BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Holbrook's Clearance Center?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Holbrook's Clearance Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (530) 893-2019 1408 Park Ave., Chico, CA 95928 http://www.holbrooksclearancecenter.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Holbrook's Clearance Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Holbrook's Clearance Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Holbrook's Clearance Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 03, 1991 Business started: 11/05/1991 in CA Business started locally: 11/05/1991 Business incorporated: 08/03/1992 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 106045.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Maxwell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Maxwell, Owner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Holbrook's Clearance Center, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers the sale of home furniture.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Holbrook's Clearance Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1408 Park Ave.

    Chico, CA 95928 (530) 893-2019

  • 418 Walnut St.

    Red Bluff, CA 96080 (530) 528-2069

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, 8/21/14 or to who ever can help us with our problem. We bought a lift chair from Holbrooks Clearance Center. *** ****** *** *** ****** ** ***** ph#******** on July 17 We paid cash and got it three weeks later. It looked nice but when I sat in it, the back would not come all the way up, it feels like I am half lying down. So we called 8/13/14 talked to ***** and told him the problems with the chair. He said the truck had a flat tire and they wound't be able to come out that evening. We called 8/14/14 talked to ***** again, he said they would be out between 3 and 6 that eve, for svc. No call, no show. Called again 8/5/14. ***** again, all we got was more excuses. 8/16/14, called again, talked to *****, he said they were in the middle of a tent sale and would not come out until 8/21/14 between 3 and 6p.m. Again they didn't call, didn't show, nothing!! We would expect better customer service from what they have given. They obviously do not stand behind their product.

Desired Settlement: We want our chair fixed, money refunded, or exchanged. Hope you can help.

Consumer Response: The consumer called and stated that the company came and picked up their chair two weeks ago with the promise that it would be repaired within a couple days. The consumer states that they have not received a phone or our chair. At this point we would like our money back $635.

Consumer Response: Consumer states they had got the chair back from the company however the chair doesn't close exactly right still. He said he will deal with it and not pursue this anymore.

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 2 reclining chairs in Oct 2013. In February 2014, one broke. I contacted Holbrooks and an employee told me that it was probably a faulty piece of wood or a knot that broke. He told me they would not replace it, but would fix it. I asked when would be the best time to bring it in, considering I only have two chairs in my living room. He told me to bring it in on Thursday, Feb. 20th, because their repair man would be in. He said that it would take a couple of days. I brought the chair in that day, but there was no repair man on site. Another salesman told me the repair man would not be in until Mon. I left the chair. On Monday I was told that they had to order parts and that they would not be in for a day or two. On Wed. I got my chair back. The salesman excitedly told me that they added a lumbar bar for more support. When I brought the chair home, it was not fixed, in fact, the chair is worse. The foot stool would not stay up; it is broken on the right side. The lumbar bar is in the wrong place. It is in the thoracic region and very uncomfortable. I called Holbrooks that day and explained the problems. The salesman told me that I would have to talk to a manager, who was not in at this time. I left my name and number and asked that he call me as soon as he gets in. I called back on Thur. and Fri. I called again on Monday and Tuesday. I was told that the manager would be in at 10am and that they would have him call me. The manager finally got back to me and I explained the situation. The manager told me there was no lumbar bar put into the chair. I told him they put something there because it wasn't there before and it is very uncomfortable. He told me I was wrong and didn't believe that his employee said that to me. He said the chair worked fine when it left the store. Obviously the chair was not fine. The manager refused to fix the chair, saying the company will only fix an item once. He also refused to honor a return of his defective product or replace it with a new chair.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement with a new chair or a full refund of my purchase price $399 plus tax.

Business Response: The recliner in question did leave the store in perfect condition.  All our items are sold 'As-Is' which is clearly stated on our wall facing the customers where they make a purchase.  We did decide to repair the recliner for her because she did not have it for a long period of time and it sounded like an easy fix.  Our repair person did notice a break in the wood where a knot was.  He ordered the correct size of wood and screws to fix it which took a couple of days. Because he is not always in the store it took a little longer for the repair.  He then repaired it and put everything back together, tested it and it was ready to go.  Salesmen at our store do not know or see any of the repair process.  After the customer picked it up, she complained that it wasn't repaired correctly and wanted a new one.  Our policy of selling items 'As-Is' does not require us to replace it.  We offered to repair it again and she became unruly and rude.  She said she was going to blast our company on Facebook and try to shut us down if we didn't replace it or give her a refund.  It also clearly states on our wall and the receipt that we do not do refunds.  So we decided to cut ties with her because of her threats.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: It truly discourages me at how businesses are run now a days. Where is the integrity, honesty, and pride. First of all, the manager did not offer to fix the recliner again, he was too busy calling me a liar and he stated that they only fixed products once. I don't know weather or not his employee was present during the repair, but he did tell me the lumbar bar was placed. Also there is something there that was not there before. Second, if the chair had been tested, the repair man would have noticed the broken arm that holds up the foot rest. Third, I never asked for a refund until I was treated so rudely. I asked that the recliner be replaced. I don't know about you, but being called a liar would upset anyone. The manager rudely told me that I was wrong and interrupted me several times. This is when I became very upset and told him I would Facebook all of my friends about their bad business. This is America. It's my prerogative to us my 1st Amendment right. What my friends do with this information is their prerogative. After being treated so badly and called a liar several times, I walked away from the phone. Whatever was said post, I have nothing to do with, and furthermore, I am the customer. Not anyone else. I payed for the faulty furniture. I would like this business to show some moral and do what is right.

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 31, 2013 I went into Holbrook Clearance Center,Inc. I tool my daughter into buy her a new bedroom set or her newly painted room. We looked around and could not find anything that she liked that was in stock. The sales associate told me that if we found something that my daughter liked in the catalogue that they provided, we could order and pay today and they would pick it up at routine furniture pick up in the city. My daughter found a matching bedrooms et that she lked. The sales associate then told us that it would not take long to ge the set and he could get it by 8/8/2013. Trusting his word I paid for the complete bedroom set. August 8th came and went and I did not hear anything from Holbrooks. I made a coll on August 11th and was told that they jost got back and the sipment had not been unloaded. I was told to call back. I called again on August 17th and was told that they stuill had not receied it and told m to call back in a week or so. I called back agina on September 1st and they told me that the only thing they had was a night stand and the associate told me that they would refund my money becuase the order in its entirety had not came in. I decided that this would end my frustration. I sent my mother in law with the receipt because I was unable to take time off of work to deal with this matter. This store is located two hours from my home. When my Mother in law went into get my refund the sales associate rudely told her that they don't do refunds sorry that guy should have not told you that. My Mother in Law called me from Chico and told me that they were not going to refund my money. I immediately called Holbrooks and told the sales associate that I was tired of the run around game and I should have never been told I was going to get my money back. He told me that the associate was sent home for telling me this. He told me that this is how retail works and I needed to basically get over it. This comment made me very angry so I asked to speak to the manager. The Manager called me and did apologize for how rude I was treated and told me that I could maybe reorder a bedroom set from some online catalogues. My daughter did find one bedroom set she did like. So I once again called Holbrooks on September 9th. They were unable to find the information needed to order over the phone so I agreed to come over to Chico and once again try to order another bedroom set for my daughter. The manager told me that he would not be there but someone would be Mere to help me. I went to Chico on the September 2lst and waited with my daughter for a long time for someone to help us; a young man appeared from the back of Me building and asked if we needed help. I explained why I was there because he obviously had not been informed of me coming and what my issue was. He gave us some books to look at My daughter was able to find four bedroom sets that she did not love but because we were told that we could not get our money back she souled for them. The young man went into an office and came back and said sorry none of these are in stock. This was very upsetting. I explained to him that I made a special 2 hour trip to deal with this matter. He told me that the manager was the only one who could deal with this issue. I told him that this ordeal has gone on too long. The next week I tried to make various calls to Me manager and anally was able to reach him. He tried to talk me into another color other than white and I told him no, I was not going to pay for something she did not want. The manger finally agreed on September 26 to refund my money. He told that he had to file papers and to call back the next week. On September 3Oth I gave him my financial information for my refund. Over a week has gone by and still no refund .On October 9th I called the Manger and spoke with him about the fact that I had never received my refund. He assured me that he would talk to the woman who handles the money and call me back the next morning. I said I would double check my bank account in the meantime, I did and called back and left a message with a sales associate to tell the manager that the money had not been refunded into my account. I waited for the next day to hear from the manager and he never called. When I got home from work I called Holbrooks and was put on hold only to be told the manger was too busy for me. This entire mess has gone on for over two months. I have never been so badly treated by a furniture company. I feel helpless. They deposited my money on 6/2/2013 and I still have nothing to show for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Company states she was refunded before she even filed her complaint, and called her to tell us so.

12/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delivery was promised the following week - now we are asking for a refund and are being 'delayed' Date of purchase with payment by credit card 11/22/13. promised deliver:"next Wednesday or Friday". We called Friday 11/29, they said next week, we have your number, we will call you. We go NO call by Saturday 12/7 so we called; they said it will be here next week, we said 'that was last week'. Then came an explanation of how someone would have to sit at a loading dock for hours maybe days to be next in line, so we asked for a refund to the credit card. We were told no manager was there, but it would be taken care of Monday. I called Monday morning and said I would be there soon and when I got there, ***, who said he was a manager took a photocopy of the purchase order #XXXXX and said it would be Wednesday or Thursday before it could be processed. I asked some others if that was valid and they said a credit card can be credited as quickly as a charge transaction.

Desired Settlement: Simply swipe the credit card and process a refund without delay.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response
I went to Holbrooks at about 10:15 this morning, 12/11/13 and was told that the manager was on the phone and would be with me shortly. He soon came and immediately wrote a check on a company account for the full amount, asking only that I not cash it until tomorrow. I actually had him make it out to my wife since it was her credit card and name on the PO. It really seemed like they had gotten some kind of a message from someone (maybe BBB) and wanted to clear thing up. Any help is deeply appreciated.

6/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a bed on 2/15/13 and it's been past 60 days and the bed has not been delivered. I have called the business two or three times and each person I've talked too has a different story as to why I have not received the product. No one from this business has made any attempt to contact me and explain why the product has not been delivered or where it is. The bed I ordered is for my son, and I really need it. They have a no refund policy, exchange only, but I have no product.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my money back so I can buy my son a bed. I am very upset with the communication of this business and will never do business with them again.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The company states the bed was delivered about three weeks ago. It had been out of stock and was running late. He had notified the consumer and she stated that she had been willing to wait. He has a signed receipt showing proof of delivery.

Business' Final Response
customer already has received her products not sure why we are having this conversation i spoke with her again yesterday to check and make sure she has it and she confirmed she did and all was good any questions please feel free to call her or i thank you ******'s clearance center XXX-XXX-XXXX

1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new queensize mattress set for which I paid $544.88.What was delivered was a used, dirty, stained, unsanitized set. I own a rental house in Chico. On XX-X-XXXX I went to ******'s to purchase a mattress set for a tenant who is arriving from Europe. When I entered the store, the salesman asked me if I wanted used or new and I said new. I paid $544.88 on my credit card for the queensize mattress set and frame. I told the salesman that I needed the mattress delivered as early as possible the next day, as I was returning to Los Angeles. We agreed on between 10:00am and 11:00 am the next day. The set was delivered on time by two men who unwrapped the mattress and box spring from a plastic and set up the bed in the bedroom. They didn't ask me to check the items, and didn't ask me to sign any document as to the condition of the items. They left quickly. As soon as they left I went to lie on the mattress and noticed an indentation in the center, as if someone had slepped on it. I got up and checked the sides. The fabric was worn out, dirty, stained, disgusting!!! The box spring was also stained and had a tag indicating that it was pre-owned, and another tag indicating that it had been sanitized. The mattress didn't have any of these tags. It was clear that the mattress was used, unsanitized, and very dirty. This is totally illegal!!! I called the store immediately and talked with ******, asking him to send the men back right away to pick up the set. ****** said that the men were on their way out of town for a delivery and could not be reached by phone. This was a lye because the men had called me from the truck on the way to my house to verify my address. ****** said that the men would come back at the end of the day and that I could pick another mattress. After hanging up the phone, I went back to take a closer look at the mattress and to take photographs. I became really disgusted and very concerned that it might have bedbugs. I decided that I couldn't trust that company and that I would not do further business with them. I called ****** back and told him that I wanted to cancel the order and get a refund on my credit card. He said that wasn't possible and that I could only get store credit. I am still waiting for a refund on my credit card. I am aware that the receipt indicates that they only give store credit. However, they didn't deliver the merchandise I ordered and I returned merchandise I had not ordered.I suspect that since I told the salesman I was leaving town, they thought they could get away with ripping me off. I am an older woman and I am sure that was a contributing factor as well. I am no longer interested in doing business with ******'s. They have proven that they can't be trusted, not only by not delivering what I ordered, but also by braking the law by failling to sanitize their mattresses. I have since checked "Yelp" to see what kind of reviews they get. It's about as bad as it can get, and I don't understand how the BBB is giving them a good rating. I hope that you check "Yelp.com" and see for yourselves. There are several very similar, if not identical stories posted. This is just not right! These people keep getting away with not only bad customer service but ripping people off!!

Desired Settlement: I want a refund on my credit card for the full amount which is $544.88. I will not agree to a store credit for the reasons I have mentioned above. I also expect BBB to do a better job at rating businesses. These are serious issues that customers are complaining about and businesses such as ******'s don't deserve an A rating! Thank you very much

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states in a phone call to the BBB that this complaint is unfounded as on the day of delivery 11/04/12 the consumer contacted them to advise she was not happy with what was delivered. They picked the mattress back up the next day and told her to go ahead with her cc charge back. The charge back was completed by the merchant on 12/05/12- Paperwork was faxed to the BBB case handler as proof.

Consumer's Final Response
I was in Chico for a couple of weeks over the holidays and just returned home to find your letter. My letter to you stated the situation with Holbooks excatly as it happened. I contacted my credit card company who is doing an investigation. I haven't heard back from them yet as they told me that they give Holbrooks 45 days to reply. If ******'s had agreed to reimburse my credit card the same day I wouldn't have needed to take the steps I have taken to get my money back. As stated in my letter, they told me that I could only get store credit and basically hang up on me. If they had reversed the charge the same day as they claim, my credit card company would not have called me several days later to start an investigation. According to posts on "Yelp", Holbrooks has a history of delivering the wrong merchandise and to give clients a hard time with reimbursing or re-delivering the merchandise ordered. They also have a history of lying. I am writing this from work while on a short break and I don't have time to contact my credit card company at the moment, but I will asap and will let you know the exact details regarding the charge reverse. Thank you very much for your attention to this matter, Sincerely,

Business' Final Response
Company owner states they have provided proof the charge back occurred. She needs to finalize her issues with the bank who is failing to properly credit her, or she needs to double check her bank statements for the credit.

8/3/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we bought a mattress one year ago 05/15/2011. we contacted holbrooks reguarding the condition of this 15 year warranty mattress that was defective. we spoke with ****** at holbrooks he asked us to bring in our reciept we took a copy to the store on 06/08/12. ****** not in, nate advised they would pick up mattress.we left copy of reciept they have not called or picked up the mattress. when we called the store ******, was a very nasty man!!!!!there is a tag on the mattess stating 15 year limmited warranty.sales person was javier. we bought a bamboo premiun elegence no model number, imperial mattress is the maker of the mattress out of sacremento ca.we paid cash reciept # XXXXX.

Desired Settlement: we want our money back to buy a mattress somewhere else. I refuse to deal with ***, and his business ever again, or to spend one cent at his business!!!!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response Customer has a factory warranty, and has spoken with the factory about repair work. Holbrooks 'no refund - as is' policy is clearly written on all receipts and clearly posted in the store. Customer was given the option to bring mattress to Holbrooks, or pay a $40 delivery charge for Holbrooks to pick up product and hold mattress for factory to pick up for repair. Customer chose to do neither and as a courtesy to him, we offered pick up mattress when we have a delivery in his area which is 30 miles away from our business. Customer was told it could be a few weeks until we might be in their area. Customer has continually been aggressive and threatening in their language to our employees,and we have worked to offer them options to get their product back to the manufacturer.

Consumer's Final Response We received a letter 06/25/2012 re Holbrooks stating they tried to resolve the mattress problem. This is not true. The first time I contacted this business, I spoke with ******, and explained the problem with the mattress. He then told me to drive 30miles to his business to take my receipt. I do not understand why I would need to take him my reciept. We drove the reciept to the business so we could solve this matter, the employees that we in, the store told us ****** was not in. The employee took a copy of the reciept told us they would pick up the mattress in a couple of days. I was never aggressive, or threatening, to anybody, unless by me saying, I was going to call the bbb, than so be it!!!! They still to this day have not called or tried to resolve this matter at all in anyway!!!!!!! I understand they have a no refund policy, BUT, they lied about the quality, and the warranty on the mattress!!!!!!! Why should I have to deal with a dishonest business again, when they choose not to resolve this matter, in a business like manner!!!

1/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/6/2012 Delivery Issues