BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cleanrite Buildrite meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cleanrite Buildrite include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cleanrite Buildrite
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 20, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1959 Business started locally: 01/01/1959 Business incorporated: 05/18/1979 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Andreasen, President Mr. Bob Battezzato, Director of Marketing Mr. Curtis Chamberlain, Production and Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Andreasen, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Curtis Chamberlain, Production and Operations Manager
Business Category

Floor Coverings & Installation Carpet & Rug Cleaners Fire & Water Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Contractors - Flooring Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Cleanrite, Inc.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1200 W East Ave

    Chico, CA 95926 (530) 891-0333 (530) 433-5157

  • 19690 North Hirsch, Suite 1

    Anderson, CA 96007 (530) 246-4886

  • 350 Bridge St., Suite A

    Yuba City, CA 95991

  • 5430 Florin Perkins Rd # 200

    Sacramento, CA 95826 (916) 381-1321

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 274-9974(Phone)
  • (530) 406-1844(Phone)
  • (530) 433-5157(Phone)
  • (530) 527-8216(Phone)
  • (530) 589-4405(Phone)
  • (530) 877-5655(Phone)
  • (530) 891-0333(Phone)
  • (916) 434-9800(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our 2nd floor laundry sink overflowed causing water damage in our home. The company came out and starting removing the water right away. When the repairs started the quality of work was okay. After the drywall and sheetrock had been replaced that's when the trouble started. It started with the ceiling area repaired bowing and having to be redone. The baseboard all through the areas repaired were measure wrong. The baseboards were heavily layered with caulking to cover the mistakes. The sheetrock didn't meet the baseboard and left gaps in the wall. The texturing had to be redone more than once in certain areas. The communication between the works and management often resulted in things not getting done. We had carpet installed and the estimate on the carpet installed and the carpet square footage that was installed on estimate was way beyond the size of the rooms. There was little carpet left over after the installation. There were numerous charges on the estimate for work not done. The major issue is the craftsmanship of the work done. Were not asking for anything to be different. Just return the baseboards, wood trim, paint, doors, walls and everything back to it's original state. Instead of doing the repair work the right way from the start they have continued to bandaid things with caulking, paint etc. When we tried to discuss our concerns with the manager ***** earlier this week it was a disaster. He told us that we were expecting unreasonable results. For the work to be completed in the manner that it is complete it is unacceptable. Even though our homeowners insurance is paying for the repairs. The poor quality of repairs affects our homes value. Also the home insulation that was put in the attic was not the same as we had before. We had blown, now there is batt and the home is suddenly really drafty. Asking for receipts for the carpet installed we were told it was none of our business how much it cost by ***** the Manager at the Yuba City location.

Desired Settlement:  We want the craftsmanship and the quality returned to it's original state. We were assured that we would get like for like with the repairs. The end result is sloppy, cheap and poor quality. All we want is for the repairs to be done in a way consistent with the craftsmanship before the damage took place. We feel as though we have been cheated by the quality of work done. Just do it right and stop pointing fingers at who did what and get the repairs done right!

Business Response: This consumer was taken car of by his insurance company USAA. They refunded him in full so he could take care of it himself.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cleanrite Buildrite came an took some items for restoration and clean up after our house fire. when we called to inquire to out items were then notified that our large bedroom armoire was disposed of due to the damage and that they were unable too clean and returned a doll and mirror. They returned a children's wood desk and an end table. The Armoire was thrown away with out consulting me. They said they "thought" hey told us. this piece was not even in the room or next to the rooms that were on fire. it had some very top. This piece should have been left up to me to dispose of. I wanted it back. they returned the desk and end table that were fixed in terrible condition. there are till smoke rings and odor. they never touched the mirror and originally told us that they could not find the doll. later called us and said they found it in a garbage bag and could not clean it. because we were supposed to get the armoire back we did not claim it. we are now cashed out and want reimbursement for the furniture that was carelessly thrown away. Im not happy that they did not clean certain items when I was able too. The work they did was not professional. There overall customer service from they has been rude. they charged $5000 to overall due some repair to a small desk and end table that was done poorly! They told me they would personally reimburse me for the armoire since insurance was not covering this. When I went to negotiate a refund price they keep talking about the insurance is covering it. ???. They just told me they were personally reimbursing me? then told me they could refund $200-$300, our insurance was paying full replacement value, this piece was part of a $2600 bedroom set...not acceptable. Our insurance company has confirmed that they have reached out to Cleanrite Buildrite to resolve this, but they keep saying the insurance is taking care of this. this has been a 2 month process. Product_Or_Service: furniture restoration

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the full cost replacement. It was part of a set ($2500) that now is incomplete. $800-$900.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Customer was issued 750 for payment on 9/17

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Overall I am still not happy with the service and quality of work we revived. I was given an a fair offer that I accepted to put this matter to end. Payment has been revived on my end

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They caused damage to my home and antique furniture. Also took furniture from home without permission and didn't return until approx week later. On 04/16/13 my insurance agent contacted Clean Rite Build Rite to come to my residence due to severe water damage. They pulled up portions of carpeting and hardwood flooring. Set our large flat screen tv on my small child-size antique chair causing it to break and left. On 04/24/13 my daughter contacted my agent and he said he would have a field rep call me from the company. On 04/25/13 my daughter received a call from Daryl from Clean Rite Build Rite and my daughter stated she didn't appreciate the condition that his company left our house as well as breaking the antique chair. He admitted to breaking the chair and that he would repair chair, my daughter told him "No". On 04/26/13 Daryl came to my home while I was at dialysis and took the chair. When I came home I noticed my chair was gone and my roomate said that Daryl from Clean Rite Build Rite took it. My daughter contacted him and told him he had no business taking the chair when told not to in the first place. He stated that he thought it was okay to take the chair because he didnt here back from me. My daughter told him to return the chair and he said he would on Saturday 04/27/13. He never returned the chair. On 04/29/13 Daryl contacted my daughter and said his client canceled up on the hill so he didnt make it by but that he would for sure bring it by on Wednesday 05/1/13. He never did. On 05/1/13 my daughter contacted Daryl again asking why he hadn't drop off the chair. He stated, "It was a bonehead mistake, I forgot". My daughter told him that he better return the chair and he did on Thursday 05/2/13. However, it appears they tried repairing it when told not to. Now I am left with more damage.

Desired Settlement: Not repair themselves but pay for the damage of my antique chair and damage to carpet and hardwood flooring by a reputable company of my choice.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Branch Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@crbr.com I am sorry about the home owner being upset with us and will do what is reasonable to correct the situation. However we did not cause any damage to the complainants' home or to any furniture. I feel that because the insurance declined coverage of the loss due to it being a long term and ongoing leak she is trying to find a way to get her home repaired. The damage to her home was done by a water leak, not by our company. We did agreed to repair a small doll chair that fell apart when we moved it as it just needs re-gluing of the dowels and still are willing to do so at no cost. The chair was handed to us by an occupant of the home when we came to get it. We did not attempt to fix the chair and returned it in the condition it was received. We did remove some wet and moldy carpet pad from the home and wet and moldy insulation from under the home. We also removed a toe kick from a kitchen cabinet and a floor plank that was wet and moldy to show the home owner that water had damaged the materials. I do not feel we owe to repair anything in the home as the damage was done by a dishwasher water supply line. We were called out to the home by the home owner to help with drying out the home. As per our policy, we had to stop once we found the mold. Under the circumstances we are willing to wave our afterhours fees and absorb the $260.00 costs we have occurred related to the response on 4/16/13 by three employees on overtime. Please see the statement from the project manager below. On X-XX-XX at about 5pm *** (office admin.)took a call from Mrs. ******'s agent letting us know that she has large water loss at her home in Dobbins. *** sent out a email to the Yuba Team about this new water loss. At about the same time that I received ***'s email I received a call from our answer service about the same loss. I called Mrs. ****** and asked her some to describe what she saw and if she wanted us to come up this night or wait until the morning. She asked that we come up this night. I dispatched ***** and ******, (technicians) I also went to the loss to help with the inspection. When I arrived ***** and ****** were on site. I found ***** under the house inspecting for water damage. I stuck my head into the crawl space access hole and found ***** in the crawl space under the kitchen. As soon as I stuck my head into the crawl space I could smell the very strong mold odor. ***** told me that he found a lot of wet insulation and mass amounts of mold on the floor joist and bottom of the sub-floor and that it appeared to him that the leak had been going for some time. I had him pull the affected insulation and bag it up for disposal. I then went into the house and introduced myself to Mrs. ****** and her house guess. She showed me the affected floor in the kitchen and asked me to also look at the floor in the dining area and hallway. The floor in the dining area was also affected. The floor in the hallway was not affected. The water had migrated into the living room affecting the carpet and pad. I asked Mrs. ****** if she would like us to remove the affected pad. She told me yes. In order to do this we would need to move some of the furniture in the living room. Both myself and ***** moved a round table and several pieces of doll furniture. When I picked up one of the doll chairs it fell apart in my hand. I apologized and told Mrs. ****** that we would fix at no charge to her. She told me that that would be fine. I set the chair on the round table. ***** and I also moved the TV stand with a TV on it. We moved it approximately 3 feet. We had to move this to get to the wet pad and carpet under it. I asked Mrs. ******'s roommate if where we moved the TV stand to was fine, he told us it was. There was also a strong odors in the kitchen of stale water and mold. After ***** finished in the crawl space I asked him to get tools so that we could remove a plank of flooring and section of toe kick. We removed one or two floor planks and found very stinky standing water under the floor and then we removed the toe kick and found mass mold. We took photos and to the best of our ability contained and covered up the areas we removed with the materials and tape. The whole time ***** I and were performing our investigation Mrs. ****** was watching us. I showed her the mold on the toe kick and the image of the standing water on my camera. At this point Mrs. ****** asked me if I thought this loss would be covered. I told her Insurance Adjuster would have make that determination. I suggested that we not go any further with the demo as this was a big loss and she was going to be without a kitchen for a few months and also because the mitigation and repairs would be very expensive and we needed to get her Insurance company involved, she agreed. I also suggested to her that she should finish filing her claim and that I would be more than happy to meet the Adjuster at her house. On the morning of X-XX-XX I received a call from **** Dunkley the State Farm field Adjuster. **** asked me if I could meet him at Mrs. ******'s home at 9 to 9:30am. I told him that I would drop what I am doing and I would meet him at this time. I meet **** at ******'s home at approximately 9:30am. **** introduced himself to Mrs. ****** and then went back outside and put on his Tyvec suit and went under the house to inspect the crawl space area. As he was inspecting the affected area under the kitchen I was talking to ****. **** told me that what he saw was very bad and that did not think that there would not be coverage but he would have to inspect the affected area in the house before he would call the owning adjuster. After he finished his inspection in the crawl space we went into the house. **** removed the tape that was covering the toe kick and floor and took photos of the mold. He also looked under the dishwasher to observe the standing water. While he was looking under the dishwasher he had me turn the water on to the dishwasher just to see if the water was coming from this area. I turned on the water and immediately to 1/4'copper supply line leaked. I turned the water off. **** then talked to Mrs. ****** for moment about her coverage. **** and I offered to move the TV stand back into place but Mrs. ****** and her roommate told us that it was ok where it was. **** then went outside and called the owning Adjuster. I went outside and was standing near **** as he talked on the phone to the Adjuster. After **** hung up he told me that this loss would not be covered. **** went inside and told Mrs. ****** that her loss was not covered. I stayed outside. On or about X-XX-XX I talked to Mrs. ******'s daughter about the chair. I offered again to fix the chair. The daughter told me that she would have to get back to me. I did not hear back from her. On the 26th I was in the area so I thought I would stop by to get the chair. When I arrived Mrs. ******'s roommate meet me at the door with the chair. I think it was later that day the daughter called me very upset that I had taken the chair. I told her that the roommate meet me at the door with the chair. I told her that I would have it fixed, she told me not to do anything with the chair and to return it. On the 29th the daughter and I talked again about returning the chair. I returned the chair on 5-2-13. I did not try to fix it, all I did was to put back to the same general condition it was in when I received it on the 26th.

Consumer's Final Response
I did receive a letter from CR/BR indicating they waived service charge and that no money was owed to them even though their company caused damage to my home and property. I can send you a copy of letter if necessary. Please understand this is an illegitimate company and untrustworthy and takes advantage of the elderly. Thank You.

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: Peter Sprague Branch Mgr Contact Phone: 530-742-5024 Contact Email: peters@crbr.com This affermation of no payment due was sent on 6/3/13. We will re-mail out today to the P.O. address.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bait and switch tactics by contractor. After signing contract offered a different flooring installed for "Exact Same Price" then billed me (without itemized costs) for the exact - to the penny amount of the "Estimate Cost". Even after signing a conditional waiver of lien. Failed to credit me with a $917.30 payment and sent me an unfiled mechanics lien also for the estimate amount and no credit for my $917.30.

Desired Settlement: For Cleanrite, Inc and Cleanrite-Buildrite to waive all other payment than my $917.30 payment. Legal action is a possibility.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On 11-19-12 we received a letter from Mr. Deck explaining his frustration with the finagling billing on is project. On 11-29 we satisfied his frustration by agreeing to his suggested credits. Although the documents attached show we had no obligation to do so as he signed a contract and a change order for the exact amounts billed, to satisfy him and prevent an issue over 900.00 we agreed to do so. With this his part of the agreement was to send us a check upon receipt of the revised invoice of 3,417.99. Today, March 1st, 2013 we have received no payment from him. Timeline of events. 6/19/12 - Signed contract for 4334.99 (attached) 7/29/12 - Signed change order for 917.30 for engineered wood floor per his selection at home depot (Attached) 9/6/12 - Signed certificate of completion (attached) 11/19/12 - received letter about amount billed and his disagreeing with the Verbage used, materials billed for etc., demanding credit of 917.03. 11/29/12 - Response to complaint stating we would agree to credit this amount (Attached) 1/10/13 - Received letter from Mr. Deck stating he would have us a check for 3417.99 in two weeks. 3/1/13 - We still have not received any payment from him and will be perusing legal collection at this point.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service