BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Dick Harris Insurance Agency

Phone: (916) 960-0588 View Additional Phone Numbers 10 Sierra Gate Plaza #160, Roseville, CA 95678 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dhiins.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 3/18/2014 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 1D. Be free of an unsatisfactory rating and maintain at least a B rating at the accrediting BBB and the BBB where it is headquartered, if different.
  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.
  • 6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Dick Harris Insurance Agency include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dick Harris Insurance Agency
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 03, 2009 Business started: 07/08/1981 Business started locally: 07/08/1981 Business incorporated: 07/08/1981 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Harris, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Harris, President
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance Agents Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Property


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10 Sierra Gate Plaza #160

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 960-0588 (916) 960-0575

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 960-0575(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dick-Harris-Insurance-Agency/199587442391
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 03/05/2012 my broker informed me that she could get insurance cheaper for us from Allied as opposed to Progressive (our current company at that time). We thought that this was great as we like to save money. ******* switched our insurance from one company to the other. We were happy until 03/12/2012 when we received a letter from the DMV which stated that my husband's license has been suspended due to the fact that he does not have a current SR22 on file with DMV. I thought this was weird as we have always carried it but then remembered that we switched insurance companies so that must have been it. I contacted our agent ******* who was surprised to hear this as well and wanted to help us to get it updated. After she looked into the situation she let us know on 03/12/2012 that the insurance company Allied forgot to send it over to DMV but she assured us that once DMV received our SR22 that they would remove the suspension as Allied made the effective for the day for the day we switched 03/05/2012. I requested a copy of the updated info so that I could do my part by making sure that DMV updated the license issue. After receiving the information and confirming with DMV that they received their copy I inquired about getting the suspension lifted. DMV let me know that they would not honor the effective date as they received it late and ******* kept telling me to take it up with DMV. After several days of going back and forth we finally paid the $150 to get the license reinstated as it had been suspended. I was happy to get it behind me, until now. This year 2013 in August my husbands SR22 was up and he would be eligible to be a good driver as he has had his license for 3 years without interruption (good driver). I called ******* to let her know that we wanted to remove the SR22 and she let us know that she could not until December 2013 when we renewed (that was fine). It is now November and we receive all the update policy information and see that our rates did not go down. I called ******* and she stated that Allied took a big hit last year and that they contacted the Department of Insurance (DOI) and that DOI okayed for them to charge more from their customers to make up the loss. My not knowing the way things work took it for what it was, we were not going to have cheaper rates. After this I starting thinking and looked at each page of the new policy and noticed that on one of the pages my husband had a mark indicating that he had his license reinstated in 03/2012, he is no longer eligible to be a good driver this year and not for two more years. I called ******* and explained to her what was happening and she let me know that she would speak with the underwriter to see what she could do call 11/15/13. On 11/19/13 I had not heard back from ******* so I called her. She stated that she spoke with the underwriter who stated that they did send it over to DMV so they are not responsible. ******* explained to me that I needed to contact DMV and tell them to fix it. I told her that I now remember why I had to pay to reinstate the license as everyone was pointing the finger at each other. I told her that DMV suspended the license because they did not receive an updated SR22 by 03/12/12 and told her that they are not going to fix their records. ******* let me know that what DMV is doing is illegal and that I needed to fill a complaint against them and ask them for my $150 back for the reinstatement. I could not believe that she would tell me to contact DMV to tell them that they need to reimburse for their mistake. After this I called Allied to see if I could get this matter fixed with them. I spoke with ***** and she stated that she was very sorry and was going to see what she could work out with the underwriter as this whole situation was not our fault, she put me on hold. When she returned she let me know that they sent it over the DMV on 03/12/2012 at my broker's request. 7 days later then the due date!

Desired Settlement: Call DMV and get the suspension off the license (as ******* claims can to be done) fixed and pay us $150 for reinstatement of the license. If you are unable to get the license fixed through DMV I would like to be compensated for our good drivers discount that we do not receive. This would 20% for the next two years.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.