Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Granite Outlet, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Granite Outlet, Inc.

Phone: (916) 368-1868 10057 Mills Station Rd, Sacramento, CA 95827 http://www.graniteoutletsacramento.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Granite Outlet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Granite Outlet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Granite Outlet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 04, 2007 Business started: 09/12/2007 in CA Business started locally: 09/12/2007 Business incorporated: 07/01/2007 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thang Lam, Owner Mr. Han Quach, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thang Lam, Owner
Business Category

Granite Building Materials Countertops

Products & Services

This company offers the sale of granite countertops, and kitchen and bathroom cabinets.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Granite Outlet, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10057 Mills Station Rd

    Sacramento, CA 95827 (916) 368-1868

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased granite through Granite Outlet and was suggested to use there installers for better price. I had no call from the installers on their arrival time, they showed up 3 hrs earlier then I was told, having us to rush our prep. Install was suppose to be a 2 day job, which they finished in 7 hrs by cutting corners. Here is the list of complaints against the installer which is * ** ***** *******. 1. They scratched my newly painted cabinets and said it was my fault and that it was "cheap" paint. I even hung up plastic with painters tape to avoid this, then he blamed the painters tape for the scratch. 2. He left all the doors open, even after I requested him to leave them closed, so our pet cat does not get out. 3. They did not use the new plywood we purchased, instead they used the old one which caused our counters to be 1/2 inch unleveled. 4. They placed the slabs in that are mismatched in color and it is scratched in multiple places, granite looks like a patch job, the granite piece that was suppose to go in is sitting in the garage5. They is a gap between the granite and wall, I can stick my fingers in it. I was told by installer to put in 1 1/2 inche of tile for my backsplash6 Multiple chips in granite upon install

Desired Settlement: - I want to be reimbursed for my cabinets that I have to pay a painter to fix- I want demo to be done to take out the cracked granite- I want to be refunded on the materials that I have purchased and have gone to waste, because I hve to buy new granite and hire my own installer.

Business Response: We already told this customer that we will tear-out and fully refund them the money.  They already cancel the paid for the installation and our estimator when out to look at the job and told them that we will refund them the money for the materials.  As for the paint, our installer had nothing to do with it.  They repainted the cabinet without even sanding it down and when they remove their taped plastic covering, the paint came off.  If our installer damaged their cabinets with the granite, that would leave a dent on the cabinet, but there were no dent or scratch at all.  It was a piece of paint that came off.  Our estimator toke pictures of the so called damage on the cabinets.  Anyone can tell that there were no dent or scratch on it.  We already told these people that we will tear-out the granite and give them a full refund.  As for the cabinets, we will go to court to resolve it if it has to be.  The paint came of because they painted their own cabinet without sanding out the old paint, therefore, the paint came off when they remove their own plastic covering that they put on themselves.  I have never heard of any customer complaining about installers being early to the job before.  Also, isn't it the homeowner's job to secure your pets on the day of the installation?  How do you expect the installers to do their work without opening the doors?  We toke responsibility on our part and will refund them fully. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I had to call ELK Grove Police Department on GO Stone, INC/ Y QU Stone company on October 24, 2014, There install was suppose to tear out the granite they had poorly installed. The installer came in yelling and screaming at 7:15 pm at night ( He was suppose to be at our house at 6 pm). He started to yell at me and then proceed to yell at my wife. He demanded that we pay him for " tear out". We did not feel safe in our own home. I told him to leave, the installer then proceed to start yelling in our street.  I then make to phone call's. I spoke with *** **** ***** The CEO of the GO Stone  CA Contractors # 920815, He proceed to insult me over the phone and told me to call the police. I had Elk Grove Police Department come to our house. The install then speed off, but 2 police officers were dispatched, 1 officer stopped the installer on a near by cross street. The officer that came to our house said if these guys came back, it is trespassing. I then called *** again when the Police Officer was at our house. He answered the phone and said, " What do you want now". He c***ged the tone in his voice when he realized he was speaking to an ELk Grove Police Officer. The Officer told him over the phone that he is in breach of contract and that he needs to not have his so called professional crew show up hours late to job site and treat people like this. *** then developed attitude with the police officer, the officer hung the phone up, because *** was not making any rational sense and proceed to say that " We are trying to cheat him". 

The agreement was per ***** (another manager that works there):
1. We pick out new granite at there store
2. We find our own installers ( which we did)
3. There crew that installed, would come back and demo for the horrible job. 

That Friday Night there installers refused, and was very hostile and threatening. My wife was fearful in her own house. I don't know how these guys can run a business. I had to pay my new installer for the tear-out for what they were suppose to do. I will be providing you the call log number from the Elk Grove Police Department soon. I do not want these installers back in my house ever again, and they should not be installing in people house and intimidating people. 

Business Response: I spoke to my installer and they said they never made any threat against this couple.  It is all made up because they were upset at us that we couldn't accommodate their change in plan.  They called our store that Friday and wanted to move the tear-out from 6:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. but we told them we couldn't do it because the installer had another order to finish before he could do the tear-out.  So that plus when my installer showed up late for the tear-out, they were furious.  As I told the officer on the phone when the officer said that this couple told him that the installer demanded money and threaten them, I said to the officer, "if my installer threaten this customer, that's extortion and robbery, go ahead and arrest him."  The officer than said, "your installer showed up late, your wrong."  I said to the officer, "is there a crime for showing up late?", then the officer hung up the phone.  I feel that this officer might be a friend or relative of this couple, as this couple told my other manager that his wife's brother is an officer and that his father is a lawyer.  This couple is just being a bully because they have people in the law enforcement.  As agreed from the previous respond, I told them that we would fully refund them their money for labor and materials, but yet, they want to push us around because they know people.  We been in business for a long time and we do hundreds of installation, but never have complaint.  If we're as bad as this customer is alleging, wouldn't we have hundreds of complaints by now?  We offer to resolve this situation by a full refund plus the tear-out, but if that's not enough, then we'll just have to go to court to let the judge decide.     

2/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday jan 18th we drove to Granite Outlet Inc to look at their granite. We ended up finding something we liked so we went up to the counter and paid. We didn't have any straps to secure the granite so we told the employee that we were going across the street to a supply store to purchase some straps. They told us they had some we can buy. So we bought 2 of them (which was the suggested amount needed by the employee). Note:the straps were not in any kind of packaging when they handed them to us. The employees then loaded to granite in a wooden crate and placed it in our truck. The same employees then used the straps we had just purchased to tie everything together. They had us sign some type of waver before we left. (We were not given a copy)Only a few minutes from getting home, the granite fell over and broke to pieces. We stopped and took a look at the back and noticed one of the straps snapped. We were unable to return to Sacramento on Sunday (a 50 mile drive). On Monday January 20th we retuned to Granite Outlet Inc. with the granite still loaded on our truck. I went in and spoke to a young lady, I explained to her what happened. She told me that this has never happened before. She called her manager, I believe his name was ****. He was looking at the straps and then started talking to another man in their language. He then went to look at the granite in our truck. And continued to talk to the other man in his language. "****" then said he was going to go look at something. After about 10 minutes he came out with the waver we had signed a couple of days before. And said that there was nothing he can do for me. I read over the waver and it said " I acknowledged that Granite Outlet employees did inform me of the potential risk for my granite pieces breaking due to the way I secure my granite transport. I will not hold Granite outlet liable for any loses resulting from breakage of my granite pieces during transport."The issue is that THEY secured the granite with THEIR product.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back.

Business Response: Unfortunately, we're unable to refund *** ******* **** her money because we're not responsible for the breakage.  The ratchet tie down we sold to her was made by Haul Master and we only assisted her to tie down her granite because she agreed to sign the waiver of responsibility.  We do not help customer tie down their granites without the customer signing the waiver.  It is the customer's responsibility to secure the granite once we loaded the granites onto their vehicles.  The waiver clearly stated that we try our best to secure the granite for the customers if the customer requested our help, and that we're not responsible for any breakage as a result of us helping to secure the customer's granite.  We've been in business for over ten-years, and we helped numerous customers secured their granites and this is the first time that this happened.  There are many factors that can contribute to the breakage, like turning too fast, driving over a speed-bump too quickly, or driving over a big pot-hole.  We understand that you're upset that your granites were broken but unfortunately, we cannot take responsibility for this breakage.  The best to can do help you out is to offer you 30% off of the repurchase.