Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ray O. Cook Heating & Air

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 784-6525 View Additional Phone Numbers 889 Riverside Ave Ste C, Roseville, CA 95678 http://www.rayocook.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ray O. Cook Heating & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ray O. Cook Heating & Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ray O. Cook Heating & Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 19, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1947 Business started locally: 01/01/1947 Business incorporated 03/20/1990 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 829856.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Grant Mac Leod, President Ms. Amy Easky, District Manager Mr. Zak Kriegel, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Zak Kriegel, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Grant Mac Leod, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Golden State Appliance Service Golden State Equipment Repair Inc. Ray O Cook Company
Products & Services

Ray O.Cook Heating & Air specialize in heating & air conditioning services for residential and commercial consumers.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 11358 Amalgam Way Suite 3

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95670

  • 889 Riverside Ave Ste C

    Roseville, CA 95678

  • P.O. Box 2290

    Carmichael, CA 95609 (916) 641-2500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was mailed a flier for this company advertising their 59 dollar tune-up and it had pictures of the services offered, and guarantees etc, seemed very promising to have my heater serviced, I called and set asking many questions and wanted to be sure I'd get what I was paying for. The woman I spoke to claimed yes I would have a service done and my heater would be cleaned etc, I setup an appointment and when the technician got here all he told me was the system is all dirty and old and needs new parts, or cleaning. I told him this was not a service but a check and that the flier I was sent was false advertisement and I was told I would receive a tune-up not a diagnosis. I called the company to complain after and they just told me that everything is in smaller font on the back of the flier. I'm said that is not fair and not at all what you advertised or told me. I would like a refund of my money because this diagnosis did me absolutely no good as I already knew everything this technician told me.

Desired Settlement: I already knew everything that this technician told me and I was expecting a tuneup as advertised not a diagnosis. I should not be paying for this false advertisement. Thank you

Business Response: We have preformed hundreds of these $59 tune up specials this season with great reviews.  I am sorry that you do not feel the same way.  We do have a 100% satisfaction money back guarantee here at Ray O. Cook Company.  I can have a $59 check sent back to you please confirm your mailing address and we will get that right out.  Thanks

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Please mail my check for $59 back to **** ******* **** **** ** ******* **** *** ***** as my wife and I were both dissatisfied with the service advertised by *** * ****, thank you. 

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been without AC for over a month which has had mostly 100 degree weather because of this company. Initially, I called them out for an AC tune-up special. They came out and said two parts needed replacement which totaled nearly $700. They "gave me a discount" so I replaced the two parts. Their guarantee/warranty for their AC tune-up says that if you do all recommended repairs, they guarantee your system will work throughout the rest of the season. Not even two months later (the last week in July) my AC breaks and is only blowing hot air. I called them and asked them to come out and check what the problem was according to their warranty. I was told the technician never conducted the AC tune-up I called them out for, so they would only cover the two parts if there were issues with those. Because I needed to know what the problem was, I told them to just come and check. I was then told I needed a new motor (OR a new system entirely) which would be a minimum of $900 for them to do because a filter from a vent had flown into the motor and broken it. I have only used filters that are the appropriate measurements so I don't know how the filter even got in there. I didn't trust the company so I had another person come out to take a look. I was told 1) the motor worked just fine but the pieces that held it had broken off with the filter (but the connectors could not be reattached so I had to buy an entirely new motor) 2) they had turned off my gas to my furnace so I would be forced to call them back in the fall for the heater to work again 3) the previous technician had tripped a fuse so the power wouldn't work in the unit and even after replacing the fuse the new technician couldn't get power to the unit because they had done something to it so it wouldn't work and he couldn't figure out what it was. I have three pets that have had problems with the heat, other companies can't figure out what they did and I still don't have AC.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for the initial service call/two replacement parts, a refund for the new motor I had to purchase (either due to the incomplete AC tune-up/full system check or due to the intentional causing of the problem), a refund of the interim portable AC unit I had to purchase, and I want any repairs that are needed for the rest of the year to be paid for by the company since they intentionally sabotaged my AC AND furnace systems a minimum of two times.

Consumer Response: On 8/25/14 I submitted a complaint for Ray O Cook Heating and Air.  The complaint was assigned ID ********.  Last week the company came out and repaired my A/C to working order.  Please close the complaint against the business.

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been customers for over 15 years. On July 11, 2013, a service technician came to our residence to provide the semi-annual maintenance as per the service contract we paid for in advance. Unlike in prior years, when we received a reminder, this year I had to call to schedule the maintenance. I told the scheduler that the AC unit was tripping a circuit in the hot weather we were then experiencing. The technician attempted to diagnose the problem but seemed confused by the wiring of the system. He was unable to get the unit to function and advised me verbally that most likely we needed two new compressors. Given the expense of compressors, he advised that we consider purchasing a new unit rather than doing the repair. He did not clean the unit nor come inside to clean the filters. On July 16, 2013, a technician from another company diagnosed and repaired the problem with the AC unit and performed needed maintenance for a total cost of $168.00. He stated that there were several loose wires at the main circuit board and that the condenser coil was very dirty. After testing the compressors, he stated that they were both in excellent shape. He showed me the meter readings and the relevant specifications listed on the side panel of the unit. The unit is now functioning without any problems~

Desired Settlement: Please remove us from your customer list.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I called her immediately, and she wasn't able to get back to me because she was on vacation. I did refund her after apologizing to her when she returned my call.