Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Chico Grocery Outlet?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chico Grocery Outlet

Phone: (530) 345-2666 2157 Pillsbury Rd, Chico, CA 95926 http://www.groceryoutlet.com/chico-ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chico Grocery Outlet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chico Grocery Outlet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chico Grocery Outlet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 13, 2013 Business started: 08/17/2009 in CA Business incorporated: 08/17/2009 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher Hostettler, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Hostettler, Owner
Business Category

Grocery - Bulk Food Stores

Products & Services

Chico Grocery Outlet offers the following product(s): Company offers discount and bulk grocery items.

Alternate Business Names
C and T's Bargain Market, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2157 Pillsbury Rd

    Chico, CA 95926 (530) 345-2666

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not honor EDD coverage on live herb plant. I check out with the checker who I believe is named *****. He has worked there for awhile now. I was nervous checking out with him because its always uncomfortable. The last time he got on to my children 11/12 who was helping me load food on the strip. Stating they were to young to load food. On this day, I didnt have a choice to go through his line or not. I try to avoid his line. I bought 7 rosemary plants with my other groceries. I asked if he could check if they were covered under EDD. He stated with a sigh, " Ma'am, I can try but I can tell you it wont be covered" I then told him "I bought 3 live fruit trees here last week and they were covered. Im sure they will be". He then stated "See that (insert letter) next to the price? Theres no reason for me to check because that tells me it wont be covered". He refused to check for me. Instead he made a production. Rolling his eyes and sighing. His voice is very loud and travels. I was embarrassed! I understand EDD is here to help me, because I lost my job a few months ago. But that doesnt mean I want other people to know I use it. It is a pride thing. I counted 11 people around that were now looking at us and who now know Im on goverment assistant. How red I became. One reason they issued the card, and removed the paper form of food stamps, was to remove situations like this. The worker behind him also found it strange that the rosemary was not covered and stated it should have been. In the end I ended up having to pay $60.00. I am a single mother of two and didnt have that. At that point I was embarrassed that others were looking and rolling their eyes because it was taking so long. I wanted to just leave. I didnt even get a thank you from him as I finished and he refused to look at me. I have noticed his personality is a bit off and if you do one thing that is not up to his standards he becomes short with you. That is not good customer service. I am not a loud person, infact I am told to speak up because my voice is so low. I am not use to being treated like I am stupid, as he made me feel. I came home and researched the law and this is what I found.. "Many low-income gardeners who receive food stamps are completely unaware that, in all fifty states, food stamp benefits can be used to purchase live plants and seeds for growing food at home. Government case workers often fail to notify food stamp recipients of this perk, so many people are unaware that they can take advantage of this excellent opportunity to enjoy a fun, healthy hobby while decreasing their dependence on government programs." My tomatoe plants are covered, my herbs at other stores have been covered and the fruit trees I bought from this store was covered. Rosmarinus officinalis, commonly known as rosemary, is a woody, perennial herb. Thus, should have been covered.

Desired Settlement: Refund in Cash for the amount I had to pay. I would like the workers to be educated what is covered by EDD. A review of customer service skills is also needed within the store, especially with *****.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states they've tried calling the consumer several times, and left message. The consumer is welcome to call, email or come into the store to get her issues resolved. We have several managers here who can address her issue and explain why this is not a covered item.