BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Woods Furniture Galleries

Phone: (209) 656-2392 Fax: (209) 656-2345 4918 Taylor Ct, Turlock, CA 95382 http://www.woodsfurniture.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Woods Furniture Galleries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Woods Furniture Galleries include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Woods Furniture Galleries
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 19, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated: 12/01/1977 in 0
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
David Woods, President
Contact Information
Principal: David Woods, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Home Décor, Accessories & Gifts - Online Retailer Lamps & Lamp Shades - Retail Mattresses Beds - Renting

Alternate Business Names
Woods Furniture Inc
Products & Services

Woods Furniture Galleries specializes in home furnishings and decor.


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Furniture was purchased from Wood's Furniture in December, 2013 and arrived for pickup in a timely manner. The ottoman ordered was of subpar quality and the surface materials and interior support did not hold up to normal wear and tear for more than 6-8 weeks, at best. Wood's has been contacted several times, most of which they do not transfer our call to the appropriate person because "they're with another client" at the time. No return response is received. We have asked for a refund on the ****** ottoman due to its low quality. The middle sags and the "bonded" leather had separated. All Woods will do is a one-time swap out for the identical product. I want my money back...especially after such a short period of owning the product. It is now the end of May, and still no reply from the sales or management team from Wood's. They're hoping by blowing me off I'll lose interest and just go away. NOT ANY MORE!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like Wood's Furniture to take the dismal quality piece of furniture back that is still wrapped up, sitting in our garage and refund the purchase price. For starters...I'd like them to even contact me back to even TRY to resolve the issue. I just want my money back and they can take their product back and I'll gladly take my business elsewhere.

Business Response: On April 4, 2014, our sales team member spoke with Mrs. ****** ******* regarding the ottoman in question from invoice ******.  She told Mrs. ******* that Woods Furniture would be replacing the bad ottoman for them at no cost.  FREE.  Mrs. ******* said, "ok, thank you very much."  Our team member then stated that by ordering the replacement ottoman this service issue would now be closed, Mrs. ******* agreed.

 
On April 19, 2014, Mr. & Mrs. ******* picked up the new replacement ottoman at our retail store.
 
Based on the above facts, Woods Furniture considers this issue closed.  Woods ordered a new ottoman on 4/4/14 for the *******'s at no cost, they picked it up on 4/19/14 and agreed in the phone call of 4/4 that the replacement ottoman would complete this issue.

Business Response: Woods Furniture will return customer's money, if and only if the new replacement ottoman has not been opened.  Customer says in their initial desired settlement, "furniture is still wrapped up, sitting in our garage."  If this is still the situation with the ottoman, Woods will refund their money when the ottoman is returned to the store.

 
Customer says disputed amount is $ 215.25.
 
Our calculations show original purchase price for ottoman of $ 199.00 plus tax of 7.625% is $ 15.17, 
the amount Woods will refund is $ 214.17.
 
Please have customer contact **** at ************ to finalize the details.
 
Thank you, Woods Furniture

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to adhere to contract entered into by salesperson and made false police report against customer I entered into agreement to purchase 2 dressers with Woods Furniture on 9/20/13 - I did not qualify for in store financing but the business allowed me to make instore payment arrangements. I made initial down payment $216.07 with understanding item would be delivered upon item being paid in full. I received message on my answering machine on Thursday October 3rd advising that the dresssers were in and that I can make delivery arrangements -- which I called back and spoke with **** whom approved delivery of item for today Saturday the 12th. The delivery people were contacted me at 10:00 this morning and confirmed delivery time -- at no point in my conversation with **** or with delivery person was there any reference of paying COD of $900.00. The delivery people showed up, delivered the dressers and then asked for payment. I explained to them I had made arrangements with salesperson to make payments within 90 day time period. The deliver person told me they would need to take the items back or collect the $900. I then told him the dressers would not be removed from my home until my money that I deposited was refunded as that was not the arrangement I made nor did I want to purchase this item any longer based on how business was treating me. Driver then put me in contact with "Finance Manager" **** whom claims they don't have cash in the store ?? (really?) nor did he have the ability to sign a refund check to me and demanded I return the property. I told him the dressers will stay until I get my money back and I told him I was on my way to the store to get my refund before delivery drivers could take furniture back. When I arrived to the store, all five female employees and 2 male employees blocked me at the enrtance, called the Stanislaus County Sheriffs Department -- Deputy ********** ********** -- **** employee, knowingly made a false statement to law enforcement claiming I threatened them (which I did not) and said I was coming down with my husband to assault them (which I did not). All the female employees apologized, stated it was a misunderstanding, that "****" should not have approved the delivery and the item should not have been delivered until paid -- yet if they are so threatened by me why are the apologizing ??? The business admitted they made the error, **** "the finance guy" whom cant sign checks or issue refunds came up with the cash to refund the money, and delivery guys came back to my house and took the dressers from us. THIS WAS NOT THE ARRANGMENT MADE AND THEY ADMITTEDLY STATED IT WAS THEIR ERROR AND DID NOTHING TO MAKE RIGHT OR RESOLVE ISSUE WHERE WE COULD HAVE KEPT ITEM. **** accused me of stealing their property, was extremely unprofessional and inept.

Desired Settlement: If there is a way their license can be suspended or citation for fraudulent practices occure ?? notation that is listed on this business questionable practices , I think they should be held responsible -- it seems shady what they did and especially the conduct of their employee **** making a false police call knowing they made the error as they stated that to the Deputy whom responded. I think the business needs to be investigated tax wise and see if they are doctoring their books and how they violated an expressed/written contract they entered into. I have been a customer of WOODS for well over 17yrs and they treated me like a criminal. I want the book thrown at them, I want them to be cited, penalized whatever applies -- especially because of the fact they called Deputy to cover their *** when they know they made an error.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Mrs. ******* has been refunded all of her original monies deposited with Woods Furniture for this disputed invoice XXXXXX. Her original invoice signed by her had nothing written on it that Woods Furniture was offering a 90 day in house layaway plan. All salespersons for Woods are instructed to acquire management approval for an in house financing plan. Regarding the false police report, I told the Stanislaus County Sheriff who responded, Deputy *********, do not file anything against Mrs. *******. Therefore, there has been no false police report filed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1