BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Design Furnishings, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 930-6600 View Additional Phone Numbers 1483 Shore St, West Sacramento, CA 95691 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.designfurnishings.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Design Furnishings, Inc. include:

  • 20 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Design Furnishings, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Design Furnishings, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 05, 2007 Business started: 12/28/2004 Business started locally: 12/28/2004 Business incorporated: 12/28/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 163061.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jennifer Hayes, Owner Mr. Glenn Garvin, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Hayes, Owner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Design Furnishings
Products & Services

This company offers the sale of new furniture online.

Industry Tips
Shopping Online, By Catalog, Mail, or Telephone

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    125 Enterprise Ct

    Galt, CA 95632

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1483 Shore St

    West Sacramento, CA 95691 (916) 930-6600 (877) 751-6068

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9097 Quail Cove Dr

    Elk Grove, CA 95624

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 751-6068(Phone)
  • (916) 686-9875(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Design Furnishings completely misrepresents their furniture by claiming it is "commercial grade construction" and "not plastic looking". I bought this furniture solely on the expectation that I would receive a quality product. I spent well over $7,000 on this collection only to have it arrived as cheap, imitation chinese fake plastic wicker. I purchased their "Bermuda" collection. I had problems right from the start in that the furniture arrived damage. Then I come to realize that evening that it was not complete and missing 2 pieces of furniture and several cushion covers. I immediately disputed the charge with American Express and this is still under investigation. I would like to return this product and get a full refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to allow me to return the product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
The Bermuda is our top seller and we have hundreds of satisfied customers who love this furniture, including commercial customers. Your order was delivered and signed by you but later you filed a charge back claim stating fraud with AMEX. You have been denied 3 times by AMEX. We did reship missing items from your order but you have refused delivery of them and they are now being shipped back to our warehouse. Our website has numerous photographs of all our furniture including the entire Bermuda Collection which is fully described on the product page... including describing the wicker as: High Density PE (polyethylene) wicker.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Their response contains nothing of substance. The simple fact is that the furniture I purchased was 1) misrepresented in that it is not "Commercial Grade Construction 2) was missing furniture pieces along with 16 sunbrella cushions 3) does not address my request to return the merchandise.

Final Business Response
As we've said previously, our furniture has been purchased and used in countless business and commercial settings with great results and the type of wicker material woven for our furniture is the exact same used by nearly every other brand of outdoor wicker furniture sold today. We have attempted to deliver the missing items from your order which unfortunately were not included with the original delivery but you have refused to accept them. You have always had the option of returning your order by following our return policy clearly displayed on our website if you were not satisfied with it.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Horrible products and customer service This is a horrible company with horrible products. We bought a TK Classics sectional two years ago. When we first got it they sent the wrong cushions. Ok, no big deal. We have a large overhang and our furniture is never exposed to direct sunlight or rain. We clean it several times per year and barely use it. Despite this all of the edges are fraying, cracking and discoloring. It is essentially falling apart. Sent in an appeal. No response for months. Now it is out of warranty and there is nothing they can do. Terrible products and terrible customer service. Don't get fooled by the slick website, prices, and apparent good looks. It is trash.

Desired Settlement: New furniture

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
After contacting you directly we have worked out an acceptable resolution even though your furniture was purchased nearly 3 years ago we were able to get the manufacturer to offer a substantial discount on any replacement pieces you wanted to order. Thank you for your patience and willingness to work through your issue.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Their response is generally correct although certain details have to be worked out. Nevertheless, please withdraw my complaint and if I have issues I will contact the BBB. Thank you.

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: failed to return phone calls, repeatedly gave misinformation about the delivery status of order, completed order still not received i ordered a patio set on May 13th I was notified the next day that the chairs were on back order. I hadn't heard from the company regarding my order and called numerous times to check the status. It was very difficult to reach someone. Every time I called I was told every customer service representative was busy, including the owner, ********. I was finally notified via email on June 5th that my entire order would be be shipped in 1 or 2 days. On June 13th I finally received notification that only the table had been shipped. I repeatedly called to inquire about the patio chairs and again was told nobody was available. Once I finally reached someone, I was told they were delivered to the wrong address and that they would be shipped to me within a day or two. I asked for the tracking information and the representative told me she couldn't give it to me at that moment and that I would get the tracking information in a day or 2. A week passed and still no tracking info. Again, I tried to contact the company over and over and finally spoke to the owner who assured me I would receive tracking information by the end of the week. A week and a half passed and still nothing. I tried to reach them for the next week and was told a representative would call me back. I did not hear from any rep for over 7 days and finally received a phone message that the chairs arrived to the terminal damaged and had to be returned. Meanwhile, the table eventually arrived. I was told by design furnishings to indicate that the box the table arrived in was damaged even if was not. I became suspicious when the delivery man would not change the paperwork. I had him open the package so I could inspect the table. Sure enough the table was damaged within the wrapping (it was not the fault of the deliverer). I continued to call the answering service and finally told them to cancel my order and that I would be filing a complaint. Within 5 minutes the owner returned my call only because I said that. I told her to cancel my order and that she could arrange to have the table picked up. She explained that she would credit my account for the cost of the patio set minus the shipping. I was not willing to accept this as the table was damaged upon delivery. She was not willing to accomodate my request so I told her I would cancel the order on my credit card. She said she would dispute it. Within 5 minutes she returned my phone call asking if I wanted to keep the table at a discounted price. I refused siting #1 it was damaged and #2 I still had not received any chairs. She tried to assure me that the chairs would arrive on Friday. I declined her offer and told her the purchase would be cancelled via my credit card. She replied that she had 30 days to contest it and that I would not be happy with the results. Within 5 minutes she called back again trying to get us to keep our order. We told her it had been cancelled and not to call again. Within 20 minutes I received notification via email that my account was credited. This whole process has been extremely difficult and no one should ever have to experience such horrible customer service.

Desired Settlement: FULL refund of the order including the return shipping of the damaged table.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are sorry that you had a frustrating experience with your delivery process with Design Furnishings. We appreciate your feedback so that we can use it to make our team members more aware of the communication that is required when mishandling occurs with our shipper and part of an order is misrouted. We credited your credit card account with a full refund the same day of your table delivery. You will not have any charges. Please accept our apology for this experience and if we are ever given the opportunity to serve you in the future, we are committed to ensuring a positive outcome.

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received damaged goods covered by warranty that Design Furnishings is denying a claim to replace. My purchase from Design Furnishings for outdoor patio furniture consists of (19) wicker pieces; (6) of which arrived damaged. There was NO damage visible on any of the boxes they were shipped in. I received my order on 5/20/13 and sent photos of my damaged table base - both with ripped wicker and unbalance table legs on 5/21/13 to design furnishings since all this furniture has a 3 year warranty. I received return correspondence from Design Furnishings on 5/24/13 stating that I needed to submit a photo of all 4 sides of the box that these items arrived in. These box for the table was kept since we thought we would be returning it since it was under warranty and clearly damaged during manufacturing, however it was on our deck and had undergone (3) separate rain storms so appeared to now be damaged. I received an email from Design Furnishings on 5/28/13 that my claim is being denied because my box is clearly damaged and my furniture was damaged during shipping. I explained to **** ********* "Customer Service Representative" that I took photos of my box 5 days after receipt and the box had since been worn and that it didn't arrive damaged and I was cut off and told my claim was denied and that was all. I don't understand how I can receive a product under warranty if damage that is clearly a manufacturing problem isn't covered. I also made note on 5/28/13 that a club chair has a bent leg as well as (4) of my dining chairs being off balanced and was told by **** that these claims would be denied as well without looking at my photos. My boxes were not saved because there was no damage to them. How can a company claim to have a 3 year warranty on a product if they will not replace something that arrived damaged?

Desired Settlement: I would like my table base, 4 dining chairs and club chair replaced by my warranty without any shipping or return shipping charges incurred by me. If there was damage during shipping, I would have noted it on the shipping ticket to the driver. None of the boxes were damaged on the exterior, any damage done inside a box is not the freight carries fault.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have carefully reviewed your order and as we have discussed with you and your husband on the phone the fact that you did not notate damage to the boxes on your delivery documents as we instructed you to do in our tracking emails, we were unable to file a claim with the shipping/delivery company even though there was damage to the boxes. Your delivery agent identified the damage on their internal paperwork prior to delivery. Because they identified box damage we were able to get them to agree to honoring a damage claim and we have agreed with you to ship you a replacement base for your table at no cost to you. We also discussed with you how to balance your chairs as it is common for the chairs to need balancing after delivery and can easily be done by you in your home. We appreciate your patience as we have worked to correct the damage to your dining table. Please be sure to follow the instructions for acceptance of delivery for your table base when it arrives.

Consumer's Final Response
I would like to remove this complaint. The company has shipped replacement goods of my damaged merchandise.

Business' Final Response
It is unfortunate that you continue to use this public forum to complain when we have spoken to you and your husband several times, obtained proof of damage to your boxes from the delivery agent which obviously details there was damage to them and have already shipped out the replacement item and even emailed you the tracking information the same day as your recent complaint. We always do everything possible to make sure our customers are satisfied and rely upon the personal exchanges we have with them to resolve any issues. Your replacement will arrive soon as agreed and we appreciate you following through with your actions due to our willingness in this case to go beyond our normal damage/claim policies which are required by the shipping companies we use to provide you Free shipping.

5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: product described as high quality by the so called owner. NO disclosure on cushions! Received (order#XXXXX) outdoor RIO wicker sectional set with cushions. Paid a very high price to get a nice quality comfortable set ($1850). Was told it is so nice, high quality from 3 of the customer reps, therefore was expecting a nice thick cushion that you can actually sit on. When set arrived the cushions were so thin it was like sitting on nothing! There is absolutely no description on the cushions and when I talked to the reps they always said how nice and comfortable the :high quality" set would be. So, I ordered it. Since it is an online purchase, I did not want to send it back being so large, expensive. I came up with 2 solutions: 1. Refund $700 so I can buy new cushions or 2. Send me an extra set of the bottom cushions. ****** at the store stated that they did not have to disclose the cushion thickness and it was my problem. So now, I paid a lot of money for something that looks like it is cheaply made. They did not stand behind their product or offer any kind of solution. It is very frustrating and I would not recommend you order from this company since they did not tell me about the cushions and I was not able to sit on them.

Desired Settlement: A new set of cushions for the part of the seat cushions (preferably 5 to 6 inches thick) OR Refund ~ $650 to $700 for me to buy a new set of cushions.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are sorry you are unsatisfied with the Rio Set you purchased from us. This set is one of our best sellers and we've sold hundreds of them because of its unique look and because the 9 pieces in the set makes it a great value for the price. The cushions are described on our website as, "Welted cushions for a luxurious look and feel" which they are. We did not misrepresent the cushion size or anything else about the furniture either verbally or on our website. If the size of the cushion was important to you and you had asked we would have given you the measurements as we would have for the size of the legs, arms on the chairs, seating area etc. The size of these cushions have been calculated as the best fit for the dimensions of the back and seat area. We've actually tried putting thicker cushions on this set but found it was not as comfortable sitting or leaning back in the chairs or sectional. Obviously you envisioned something different. We do not have nor do we make thicker cushions for this set for the reasons described so it would be impossible to send you thicker cushions for the Rio set. We do stand behind our wicker furniture and have thousands of satisfied customers for our furniture. If you feel adding an extra set of cushions placed on top of your existing cushions would be comfortable for you we would be willing to send you a set of the cushion covers. However, these covers will not cover cushions much larger than the size that is in them now.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, the description of the cushion thickness was never on the website. Like I've said, I have been sitting on cushions that are 5-6 inches thick, believing this is standard. Since Design Furnishings sells outdoor furniture and the cushions are very cheap and thin, they should be the ones to disclose this information so the buyer will beware of the thickness. Next, I am not clear AGAIN, what the offer is??? They will send me a set of cushions covers but not the cushions?? How does this solve my problem?? I would accept: 1. extra set of seat cushions with ivory covers 2. refund of $700 on my credit card to buy new cushions.

Business' Final Response
Obviously you are unsatisfied with the cushions to your seating set. The cushions used for the set you purchased has been used for the past 3 years for hundreds of satisfied customers. As we explained, the cushion depth is the optimum size for this set. A thicker cushion makes sitting in the furniture uncomfortable because of the back and seat dimensions. We are very sorry you are not satisfied with the furniture. If you wish to return it our return procedures are detailed on our website.

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product purchased and was falling apart and I was told to send back. Sent in October 2012 and company still has not replaced/repaired product. Purchased on March 24, 2012 an outdoor wicker patio set for $3,292.00. The company failed to send the correct cushion coverings and had to request to send them. The process was complicated and slow. When we finally received the new cushion covers we went to change them out to discover the cushions have fallen apart. Also the throw pillows stuffing was falling apart. We contacted the company and was told have to submit a claim on there website. We did this and after being initially declined was told the company would make a one time exception. We sent some cushions to the address they provided with the understanding that the cushions would we be wrapped in new muslin which would make the cushions functional. I talked with the customer service rep, Lisa Miller and informed her that I did not believe the muslin was the issue and that the cushions needed to be replaced. She informed me to send the cushions and they would wrap them and send them back and if they were not satisfactory we could go from there. I voiced my concern that the pillows and cushions needed more than a new wrapping, but decided that once I sent the cushions and the company saw that the cushions are defective they would replace. I sent partial cushions by USPS the on October 2012. I never received confirmation or word if Design Furnishings received my items. Again as the customer I had to contact them. I was told they didn't know. I informed Lisa I had a tracking # and confirmation from USPS. She said she would get back in touch with me. Eventually she called and confirmed that they had my shipment and that she believed the wrapping in new muslin would work. Again I told her I doubt that it would be satisfactory to us but was willing to see as this is their industry. All of November and part of December go by with no updates or return of our product. Again I had to contact them. When I did, Lisa informed she had no update or idea what was going on and would have to get back in touch with me. I said this is getting ridiculous and needed an update soon. I finally got a call on December 31, 2012 informing me that they will be sending back my cushions as is. Lisa communicated that in fact the muslin would not work and the person that inform Design Furnishings it would was no longer going to repair the cushions. I informed Lisa that was not my problem as Design Furnishings said they would repair the cushions. I informed Lisa that I request a FULL REFUND as the product is defective and I have not had the product in my possession for nearly 3 months. I demanded to speak with the owner. A few days later I received a call from the company but was Lisa not the owner. Lisa informed me that the company would, instead of honoring their website warranty and the exception they had already granted, offer a $150 credit to have me go to fabric store to fix the problem. On a $3292 product they offered $150 credit? And I would have to figure it out? I told Lisa that was humorous and needed to speak with owner or I would send all the furniture back. I finally received a call from the owner, Jennifer Hayes, she was saying that the product was not defective, but would be willing to get new muslin coverings for them. I informed her this is what I had already been promised! And that the muslin is not the issue the cushions are falling apart. I pointed out that her website says have a 5 year warranty and easy return program. I informed her that I need my product repaired/replaced and was told she would send muslin coverings. As of today January 17, 2013 I have not received my sent cushions. That means I purchased a defective product that is NOT in my possession and can't get the owner or Design Furnishings to honor their stated warranty program.

Desired Settlement: We are wanting just the cushions to be replaced. The rest of the product is acceptable. But if the company is not wanting to replace the cushions the product doesn't work. In that case I request a full refund so I can purchase another set that has cushions that don't fall apart so fast.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have contacted the customer and informed him that we have ordered replacement cushions from the factory and when they arrive in our warehouse he can send back the old cushions for an exchange. This way his set will not be without cushions for an extended period of time. The cushions are not defective and can be used in the meantime. We are doing this as a courtesy to satisfy this customers complaint.

Consumer's Final Response
I just received an email and phone call from company. They state that "They do not have labels, but you can determine which cushion goes with what cover by matching them up with the cushions you currently have." I called the company back and Jennifer was unable to talk and a rep name Anna Richards refused to listen to my issue. The cushions we received are correct ONLY in numbers NOT size. The issue with "matching" the cushions up with cushions we currently have is simple, the old defective cushions are not in shape to match up. That is why we needed new/replaced cushions in the first complaint. I have measured the new cushions and they are not the same with the RIO Patio set that we ordered. Again this was a purchase made March 2012. Why am I still dealing with this after numerous attempts by us to work with the company. I am requesting a FULL REFUND. The can have the defective, incomplete product as this is NOT what we ordered. Without any label or distinguishing mark there is no way to confirm these are the correct cushions. The DO NOT fit the cover and we are missing a seat cushion. Please help!

Business' Final Response
We special ordered new cushions for your Rio set (16 cushions) which have been delivered. We have asked for the dimensions of the cushions to determine if they are the correct size but have not received the measurements. This order was placed by Lori Kessler and we need her to contact us if she is unhappy with her order. We will not continue to respond to unfounded complaints from someone not a party to this order.

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered 6/12/12 & said 2 b delivered 7/2/12. I did not get the furniture until 7/19 and it was badly damaged. They will not take the set back. I ordered this furniture on 6/12/12 for a party that was taking place on 7/4/12. The company said the latest I would receive this set would be 7/2/12. I received it on 7/19/12 and upon opening the boxes the furniture had concealed damage.(broken Glass was all over the furniture). I was told by the company be for I received the damaged set that I should not refuse deliver because they would compensate me for it being delivered so late, I wish I did refuse it!! After I mad them aware of the damage they said they would like me to repair the set myself and they would send me $75. At that point I wanted them to take the set back and I put a claim in with my American express card to try and refund me my money ($1,249.00).At this point they are not going to make this right so I would like other consumers to know about them.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund and a apology for the way I was dismissed by them after I received the damaged furniture.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The only issue with the delivery is that the glass on 1 piece was broken. The buyer submitted a claim for the broken glass with an invoice for over $250 to replace it. We contacted a local glass company in his area that would replace and deliver the glass for $55 and gave the quote to the buyer. We then credited him $75 which is our standard amount and covers glass replacement. There were no other issues with the furniture set. He continuously disputed the full amount of the transaction with American Express which they denied each time. We did not commit to compensation other than to take care of the damage that was done which was the broken glass.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I communicated many times to the seller explaining that the glass was all over and even got inside of the cushions, and it would not be safe to sit on. I also have emails that I received from the seller saying that I would be compensated for the the Furniture delivery coming 18 days later then it was promised. The emails were sent to me before I received the product. After receiving the damaged set I was told to get pricing from a local glass company. Immediately I made the seller aware of the fact that my time was very valuable to me and I did not have time to do this. I also feel its not my responsibility, however I did. I received a price for tempered glass delivered to me and they would not except it. At this point I contacted EBay and made them aware of the situation and they told me since it has been over 45 days from the sale date I could not get my money back. The seller is correct about me contacting American express but it is not true about them deaning each time. I was told by a Amex the fist time I submitted the **** it was under the wrong category and it is still pending. Bottom line I would never run my company this way, If I did I would be out of business. I told them that I did not want to receive delivery of the product because I had no use for it at the end of the summer and they told me please except the delivery and I would be compensated and very happy. DO I sound happy? If Amex Denies me the FULL Refund I will then take them to small clams court and I know for a fact that they will not show to court for any amount of money under $3,000. Which means I will get my refund and keep the set. What I would like to do Is have the seller take back the set that still has not been used and give me a full refund. At this Point I will do everything in my power to make everyone aware of the scam that this company runs. I have around 15 emails supporting everything that I stated in this complanint if anyone would like to see them please feel free to contact me. Its amazing how hard this company has tried to hide from there responsibilities. And for the record I'm in the furniture business myself and install furniture for Clients like the FBI,SCA(school construction authority),NYU and Columbia university to name a few, the seller was aware of this fact. Most would think anyone with some business sense would not treat a consumer this way, especially one that could potentially help them sell there product. Thank you for youe Time.

Business' Final Response
Again, the only issue with this set is the broken glass and we have repeatedly tried to rectify this for the buyer. We got a quote and offered to pay for it, but the buyer refused.

12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Design Furnishings fraudulently charged my credit card after I had paid for my order in full. They took over 6 months to fulfill my order. My husband and I bought our patio furniture from Design Furnishings for $5,138 on April 17, 2012. We decided to purchase from this company because ****** the sales person promised in writing that we would not be charged tax if the method of payment was a Nevada address and we picked up the items ourselves. Please see attached e-mail from ****** dated April 16, 2012 at 2:31pm. We had our Reno, NV address on our method of payment and my husband did pick up the items himself using a U Haul we rented on May 11, 2012 (please see U Haul receipt). (Please see ***** ****** driver's license as proof of address). You can also see on the receipt, also attached, that a Reno, NV address was used. I have a receipt dated April 17, 2012 with the items we ordered and the amount we agreed to pay which was $5,138.00. As you can see on the receipt no tax and no shipping was charged, nor did my husband or I ever agree to pay anything further than the agreed upon total of $5,138.00. Actually this company offers free shipping (please see their website at: http://www.designfurnishings.com), and there would have been no reason to not take advantage of this offer unless it was to avoid the tax. We would have never spent money to rent a u haul and gone through the hassle to pick up an entire 26' truck full of heavy patio furniture ourselves if it wasn't to avoid the tax. We did all this because we were promised in writing that if we did we would not be charged tax. We contracted with design furnishings to purchase a complete set of patio furniture from them tax free. This meant tax free to me, meaning I would not be charged tax. Nowhere on this agreement did we agree that Design Furnishings would not uphold their legal duty to pay tax to the state on their sales. Many times furniture companies advertise on commercials and fliers things like: 4th of July sale, today only, pay no sales tax! This is perfectly legal as the agreement is not that the company will not uphold their legal duty to the state, it is that the consumer will not be charged sales tax by the company. The company is basically saying they will deal with paying the tax to the state by either lowering the price of the items to account for the tax, or by just paying the tax themselves. It really did not matter to me how Design Furnishings was dealing with their legal duty to the state, I knew I was not paying the tax myself because I had a written agreement from Design Furnishings stating I would not be charged tax. We did all we were told to do, and yet without our permission this company fraudulently charged our credit card for the "tax" of $398.20 on May 12, 2012, almost a month after the order was paid for in full. On the email dated April 16, 2012 at 2:31pm which is attached you can see that in the 4th paragraph ****** states: "Combo price is $3675, you will get everything in sand and tropical blue and at TAX FREE." We ended up adding a table to the quote which is how it ended up at the agreed upon $5,138.00. I received a call from ****** after my husband left Design Furnishings on May 11, 2012 stating that her supervisor did not know that we were not changed tax, and that she would now need to charge tax after the fact. I explained that she was lying because I have an e-mail from her stating: "I talked with my supervisor and she said as long as you payment method shows a Nevada address and you come pick them up yourself we will not charge tax..." See attached e-mail dated April 16, 2012 at 2:31pm. I explained that we paid the total back on April 17, 2012 and that is all we agreed to pay, and she "did not have my permission to run my card for any more money!" Well sure enough she ran my card without my permission for the "tax" they promised would not be charged in the amount of $398.20. Not only is it illegal to charge someone's credit card without their permission, but it is also illegal to keep a person's personal information and credit card number on file for fut need more room

Desired Settlement: I would like $16.11 back for the shipment I should have never had to pay for, I would also like interest on my order from the date I should have gotten my items until the date my order was completed. The legal interest rate on contract debts is 12% (Civil Code §XXXX-X), so I would like 191 days of interest on $5,138, which I paid on April 17, 2012. 191 days = 53% of one year. One year's interest at 12% = $616.56. 53% of $616.56 = $326.78. So I would like interest of $326.78 for Design Furnishings withholding my order from me until 10/26/2012 even though I paid for it in full on 4/17/2012 and their website said I would have my items in 5 days. This is a total of $342.89 that I feel I am owed. Not only should Design Furnishing have to give me $342.89, but they put me through over six months of stress and emotional distress. They intentionally withheld items from my order that they had in their possession, which I lawfully owned, because I refused to sign a fraudulent form in which they were attempting to change the terms of our original agreement. This company should not even be in business after treating a customer like this! When I brought it to Design Furnishing attention that they were F rated by the BBB, they made an effort on 9/20/2012 to somehow gain a B rating. The BBB miraculously changed Design Furnishings rating from an F to a B over night! Well I would just like to share my story with you so you see what a terrible company this really is. If this helps just one person to not have to go through what I did, I will be happy. I also think they should have to write me an apology for what they put me through.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This buyer has tried every avenue to get out of paying the tax that is due to the State of CA for her purchase. She has been denied by American Express several times on her charge back. She originally placed her order under the premise that it was shipping to NV in which case we would not be required by the state to charge tax. She then decided to pick it up so we are required by the State of CA to charge tax on all orders picked up at our CA warehouse. We will not be issuing any credit or refund to this buyer.

Consumer's Final Response
I have proof in an e-mail sent by my sales person from Design Furnishings on April 16, 2012 that states: "I talked with my Supervisor and she said as long as you payment method shows the Nevada address and you come and pick them up yourself we will not charge tax. We are located in West Sacramento and you will need to get a big stuck or make a couple of trips because the boxes are large." She goes on to say: "Combo price for you is $(x), you will get everything in Sand and Tropical Blue and at Tax Free." On April 17,2012 I placed my order and paid for it in full, and have a receipt that shows $0 tax being charged, and an e mail stating I will be called when my items are ready to be picked up. The e-mail from my sales person and this receipt prove the agreement we entered into. Guess what! "(I) originally placed (my) order under the premise that it was" to be picked up at your Sacramento location. It says it right here in black and white! I am not "(trying) every avenue to get out of paying the tax." I was promised that I would not be charged tax, and I am just making Design Furnishings live up to their written promise! I actually won my disputed with American Express, which is why I am not asking for that fraudulent "tax" charge back in this BBB complaint. I have a letter from American Express to prove this! I "decided" to rent a U Haul to pick up my order at your Sacramento location because that was the original agreement as quoted above. If I pick up my order, I will NOT be charged tax! Again in black and white! If YOU are required to pay sales tax to the state of CA for all orders picked up at your warehouse, then YOU should pay it! Many furniture stores "pay" the tax for customers to earn their business. A furniture company marks up their price so much that they have room to offer intensives like this! You hear it on commercials all the time! "This weekend only, pay no tax!" I spent over $5,000 with your company, I'm sure you had the room to pay the tax to earn my business. And if you were not intending to pay the tax, then you should not have contracted with me to sell me items TAX FREE and stated in an e-mail that I would not be charged tax only if I came and picked up the items. The BBB states "By submitting your complaint, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience." I have proof that every single statement from this merchant's response is a lie. Design Furnishings, you should have read the red writing before submitting lies on your response. Just more proof of what you are willing to do to defraud the public. Last point, I am not asking for money back from the fraudulent "tax" charge you attempted to charge my credit card almost a month after my order was paid in full, I already got that back. And by the way it is illegal to charge a persons card without their permission, and you fraudulently charged my card almost a month after my order was paid in full extra money. It is also illegal to keep a customers personal credit card information on file for future fraudulent charges. To keep a customers credit card information you need their written permission, and you didn't have mine! I specifically stated to my sales person that you did not have my permission to charge my credit card for anything more that the original charge on April 17, 2012 when I paid for my order in full. I am asking for $16.11 for shipping costs I was forced to pay to get the remaining items of my order, that I should have never had to pay. And I am asking for $326.78 for interest from the date I should have, and was promised to receive my order, until I did receive my order. I paid for my order in full and did not get my entire order for 191 days! You had my money, and I was without my merchandise. I deserve the legal interest rate of 12% for the time you withheld my merchandise. That is a total of $342.89 I am asking for. I have endured a nightmare for over 6 months trying to get what I paid for from Design Furnishings! The least they can do is pay me this small sum of money!

11/5/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased an outdoor furniture set with a 3-year warranty. One year later, wicker framing is breaking, and they have denied our claim. March 2011 - We had several conversations regarding ordering with Lisa and Tonia of Design Furnishings. I also asked specifically about the warranty, and extending, and was told that the warranty was for 3 years. March 2011 - We ordered a Rio outdoor furniture set, expecting delivery in April. April & May 2011 - Delivery delayed 2 or 3 times by Design Furnishings. June 2011 - Ready to deliver, but we were not going to be home until September. September 19, 2011 - Furniture delivered. Throw pillows missing. October 2011 - Received missing pillows. September 22, 2012 - We tried various phone numbers to reach Design Furnishings because wicker framing has broken and cushions badly faded. September 24, 2012 - Finally reached someone who took a message about our problems. September 25, 2012 - Received a call-back from Lisa Miller, who sent a claim form. September 28, 2012 - Submitted a claim with Design Furnishings. October 3, 2012 - Claimed denied stating that warranty on Wicker was one year only. Apparently, their current warranty on wicker is one year, but when we purchased it was 3 years on outdoor furniture.

Desired Settlement: We would like to return the furniture set for a credit of $1,670.43, the purchase price, and order one of their new advertised sets in metal and sunbrella fabrics and pay the difference.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The warranty of the wicker is 1 year on the materials and 3 years on the frame. A copy of the warranty was sent with the claim response. We can not offer a 100% refund on the set that has been used for the past year, however we are willing to accomodate you by offering a discount on one of the cast sets. Please contact one of our personal shoppers for assistance.

10/23/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DF sent part of lour order to someone else. We bought RIO patio set. Comes in 4 cartons. One carton went to someone else, who decided to keep it. Then DF said missing item out of stuck and offered substitute item that was available now. We said ok on August 5. Haven't heard anything since although I have called twice.

Desired Settlement: We don't like feeling taken advantage of, so DF may come get their partial delivery and we will do business with people we can trust.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This case has been resolved with the customer and he is satisfied.

9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased and took delivery of a patio set on October 27th, 2011. The patio set has faded beyond what is an acceptable level. We purchased and took delivery of a patio set on October 27th, 2011. The patio set is on a covered patio and gets very little direct sunshine. In less than 8 months, the fabric on all exposed cushions has faded considerably to a light pinkish color from a bright red. I have attached 3 photos to show the fading and the covered patio. Please note the difference in color on the last photo small cushion, where a very distinct line is apparent. The fading is a constant distraction to an otherwise beautiful outdoor furniture set. I notice that you now offer "Sunbrella" fabric which must be due to the realization that the previous fabric did not hold up well to light exposure. We paid in full before delivery of this patio set. Our expectation is that Design Furnishings will replace these faded, defective cushions with Sunbrella fabric cushions. I am sure this amount of fading in such a short period of time is not the intended durability your company wants to offer to customers.

Desired Settlement: Our expectation is that Design Furnishings will replace these faded, defective cushions with Sunbrella fabric cushions. I am sure this amount of fading in such a short period of time is not the intended durability your company wants to offer to customers.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are pleased to be able to offer Sunbrella covers for some of our sets as an upgrade. The Sunbrella covers have a 5 year warranty. If you would like to purchase a set of upgraded covers, we will be happy to offer them to you at the same discounted price that you would have paid if you would have purchased them with your set. Please contact one of our personal shoppers for assistance.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Been on vacation. Unsure what this offer really is, will ned to contact design furnishings.

9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Red cushions faded within one month of receipt. Company claims they are UV treated. I contacted Deisgn Furnishings because of defective cushions received. On their website advertising the product I purchased they claim to UV treat the cushions: http://www.designfurnishings.com/outdoor-sectionals/Miami-outdoor-wicker-patio-7-piece-set-free-extra-cover-9226.html "Zippered cushion covers made with Outdoor UV Protected Fabric - Removable and Washable" There is no way these cushions were UV treated based on how quickly they have faded. I attempted to resolve this issue with Design Furnishings via their claims process and was told by **** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX that my claim was denied because "fading is not covered under the warranty." I find their "Ultimate Promise" to be deceptive based on my experience with this company: http://www.designfurnishings.com/ultimate-promise.html

Desired Settlement: I would like the product I ordered from Design Furnishings. A UV treated set of cushion covers.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are sorry to hear of the problem with your covers. The warranty on the covers specifically does not cover fading and the set that you purchaed is not covered under the Ultimate Promise. We offer an optional upgrade to Sunbrella fabric that you may want to consider if your set is in harsher outdoor conditions. Sunbrella fabric has a 5 year warranty and the fade rate on this brand of fabric is very low. If you would like to upgrade to Sunbrella fabric, we will offer it to you at the same reduced price that would have been available to you at the time of your purchase. Please contact our claims department for further details.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The standard fabric obviously was not weather-proof nor was it UV protected. Your advertising is misleading and deceptive. You should not sell such a defective product unless you are willing to very clearly say this is JUNK for most climates. You still have not offered a credit for the JUNK you sold me. No Sunbrella is not cheap, but $700 is beyond ridiculous.

Business' Final Response
The set requires many yards of fabric and Sunbrella fabric is not inexpensive. You are welcome to confirm the upgrade price on our website. The standard fabric is also weather proof however it does not have the warranty that Sunbrella fabric has.

8/28/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damaged legs of furniture set purchased 1 year ago. Filed complaint of damage because set has 3 year warranty but my claim was denied. I purchased Rio outdoor sectional set 6/11/11 (order # DXXXXXXE-4DFXXXXX-XXX-DADFC) for $1529 using my AMEX. Now, just a year late, 2 of the legs of this set are bent. I looked up my warranty to find that this purchase came with a 3 warranty against breakage. So I filed a claim, took pictures and sent it to Customer Service on 7/22/12. On 7/24 I was emailed that the claim was reviewed and denied since I didn't make the complaint at the time of delivery. But the problem wasn't there a year ago, why would I complain about it at that point? I responded questioning that and haven't heard back from them. Lisa Miller was the employee who sent me the denial letter. This evening I will resubmit my follow up question about why my warranty isn't being honored.

Desired Settlement: I would like the 2 faulty pieces to be replaced. One piece is the right corner seat of a sectional, the other is an armed chair. It seems to me they have stock of these pieces based on the website.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On 7/30 we sent you an email stating that your claim was approved and also give you claim instructions. Please follow the instructions in that email or contact our claims department for further details. We apologize for any confusion.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Only one of the pieces that are damaged was approved for repair or replacement. I photographed 2 pieces that are equally damaged. I want it to be clear that I can ship both pieces back to California for review. Also, I wanted to be certain the email was specific to my claim... I'm returning 2 damaged pieces of RIO sectional set, not "Bahama wicker coffee table" as stated by vendor.

Business' Final Response
Yes we will accept the 2 Pieces of the Rio back for review. Please contact our claims department if you need further assistance.

8/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid $3,500 for outdoor furniture. The cushions faded in less than a year. Their solution was for us pay $2,400 in addition to pay for new ones. The following is the sales representative's name and contact information. A minor sidenote. The furniture was delivered a month late last year on top of the lack of quality. *************** Design Furnishings Designfurnishings.com (209) XXX-XXXX Thanks, ****** ****** Office Manager

Desired Settlement: We just want cushions that actually last.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
You purchased a custom set so the price for the Sunbrella covers is significantly higher than the price for the Sunbrella with our standard sets. If you have extreme climate conditions and fading is a factor, the Sunbrella fabric is the best option for you. In addition, since you are a commercial establishment we highly reocmmend that you purchase Sunbrella for your environment.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Their response was for us to purchase a higher priced product? This was their resolution to the shoddy product they sold in the first place? It's bad business and really bad customer service.

Business' Final Response
You have a commerical environment so Sunbrella fabric is recommended. You set is a custom set and we have quoted the price based on your custom pieces. If you would like to purchase the same covers that you currently have on your set, you can contact one of our personal shoppers, however the warrarnty would not be any different than what you currently have.

8/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues