BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bertolino Insurance Agency, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bertolino Insurance Agency, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bertolino Insurance Agency, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 08, 2009 Business started: 05/01/2008 Business started locally: 05/01/2008 Business incorporated: 06/06/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Bertolino, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Bertolino, President
Business Category

Insurance Agency Insurance - Auto Insurance - Homeowners

Products & Services

Bertolino Insurance Agency, Inc. specializes in auto & home insurance and commercial insurance.


Additional Locations

  • 900 Howe Ave Ste 200

    Sacramento, CA 95825

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********* insurance informed me that the quoted work comp policy was approved and to wait for billing from the carrier. ******* **** *********** requested a quote . i was supplied a quote on 2/28/13 to be bound on ************** **** approved the policy on 2/28/13. After many emails and phone calls to retrieve the premium information,I was informed by ******** stoke to wait to hear from the carrier for billing information and the policy/contract. after some investigation calling the carrier and contacting a previous insurance broker and was informed no policy exist as stated by Bertolino. ************************ is now trying to acquire a work comp policy, but due to the lapse in coverage being denied. if *** can acquire a work comp policy, the premiums will at higher dollar amount and this problem will follow the *** for up to 5 years. the carrier require loss runs 3-5 years back at time of sign up, and very few if any will insure a company with a lapse in coverage.

Desired Settlement: *** is open to offers

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I have been working with **** ******* at ******* **** *********** to resolve his issues. The two employees that he worked with are no longer with my agency. I appears one of the employees took over his policy on a broker of record letter effective 3/1/13. We forwarded all of the proper paperwork to ****** Insurance Company on 2/27/13 with a bind order. It appears that ****** Insurance Company did not properly execute the Broker of Record letter or renew the policy. **** ******* contacted ******** ***** in my office to follow up and ******** assured him it was ok. She has been terminated. I am truly sorry for this situation and am working to find alternative coverage for Mr. *******. Due to him being in a high hazard industry with low payroll, there are not many options. The main carrier for Contractors within the state of California is the ***** ************ ********* ***** **** ******* owes **** money from a prior policy so they will not issue a new policy until he pays them on the outstanding audit. I am trying to work with other companies but my hands are somewhat tied due to him owing **** money. My best chance to have coverage in place would be if ****** would reinstate the old policy, that is what I am trying to do. **** ******* and ******* **** *********** have not paid any money for this workers comp policy, we have collected no funds. Please let me know what I can do to resolve this issue to the satisfaction of the BBB.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) bertolino is not working with me at all, i haven't heard from bertolino in weeks. there are emails starting in the beginning of march requesting from bertolino insurance the policy information of zurich the work comp policy. bertolino's answer has been the same for 5 months now. also bertolino provided a certificate of insurance with a fake policy number.

Business' Final Response
Because of the lapse and the nature of his business, higher hazard construction, the only option for him at this point is with the ***** ***** Unfortunately he has an outstanding audit with the state fund as they felt he underreported his payroll to them for a prior policy. Until he gets that resolved there is not much we can do, my hands are tied. I recommend that he look at a payroll company or employee leasing company that offers workers comp. If he can get his audit resolved with the ***** **** then we are happy to work with him on finding the best options available.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved