Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J.S. West & Companies

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 577-3221 Fax: (209) 523-9828 View Additional Phone Numbers 501 9th St, Modesto, CA 95354 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J.S. West & Companies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J.S. West & Companies include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J.S. West & Companies
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1909 Business started locally: 01/01/1909 Business incorporated 01/01/1909 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Eric Benson, President Mr. David May, GM Mr. Dana Mayo, Manager Mr. Randy Rowe, Hardware Manager Mr. Gary West, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Benson, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Gary West, President
Business Category

Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Hardware - Retail Lumber - Retail Feed - Wholesale & Manufacturers Lumber - Wholesale

Alternate Business Names
J S West Propane Gas JS West Lumber & Hardware JS West Milling Company

Additional Locations

  • 11899 Edgewood Rd

    Auburn, CA 95603


    26026 Outback Industrial Way

    O Neals, CA 93645

  • 4003 Stage Ct Ste 1

    Placerville, CA 95667

  • 501 9th St

    Modesto, CA 95354 (209) 577-3221

  • 520 N Main St

    Angels Camp, CA 95222 (209) 736-4799

  • 564 W Stockton St

    Sonora, CA 95370


    5707 E Floral Ave

    Selma, CA 93662

  • 730 S Washington St

    Sonora, CA 95370

  • PO Box 1678

    Diamond Springs, CA 95619

  • PO Box 3958

    Sonora, CA 95370


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I closed my propane account on April 7, 2015 and still have not received my refund of 480.70Every time I contact them they say corporate will mail it out. I still have not received it.

Desired Settlement: Refund immediately.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that they have finally received their refund. Two and a half months after it was supposed to be sent.

2/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered gas on 12-9-13 for delivery. gave card number to **** who told me she would process that day. 12-26 im being billed for same gas 17 days later called west 12-09-13 ordered propane from **** over phone 125 gallons @2.60 a gal. Gave her debit/visa card number. **** was going to process and send receipt. Would be del in l0 days. $330.52 12-11-13 delivered given receipt by driver#32, Truck#l00l. We were of the understanding that the card number #**** given to **** on l2-9 was charged and this was the receipt that she told me she would send. Gas paid for, done. 12-26-13 I get a bill in mail acct #****** dated 12-13-13 $330.52 owing. I called West comp spoke to ********, **** not in, told ******** i ordered gas though **** 12-9 with card #**** by phone why was i getting a bill for $330.52? my husband had also called west on the 9th to order gas gave his card #**** and was told i already ordered it with card #****, no need to process his. On l2-26 ******** told me that the account had bill card #**** and didn't know of any card #****. ******** says we still owe $330.52 as of 12-26-13 for mailed bill. I checked our bank account but found no $330.52 debited. 17 days later were told we owe when we were told and have a receipt from the driver we still owe 330.52. **** was supposed to have processed card #**** on l2-9 but didn;t ******** told me they used card #**** which they told my husband they werent going to process because i already had called in the order ahead of him. There is something very wrong with this billing process and now were supposed to come up with 330.52 after christmas 17 days later? Because they billed us? What about those card numbers that were supposed to be processed? From the very begining we had billing problems due to a math error on there bill. It took a act of god to get that straighted out. Now what???? This is not good business practice and im mad that now i have to come up with 330.52 when i had already been told this was done. I do not feel I have to pay again and would like to have them resolve this problem/eat the 330.52 and we cancell our account without fees or other such things. **** ******

Desired Settlement: JS West has billing problems within and is trying to and has caused us grief before and now. I feel the 330.52 should be zero our account will be cancelled without fee of any kind tank will be picked up without charges and we are never billed again!

Business Response:  I had our local manager call and arrange a meeting with them a couple of days ago. I am glad to report that the issue has been resolved after that meeting and she is a happy customer. There were some misunderstandings regarding payment method and that is now cleared up as well.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I hope in the future they can train there business office associates to better handle customers instead of threatening them. As of date were back on track.

**** ******