check was incorrect and so the check was returned to us on 7/3/14.  Once we were able to obtain the correct address, the check was reissued and fed ex’d to Ms. ******** on 7/10/14.  We believe this matter has been resolved to Ms. ********’s satisfaction.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ****** was injured in a rollover accident when she was hit by a ******'s delivery truck on Wed. Jan. 15, 2014 at approximately 11:30pm. Ms. ****** stated that her car had a total electrical failure and her locked steering wheel left her partially in the road when she was hit, pushed 30ft and rolled over 2.5 times. She was covered in dirt and glass when she was picked up and taken away by ambulance. The insurance party representing the ******'s delivery service claims that Ms. ****** was outside the car at the time of the accident and was a distraction for the other driver, causing him to strike her vehicle. Ms. ******'s insurance has made no attempt to discuss compensation.

Desired Settlement: Set a court date and provide a lawyer so that we can be compensated for our car, towing and storage fees ($60 a day). 1/16/14 to current.

Business Response:

In response to the complainant’s dispute, we have obtained information from the carrier claims department, as follows: 

Per the investigation for claim #*******, the named insured on the policy has stated that his insured vehicle stalled in the middle of the road and was hit by another vehicle.  Per the police report, the other party has stated that he was distracted by the driver of the named vehicle who was outside of the vehicle waiving her arms while in the middle of the roadway.  The police report further states that she was transported to Mercy Medical Center by AMR from the scene; however, no injuries could be substantiated from the collision.  The vehicle, a 1994 Toyota Camry only carried third party coverage.  There was no medical payments coverage or uninsured motorist coverage.The police report states that the driver of the insured vehicle, caused this accident.

 If the insured is seeking recovery for injuries or repairs to this vehicle, she must pursue this through the other party’s carrier, Hartford Insurance Company. The assigned claims representative will attempt to reach the insured’s driver this week to discuss the matter further.    

 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

It is not our responsibility to haggle with a conflicting parties insurance company.  As our hired insurance carrier, it is that of Stonewood insurance services to assume that responsibility.  It is also their responsibility to know and uphold traffic laws as they relate to the assignment of blame in such matters.  At the very least they should know that distraction does not excuse a driver from fault.  Yet seemingly stonewood has set a precedence for what in-fact "the very least" implies. 

Business Response:

In response to the complainant’s rejection of our response, below is the information obtained directly from the insurance carrier’s claims manager along with the attached police report:


1.       There is no CL/CP  on the 1994 Toyota Camry involved in the accident, according to the renewal dec page in PTS.  We advised the insured of this fact at the time the loss was being investigated.  If she wants to claim the damages, she needs to file a claim with the other party’s insurance company.

2.       The policy does not provide a “lawyer” for the insured to pursue a claim.  She would need to do that on her own.  (if the insured was ever sued as a defendant, however, the policy would provide for a defense, in which case we would provide an attorney – barring any coverage issues)

3.       The P.R. puts the insured at fault for the accident.  I attached a copy of the report in case you need it.  We ended up negotiating with the other party and paying the PD limit of $10,000.  (the PD demand exceeded $14k, but they took the $10k limit after signing a release of all claims)

4.       Also, just FYI - there was another claim for a sign pole with the same date of loss, but different time of loss.  Another party was claiming that the insured vehicle struck a pole on his property then fled the scene.  The owner of the pole gave inconsistent facts of loss, so we denied the claim.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: 


The day after being released from the hospital as result of a roll over accident with a bigrig, we filed a claim with stonewood, in which I gave the names and insurance numbers of the involved parties.  Despite this, a week later after not hearing back, I come to find, that Stonewood has subsequently closed the claim after categorizing it as a hit and run by an unidentified driver.   So now, at the point by which a full investigation should have already been well underway, I find myself trying to assist stonewood in the reopening the claim.  To this very day Stonewood has not taken a statement, looked at the vehicle or the hospital report, and or to our knowledge investigated the accident scene.  Yet as you tell me now you have have made a determination and paid a counter claim.
If in fact this is true and a claim has been paid without our knowledge or consent I am obviously only further discouraged by the major lack of formality in which you and or your company operates. 
None the less I expect a physical copy of the settlement and your official determination as to cause and liability.  I can not gaurantee that further action will not be taken against stonewood insurance services.
 *** *** ****** ** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a vandalism incident at a night club. I had both my windows broken, and they crashed into my right door behind the passenger. I contacted Stonewood Insurance Services, and they refused to help me. They would not cover the broken windows, and I had to repair those on my own. To fix the damage to the door it's a total of $2500, and I believe they should be responsible for those damages.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) To fix my damages on the door, I have been waiting way too long to hear anything back from them!

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Policy #: GSPXXXXXXXX Insured: ****** ***** ************ This auto insurance policy was originally written through us on 8/27/12 for an annual term. The policy renewed on 8/27/13 and is currently active in the second term. In regards to the claim in question, the date of loss was reported to have occurred on 4/10/13. The carrier's claims manager has advised us that as a part of the claims investigation an automotive consultant was retained to inspect the subject vehicle, specifically to perform a collision analysis. On 5/08/13 this inspection took place at the insured's residence. The consultant observed broken windows on the vehicle along with multiple marks, scratches, scrapes and dents in various areas on the vehicle body. The report gave a detailed description of each damaged area and how it most likely occurred, also that these would have been sustained from multiple incidences. It was concluded that the broken windows could potentially be the result of vandalism, but there was no evidence to support that the other damage resulted from vandalism. Upon completion of the claims investigation, it was determined that the damage from the vandalism was isolated to the broken windows. The estimate to repair the windows was found to be $502.23. This fell below the deductible of $750.00. A letter to this effect was sent to the insured on 6/07/13 and the claim was closed with nothing paid out.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stone wood did not provide me with a bill during my service time. leading me to believe I had no insurance coverage. now they want me to pay $62. To whom it may concern: I ******* S. ***** do not owe Stone Wood/GMAC insurance. I don't understand where they came up with this amount of 62.68 and I am not going to pay. You need to provide a breakdown of what this amount is for because I don't understand why they are asking for money from me. If I owed them money why did they send me a consolation letter in 11-02-12. They did not ask me for money in December, January, February, and our March. But when it's time to renew my police they want money for what. I have called them several times and no one can explain why I owe this amount of money they just put me on hold and hang up after several minutes. Sincerely, ******* S. ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX p.o. box **** ********** CA, XXXXX

Desired Settlement: to dismiss me from the universal recovery corporation

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
******* ***** - GSPXXXXXXXX The insured has had her auto insurance with our company since 4/01/10 and renewed upon each annual term. On 3/09/12 a Renewal Billing Notice went out to her, annual premium $982.00 plus fees of $41.58. Downpayment due by 3/31/12. The payment was not received on time and the policy expired on 4/01/12 at 12:01a.m. On 4/01/12 @ 2:56 PM the insured made a credit card payment in the amount of $700.00. This payment was immediately applied and the policy was reinstated/renewed. A reinstatement fee of $15.30 was also applied due to the brief lapse in coverage leaving a remaining balance due of $338.88. This would not be due until the equity had been used. On 10/23/12 the insured reported a stolen vehicle. Effective 11/05/12 her broker processed an endorsement to remove the vehicle and change to a non-owner's policy. This generated a downrate of $296.00 plus a $5.00 endorsement fee. The revised balance due, $47.88. On 3/19/13 a billing went out for the next renewal. Payment was not received and the policy expired on 4/02/13. On 4/07/13 a Renewal With Lapse Offer was sent to the insured, including the past due amount. There was no response. On 7/26/13 a collection notice was mailed to the insured for a past due amount of $62.68. On 8/16/13 a revised collection notice was sent for $47.78. *One more adjustment has been made making the correct and current amount due, $47.88. Following is a complete breakdown: $982.00 = Annual Premium $26.78 = Fully Earned Policy fee $1.80 = Fraud Fee $13.00 = Installment fee $15.30 = Reinstatement fee $5.00 = Installment fee $1043.88 = Total due -$700.00 = Paid by insured -$296.00 = Endorsement downrate *$47.88 = Remaining balance due Although it has been determined by the above breakdown that the outstanding balance is valid, we are in agreement that the billing may have been a source of confusion. Therefore, we have opted to extend a customer courtesy by waiving this balance. The insured may now disregard the collection notice.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Name on policy but not allowed to discuss my problem cause my name is not billing name. Wants to charge me to cancel my remaining insurance time. Policy # GSPXXXXXXXX-XX. Insurance is in both my brother and myself names. His is the billing name why I am not sure since I am the one that put in for the insurance. When I have a question to ask I am not allowed to do it. I have had insurance for a long time now and this is the FIRST insurance co. that will not allow me to discuss any thing with them. My name is on the policy along with my car and I can give them all the info they want but NO. I cant understand why this is like this and no one will explain it to me. They have no problem cashing MY checks with MY name on it or running my debit through for payment but they stop everything when it comes time for me to ask a Question. I dont think insurance companies should be ran this way. I call today and spoke with Ashley about canceling my policy cause I went with another co. and she wanted to charge me $50. This place will rob you blind with all these hidden fees. $50 to canel your policy and $80 to add another vehicle $26.78 Policy fee $1.80 Fraud Fee and who knows what else they want to charge you for. I would NOT under any way recommend this insurance to any one. I would rather everyone drop out of this co. and maybe then they would open their eyes and stop robbing people.

Desired Settlement: I want my balance owing me for the time remaining on my policy with out paying some stupid $50.00 fee. I know this will not happen cause they will drag it out till my policy ends. Just let it be known if something does happen this insurance will be the first to get the repair bill.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
August 23, 2013 GSPXXXXXXXX This policy was purchased through an on-line Web Sales based insurance brokerage. The policy was issued in the name of the person who identified themselves to the broker at point of sale. In this case, a single male currently listed as the named insured. The second driver is listed as the named insured's sibling, complainant ***** *****. This is how the application was submitted to us and therefore, how the policy was issued. If Ms. ***** was intended to be the named insured, she should have been the party electronically signing and agreeing/accepting the conditions of the contract. As previously stated, our records indicate a single male as the purchaser of this contract. The policy was originally written on 3/08/12 and has renewed for three semi-annual terms. Due to confidentiality reasons, we do not release information for a policy to anyone other than the named insured without their written authorization. On 10/03/12 we did receive a signed Policy Information Release by the named insured, listing Ms. *****. From that point on, policy information was provided to her when requested. As stated in the release, information about billing and coverage could be provided to the listed person but they would not be able to make changes to the policy or obtain personal information. This includes cancellations. As with all the fees, they are fully disclosed and listed on the Declaration page of the policy. This includes the $50.00 Cancellation fee, $26.78 Policy fee, $1.80 Fraud fee, $5.00 endorsement fee. There are no hidden fees. As for adding another vehicle to the policy, this would of course cause an uprate in premium. This policy is currently active. We have not received a signed cancellation request from the insured. It is true that the $50.00 cancellation fee will apply, however our Customer Service manager has provided a complete explanation to Ms. *****'s concerns and how to avoid the fee by suggesting that they let the policy expire upon the upcoming renewal date of 9/11/13. We are confident that we have addressed all areas of concern and provided a valid explanation to this complaint.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ******** does not know how to even work a computer let along get insurance in his name. And as of today 8/26/2013 I Ms. ***** still CAN NOT receive any information on our policy. They never sent us any of the rules for us to even go by. I have decided to let my policy run out and if something should happen they will be the insurance that I turn in and not my new insurance. These people will talk to you about paying them but that is the ONLY time they will speck to any one other than the one with the name at the top no matter what paper they say you need to sign. Will never use this insurance again or recommend it to anyone. Just watch out for these guys.

Business' Final Response
As previously stated, this policy was issued as the application was submitted, with ***** ******** as the named insured and the party who was represented as the signer, accepting and acknowledging the conditions of the policy. ***** ***** was listed as driver #2. It has been this way for three terms and a new declaration page was issued each term showing this. Our file contains several documented conversations in which Ms. ***** was provided with policy information and the signed Policy Information Release discloses the conditions "rules" of releasing information. On 8/20/13 an email was sent to Ms. ***** from our Customer Service manager providing her with policy information. After that date, I see no documentation indicating any correspondence from Ms. ***** other than this complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had this insurance for 3 years and we one time had a Honda Civic on the policy and a Chevy truck. We cancelled the Honda Civic and added a Jeep Cherokee, we were not charged a change fee. We took the Jeep to wrecking yard. Then we went to our insurance company and showed them the proof of junking at that time we were told that we needed to pay a fee of 440.00 to cancel or add a new vehicle to our policy. We junked the Jeep on Nov. 1,2012 we were still covered until Nov. 26, 2012 we did not ask for money back but they still wanted to charge us 40.00 for cancelling the vehicle. We were on a month to month payment so I see no reason why we could not cancel or add another vehicle and not be charged. No other company charges to add or change a vehicle.

Desired Settlement: We would pay 66.61 for the two vehicles we were told they would charge 44.62 for one vehicle.I think we should receive a 20.00 for that month and not be charging for a vehicle we did not have.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
GSPXXXXXXXX ****** ****** This policy was originally written through Stonewood Ins. by the broker on 4/26/10 and renewed for 3 annual terms. On 1/20/12 Ms. ****** contacted our office and stated that one of her vehicles was currently "not running." She wanted to know if she could remove the vehicle and add it back at a later date. We advised her that she could request changes at any time during the policy term and that there is a $5.00 fee for each endorsement. She was also advised that since she had two vehicles on the policy, by removing one, she would lose the Multi-Car Discount. She stated that she would leave both vehicles on the policy. On 10/29/12 Ms. ****** contacted our office to once again inquire about removing a vehicle. At this time, she was transferred to her servicing broker to assist her with the change. On 11/16/12 the broker attempted to process an endorsement through our automated system, on behalf of Ms. ******. On 11/26/12 the broker contacted our office to request that we decline the endorsement as he did not wish to submit it. The endorsement was declined. The policy cancelled on 12/07/12 for non-payment of premium, leaving a remaining balance due of $44.62. On 12/27/12, Ms. ****** contacted our office to state that she no longer owned the 1993 Jeep and was upset that the broker was charging her a broker fee. Our representative explained to her that we would be able to backdate the removal of the 1993 Jeep if she would provide written proof of ownership/release of liability to show the date she was no longer liable for the vehicle. She was also advised of the balance due of $44.62 and the amount required to reinstate the policy, if she wished to do so. She stated that she had previously called our office to cancel the policy. Our representative explained that we would not have taken a verbal request for cancellation, that the request would have had to be submitted in writing and includes a $50.00 Cancellation Fee. Based on the above, Ms. ****** failed to advise us that she had given up possession of the 1993 Jeep until after the policy had cancelled for non-pay. We did offer her instructions on what would be required to backdate the removal of the vehicle, but have not received anything to date. We are not aware of the broker fee amounts as mentioned in the insured's complaint, and therefore cannot comment on this. Following is a breakdown of the amount due: Accounting Breakdown $378.00 = Total premium for policy term 4/26/12 to 12/07/12 $ 26.78 = Fully Earned Policy Fee $ 3.60 = Fraud Fee $104.00 = Installment Fees - 8 @ $13.00 each $512.38 = Total Due $467.76 = Total Paid by Insured $ 44.62 = Balance Due by Insured

Consumer's Final Response
We do not feel that it is fair for a company to charge a cancellation fee or to add another car fee. "we are with farmers insurance and they don't charge a cancellation fee'. We are not satisfied with Stonewood Services. We should not have to pay.

Business' Final Response
Per our previous response and accounting breakdown, Ms. ****** was NOT charaged a cancellation fee nor was she charged an endorsement fee by us, Stonewood Insurance. The breakdown clearly shows that she was charged for earned premium, a fully earned policy fee, fraud fee, and accrued installment fees for the time that she had the policy. The $50 cancellation fee was mentioned only to substantiate that she had been advised by our representative during a phone call that IF the policy had been cancelled due to "insured request" as she had stated, she would have been charged a $50.00 cancellation fee per the guidelines of the policy. This policy cancelled for non-payment and the balance due is for earned premium and applicable fees, but NOT a cancellation fee.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Insurance they sold me not full coverage Arrowpoint insurance They sold insurance they told me full coverge. After accident in they told us insurance not full covarage . They have dishonest bussiness

Desired Settlement: Take care of my car or refund my pauments back

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This policy was originally written on 4/21/11 for an annual term. There were two drivers, two vehicles with liability limits of $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident, $10,000 Property Damage liability, Comprehensive and Collision coverage on each vehicle with $600 deductibles for both. On 4/21/12 the policy renewed for another annual term with no changes except for an address change. The drivers, vehicles and coverages remained the same. This policy was issued as requested per the submitted application by the broker. The insured received declaration pages for each term indicating the purchased coverages along with other documents and disclosures pertaining to the policy. Since the policy is written in the broker's office, any question of statements or conversations that take place at point of sale should be directed to the broker.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First month with this company and it took me two days to get a supervisor with customer service. I still don't think i got a supervisor. First problem i had with their " policies", the day after they discontinued my coverage they gave me, what they called a "courtesy call". So I called customer service to make a payment. It took three tries and about 45 minutes to get through. Lo and behold, they wanted an extra 20 dollars to reactivate my coverage. I explained to the first broken English operator that a courtesy call would have been expected the day before they discontinued my service, not the day after. He couldn't waive the 20 dollar fee. When i asked to speak with a supervisor he was reluctant to say the least. He explained that all of his supervisors were unavailable at the moment. When we ended the conversation, he promised to give my name and phone number to the next available supervisor. I had to repeat my phone number five times. Apparently he didn't have a pencil. Unfortunately, I did not receive a phone call from anyone at this company. The next day I waited patiently for a supervisor to call me back, to no avail. So rather then let my 30,000 dollar vehicle go without coverage any longer, I had to take it upon myself to call them back. To my amazement, the same guy answered the phone 30 minutes later. That fact instantly told me that they were just like wal-mart, 25 people in line and one clerk to check them all out. I sure hope it was worth saving 8.50 that hour to upset one of your brand new customers. So another 8 or 9 minutes on hold. What happened next was most astonishing, he says he's going to retrieve a supervisor for me. Then another broken English ***** gets on the phone and wont help at all. She argued, bickered and basically offered to do nothing regaurding my particular issue. Once again, stonewood is stonewalling me. If you pay a premium price for comp and collision, you expect premium service. Apparently, paying your bill is rocket science to these people. Obviously, they had my number, they could've chosen to call me the day before. Instead, they waited until the day after, for a stupid 20 dollar fee. I guess they hope consumers don't notice that they were being burned. I'm self-employed, and if one of my customers has a billing question or wants to schedule service, they call and I answer the **** phone and walk through it right then. If I run from the issue and try to duck them with filters like, customer service dum-dums or supervisors that sound like their 22 years old, they dont complain. They just hang up the phone and call someone else. stonewood could've made thousands from offering me insurance for my vehicle. Instead they wanted to bicker regaurding 20 dollars. HEY BOARD OF DIRECTORS, TIME TO GET YOUR HEADS OUT! I'm a brand new customer, I haven't been familiarized with your policies and procedures. The least you can do is answer the phone and try to work with me. Nope, just burn your customers. You'll be out of business in no time if you guys keep taking a dump on your customers front door step! That's the way I felt when I called customer service at your company. I've never filed a BBB complaint in my life. Apparently, the customer is not always right at stonewood insurance. I'll let my broker know how easy it was to deal with your crack team. Am I the only person left in the world who cares about customer service? Thanks stonewood for making the holidays this year a little more stressful!

Desired Settlement: The most applicable settlement, as far as I'm concerned, if I could call your company and a live operator answers. Something tells me it's cheaper to have the automated service. I don't want anything free, I'm not trying to scam or guilt anyone into anything free. I was hoping your company could avoid this from happening to any other single fathers of three during the holidays.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On 12/07/12 we received an application for insurance on behalf of ******* ******. The policy was issued as requested and documents, including a courtesy notice with a "schedule of future payments." On 12/11/12 we received a call from the insured advising us to add Financial Indemnity as the lienholder for his vehicle. We processed an endorsement and proof of insurance was forwarded to his lienholder. A copy was also mailed to Mr. ******. On 12/10/12 a billing notice was mailed to the insured with a due date of 12/27/12. Upon this date, payment had not been received and a Notice of Cancellation was issued to Mr. ****** by Certificate of Mail, to be effective 1/07/13 @ 12:01a.m. On 1/07/13 @ 2:54p.m. we received a call from Mr. ******. He was advised that his policy had cancelled due to non-payment of premium. He was advised of the amount required to reinstate the policy, which did in fact include a reinstatement fee. Mr. ****** stated to our representative that he was not notified by phone prior to the cancellation date. Our representative advised him that two notices were sent to him by mail. Mr. ****** stated to our representative that he does not read his mail. Our representative offered Mr. ****** the option of setting his future payments up on a recurring credit card account so that the payments would automatically be drafted on the appropriate due date. He also offered to postpone the reinstatement fee until the next billing cycle. Mr. ****** stated that he could not make the payment at that time but would be able to make the payment on Friday. The representative advised him that the policy would remain cancelled until the payment was received. At this time, Mr. ****** asked to speak to a supervisor. Due to Monday's heavy call volume there was no available supervisor at the time. Our representative advised Mr. ****** of this and that a supervisor would return his call as soon as possible. On 1/08/13 Mr. ****** contacted our office again and was transferred to a supervisor. He explained to the supervisor that he does not read his mail and feels that everything should be automated. He further stated that he felt his insurance bill should operate the same way as his utility bills. At this point the supervisor offered to waive the reinstatement fee but advised him that she could not reinstate the policy unless a payment was made. Mr. ****** asked her to take his credit card information to keep on file but not run the draft until Friday. She advised him that she would not be able to do that. Mr. ****** became upset and began to use profanity, at which point the call was disconnected. On 1/15/13 we received a payment for the policy paid through the broker. The payment was applied accordingly and the policy was reinstated. Also, on 1/15/13 the broker contacted our Customer Service Manager to let her know that Mr. ****** expressed to him that he was dissatisfied with our service. In an effort to discuss the matter with Mr. ****** the manager made a call to him at 1:42p.m. Mr. ****** told her that he was busy and asked her to call back in an hour. At 3:37p.m. the manager made another call, she received his voice mail. She left a message telling him that it had been brought to her attention that he was not happy with the service he had received and that she would like to help with the issue when he had the time. She left her direct number so he could call her back. Currently, he has not called back. Mr. ******'s policy originally cancelled due to non-payment of premium. Although there is a $20.00 reinstatement fee, the first representative that he spoke to offered to postpone the fee until the next billing. When the call was turned over to a supervisor, she offered to waive the fee altogether. Both, representative and supervisor are bi-lingual and speak perfect English. Regardless of the fee, Mr. ****** was either unable or unwilling at that time to make the necessary premium payment required to reinstate his policy. Without payment the policy could not be reinstated. The payment was not received for another eight days.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't think you should be required to pay twice in 1 month on any services you get. That was my original complaint. you're the only creditor I have that wants the money upfront rather than pay the bill after its mailed out. Way to help out a customer that paidno all kind of money to start service first month good customer service

Business' Final Response
As per our previous response, Mr. ****** was billed accordingly and given ample time and notification for his monthly premium. The payment was not received by the disclosed due date and time, resulting in cancellation. He contacted our office after the policy had cancelled and was advised of the requirements to reinstate. He was provided with multiple options to reduce the amount necessary to reinstate the policy. Unfortunately, NO payment at all was simply not an option. Coverage cannot be provided without payment. He was only required to make one payment per month. Mr. ****** WAS transferred to a supervisor when he requested, however, since she was not able to reinstate his policy without payment, he requested yet another supervisor. When this supervisor returned his call, two times, he was unable to speak to her. We are confident that we have provided nothing less than quality service. Mr. ******'s complaint stems from our inability to comply with his request to reinstate coverage without payment. Unfortunately, we could not help him in this regard.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i paid them over the phone. Thier computer said it had an error and hung up. The error was it charged me twice. i paid them over the phone. Thier computer said it had an error and hung up. The error was it charged me twice. my husband called his card company and they saidf it would be taken care of in ten days. After the ten days i called the insurance company and told them my problem. They confirmed they charged me twice but still would not credit back the second payment. I only gave permission for one payment.

Desired Settlement: i would like my money back. They said they would just credit my account with the extra money. I told them I wanted it back but they said no.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The insured called our office on 07/16/12 @ approx 2pm. She advised our representative that on 7/04/12 she had attempted to make a reinstatement payment to her policy through our automated system. She stated that due to an error in the process, two payments were made instead of one. She requested that one of the payments be credited back to her. We asked our accounting department to review the payment history to see if we could reverse one of the payments. It was determined that our system had applied the second payment to the policy as a credit. By the time the insured contacted our office to advise us that the second payment had been made in error, the next monthly installment billing had already generated and was due in 4 days, on 7/20/12. The credit was applied as a payment for this bill. At this point, if the payment was refunded we would not have had enough time to bill out again for the 7/20/12 installment. If we had been contacted at an earlier date of the error, we could have reversed the payment and had more time for the billing process. Currently, this policy is active and there is no payment due at this time.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2011 Billing/Collection Issues