BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Albert A Villela Immigration Consultant

Phone: (209) 833-0504 View Additional Phone Numbers 321 W 11th St, Tracy, CA 95376

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Albert A Villela Immigration Consultant include:

  • Failure to have a required competency license.
  • Failure to respond to 4 complaints filed against business
  • 3 serious complaints filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Complaint Information

Consumers allege that after paying for immigration services, the company fails to file agreed upon paperwork. When attempting to obtain a refund, consumers complain that the company is difficult to reach.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Albert A Villela Immigration Consultant
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 23, 2006 Business started: 11/19/2004 Business started locally: 11/19/2004 Business incorporated: 11/19/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State
1500 11th Street, Sacramento CA 95814
http://kepler.sos.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657–5448
On BBB confirmed that Albert A Villela Immigration Consultant had not obtained a necessary license from Secretary of State.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Albert A. Villela III, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Albert A. Villela III, Owner
Business Category

Immigration & Naturalization Consultants

Alternate Business Names
U.S. Immigration Consulting Services, Inc.
Additional Information

Immigration consultants in the state of California are required to register with the California Secretary of State's Office and obtain a $50,000 bond.

If you are seeking assistance with immigration, be sure to verify registration and bonding information before seeking services. Obtain a written contract with the consultant that includes all services to be performed, full contact information for the consultant and all fees to be paid. Ensure the contract is written in both English and your native language.

Should you wish to cancel the contract, submit your request within 72 hours of signing your contract in writing.

In the course of business, ensure all original documents are returned to you and never sign an incomplete or incorrect form. Should any information be found false, you will be held responsible. Remember that no immigration consultant can provide legal advice unless they are a licensed attorney.

For more information on immigration rights, visit the California Attorney General's Office website at http://oag.ca.gov/consumers/general/immigration_consultants.

Licensing

It is our understanding that The State of California requires a bond to conduct business as an immigration consultant.

On June 16, 2012 we contacted the company requesting their current bond status with the California Secretary of State. As of April 4, 2014, we have not received any response from the company regarding this issue.

You can find specifics on immigration consultant services and requirements under Business and Professions Code Sections §22440-22448, or by vising www.sos.ca.gov.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    321 W 11th St

    Tracy, CA 95376 (650) 364-1829

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (650) 364-1829(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** a. ****** promised to return ($680) money payed for citizenship and has threatened and is denying paying money back for over 2 months. In July of 2012 ****** ****** started legal immigration paperwork for myself and my family. He had asked for $100 for each application and a money order for $680 for the each citizenship fee. When we gave him the payments, he wanted them blank so he could stamp and send to U.S. department of homeland security. In Sept. of 2012 i received a letter from immigration stating i had yet to pay the fees and to make a payment within the 14 days.I contacted ****** and he asked me to fax him the paperwork and he would handle it. I called back several times to seek a status but i did not get any response after i had contacted him. 2 weeks later Immigration sent a final notice that my application had been denied due to lack of payment. I have tried reaching out to ******, but he refused to see me at his office or take my calls. November 28th i finally got a hold of him and he clearly stated he HAD cashed in all the money orders into his personal bank account. When i told him what he did was illegal and asked for a refund he asked to give him a day (until nov.29th) to go to the bank and get me a cashier check. We made an agreement to meet on Nov.29th at 3p.m at his office for the full refund. November 29th arrived and he refused to meet with me for my refund and threatened me with a restraining order. I had made a police report and I'm taking this matter to the department of homeland security and will proceed with legal action. I have all proofs of documentations and letters from Mr. ****** and the U.S.Department of Homeland Security if needed.

Desired Settlement: I am personally asking for $780 back, $680 for the money towards immigration that he has illegally deposited in his bank account and refunded check immigration has denied on his part and failure to properly pay as an consultant for immigration. The $100 is for his service application fee that he did all wrong and has denied any knowledge which he has all paperwork informing him of his improper filing for me. I since I have gotten an actual lawyer and had to pay these fees again for his denial and avoiding me and my family for over two months.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wrongful Business Practice On October 13, 2012 I went to go see Mr. ****** in regards to filing for my citizenship papers. That day I gave him all of my info and paid $150 for his service fee. He needed more information and asked to come back on 10/15/2012. I went back that day and he was not there. There was no one in the office. I tried calling him that day several times & he didn't answer his phone. Till finally when I got home he called me stating that he couldn't make it due to he he had a bloody nose. I went back the following day & I gave Mr. ****** the info that he asked for and paid the filling fee in the amount of $680 in cash. He stated that he was going to send me the copy of the money order and copy of the application showing that he had send it off. A few days later I called to get the status of the application & he stated that he was about to call me due to he had some questions to ask me. But that he was driving & if he could call me back in 40 mins. An hour went by & I didn't hear from Mr. ****** & so i called him back. He answered & he told me that he was busy & would call me back. He never called me back, and when I would try to call him he would never answer his phone or it would go straight to voice mail and the mailbox was full you couldn't leave a voice mail. I went back to the office on 10/23/12 & no one was at the office, I also tried calling him & he would not answer my calls. I tried calling him & no answer & mailbox full couldn't leave a message. So I drove to his office on 10/24/12 & finally found him at his office. I asked Mr. ****** about the status the of my application he stated that I should wait to file my application & file it on June 2013. I told him that was fine but I wanted my money back. I wanted the money for the filling fee and the service fee refunded back to me. He stated that he couldn't refund back the service fee due to he was working on the application, he stated that he could refund me the filing fee but he would mail me a check. I told him that I wanted my money back in cash & I told him that I would wait for him to go to the bank to get the money. He told me no that he was busy & had a appointment. I told him that I could wait. He stated no that he will mail the check to me. I told him that I could wait for him to write me a check, he stated that he did not have his check book and that I could wait for the check to arrive at my home or call the police on me. I told him that I would wait for the check to come in the mail. I am asking for all my money to be refunded back to me. He has not done anything and would never return my calls. He has poor business practice and is not professional what so ever. While I was at the first appointment he was ignoring a phone call from another client because he made an error on their application. This man should not be running a business. He thinks he can take advantage of people that are needing help with their immigration paperwork. If he does not return mt money in full in the amount of $830 I fill be taking him to small claims court as well.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $830

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Tracy to a immigration consultation , and he was suppose to provide me the service of fillingout the I-30 form and helping me with the immigration process. In March of 2011 I paid him the amount of #340.00 and in January 14, 2012 I paid him $60.00 and gave him a check of 420.00 for the I-30 form. He cashed this check under his personal account he did not send the I-30 form to immigration office and has not provided me with any service. He does not answer any calls and I am not able to contact him, when I last saw him in March of 2012 he promise to pay me back my money and return all my documents and he has not yet done so. I am really unsatisfied it his actions and service.

Desired Settlement: I want to report his action he has committed fraud he has all my personal docs. as SSN#, birth certificate, ID etc. I want all my papers back and money and I want to make this action heard.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service