BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Service Champions?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Service Champions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Service Champions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Service Champions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 17, 2006 Business started: 12/01/2002 Business started locally: 12/01/2002 Business incorporated: 12/24/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 817040.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
David Sturgeon, General Manager Mr. Kevin Comerford, Owner Cookie Silva, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: David Sturgeon, General Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor

Alternate Business Names
On-Time Air Conditioning & Heating, Inc.
Products & Services

Service Champions provides full service heating and air conditioning services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 4430 Yankee Hill Rd # 100

    Rocklin, CA 95677 (916) 623-4843

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 777-4444(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I originally signed contract 10-20-09, my a/c unit was one year old and still under Amana warranty. I was assured by service Champions that they would honor the Amanda warranty. Yet on 12-11-12 I was charged for parts still under warranty. When I asked tech why, he said Amana would not take back the part or honor warranty. I called Amana directly and they assured me all parts are covered for ten years. On last service report, after I told tech a/c 5 years old, he put down 6, confirmed by Amana.

Desired Settlement: I want refund at least for parts. Total 160.00. Also, their contract w/ me stated: "If you are not 100% satisfied with out people, service or repair, you do not pay". I have had to reschedule appointments, ect. I want full refund of 179.00 12/11/12 + 288 7/5/12= $467

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Our service manager spoke with the client on the phone and explained our warranty policies. We agreed that the client would have owe our company no payment and there would be no service performed.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I explained to the warranty to the service manager, not the other way around. He apologized. I accepted the apology. Even though I feel they owe me additional money in the way of a refund, I am willing to let this go so as not to have anything further to do with Service Champions.

4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for their club membership for 1 year which I will pay on quarterly basis. I paid my 1st quarterly payment and my service is due this coming May. Since I am cancelling my contract since I cannot afford it anymore, they will not give me the service for May stating that I have to be on the contract for one year. They did not tell me that but was only told I can cancel anytime upon my discretion. I would like to get the service I deserve since I already paid for it. Their customer service office is only very accommodating when they are trying to get your business but once you are in, the people in the administration office handling the accounts are not the nicest. I would rate their internal customer service zero. Product_Or_Service: Service Contract on Heating/Airconditioning Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I'd like to get my scheduled service for May.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Okay, I have gotten to the bottom of this. It looks as if this client also posted a review on Yelp on 3/4/13, we contacted her immediately after and resolved the issue for her by setting up a complete tune up visit (which she wanted) for 5/11/13. Not sure why the client didn't let you know that when you contacted her on 3/18. We are going to honor the visit and take care of her. I will get back to you (if you'd like), after we perform the visit on 5/11. See attached the service ticket scheduled for future service. Thank you!

12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician stated I had 2,000 worth of repair work.Was quoted a high price to replace parts of heating system.PG&E fixed my heating system for free. I have a service contract with Service Champions. (I cancelled it verbally last week.) to service my air conditioning and heating system twice a year. Approximately six months ago, they came out to clean air ducts,etc.I was told that I need to replace a part which I did (I was told everything was in good shape). On 11/26/12 they came out to do a servie check. I was told that I need approximately $1,500 worth of work on my heating system - Recommendations: Furnace is intermittent losing signal (24v) for heat during hat acycle quoted $974 to replace zone controlboard and upstairs/downstairs t-stats. Burners struggling to light bottom burner. Cleaned if problem persists recommend replacing burners $357...(can't read the rest). I asked why wasn't some of these items that needed to be repaired not discovered on the last visit. He said sometimes these things can happen over night. He said my heating system was not working due to these repairs needing to be repaired. He left. I called PG&E to come out to look at my fireplace, and I happened to mention my heating problem. He said he would check it out and he did. PG&E guy cleaned my burners. My heating system is now working fine. I looked at my paper work and the repair person stated that he brush, clean, and vacuum burners. He did not. I feel that this is a racket and people need to be made aware of this. I would have paid $1,500 to have something repaired that did not need to be repaired. My heating system has been working perfectly every since 11/28/12. I have paid Service Champions $16.00 for the past 12 months. I would like to have have six months of that amount refunded to me. I feel they are a company that is not trutfuly and is running a scam on their customers. I do have the paperwork from PG&E as well as paperwork form Service Champions. I did speak to David Sturgeon the manager of Serivce Champions. I expressed my concerns. He said nothing.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have approximately six months of service fees I have paid which is about $96.00 refunded to me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@servicechampions.net Service Champions went out to the home for a annual preventative maintenance/tune up visit, which is part of the membership program the client has with our company. No duct cleaning was not done that day. The client called in a several days later and spoke to a manager and voiced concerns that no other technicians have noticed any challenges with her heating and air conditioning system until this visit. We explained that it is our technicians job to inform our clients of any and all issues which may leads to breakdowns or future repairs on the HVAC system. We do feel that there are issues with the system in Ms ******'s home and the free fix that PG&E did may be a temporary fix for a breif time rather than a permenant fix that would avoid breakdowns and cause other parts to fail in the future. We have provided the client with all services as a club member with us and she has chosen to cancelled her membership with us since. We would like to keep her as a client and hope that she will allow us to meet PG&E out at her home and show them our finding with the burners and the zone board.

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) Service Champion came out to check my furnace for leaks and to clean it. A tune up- He filled my house with gas and didn't know how that happened, he needed help and sent for a tech person. 2) Second person came and checked furnace and said I had a crack in the heat exchange. A new part was $2,295 and a new furnace was $9,416. My furnace worked fine before they were out so I told them no. The office then called and said since the heat was off she was sending a technician to turn it on. 3) This was his second option- He crack but I had carbon monoxide entering because of soot buildup. They would clean out the soot for 1100 turned off the furnace again-even though he was sent to turn it on. I called Northern Air HVAC to recheck my furnace. He cleaned my soot and discovered the indveer motor was running in reverse. My bill was 130.00 was this a scam or what!!! I am elderly and widowed and I guess I appeared easily fooled. Their office (******) harassed me further by calling me and said she was going to call my H.O.A and tell them I had a dangerous furnace, I hung up on her that was rude and necessary.

Desired Settlement: Please warn people not to have Service Champions out to tune up their furnace. Iwant service Champions to pay the Northern Air HVAC Inc bill. They caused the problem in the first place.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@servicechampions.net We would be happy to discuss this with Ms ******. We want her to be 100% satisfied and it appears she is not happy with us. We did locate an issue with her furnace and informed her of it. It is not possible to prove that we did not cause the issue therefore we will reimburse the client for the work she had another company do. Please send a copy of that bill and we will reimburse.

1/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service