BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

J.S. West & Companies

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 577-3221 Fax: (209) 523-9828 View Additional Phone Numbers 501 9th St, Modesto, CA 95354 http://www.jswest.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J.S. West & Companies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J.S. West & Companies include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J.S. West & Companies
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 31, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1909 Business started locally: 01/01/1909 Business incorporated: 01/01/1909 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David May, GM Mr. Dana Mayo, Manager Mr. Randy Rowe, Hardware Manager Mr. Gary West, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Gary West, President
Business Category

Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Hardware - Retail Lumber - Retail Feed - Wholesale & Manufacturers Lumber - Wholesale

Alternate Business Names
J S West Propane Gas JS West Lumber & Hardware JS West Milling Company

Additional Locations

  • 11899 Edgewood Rd

    Auburn, CA 95603

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    26026 Outback Industrial Way

    O Neals, CA 93645

  • 4003 Stage Ct Ste 1

    Placerville, CA 95667

  • 501 9th St

    Modesto, CA 95354 (209) 577-3221

  • 520 N Main St

    Angels Camp, CA 95222 (209) 736-4799

  • 564 W Stockton St

    Sonora, CA 95370

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5707 E Floral Ave

    Selma, CA 93662

  • 730 S Washington St

    Sonora, CA 95370

  • PO Box 1678

    Diamond Springs, CA 95619

  • PO Box 3958

    Sonora, CA 95370

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 532-7475(Phone)
  • (530) 295-8300(Phone)
  • (530) 642-7001(Phone)
  • (800) 306-7668(Phone)
  • (800) 540-4484(Phone)
  • (800) 675-9378(Phone)
  • (209) 523-9823 (Fax)
  • (209) 532-4837 (Fax)
  • (530) 642-7000 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered gas on 12-9-13 for delivery. gave card number to **** who told me she would process that day. 12-26 im being billed for same gas 17 days later called west 12-09-13 ordered propane from **** over phone 125 gallons @2.60 a gal. Gave her debit/visa card number. **** was going to process and send receipt. Would be del in l0 days. $330.52 12-11-13 delivered given receipt by driver#32, Truck#l00l. We were of the understanding that the card number #**** given to **** on l2-9 was charged and this was the receipt that she told me she would send. Gas paid for, done. 12-26-13 I get a bill in mail acct #****** dated 12-13-13 $330.52 owing. I called West comp spoke to ********, **** not in, told ******** i ordered gas though **** 12-9 with card #**** by phone why was i getting a bill for $330.52? my husband had also called west on the 9th to order gas gave his card #**** and was told i already ordered it with card #****, no need to process his. On l2-26 ******** told me that the account had bill card #**** and didn't know of any card #****. ******** says we still owe $330.52 as of 12-26-13 for mailed bill. I checked our bank account but found no $330.52 debited. 17 days later were told we owe when we were told and have a receipt from the driver we still owe 330.52. **** was supposed to have processed card #**** on l2-9 but didn;t ******** told me they used card #**** which they told my husband they werent going to process because i already had called in the order ahead of him. There is something very wrong with this billing process and now were supposed to come up with 330.52 after christmas 17 days later? Because they billed us? What about those card numbers that were supposed to be processed? From the very begining we had billing problems due to a math error on there bill. It took a act of god to get that straighted out. Now what???? This is not good business practice and im mad that now i have to come up with 330.52 when i had already been told this was done. I do not feel I have to pay again and would like to have them resolve this problem/eat the 330.52 and we cancell our account without fees or other such things. **** ******

Desired Settlement: JS West has billing problems within and is trying to and has caused us grief before and now. I feel the 330.52 should be zero our account will be cancelled without fee of any kind tank will be picked up without charges and we are never billed again!

Business Response:  I had our local manager call and arrange a meeting with them a couple of days ago. I am glad to report that the issue has been resolved after that meeting and she is a happy customer. There were some misunderstandings regarding payment method and that is now cleared up as well.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I hope in the future they can train there business office associates to better handle customers instead of threatening them. As of date were back on track.

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1