BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 27, 1989 Business started: 08/15/1983 in CA Business started locally: 08/15/1983 Business incorporated: 09/17/1965 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bodeen Ganhutagarngid, General Operations Manager Mr. Jim Reego, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bodeen Ganhutagarngid, General Operations Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
La-Z-Boy, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 12190 Tributary Ln

    Gold River, CA 95670 (916) 985-2850

  • 2248 Watt Ave

    Sacramento, CA 95825 (916) 481-5883

  • 2315 Esplanade

    Chico, CA 95926

  • 2363 Athens Ave

    Redding, CA 96001

  • 396 N Sunrise Ave

    Roseville, CA 95661 (916) 773-8125

  • 756 Ikea Ct

    West Sacramento, CA 95605 (916) 287-4100

  • 8265 Laguna Blvd

    Elk Grove, CA 95758 (916) 691-1250

  • 8265 Sierra College Blvd Ste 314

    Roseville, CA 95661 (916) 751-2600 (209) 957-2222

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 957-2222(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint # is ******** & it is NOT resolved!We are very disappointed that La-Z-Boy has not settled this dispute. They state that the long delay is beyond their control. This is their company & refusing to acknowledge their responsibility does not relieve them of it. Why would they allow customers to place orders for leather furniture when they don't have the leather required? We learned this in June, not in January when we made the purchase. That was waiting over 5 months & now in just a few days it will be 7 months. This situation has caused serious set backs for a family member, under doctor's care since January, who uses a wheel chair and needs a recliner to keep his feet elevated.That is the reason we ordered the furniture, in the first place!There have been a number of sales since our purchase but we were unable to take advantage of the savings because ours was a prior purchase. The furniture we ordered wasn't being manufactured, the order was just waiting for the leather. We're sending just 1 ad showing a sale of leather furniture back in Feb. & Mar.We did not receive the attempts to discuss accommodations as the last letter states. Only 1 phone call was received that did not originate with us. No calls from the store managerial staff or corporate were received. Most of the time our sales rep was good about returning our few calls.To settle this dispute we want La-Z-Boy to take 10% off the total price of our sales ticket which is $8,791.07. We do NOT want a gift card for future use. We want the money off this purchase since they will not cancel it.

Desired Settlement: We want La-Z-Boy to take 10% off the total price of our sales ticket which is $8,791.07. We do NOT want a gift card for future use. We want the money off this purchase.

Consumer Response: Please be advised that this complaint has been resolved.  Thank you for your assistance.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 01/07/2014 we purchased a leather power love seat, a leather power recliner & 2 leather high leg recliners. They were all on special order. We were told it would take 8 to 12 weeks for delivery. We were told unforeseen delays on the leather could extend the delay by a week or two. Today is 06/17/2014, over 5 months since purchase. We were the ones to call with information for updating the delivery dates. Even some calls made with requested call backs were not always honored, but ignored. During the day of purchase a sale was on. We learned that our savings was $20. Since the purchase date a number of sales have occurred for special orders. It would have saved us nearly $800. In requesting some consideration we were promised $90. off the delivery fee. We have purchased La-Z-Boy chairs for our home since the 1960's & love the product, but are very disappointed in the business practices that are now taking place. We don't feel a "sorry about the delay" is sufficient.

Desired Settlement: We would like a substantial financial consideration. We feel we should receive the best custom order sale price during the delay. Yesterday we learned that the middle to the end of July is the new target date for 2 pieces, but the other 2 chairs will be much later. When such a long delay takes place, it seems only right that the customer should be released from the obligation, to purchase elsewhere. This was far beyond normal expectations of delay & is unacceptable.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                        
West Sacramento, CA  95691    
 
RE:   Customer ******** M. ******
        Case # ********
 
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******** ******.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.
 
Unfortunately due to circumstances out of our control, delays may occur.  These delays are generally out of the norm and we apologize for any inconvenience it creates for our customers.  Our Elk Grove Showroom Manager has been in contact with Ms. ****** and has provided an accommodation for the delay.
 
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
The company has done nothing to address the concerns we've expressed. We are affected by abnormal delays beyond the control of the company. Customers should not be held hostage to contracts they cannot fill in a timely, reasonable manner. (The only contact has been with our sales rep. My husband has been in the hospital twice since March and not having the furniture has become a complication to his rehab. His feet need to be elevated above his heart & our old furniture sold June 1st in light of the new furniture arriving.) See Attached File...

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                        
West Sacramento, CA  95691    
 
RE:   Customer ******** M. ******
        Case # ********
 
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******** ******.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.

The last units of Ms. ******’s order are scheduled to ship at the end of this month and we should be able to schedule the delivery of her order shortly. 
 
As stated in our previous response, due to circumstances out of our control, delays may occur.  These delays are unexpected and we apologize for any inconvenience it creates for our customers.  Per the terms and conditions of the sale, we are unable to cancel or provide refunds on special ordered merchandise.  We have made attempts to contact Ms. ****** to discuss accommodations we are prepared to offer off her sale due to the delay of her furniture. 

In Ms. ******’s communication, she references seeing her furniture sold at a lower price.  If she would like to discuss her observations further, she is welcome to contact our corporate offices at ###-###-####.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am disabled. In 2009 I purchased two 4-position power lift recliners with heat and massage from La-Z-Boy in Santa Clara. In June 2013, my wife wanted to replace both chairs because I had surgery again and my mobility issue had worsened. The chairs my wife purchased in Roseville were 3-position chairs, which I had no use for so I had her arrange to return them. We had to pay a $500 cash restocking fee on top of the purchase price and now have a $3869.96 credit, which we now cannot possibly spend to replace our old (original) 4-position power lift chairs. It's not our fault La-Z-Boy no longer offers such chairs or that my wife assumed you might in 2014. We waited hoping that you would offer chairs similar to those that your company sold in 2009 with heat and message. We both retired in 2009 and have no more furniture needs beyond replacing the lift chairs we have with something offering similar features. I spend 12-18 hours a day in my chair. It is not a luxury; it is a tool like my walker/wheel chair and I need it to survive. We tried to be loyal customers.

Desired Settlement: Why can't this company accommodate our needs and return our money? We are desperate to get new chairs because our current chairs are breaking down and we are in our 70s. We simply cannot afford to let this money go unspent right now nor do we foresee the need for other furniture in the future.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                                
West Sacramento, CA  95691           
 
RE:  Customer ****** ** *********
        Case # ********
 
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ****** ** *********.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.
 
**** ********* purchased two Clayton Power Recliners with Massage and Heat on June 14, 2013.  The customer contacted her salesperson stating that her husband did not like the chairs and our corporate office was contacted by the salesperson to receive authorization for an exchange on June 21, 2013. 
 
Per our Terms and Conditions, see attached, the customer signed acknowledging that “we will allow you to exchange regular-priced in-stock merchandise, within 3 days of when you receive it, for product of same or lesser value.  Fabric protection and delivery charges are not taken into account in determining the value of the product you received.  You may not receive a refund when exchanging an item of lesser value.  All exchanged items must be in ‘new’ condition (no smoke, pet odors, hair, soil, etc.).  You will be required to pay a restocking fee of 30% for exchanged merchandise.  There are separate charges if you want us to pick up your merchandise or deliver the replacement merchandise.”    
 
In the interest of customer goodwill, a concession was made for the customer and the store was authorized by our corporate office to charge a 10% restocking fee in lieu of the stated 30%, for exchange only.  The merchandise was picked up on July 13, 2013.  The customer has a store credit of $3869.96 that has been available to the *********’s since July 13, 2014, to use towards their new purchase.  We have additional styles of recliner that are available as a lift recliner with massage and heat for the customer to choose from that have become available over the past few months.  We have invited the *********'s back into our showroom to make their furniture selection on numerous occasions.
 
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We ask that the *********’s use their store credit by December 31, 2014.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact us at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

On 6-14-2013, just past mid-night, I underwent emergency surgery at Kaiser, Roseville. I was still in the hospital and recovering 3 days later so there is no way I could have rejected those chairs, which by the way, were not even present in to our home by the time that I returned.

 In fact, I knew nothing about this purchase until just before they were delivered late one evening the following week. Prior to this, I did not go to the La-Z-Boy store and test them nor did I go online to shop for them. In short, this was supposed to be a much needed surprise present to supplement the rental hospital bed in my dining room. I make this point only because the La-Z-Boy response is largely inaccurate with the exception of the attached receipt to whit: refund policy.

 Per La-Z-Boy, I am entitled to a refund to Visa only if I change my mind within 3 days of purchase. So, while this company is happy to complete a sale for 2 expensive chairs and take my wife's money on 6-14-2013, the fact is neither chair was available for delivery within the 3 day period, nor refundable per contract. This is the old Catch 22 argument: La-Z-Boy assures the consumer it is refundable in theory, but, in reality, it is not possible.

 Those 3 days in the hospital were hell for me, but no less so for my poor wife who had to endure my suffering  plus create a small  hospital at home to accommodate her disabled husband's recovery. Check the calendar. Doing this on Friday, Saturday and Sunday is a tough job. I am also sure the La-Z-Boy salespeople were aware of her anxiety and how indisposed I was at the time.

 I also wish to cite that the La-Z-Boy response was not signed. I would not have signed it either. Note please that there was no mention of details like: 1) when the chairs were delivered or what time; 2) upon assembly, that I tested one chair and requested they take both chairs back and save time returning to pick them up; 3) the deliverymen refused to take both chairs despite my explaining they were 3-position lift chairs and useless for my needs (which is why I bought two 4-position lift chairs from La-Z-Boy in 2009); 4) how many times my wife went back to the store and inquired about the  availability of a 4-position  lift chair since then; and, 5) for kickers, the La-Z-Boy response failed to mention the "ultimatum" letter sent to us dated 5-24-14 by Accounting Administrator, **** *** *********. The response likewise failed to address the $500 restocking fee which the company charged us for returning the chairs.

 In summary,  I am a disabled senior citizen with debilitating arthritis, a bad heart, and a rotten immune system, all of which has made me largely immobile and confined to my broken old La-Z-Boy 4-position lift chair for 12-18 hours a day. I need to replace it. If my back goes out, I need to sleep in this 4-position chair. La-Z-Boy offers no solution to my problem now or in the future.

 In its response, the company chooses to hide behind contract language, not facts like their own logistical problems, questionable return policy or substandard customer service. I am entitled to a refund. The company has sold those chairs that I returned to them. It has not lost a dime because they were returned. I sat in them once and neither chair suffered any damage. In fact, I am out $500 for giving them back. I have been a loyal customer in the past. I want my money returned. I cannot buy what I need from this company so a credit is as useless to us as extending the credit expiration date to 12-31-2014. Said concession is self-serving to them, not my wife and I. Or perhaps La-Z-Boy is just hoping my wife and I will die first and this complaint will expire.

Sincerely,

****** *********

**** ******** ***** ********** *** ***** ********

Business Response:

The Terms and Conditions allow a customer to request a refund within 3 days of making their purchase, unless the furniture is already in the customer’s possession.  Once the customer has accepted their merchandise, they have 3 days to contact us to request an exchange with a 30% restocking fee.  Our refund and exchange policies are not intended to overlap each other.  By signing the sales ticket agreement, Mrs. ********* has confirmed that she understood these terms and conditions at the time of purchase.  It is the purchaser’s responsibility to determine that the merchandise they select is what they want, whether it is for themselves or for another individual.  We proceeded with the order in good faith according to the signed sales ticket.
 
The merchandise on sales ticket 150-25984 was delivered to the ********* household on June 18, 2013.  Mrs. ********* signed for the items in good condition, see attached signed delivery manifest.  On June 21, 2013, Mrs. *********’s salesperson communicated to her that the chairs could not be returned for a refund; however we allowed an exchange with a significant reduction in restocking fees.
 
The letter sent to Mrs. ********* dated May 24, 2014 was a friendly reminder of the unused credit.  These funds may be used to make any purchase in our showroom, including a possible replacement for Mr. *********’s broken chair.  We checked our records for a purchase made by the *********’s in 2009 and found a sale for a sleeper sofa - we were not able to find a sale for a lift chair.  Without more information regarding the chairs purchased in 2009, finding a similar replacement would be difficult.  Please note that the La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department may be contacted to assist with repairs of broken La-Z-Boy furniture.

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We ask that Mrs. ********* use her store credit by December 31, 2014.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact us at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.  To speak with a La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department representative, you may call ###-###-#### for assistance.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: La-Z-Boy has not responded to the issues which I cited in my last letter. Furthermore, La-Z-Boy has not performed due diligence with respect to our dealings with the Roseville store. If their representative, bothered to read my last response, I clearly indicated that we purchased two 4-position recliners from the La-Z-Boy store at 2550 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, California (on 8-24-09) prior to moving to Roseville in November, 2009. We did not purchase the chairs from the store in Roseville. We did, however, have to replace 3 sets of controllers for said chairs per warranty and went through the Roseville store to order them. The same store had to arrange for a warranty service call to fix a problem with one chair and a man was sent out to repair the problem. Now how could we have arranged for all of that work unless we owned La-Z-Boy chairs with all the paper work.  Yes, (2) Style 1L6 515; Cover: C876868; Stock #: NOCA0624096-001-009 Lift Chair W/6 MTR P. R; Amount: $1349.50/chair; Total: $3047.66 /tax included.

I accused La-Z-Boy of fraudulent business practice. In response, they claim my wife signed away her right to a refund at the time of purchase because she initialed each clause. I claim that La-Z-Boy sold her the wrong chairs, I claim that when said chairs were delivered, I rejected them as unsatisfactory to my specific needs as a disabled man, but the men refused to take them back at the time. This delivery was already past the time to qualify for a credit to our Visa account or three days. Thus, we are at odds because I was in the hospital until 6-17-13 and unaware until said chairs were delivered on 6-18-13, that a purchase had even occurred. There is so much wrong here that it makes my head spin.  A 'yes, but" company policy that should in all fairness, simply state, "all sales are final". A company that cannot admit it received $500 for restocking the chairs or that said chairs were subsequently sold by La-Z-Boy during the past year. In short, La-Z-Boy has not lost a dime and, yet it is choosing to cry foul rather than refunding our money in a timely fashion. This simply means it has no regard for their loyal customers.

Lastly, it is obvious that my needs for a 4-position recliners are as inconsequential to La-Z-Boy as their need to supply one for me.  Why? They do not make 4-position chairs anymore. Instead, they imply how willing they are to help me repair my broken chairs. Is this La-Z-Boy's way of telling me that at my age, I do not warrant new chairs? That I must accept less than more? Just what right does this company have to send me such  a message? I need a chair that I can sleep in if necessary with heat and massage. I spend  up to twelve hours a day in my current chair. These are not "his and hers" chairs that were bought. One is a backup for the one that I use in case it goes haywire. These chairs keep me from being bedridden. I need to replace both 4-position chairs now. This is not a luxury item to me. It is a daily necessity. What good is a La-Z-Boy credit to me? Will it buy me what I need right now? Of course not. That is why the company offers it to me. Catch 22 all over again! La-Z-Boy's policy is self-serving and paradoxical at best. I want my La-Z-Boy credit refunded to my Visa Card. The company sold the chairs and made $500 on the restocking fee, neither of which will the company admit.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a love seat with a pull out bed in October 2013 at La-Z-Boy in Sacramento, CA. for $1289.92 and received the love seat in November 2013. I told the sales person that I was to sleep on the pull out bed every night. The sales person said it was fine for such. When I received the love seat the bed frame was not correct and I called the store. After arguing with the store, they finally sent out someone to look at it. I was told it was fine, but the frame was bowed down in the middle. After further arguing they replaced the frame, it took six weeks to order and 2 weeks further before they came to install it. Only then was I told it was not for everyday sleeping, after I had expressly asked the salesperson that it was intended for so. Now in April 2014, I closed the frame, heard a noise, and now the bed will not pull out. I called La-Z-Boy again and was told it would take well over a week for a technician to come again.

Desired Settlement: I have spoken with the store and currently they only want to repair the problem yet again. I would prefer that they remove this faulty love seat and give me a refund.

Business Response:

Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, Linda Humfleet.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.

When our customers purchase furniture from La-Z-Boy, they have purchased one of the best manufacturer warranties in the industry.  The limited lifetime warranty ensures that problems with frame, mechanism and moving parts are covered for the lifetime of the unit.  Upholstery claims and labor charges are covered for one year after the delivery of the piece.  The La-Z-boy Incorporated Customer Care Department is obligated to uphold the standards set by the La-Z-Boy warranty.

The Comfort Care Department sent a technician to Ms. Humfleet’s home for initial inspection of her sleeper on December 5, 2013.  Per the technician report submitted, the technician was not able to replicate any issues that Ms. ******** reported.  The technician also showed Ms. ******** how to properly operate the sleeper mechanism during this visit.  Ms. ******** was not satisfied with the resolution of the technician report and a new mechanism was eventually ordered as a customer courtesy.  The new mechanism was installed on February 5, 2014.

Ms. ******** contacted the Comfort Care Department again on April 1, 2014 and stated that her sleeper mechanism would not open.  A technician was sent to her home on April 8, 2014 and was able to successfully operate the sleeper mechanism over a dozen times without fail.  

We contacted the sales associate who assisted Ms. ******** with her sleeper purchase.  The associate confirmed she remembered Ms. ******** and reiterated to us that La-Z-Boy sleepers are not intended for everyday use.  The assisting associate has been an employee of the La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries for over 10 years and is very knowledgeable about La-Z-Boy products.

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact the La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a chair August 2013 and was told it could take 2 months. After 2 months had pasted they could not provide me a date I would get my chair. In November after much frustration and requesting compensation the Store Manager offered me $50 to be taken off the price. $50 did not meet my loss of not getting my chair but I agreed. After reviewing my bill the credit was not on my account I again called the Store Manager and she mailed me a sheet of paper showing the credit on the left side of the page. However it was not taken out of the balance on the calculated right side. I sent this to to the credit card company and they obviously denied it. Not only did I not get this credit, but another $50 credit offered to me August for a delay in my order being process and the mishand***g of the order by the clerk named April I believe.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $100 credit applied to my account at once.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                                
West Sacramento, CA  95691           
 
RE:  ******** ****** ****
        Case # *******
 
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ****** ***n.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.
 
Ms. **** received a credit of $50.00 off her sale.  The adjustment was made in our sales system on November 26, 2013.  We processed Ms. ***n’s financing after her delivery on November 29, 2013, which is why she will not see a credit on her credit card or financing account.  The original sale totaled at $1039.15 and the amount charged to Ms. **** is $985.02, a difference of $54.13. 
 
We have no record of an additional $50.00 credit due and believe Ms. **** is referring to the same credit.
 
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than wiling to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact us at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
Please see attached receipt showing the details sent to me from the Store Manager.  The $54, they are referring to was on Aug 17th, from my Master Card paid on the day I went into the store to purchase it.  The balance of $985.02 is what I am billed and as you can see from the calculations no credit was given.  It clearly shows on the left side of the page they intended to, but from the total given it was not issued. 
 
If you need another copy of this receipt it came is available at the Elk Grove location.

Sincerely,

****** ****

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: It still does not show I received the 2nd $50 amount taken off.  I can see the Refund amount of $54 ( why the $4 is odd ) and will accept the 1st $50 credit but I am don't know if your receipt was tampered with. The copy I sent the 2nd $50 was not given showing the above $54 refund only.  As I have calculated it from the amount sent to be billed and it is not there.  I did call and speak with the Store Manger at least 2 times and NOTHING was resolved.  Your receipt should be displayed in a simple manner because I would not spend this time over $50.  I feel Lazy Boy needs to do a much better job.  They promised the chair with a no end in site delivery date and I was expected to just wait it out; then after the 3rd month of waiting I am compensated with a small $50. That I cannot see that I received, thats why this is a big issue.  And now I feel as if they are covering up their errors with by the responses I am seeing here. I don't plan on letting go of this.  If you value your customers as you have stated here this would not have gone this far. I am done.  I will be paying my account in full in the next 30 day and not return to your store. 

Business Response:

We have verified that Ms. ****’s sale has been credited $25.00 at the time of purchase and an additional $50.00 on November 26, 2013, equaling $75.00 in credits, as reflected on the sales ticket provided by Ms. ****.  We have attempted to contact Ms. **** to further explain how these credits appear on her sales ticket however we have only been able to leave her a message.  Ms. **** has not contacted us back.  

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact us at ###-###-#### if the customer would like us to explain her sales ticket in further detail.
 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Your business continues to use my Master Card payment as my credit in August of $54 and the receipt I was given did not deduct either one of the two credits from August or November 2013.  Your welcome to mail me a detail explanation or receipt that backs up your claims.  As I have stated before I am not going to let this go with out just a justified reason.  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Purchased 2 expensive recliners about 4 years ago. The padding broke down in both recliners and so bad in one of the recliners that it exposed the wood frame and when you sit, you hit the frame. I have called La-Z-Boy several times, the first time being 3 years after the purchase. I was told we were not under warranty and for them to assess the problem they would charge $100 to come to our home. I asked if we could bring the recliner to them and was told that was not possible. They also told me there would be a charge if they were to make any repairs.I believe that a leather recliner costing $1500 should last more than 3 years.

Desired Settlement: I would like La-Z-Boy to inspect and repair the recliner at no cost to us.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                        
West Sacramento,CA  95691    
 
RE: Customer ******* **** ********
      Complaint ID# *******
 
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******* ********.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.

Per the Warranty Service Policies Mrs. ******** signed on her sales contract, she agreed to acknowledge that, “The La-Z-Boy Limited Lifetime warranty covers the repair or replacement of frame or mechanism parts against manufacturing defects for as long as you own your pieces and one year free labor.  The warranty also covers parts and labor on fabric defects for one year.”  Please see the attached copies of Mrs. ********’ invoices for reference. 
 
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  All La-Z-Boy service issues are handled by our Comfort Care Department.  Please contact the La-Z Boy Comfort Care Department at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.
 

Attached:          Copy of Sales ****** ***********
                        Copy of Sales T***** ***********

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                        
West Sacramento, CA  95691    
 
RE: Customer ******* **** ********
       Complaint ID# *******

Mrs. ******** referenced poly compression issues with her recliner shortly after she received it in her most recent response.  We have no record of her contacting us in regards to poly compression.  We have record of a non-related service that was opened on **** 19, 2009.  The issue was corrected for her at no charge, as she was still within the labor warranty timeframe.  From the closure of this non-related service on October 10, 2009 until her most recent claim on January 29, 2014, we have not heard from Mrs. ********.  

 
Starting **** 20, 2010 Mrs. ******** has been responsible for any labor fees that may occur.  Mrs. ******** acknowledged that she agreed to the Warranty Service Policies on April 17, 2009, which clearly outlines the one year labor timeframe.  Please refer to her signed invoices included in our previous response.
 
As stated in a previous response, La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  All La-Z-Boy service issues are handled by our Comfort Care Department.  Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:I did contact La-Z-Boy twice before this most recent time regarding the compression of the chair filling material and was told about the charge to come to my home to view the chair.  I was not  willing to pay $100 only to be told they would not fix the chair.  When it got worse I called again and asked if we could bring the chair to them to avoid the $100 charge and was told "no".  I feel that even though I had agreed to be responsible for labor fees, they should have fixed the chair free of charge because the poly filling  was clearly defective.

Sincerely,

********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased sofa 7-2013. Sofa delivered 8-17-13 with chemical smell. We thought smell would dissipate but it has not. First contacted Lazy Boy in October 2013. Have tried to resolve issue. Agreed to exchange but Lazy Boy did not have a sofa similar in color and style. Sofa was cleaned 1-8-14 by lazy Boy but did not eliminate chemical smell.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $917.85 and pickup of sofa at no cost to me

Business Response:

February 14, 2014
******** *******, Dispute Resolution Coordinator
Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                                                
<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:city w:st="on">West Sacramento, <st1:state w:st="on">CA  <st1:postalcode w:st="on">95691     
RE: Customer ******* ****
Case # *******
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******* ****.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.
The La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department, who generally handles all customer service issues, did not find any defects with Mr. ****’s sofa.  In the interest of customer goodwill, we approved a return of Mr. ****'s sofa with a refund.  Mr. **** was aware that the delivery fees would not be refunded.  The sofa was picked up on January 20, 2014 and the refund occurred on January 23, 2014.  We have not heard from Mr. **** since then.
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Website indicates a product is on sale & there is a "bonus coupon" for an "additional 20% off." However, in-store there is only one discount offered. According to http://www.la-z-boy.com/Product/XXXX-XXXX/Collins-Sectional/, this sectional is on sale. On the bottom right corner of the screen there is a link to "The Bonus Coupon Sale." When you go to this link, you can download the Weekly Ad. On this ad (http://gallerycms.la-z-boy.com//media/XXXXXXX/lzb%20bonus%20coupon%20sept%20fi%20v2.pdf), there is a coupon that states "Take off an additional 20% all sectionals in-stock or special order." The word ADDITIONAL leads me to believe that there is more than one discount that can be applied. The only fine print says "valid thru 10/14/13" and "*Pricing valid 9/10 thru 10/14/13. Delivery charges not included in prices" I went into the La-z-boy store on 756 IKEA Court West Sacramento, CA XXXXX with a print-out of the coupon and was told by a salesperson that there was only $20 off the Collins Sectional With Sleeper and that is what the coupon indicates. I asked him why it says "additional 20% off" and he stated again that the discount is only %20. I left the store and called 916-287-4100. A woman answered and reiterated that the sale is 20% off the original price. I told her that the coupon says there is an "additional 20% off" and the website already has a sale price. Her response was that yes, the sale is for 20% and the price I see online reflects the "20% off" on the coupon. This is completely misleading and false advertisement. I immediately went to the La-z-boy website and used their "contact us" tab at http://www.la-z-boy.com/Support/?ContactUs&WT.ac=customercare_contactus@topmenu to let them know that the ad is misleading and that the store in Sacramento told me there is no "additional" discount whatsoever, just a 20% off sale. I have not received a response.

Desired Settlement: I would like the La-z-boy furniture gallery at 756 IKEA Court West Sacramento, CA 95605, to take the additional 20% off the price listed on their website for the Collins Sectional With Sleeper. If the price online is already discounted 20%, then this means they should honor the advertised coupon for and additional 20% off, for a total of 40% off the price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding ****** ****'s experience while viewing our current sale online and at the La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries of West Sacramento. We appreciate your concern for our customers who consider La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries to furnish their home. We explained to Ms. **** that we are currently promoting our Bonus Coupon Sale at our West Sacramento Showroom. In general, a coupon may be used when a customer comes into the showroom and presents the coupon they would like applied to the sale. The coupon is used in addition to the great prices found in the showroom. Our sales associates are able to deduct the coupon from the marked price of the furniture in our in-store order placement system. Due to restrictions with our online order placement system, customers are unable to apply a coupon to the sale; therefore we automatically deduct the appropriate coupon in advance so that our online shoppers can take advantage of the same great offers we have in store. We were informed by Ms. **** that she was no longer in the market for furniture. She will be in contact with us when she has a need for furniture in the future. We have since made changes online to the Bonus Coupon Sale to help prevent any further confusion this may have caused other consumers shopping our sale online. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. Please contact us at (916) 751-2600 if you have any questions.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I was directly contacted by La-Z-Boy corporate and was explained more thoroughly how their discounts work. I expressed my feelings on why their ad was misleading and am glad they remove the online coupon to prevent any further confusion. Acknowledging the confusion was important to me as a consumer. I was also extended an additional discount, which was greatly appreciated.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered Jenna Sofa from catalog shows filled pillow backs. Sofa delivered with inadequate filling and pillow backs wrinkled. Will not fix meets specs Ordered Jenna PWR LA-Z-Time Sofa 3 Seat SPO Stock ******* CXXXXXX FN 000 on 2/15/13 from **** ********* salesperson. Photos in both catalog supplied and an April advertisement show same sofa with fully packed pillow backs (I have originals). Our sofa delivered in mid-April has inadequate stuffing and wrinkles are always apparent in backs & middle seat. Three visits from service techs came to our home: 1st visit-he just punched up the stuffing and said that will fix it. 2nd visit-ordered additional stuffing delivered to our home via UPS to fix wrinkles. 3rd visit-tech said opening new stuffing and stuffing pillow backs won't make us happy and suggested we call to negotiate a replacement. La-Z-Boy Service phone XXX-XXX-XXXX responded from ******* & one other female customer service rep that they determined our sofa was built to specs and no adjustment nor any further effort will be made to make our purchase of $1,848.41 better. We bought what they delivered. I have 2 photos of our sofa: (1)From the catalog we used to order our purchase signed by **** ********* ********** sales rep, at Rancho Cordova. (2) In a single sheet sales flyer arriving in our home in April for the Jenna Reclining sofa on sale from 4/2 to 4/22/13 for $361.46 less than we paid when ordered (not part of this issue is fact we asked for adjustment based on sales price that they refused even though the sofa wasn't yet delivered, but in production). The sales flyer clearly shows no wrinkles in pillow back as well. After talking to ********** associate at the service center, telling her I am unhappy with service and asking for optional replacement of the same sofa to be built same as the photos shown, the service phone person said: "I don't know where you got your photos of the sofa, but we built yours to spec and no further service will be authorized." I told her I was going to the BBB for action & she quickly added I should also mention "*****'s doesn't sell all beef hamburgers when I visit them." I guess a $1 hamburger is just as important as an $1,848.41 sofa we will live with in our family room for years to come. Here is what I have now, a large bag of sofa stuffing in my garage that wasn't even attempted to be used since the service tech who visited our home said this wouldn't make us happy and a wrinkled sofa that doesn't look like the photos we ordered from....I suggest La-Z-Boy stop their custom ordering or quit air brushing their catalogs and advertisements to make items appear much more appealing than they can deliver. We are still very unhappy, retired and on limited income. We even sold a La-Z-Boy sofa to have this replace what we had... but they have fallen a long way on service since a furniture tech who visited our home stated "you won't be happy with new stuffing!"

Desired Settlement: We are asking La-Z-Boy to either make our sofa look like their catalog and sales photos they present or replace our sofa with over-stuffed pillow backs to eliminate wrinkles that makes the current sofa look very old, used and ready for replacement.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ***** *********. We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes. On February 2, 2013, the ********** came into our Gold River showroom and placed a special order for a Jenna Power La-Z-Time sofa ******* CXXXXXX). The special order Jenna sofa was delivered to the Mulvehills on April 11, 2013. Since accepting the sofa, the following has happened: * Our Comfort Care Department sent a technician out to the customer's home on May 3. The technician tightened the footrest and put some lubrication on the mechanism. The technician regulated the back cushions to even out the fiber fill and smooth them and determined that the back cushions are not defective. * Another technician was sent out to the Mulvehills on May 17. The technician found that the footrests were dragging on the carpet, causing the locks to pop open. The technician elevated the feet on the front of the sofa. The back cushions were fluffed again and the technician noted that the cushions are normal. * On June 5, our Comfort Care Department ordered new back cushion inserts as a courtesy to the customer, even though the technician had determined that the cushions were within specification. * On July 19, a technician was set out to the customer's home to install the new back cushion inserts. During this visit, Mrs. ********* expressed that she would like a firmer back, not fiber fill. The back cushion inserts for the Jenna sofa is only available as fiber fill, as shown on our floor models. The technician determined that the sofa is up to specifications. * Comfort Care product specialists reviewed the *********'s service order on 2 separate occasions and both came to the conclusion that the sofa was made to specifications. Please note that on our website we disclaim that, "Product image may differ from actual furniture item. La-Z-Boy products are hand crafted and variations from standard dimensions and appearance can occur. Construction differences in upholstery covering (cloth and leather) can cause variances in dimensions". We have attached photos of the Jenna sofa as shown on our Gold River showroom, for reference. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. All La-Z-Boy service issues are handled by our Comfort Care Department. Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at (XXX) XXX-XXXX if you have any questions.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received a phone call from corporate representative who informed me La-Z-Boy has reviewed our complaint at their corporate offices in Lavonia, Michigan and decided to grant a replacement sofa for the one we are unhappy with today. La-Z-Boy made it clear they will pick up the sofa we are complaining about and want to do "an autopsy" on the manufacturing of the sofa since we were told numerous times this sofa was built to specs, but the wrinkles in the back pillow cushions were not acceptable or expected based on what we saw in the catalog. I think La-Z-Boy finally listened to their customer and want to thank them for viewing the photos they were sent vs. the catalogs and advertisements that brought us to their store. I am sure future customers will be happy with this type of service. The new couch will be manufactured and delivered in 6 to weeks.

Business' Final Response
We have advocated Mr. *********'s concerns with the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department and have been approved to provide a courtesy accommodation to the customer. Mr. ********* has been contacted and is agreeable to the offered resolution. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. All La-Z-Boy service issues are handled by our Comfort Care Department. Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at (XXX) XXX-XXXX if you have any questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1- Lied to me about finance-Didnt have pay it off in 12 months 2-Furniture is awful 3-Want my money back 1- Was lied to abut the finance months-Called Capital One they told me -I didnt have to take 12 months Lay boy told us we had to take it we didnt want it 2-Asked 3 times before buying the couch about cushions!Was told they would hold up and they said it was one of the best they had This was said by the mgr of the store 3-the coffee table we bought had a cut in the wood called the comfort car They sent out a service man to my home he tried to take it apart couldn't do it Put scratches on the table himself Also wrote to capital one I refused for them to take it apart and rebuild it in my home They sent new coffee table out got new Then new coffee table would not lift up so many problems with new furniture 4-Ne leather cair we bought -the treads our pulling-also they want to re do something done know what 5-the couch cushions-Our not holding up I want my money back! Laz-Boy furniture is awful what they did for the couch is send me new padding I cant put the new ones in myself I should not have this much trouble with this furniture only have it 7 months- also called ****** about this matter Lazy-Boy would not call back Laz-boy= so far is not a good company I dont like how they do business We shouldnt have to fight so hard for this furniture to be made right This is new furniture not used this furniture was to hold up for a very long time for us

Desired Settlement: Money Back

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@lazboyhome.com ***** ******** has been in contact with our Comfort Care department since April 06,2013 for her current issues. As a dealer, we are not authorized to work on furniture and have a Comfort Care Department that is specifically equipped to handle all service related needs. Once reported, a certified technician is dispatched directly to the customers residence to evaluate the furniture and makes a diagnosis on which way to proceed with the repair. If parts are needed, the technician will order the necessary parts and they will be directly shipped to the customers home. Upon receipt of the part, the customer will contact Comfort Care to schedule a technician to install the part. Comfort Care has worked closely with Ms. ******** and has attempted to address all the issues she has expressed. As of this writing, Ms. ******** has received the necessary parts per the initial technician inspection. Comfort Care has been waiting for Ms. ******** to schedule a technician to complete the service of her furniture.

Consumer's Final Response
L-boy isn't going to give me my money back. And to me your not really on my side. I don't feel your on the side of us the consumer. L BOy sold lousy furniture and they know it The mgr knew it, ***** the Customer Service Person it. The chair & the couch and table should not have any problems. If this was your furniture how would you react to this. People get tired of fighting And you the BBB really don't do much to really help us the consumers Really don't think I'll do business with business who have the BBB sign on the door. Next action will be in court. Also Ge Capital will give us another year financing. So right there they know that L-Boy lied to us. And more than once.Also my lawyer said not to talk to *****. Here is copies of letters from Ge Capital, and my lawyer to L-Boy. Also this has caused me stress and illness.

Business' Final Response
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ***** and ****** ********. We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes. Mrs. ******** contacted the Comfort Care Service Department on 11-14-12. She had concerns with a scratch on her table that was delivered on 10-30-12. A technician inspection was scheduled for 11-17-12. A service ticket was created the same day. On 11-17-12 the technician was able to repair the scratch. He also tightened the legs. While there he noticed the veneer was lifting on the table top and initiated a replacement part to be ordered. Mrs. ******** was contacted by Comfort Care on 11-28-12 and informed that a new part was placed on order and when it arrived at her house, she would then need to call Comfort Care to arrange for a technician to install the part in her home. Mrs. ******** was told it could take several weeks for the part to be manufactured and shipped. Mrs. ******** contacted Comfort Care on 12-28-12 upset she was still waiting for the table part. Comfort Care apologized and explained that there was a nationwide delay from the manufacturer on the particular table part. Mrs. ******** was advised that it may take a few more weeks to arrive. Comfort Care contacted Mrs. ******** on 01-19-13 informing her that the part was in and to expect delivery between 01-22-13 and 01-26-13. Mrs. ******** called Comfort Care on 01-30-13 upset and demanded a new table. She said she would not allow a technician to install the part for her table. She said waiting for six weeks for a replacement shelf was too long. Comfort Care explained that the standard wait time for replacement parts may take a few weeks, depending on part availability. From 01-30.13 to 02-22-13 we contacted Mrs. ******** several times. She was informed her that per the terms and conditions of her sales agreement, she was not able to return the table and that the service center Comfort Care explicitly repairs the item. We asked Mrs. ******** several times to allow the table to be repaired, as the parts had already arrived to her home. We contacted Mrs. ******** on 02-23-13 and offered, in the interest of customer goodwill. as a one-time courtesy, the option to replace the table with a brand new one. Mrs. ******** accepted the exchange of her scratched table and a new one was set for delivery on 03-06-13. After delivery of the new table, Mrs. ******** initiated a credit card chargeback on all her items stating that all of her furniture was faulty and defective. She never informed us or the Comfort Care Service Department about any outstanding service issues involving her sofa and recliner that she purchased at the same time as her table. After repeatedly attempting to contact with Mrs. ******** from 03-10-13 and 04-06-13, we were able to speak with her. As a dealer, we were concerned that she initiated a chargeback for service concerns yet she had never contacted our Comfort Care Service Department to seek resolution. On 04-06-13 Mrs. ******** agreed to have us call the Comfort Care Service Department on her behalf and arrange for a service visit to be scheduled. She said there was an issue with the seat cushion on her chair and seat cushion issues with her sofa. She also said there was an issue with her new table but did not go into detail with us. We contacted the Comfort Care Service Department on her behalf and set up a technician visit on 04-17-13. Because of the looming Chargeback that Tonja initiated, we called the Comfort Care Service Department on 04-18-13 to ask for the notes from the service technician visit. We were given the following: Tech Report Miles Time Code Repair Date 04/17/2013 Tech 2734 5.00 1.00 30 SM FOUND CUSTOMER INSISTS STITCHING AT CHAISE IS STRETCHED AND DEFECTIVE, SM FOUND STITCHING IS WITHIN FACTORY STANDARDS. TO SATISFY CUSTOMER NEW UPH SEAT NEEDS TO BE ORDERED. SOFA SEAT CUSHIONS ARE LOSING SHAPE AND DO NOT SUPPORT WELL. NEED TO ORDER 3 NEW CUSHION CORES. LIFT TOP TABLE WAS SLIGHTLY STICKY AND HARD TO OPERATE SM APPLIED SOME LUBE ON LIFT TOP MECH AND IT NOW WORKS SMOOTHLY. IF TO COMPLETE REPAIRS NEED TO ORDER NEW UPHOLSTERY CHAISE SEAT FOR CHAIR AND A NEW CUSHION CORES FOR SOFA ALLOWING T-2 TO INSTALL. PO/MFG The table was easily fixed by the technician while he was in the home. He found the recliner seat to be in perfect condition but requested a new seat be ordered to satisfy Mrs. ********. He also found that in order to remedy the service concerns with the sofa he recommended that the Comfort Care Service Department could order three new seat cushions. A new seat for the chair and three new seat cushions were ordered for Mrs. ******** by the Comfort Care Service Department. Mrs. ******** called us on 05-08-13. She stated service would not be enough and that the arms of her recliner were defective. This issue had not been brought up to us or the Comfort Care Service Department prior to this conversation. We called the Comfort Care Service Department on XX-XX-XX and asked to have them contact Mrs. ******** and discuss with her the issues she was having with the arms to her recliner. Since 05-08-13, the Comfort Care Service Department has attempted multiple times to contact Mrs. ******** and ask about her service concerns. Mrs. ******** has not returned any calls or been in contact with the Comfort Care Service Department since. The Comfort Care Service Department called Mrs. ******** once again on XX-XX-XX to inform her that the service parts had shown to have arrived at her house via UPS. They asked Mrs. ******** to call back and schedule a technician to install the parts on the sofa and recliner in her home. The Comfort Care representative also wanted to know about the issue with the arms that Mrs. ******** was having but never reported to the Comfort Care Service Department only to the credit card company. The last time contact was made with Mrs. ******** was on 07-13-13. We asked Mrs. ******** to allow Comfort Care to schedule a technician to come out and install the parts for her sofa and chair. We also told Mrs. ******** that she needed to stay in contact with the Comfort Care Service Department and report the issue she was having with her arMrs. She said she would discuss the issue with her husband and that she would call us back on Monday 07-16-13. We were then called by a lawyer representing Mrs. ******** on Monday and were asked to not contact Mrs. ******** directly. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner. Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at (XXX) XXX-XXXX if you have any questions.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a disability called Congestive Heart Failure and this causes body fluids to congregate around my lungs and heart. During the day, fluids have a tendency to drop to the lowest parts of my body (calves, ankles & feet) causing swelling. To counteract the swelling, my doctor has me take water pills which cause a lot of urinations (about one every hour and a half). Consequently, I am unable to sleep with my wife in our bed because it would disturb her sleep. My doctor also requires that I raise my feet above the level of my heart & lungs. This is achieved by buying certain recliners which allow the feet to be elevated. This type of chair can be found in Lay Z Boy. On May 6, 2013, I went into the local Lay Z Boy, 2315 Esplanade Ave. Chico, CA and selected a recliner which met the qualifications I required except for the color. All I wanted was a plain brown which matched other furniture in the home. Two chairs to my left was a chair with brown fabric. I pointed it out to saleslady and told her that was the color I wanted. She then proceeded to obtain a swatch of fabrics of different colors and asked me which I preferred. I again stated I wanted a brown fabric like the one to my left. She then wrote up the order an the total came to a little over a thousand dollars. I thought to myself, "Wow. That's high". The saleslady then asked if I wanted to pay with a check or credit card. I asked her what she would prefer. She said a check is easier. She then told me that the chair would be delivered in six to seven days. My checking account pays me about 1.5% interest on the money I have in the bank. the interest is compounded daily. A couple of days after I gave the saleslady my check, I looked at my bank statement on my computer and saw that the store had deposited my check into their account on 6/8/2013. Two days after I gave them the check. I thought to myself that it's only a couple of days and I won't lose two much in the 6 or 7 days before my delivery. On or about May 27, when my chair still had not been delivered, I called Lay Z Boy and told them I wanted to cancel the order because it was not delivered in the number of days it was promised. I was told that I could not do that because all ordered had to be cancelled within three days of the date of purchase. I was told it is so stated on the back of my receipt. Also, I was told that it was a special order (I ordered a special fabric that the store does not normally sell) and special orders cannot be returned. I told them I did not want a special fabric, I just wanted a brown color, just like the one I was sitting next to. As for cancellation in a 3 day period, it should read "Returns are allowed three days after delivery". I also informed them I wanted my money returned. On or about the store called and told me my chair was ready to be delivered. I again told them I did not want the chair and to repay me my money. They then stated that there would be a 30% restocking fee and they would restock it if I agreed to that restocking fee. I told them no. It is now 6/6/2013 and I have not heard any more from the store and I have not received any money from them. It is my fervent belief that this store makes it a habit to bring out a swath of different fabrics so as to be able to charge a "special order" fee for something they sell no an everyday basis. Of course I can't prove it but chairs of the type I ordered normally cost between $500 and $800. I honestly believe I was suckered.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mr ******* has been working with the store to resolve his issues. He is currently waiting for delivery on a newly reselected La-Z-Boy recliner scheduled for July 11, 2013. All matters presented here have all been resolved amicably.

Consumer's Final Response
I have finished reading the excuses put forth by the administration of La-Z-Boy but, there is no way they can show that their employee followed them. Also, when they say that I was aware of the price and terms of agreement regarding the purchase, they are assuming their clerk either read the conditions to me or they are assuming the clerk stood there and watched me read them. And neither of those scenarios occurred. As far as the price was concerned, I saw a price tag on the chair upon which I was seated initially. I believe it was in the mid six hundred dollar range. And the reason why I was seated upon that particular chair is because I have congestive heart failure and my doctor wanted me to sleep on something where my feet could be raised to a level, higher than my chest. This chair that I had focused upon was ideal for that. The statement that La-Z-Boy does not place a preference on how a customer pays for their product is probably true. But I was the one who enquired as to whether the clerk preferred payment with a check or credit card. The clerk said, "On special orders we prefer you pay cash." It had never dawned on me to ask why this was a special order. I did not like the color of the chair I was sitting on so I pointed to a chair, two chairs away from the one upon which I was sitting and I said I want a brown color like that one over there. That is when they brought out the swath of different fabrics and asked me to pick the color. I picked the first brown color I saw and said I'll take this one. They then said it would probably take about seven days to two weeks before it would be delivered. After returning to my home, I got to thinking how stupid I was to pay cash. So, when the chair was not delivered in the stated time, I called and stated I wanted to cancel the order. They told me I could not as it was a special order. On or about 7/11/2013, I finally gave in and said the store could deliver the chair. I rationalized that I was never going to get the store to change their mind and they had my money and my chair. I had nothing. I was not going to sue them over a $1,000 disagreement and, I might just as well start deriving the health benefits, which was the reason why I purchased the chair in the first place. So the chair was delivered. When it was delivered, I had the delivery persons place it where I wanted it and then sat in the chair. Lo and behold, it was a rocking chair as well as a recliner. I thought I should have returned it but then I remembered the two plus months of having neither the chair nor my money and I decided to chalk it up to experience. I vowed to never again to shop at the La-Z-Boy store in Chico. (I honestly believe the employees are paid a percentage of their sales.) I also learned to pay with a credit card, never cash and I will never take someone's word for anything. From now on, the sales people have to prove what you are saying and I will accept no substitutions, unless they are the same price as to what I initially focused upon. Thank you for all help you have tried to give me. You can close this case. If anyone is at fault, it is I who is the stupid one.

Business' Final Response
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******* *******. We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes. In our Furniture Galleries we showcase a variety of upholstered items in different styles and upholstery. We do not have the capacity to stock all furniture styles in all fabrics available at our regional distribution center. Therefore, if a customer likes the style of one unit but likes the upholstery from another unit, it may become a special order depending whether it is something our distribution center normally carries. Mr. ******* was aware of the price and the terms of agreement regarding the special order at the time of purchase. We do not place a preference whether our customers submit payment in check or credit card, regardless if the items are stock or special order. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner. Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at (XXX) XXX-XXXX if you have any questions.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reclining sofa 3 seat too hard middle seat gave me sore bottom took 3 days to heal sit on sofa right end couch falling in We dont live life on sofa comfortably Mr ***** **** sold us LaZBoy sofa Explained my husband has progressive prostrate cancer We need a reclining sofa We can sleep on so ***** is close to husband to gibe him care We are both disabled 80 years old LaZBoy sofa recliner chair each end brown delivered March X XXXX Friday ***** **** and *** ******* keep telling us wait one more week Weeks go by *** called May 5 2013 Sunday 877-738-8852 *** said someone will come see our sofa and stuff sofa *** ****** tells us the sofa is not new they dont have to do anything We signed a paper good for three days /7:41 pm Jose Vallejo will be here may 16 to stuff our sofa May 16 called (10am) 5-21-13 **** ******* arrived shortly Decide not stuff sofa Mr **** ******* said "If you had your sofa stuffed its yours" May 31 Friday 1031 am I talk to *** ******* We dont want your sofa! We want our money back May XX XXXX Friday ***** (or ****** called form XXX-XXX-XXXX She is sorry Will call back 159 pm ***** called back She is so sorry We will not receive any money back

Desired Settlement: We want all our money returned to us!! May 1 2013 Wed I went into LaZBoy store I talk to ***. He told me we would get our money. I asked how much. In a loud voice *** said "all of it".

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@lazboyhome.com Service issues are not dealt with by the dealership. All of our customers service concerns are handled by our service department-Comfort Care. Customer ******* currently has an open service ticket # with our Comfort Care department. Currently customer ******* has had a certified technician visit their home and a recommendation was made by the technician to replace the seat poly's on the sofa. For service to continue, we would ask Mr. ******* to continue to work with the Comfort Care. They are ready and willing to install the recommended replacement parts free of charge.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the couch/chair on Sat. afternoon. Sat/night I figured I wouldn't have enough for my upcoming move. I cancelled the couch that night. The next day I called to cancel the chair (it may not match furniture purchase). ********* tried to cancel it, couldn't tole me to call back when *** manager was there. I did, he said he cancelled it and shred my check. A couple days later (Tuesday) it showed up on my acct. I had stopped it and told *** he outright lied to me when he said he shred it. It was posted and taken off my acct. corporate said it was my banks fault that *** had put it in the following Monday.

Desired Settlement: I would consider a written apology from *** for lying to me about shredding my check. I had planned on repurchasing the couch/chair after my move. Ill never enter a Lazy Boy again.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ****** *****-******. We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes. We apologize for any miscommunication between the showroom staff and our customer and have sent Ms. *****-****** a letter expressing this. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. We would like to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner. Please contact us at (916) XXX-XXXX if you have any questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CUSTOM ORDERED A SOFA THAT WAS TOLD WILL TAKE 6-8 WEEKS. TODAY IS 12/21/12 STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED. ORDERED SOFA 10/7/12, WAS TOLD IT WOULD TAKE 6-8 WEEKS. CALLED WHEN IT WAS 8 WEEKS AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD CHECK, NO RESPONSE. FINALLY WENT IN THE STORE AND SAID THEY WOULD CHECK, STILL NO RESPONSE. I FINALLY CALLED AGAIN AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE MATERIAL THIS IS ABOUT 10-11 WEEKS LATER. I TOLD LAZBOY THAT IF I COULD NOT GET THE SOFA BEFORE THE END OF THE YEAR TO CANCEL THE ORDER, SINCE THEY STILL HAD NOT STARTED TO MAKE THE SOFA. I WAS TOLD THAT THE SOFA WOULD BE LEAVING THE WAREHOUSE ON THE 12/17/12 (EVEN THOUGH THEY SAY NOW THEY DO NOT GIVE DATES) I CALLED TODAY 12/21/12 AND WAS TOLD IT IS IN A BOX BUT HAS NOT SHIPPED. MY CREDIT CARD HAS BEEN CHARGED FOR THIS ENTIRE ORDER BACK ON 10/7/12. THEY ARE NOW SAYING THAT I MIGHT GET THE SOFA IN 2-3 WEEKS WHICH WILL BE SOMETIME NEXT YEAR. THIS IS COMPLETLEY UNACCEPTABLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. I HAD NEVER BEEN UPDATED ON ANY OF THIS PROBLEM UNTIL I KEPT CALLING THE COMPANY. TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT PER MR. ****** ******, GENERAL OPERATIONS MANAGER IN MY OWN WORDS I HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO SIT AND WAIT FOR MY SOFA WHICH WILL BE OVER 4 MONTHS TIME SINCE I ORDERED IT. THIS IS JUST NOT RIGHT, IS THIS WHAT COMPANIES GET AWAY WITH?

Desired Settlement: I JUST WANT TO CANCEL THE ORDER AND GET A FULL REFUND.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
December 28, 2012 Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ****** ******. We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes. On October 7, 2012, Ms. ****** came into our West Sacramento showroom and placed a special order for an Eden Sofa (****** BXXXXXX) and two stock Allegra chairs (XXXXXX GXXXXXX). Please note that the Terms and Conditions of the Sales Ticket, signed by Ms. ****** state that, "We make special order furniture specifically for you and your home. You may change or cancel your order within 3 days of placing it. After that three-day period, you may not cancel or change your order or obtain a refund." In addition to the Terms and Conditions, Ms. ****** initialed the front of her sales ticket acknowledging and agreeing that, "Custom and Out of Stock orders normally arrive in approximately 8 weeks. Due to the nature of producing custom made furniture, unforeseen delays on fabric and/or parts may extend production time. No refunds or cancellations, including delay of product." In the interest of customer goodwill, we offered the customer free delivery (a value of $119.99) and $100 off her order, totaling $219.99. The same day Ms. ****** filed her Better Business Bureau claim, she scheduled delivery of her sofa and chairs. As of today she is scheduled to be delivered on January 3, 2013. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner. Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at (877) XXX-XXXX if you have any questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a recliner that was of poor quality and not as displayed in store. Payed for chair in 7/12/12 and as of 11/12/12 still don't have chair. Bought a chair from Lazboy on 7/12/12, and noticed three defiencies in the quality of the chair. 1) chair foot rest was loose and wobbly; 2)stuffing was inferior to the one on display; 3)and the upholstery was gathered at the arms instead of smooth. The service department could not repair the chair on the weekend and I could not take time from work to be at home. They refused to accommodate us on the weekend, so we brought the chair back to the store we purchased it from for them to repair on 9/22/12. To this date they still haven't repaired the chair, and said it was our fault in bringing the chair back to the store. We have talked to the HQ back in Michigan, and the representative was rude and wrote down untrue facts regarding this incident. She said that we brought the chair back to the store in November and that we wanted our money back. I told her we brought the chair back in September and have a receipt that shows we want it repaired. We have been very patient, but we need help. Thank you in advance.

Desired Settlement: Either an in store credit or refund. Lazboy representative from Michigan said that they cannot give a refund or credit because it was a special order. Because of the 4 months that have elapsed since purchased and almost 2 months of them having the chair, we feel they need to make things right.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ****** ******. We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes. When our customers purchase furniture from La-Z-Boy, they have purchased one of the best manufacturer warranties in the industry. The limited lifetime warranty ensures that problems with frame, mechanism and moving parts are covered for the lifetime of the unit. Upholstery claims and labor charges are covered for one year after the delivery of the piece. As an authorized La-Z-Boy retailer, our Comfort Care Department is obligated to uphold the standards set by the La-Z-Boy warranty. Ms. ****** has agreed to allow for our Comfort Care Department to order parts and repair her furniture. At this time, we are waiting for a technician to come out and install the parts that have been shipped. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner. Please contact our Comfort Care Department at (877) XXX-XXXX if you have any questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problems with the whole front row of springs on the seat of the sofa and problems with popping in the sofa arm. Problem Date: 9/14/2012 Purchase Date: 9/3/2012 Delivery Date: 9/8/2012 Model Numbers: XXXXXX CXXXXXX FN 021 Metro Sofa LAZB-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Ticket Numbers: XXX-XXXXX Sales Rep: ****** **** Payment Amount: $1138.23 Payment Method: Visa On 9/14/2012 the springs under the middle cushion made a squeak sound when sat upon. Over the next two weeks the squeak became much louder and could be heard when first sitting down on cushion and with any movement while sitting on the cushion. I then called La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. I spoke to ***** and notified ***** of the problem with the squeak in the middle sofa cushion. ***** said that he needed to send someone out to have a look at the sofa. I told ***** that I am only available on Mondays and needed an appointment on a Monday. ***** said that they do not service my area on Mondays so I would have to choose another day. I told him I would have to cancel clients, which I did, and I scheduled the appointment for 10/11/2012. ***** said that he would make a note that the service provider would have to be gone no later than 11:30am in order for this appointment time to work for me. On 10/10/2012 I received a call from La-Z-Boy saying that my appointment was scheduled for 10/11/12 between 2:00pm-4:00pm. I called La-Z-Boy because that time would not work because I had clients scheduled at that time. The representative that I spoke to said that she does see the note that the service provider would have to be gone no later than 11:30am. I asked why an appointment would be scheduled for between 2:00pm and 4:00pm when they can see that I need to have the service provider gone no later than 11:30am. After numerous requests to speak to a manager I was never once allowed to speak to a manager. I scheduled an appointment for the service provider to come out on 10/15/12 between 8:00am and 9:00am. **** was the service provider who came out on 10/15/12. **** inspected the sofa, took pictures, and filed a report. **** found that the sofa was squeaking along the entire front with the most noise coming from the center. **** said that in his opinion the problem was with the whole front row of springs. **** said they should have the report on 10/17/12. On 10/17/12 I called La-Z-Boy to ask if they had the report and that it was being reviewed and they would call me with an answer. When I heard back from them they said that they would order the parts and send them to my house. Once the part arrive I was to call and schedule for a repair man to come out for a 3 hour appointment. In which I refused to have a brand new sofa repaired and use my warranty. My concern was that this might be the beginning of more problems with this sofa and I wanted the sofa replaced. I was told that had I called the first week, then that would be an option but I called 3 weeks after the delivery of the sofa so it is now a used sofa and they would not replace it. On 10/25/12 the arm of the sofa began making a popping sound. On 10/26/12 when I spoke to ****** Clark, the store manager of Elk Grove La-Z-Boy I informed her of the problem with the sofa arm. On 10/29/12 I called La-Z-Boy to speak to ****** who is ****** ******* manager. I told that had I called within 3 days of delivery then returning the sofa would of been an option, but now the sofa is used. He suggested they take the sofa back and replace it with the used sofa in their showroom. I said no because I will not replace the brand new furniture with a used piece of furniture and that the showroom sofa would be even more used and worn than the one I have. I told ****** that I want the sofa replaced with a new sofa because a sofa that starts having problems less than a month after purchase should not be repaired it should be replaced. Then ****** said that was a matter of opinion. ****** said that he would be in contact with the people who are reviewing the situation, and then get back to me. That has been the end of the conversation at this point, today being 10/30/12

Desired Settlement: I am seeking for either the defective sofa to be replaced with a brand new sofa and for the warranty to transfer to the new sofa or for a full refund of the sofa.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ***** ******. We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes. When our customers purchase furniture from La-Z-Boy, they have purchased one of the best manufacturer warranties in the industry. The limited lifetime warranty ensures that problems with frame, mechanism and moving parts are covered for the lifetime of the unit. Upholstery claims and labor charges are covered for one year after the delivery of the piece. As an authorized La-Z-Boy retailer, our Comfort Care Department is obligated to uphold the standards set by the La-Z-Boy warranty. Ms. ****** has agreed to allow for our Comfort Care Department to order parts and repair her sofa. At this time, we are waiting for a technician to come out to Ms. ******'s home and install the parts that have been shipped directly to him. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner. Please contact our Comfort Care Department at (877) XXX-XXXX if you have any questions.

Consumer's Final Response
La-Z-Boy has not made any attempts to contact me. I have not spoken to or received any calls from La-Z-Boy since 10/29/12. I have not contacted La-Z-Boy since the parts have arrived because I have requested for them not to send the parts and I have chosen to handle this complaint through BBB due to issue problems I have previously had with La-Z-Boy's customer service. There have been additional problems with one of the arms of the sofa making a popping sound which began on 10/25/12. I put in a complaint to ****** on 10/26/12 and I have not had a response from La-Z-Boy regarding that additional issue. This has been a huge inconvenience for me. If I agree to repair the sofa, a 3 hour repair to fix the front row of springs, that will take place in my home will be a further inconvenience. Also for someone to come out and inspect the arm, give an assessment, order the parts, and then come out and repair the arm would be a further disruption in my life and intrusion into my home. I understand La-Z-Boy's warranty is to fix the sofa, however I did not expect to have so many problems and so much difficulty with a sofa just two weeks after I purchased it. Having to schedule for repairs means I have to cancel clients and I lose money, I can not afford to repeatedly take time off work for repairs, this becomes a financial hardship on me.

Business' Final Response
This letter and all attachments will be mailed, per BBB request. December 5, 2012 Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ****** ******. We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes. Please note that the Terms and Conditions of the Sales Ticket, signed by Ms. ****** state: "We will allow you to exchange regular-priced In-Stock merchandise, within 3 days of when you receive it, for product of the same or lesser value." Had Ms. ****** contacted us within this timeframe, we would have easily been able to make an exchange for the exact item. The Terms and Conditions further explain, "To obtain available warranty service on your La-Z-Boy product, please call us and we will arrange for our service technician to address your problem. For problems covered by our warranty, we will repair or replace your merchandise at our discretion." The contact phone number for our Comfort Care Department is also located on the front of the Sales Ticket. If the customer has accepted their merchandise and 3 days have passed, they must work with the Comfort Care Department for warranty issues. Per the Terms and Conditions of Ms. ******'s Sales Ticket, the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department has decided to repair Ms. ******'s merchandise. At this point, we are waiting for Ms. ****** to schedule an appointment with a technician to install the parts that have already been ordered and shipped directly to her home. The Comfort Care Department will do their best to accommodate Ms. ******'s schedule. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner. Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at (877) XXX-XXXX if you have any questions.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/5/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid for two couches in June. We were informed that they will take eight weeks until they will be shipped at our home. After eight weeks passed I called to check the status. I was informed that there was problem with the fabric and it will not be shipped until Oct. 2, 2012. We were very disappointed, considering we had already given away our old couches. The sales rep said, "It is what it is." After expressing how disappointed and put out we were, they agreed to give us a petty reimbursement. Now we have waited patiently for FOUR months. I called in Oct.1, 2012 to get a delivery status they say it will be here in DECEMBER! I have contacted the manager, Brian. He never has any information. All he has told me is he never got a response from his email to his company asking why it will be delivered in December. Yesterday, Wed Oct. 4, 2012 Brian the manager said he will call me in one hour. He has never called. I want to call the police. They have taken my cash, several thousand dollars and will not even call me back. The manager says he will contact me and he never has. Is this against the law? I have contacted the main number for lazy boy and all they say is for me to contact the dealer in Roseville,Ca. So sad, I thought this was a reputable company. Product_Or_Service: couches Account_Number: 150-17840

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my money back. They said the couches will be delivered in eight weeks. Now they expect me to wait for SIX months. I do not trust the companies word on fulfilling the contract.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ****** and ****** ******. We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes. Since this BBB claim, our Roseville showroom manager has been in contact with the Mr. and Mrs. ******. Unfortunately there has been a few delays with the fabric which caused the estimated time of shipment to change numerous times. This fabric delay is also why the order has not yet completed. The delayed fabric is currently estimated to arrive at our manufacturing facility at the end of this month. We attempted to work with the customer and offer them a re-selection, however the customer is willing to work with the showroom manager and wait for the delayed fabric. At this time, we are waiting for the fabric to arrive to complete Mr. and Mrs. ******'s order. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner. Please contact our Comfort Care Department at (877) XXX-XXXX if you have any questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to your store to buy a specific chair. *************** recommended another and I purchased 2. They are not comfortable and I want my money back. Chair is not comfortable, one was delivered broke, your driver returned it. When it was redelivered I asked for a refund and was told I waited to long and you don't give money back. I was told I had to pay $600.00 in return fees to get a credit to buy more products from your store. You sent out an adjuster that told us the chair was often complained about, and said I should ask for a refund and I did again. The people in your store were short and rude. I am in my late 70's, I am on a fixed income and this purchase represented 1/3 of my savings. I am a recent cancer survivor and my husband just recently had one eye removed from cancer and has a hard time standing. This is why I made the purchase. I was taken advantage of, I was talked out of the chair I went in to buy, I have been treated with a hostile attitude and want my money back. I was so worried about my husbands back, why I was there in the first place, that I have since purchased a different chair from a different company. I just want my money back. Please help me. My son is a prominent business man and plans to contact the TV stations he uses for his business and any other means available to him. I do not want to make a fuss, just please return my momey and pick up your chairs.

Desired Settlement: 100% of the money back I spent. $2045.51 Sales ticket # XXX-XXXXX Fell free to call my son.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ****** ******. We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes. Please note that the Terms and Conditions of the sales agreement, signed by Mr. ******* state: "You must make any claims for damage, shortage, or errors at the time your merchandise is delivered to you. If you do not make a claim at that time, you will be deemed to have accepted the products and you cannot revoke your acceptance. After such acceptance, you will have no right to reject the products for any reason but may request an exchange within 3 days of delivery as described and limited above." As noted in ****** ******'s dispute, the chairs were delivered to the customer's home and accepted by the customer. In the interest of customer goodwill, La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries allowed Mrs. ****** to return her chairs, which is an exception from the terms and conditions of her sale. Mrs. ****** had her chairs for over a month and before the return of Mrs. ******'s chairs was authorized, she has already made her purchase with another retailer. The delivery fees are non-refundable as this service was completed and accepted by the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service