BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gutterglove, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gutterglove, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Gutterglove, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 27, 2006 Business started: 09/27/2000 in CA Business started locally: 09/27/2000 Business incorporated: 09/27/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Lenney, President/CEO Ms. Jennifer Pentkowski, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Lenney, President/CEO
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Leaf Guards Contractors - Gutters Contractors - Sheet Metal

Alternate Business Names
Gutterglove Gutterguard
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gutterglove, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4021 Alvis Ct Ste 5

    Rocklin, CA 95677 (877) 662-5644

  • P.O Box 3307

    Rocklin, CA 95677 (916) 624-5000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 662-5644(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with her and gave her my credit card. The next day an invoice was received indicating I had been charged $74.95 for shipping. When I ask what happened she just said that is the shipping and there was nothing she could do about it. I asked to confer with someone else about the matter and have not heard from them. Had I known the shipping would be that high I would not have order from them. Can you assist, please?

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Prior to placing his order Mr. ***** received an estimate of $30.00 for shipping.  The estimate of $30.00 +/- for *********** ****r was a rough estimate quote for 100 feet of ************ assuming one box. 

Mr. *****'s order consisted of 104 feet of *********** ****r, 1 package (100 pieces) 3/4' hex head ***** ********** screws, and 1 package (4 pieces) of ***** **** *** caps with a total shipping weight of 33 pounds. Orders consisting of more than 100 feet of *********** ****r require multiple packages as our shipping boxes have a maximum 100 foot capacity. The additional box accounted for additional shipping charge.   

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  Why did your representative apologize for the error.  Why did she say "I must have typed a 3 instead of an 8?  Additionally, the second box had way more than 4 feet of *********** gutter guard in it.  The box contained  6 each 4 foot long pieces, screws to attach the *********** product as well as end pieces. That tells me two boxes would have been required if only 100 feet were requested. 

Business Response:

Had *** *****’s order been 100 feet or less his order would have been shipped complete in one box. Orders consisting of more than 100 feet of *********** require multiple packages. The order in question was over the maximum for 1 package and was divided between the two boxes included in the shipment.

*** ***** is welcome to return his product for a full refund. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Your representative was not up front with me. Had she told me the shipping would over double by adding an extra 4 feet I would not have ordered the product. Additionally, I only needed a single foot but was told I could in 4 foot sections.  I don't believe you are being truthful when you say 100 feet, with screws and end plates will fit in one box either.  I have no way to return the product now as the boxes have been discarded. You keep the extra shipping costs. But I wish to go on record a being dissatisfied and the reason should be posted as negative on BBB. I further plan to tell everybody I can contact what kind of  business you run and the LIKE of customer support. You have lost two possible customers that live near me already. Have a great day. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gutterglove sold me a product that was guaranteed to work in my region. I received my certificate to install and then proceeded to install the product exactly as instructed. Gutterglove and their representatives have already admitted to me the product sold was not correct for the Northwest to accomplish it's guaranteed performance. Gutterglove is now requiring the customer (me) to remove and ship (at my cost) and reinstall the correct size product. How can they justify me (as the customer that was sold the wrong product for this area) to uninstall, ship at my cost, and reinstall the refurbished screen?

Desired Settlement: I request a Gutterglove representative to replace the existing product with the correct mesh size at their expense.

Business Response: Mr. ******* purchased his product from Gutterglove, Inc. approximately five years ago. At the time of 
purchase this was the recommended product for his application since the Gutterglove Pro was expected 
to be the 1st
 stage filter for his Rain Harvesting System. Since the time he installed the product he has 
discovered the existence of moss growing on top of his Gutterglove Pro; and on top of his roof. 
Gutterglove now recommends a larger mesh product to ease the routine maintenance required to 
prevent moss growth prevalent in the region. 
On January 9, 2014 Ron ******* spoke with Gutterglove, Inc. via telephone; and the offer was made to 
have him remove his guards; ship them to Gutterglove to be refurbished with the new Large Mesh; and 
then returned to him to reinstall the product. 
On January 17, 2014 Mr. ******* was sent a sample to approve of the Large Mesh. 
On January 28, 2014 Ron ******* contacted Gutterglove, Inc. via email to state that he had been sold a 
product which he understood to be guaranteed to work in his region and he had installed the product 
exactly as instructed. Mr. ******* was dissatisfied that he would be required to remove the product, ship 
it to our manufacturing facility and then reinstall it after Gutterglove, Inc. refurbished his product with 
the Large Mesh. This email was escalated to Owner for approval of offer made of February 5, 2014 
On February 5, 2014 Gutterglove, Inc. responded via email to Ron ******* and offered to send 165 feet 
(33 pieces) of new Gutterglove Pro Standard Large Mesh as replacement product; along with the 
necessary end caps, joint fasteners, and screws. This replacement product would be shipped at no 
charge to Mr. Jeffrey; and he would not be required to return the guards he originally purchased to 
Gutterglove, Inc. He could recycle the product himself and receive a fee for recycling the aluminum and 
stainless steel mesh. 
On February 5, 2014 Ron ******* accepted the offer via email. In his email Mr. ******* stated: 
“Thanks, … for the good news.” 
“I’ll contact the owner when this is finally over and express my appreciation for his personal support.” 
 
“I also plan to attend the Seattle Home Show during this visit, and I would much rather have a reason to 
support Gutterglove than disparage it as I chat with the rain catchment community. I appreciate 
Gutterglove doing the right thing here, so I can do the same there with sincerity.” 
Gutterglove, Inc. shipped the product at no charge to Mr. ******* on February 14, 2014. Mr. Jeffrey 
received the product on February 18, 2014. 

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After numerous email attempts, GutterGlove, INC. representatives have failed to resolve a service issue on their install product. Their product was installed by one of their contractors. The contractor, GutterGlove of Pa.LLC is now out of business. Upon contact to home office of GutterGlove, numerous emails went without response nor calls. Their brochure clearly states debris will "wash" off during rainfall. Valley deflectors were removed causing heavy runoff and washouts below valley areas and debris continues to build up. It appears based on other complaints this is a similar issue. The reputation of GutterGlove is impeached by their lack of responsiveness or hiring inferior contractors.

Desired Settlement: In so far as GutterGlove, Inc. nor GutterGlove of Pa.LLC has neither responded with any solution or remedy, and *** ******* national sales manager for GutterGlove, Inc. has not responded to my emails requesting remedy, I am warning other potential customers to be wary. I have made 8+ email communictions to *** and his delegate, ****** with no suitable solution offered. My communication with them began 6/17/2013 and I beleive 3 months is long enogh to await a remedy; therefore, only a refund with suffice. Last communication from GG(8/17/2013)... Hello Mr. *****, **** is no longer with the company and I found your note in his email. I will go through his notes and see what has been done and try to get up to speed. Best Regards, *** ****** National Sales Manager Gutterglove, Inc. My response (8/26/13)... Hi ***, I have waited a very long time for any resolution to my concerns...Can I expect a "fix" anytime soon or must I resort to a visit to Better Business Bureau'(r); Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee Complaint: Infinity Gutter Systems installed new gutters and provided a warranty through Gutterglove. Gutter repair is required under the warranty. No one is reachable at Infinity Gutter Systems - think the company went out of business. Asking for Gutterglove to provide repairs under warranty on my house gutters. Please contact me to complete the repairs. - Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support Complaint: have contacted their offices 3 times by phone and 3 times by e-mail with no response have contacted them 3 times by phone and 3 times by e-mail with no response - There appears to be a pattern here...buyers be warned!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Although the contractor Mr. ***** hired may have represented himself as a Gutterglove Company representative, Gutterglove does not amploy contractors to do installations. The relationship between the dealer/contractor Mr. ***** hired and Gutterglove, Inc. is that of customer and manufacturer. The Contractors purchase the licensing rights to use the Gutterglove name in their sales territory, but are not franchisees or associated with the Gutterglove in any other way. The installer of the product is a private contractor and is solely responsible for the installation and performance of the system. We do empathize with Mr. *****'s situation and understand that the contractor he hired may not have educated him on the maintenance that is required for the Gutterglove product. We would be happy to provide him with maintenance instructions and a cleaning brush and pole at our expense if he so desires. It is a simple process that can be done safely from the ground in most situations.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please provide me with the "cleaning brush and pole at our expense" as soon as possible as leaves and debris are accumulating now. Thank you for the resolution offer; I will consider this matter closed upon receipt of this "tool".

Business Response: Although the contractor Mr. ***** hired may have represented himself as a Gutterglove Company representative, Gutterglove does not amploy contractors to do installations. The relationship between the dealer/contractor Mr. ***** hired and Gutterglove, Inc. is that of customer and manufacturer. The Contractors purchase the licensing rights to use the Gutterglove name in their sales territory, but are not franchisees or associated with the Gutterglove in any other way. The installer of the product is a private contractor and is solely responsible for the installation and performance of the system. We do empathize with Mr. *****'s situation and understand that the contractor he hired may not have educated him on the maintenance that is required for the Gutterglove product. We would be happy to provide him with maintenance instructions and a cleaning brush and pole at our expense if he so desires. It is a simple process that can be done safely from the ground in most situations.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please provide me with the "cleaning brush and pole at our expense" as soon as possible as leaves and debris are accumulating now.

Thank you for the resolution offer; I will consider this matter closed upon receipt of this "tool".

Consumer Response: Gutterglove offered to supply a tool for cleaning their system as resolve of my complaint. I have not yet received this item yet I see on BBB site

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/8/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Infinity Gutter Systems installed new gutters and provided a warranty through Gutterglove. Gutter repair is required under the warranty. No one is reachable at Infinity Gutter Systems - think the company went out of business. Asking for Gutterglove to provide repairs under warranty on my house gutters. Please contact me to complete the repairs.

Desired Settlement: Looking for the one gutter to be replaced and necessary caulking in the corners from installation.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Gutterglove, Inc. is the manufacturer of Gutterglove Gutter Guards. The warranty from Gutterglove, Inc. covers only the Gutterglove Gutter Guard. We do not warranty work or other products provided by contractors. As a former dealer of Gutterglove gutter guards Infinity was authorized to sell and install our product. We do not have any other association with Infinity Gutter beyond this. The contractor is responsible for any and all warranty issues beyond manufacturer defects of Gutterglove gutter guards.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: havde contacted their offices 3 times by phone and 3 times by e-mail with no response have contacted them 3 times by phone and 3 times by e-mail with no response

Desired Settlement: just want to make a complaint. they should not be able to advertise bbb logo

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We were unaware of any unreturned calls or emails to Mr. ******. In our system he was contacted by us 10 times. 6 phone calls and 4 emails were sent over a period of two months in addition to samples being sent to his address. Each of these communications was logged in our system at the time they were completed. If he would like to talk with our National Sales Manager we would be happy to contact him to resolve this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/10/2012 Delivery Issues