This business is not BBB accredited.

Deck Envy Construction

Phone: (530) 448-3036 PO Box 2552, Truckee, CA 96160 http://www.deckenvy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Deck Envy Construction include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Deck Envy Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Deck Envy Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 12, 2010 Business started: 09/09/2004 Business started locally: 09/09/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 857320.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Chet Luedtke, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chet Luedtke, Owner
Business Category

Fence Contractors Contractors - General

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 2552

    Truckee, CA 96160 (530) 448-3036

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2007 I contracted with **** *******, owner of Deck Envy Construction to build an approx 1,200 sq ft raised deck in Lake Tahoe, CA. This $65,000 deck was supposed to have a 25 year guarantee. Almost immediately the deck boards began to separate. I was told repeatedly by Deck Envy that this was normal. Fast forward, last summer (2013) I had Timbertech come to my home to inspect my deck. They told me that the deck was separating and lifting because **** ******* chose NOT to use Timbertech fasteners (per their installation manual) when installing the Timbertech deck boards. Instead, he used an unknown, generic fastener. When asked why he chose not to use Timbertech's fastener, **** said, " I don't like them." This immediately voided the product warrantee. Deck envy has offered a labor discount for repairing the deck but I would be responsible for supplying all of the materials (deck boards and fasteners). Deck Envy is well aware that the original deck boards are discontinued and unavailable for purchase and in order for the deck not to be piece mealed together with old and new boards, all new deck boards will need to be purchased. Shame on **** ******* for his inferior judgement, questionable morals and unethical business practices. It's clear that he is more concerned with saving pennies on the dollar than performing honest, quality workmanship.

Desired Settlement: Replace all of the deck boards with similar color and quality. I would like to have the deck boards screwed into the joists, as originally stated in our contract.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

In response to Mr. *******'s complaint. As stated, there are two sides to every story.  We did in fact build *** a wonderful deck in 2007, with a decking product he selected. At the end of the project, Mr. ******* was very pleased with the deck and the craftsmanship.  It should be noted that the deck was built per plan, and all inspections were made by the local building department to ensure proper practices.  As for the "repeated" telling that separation was normal, this is a false statement. With regard to the fasteners used, they were not generic, no-named. they are "saber clips, by *** manufacturing", A Global company, that specializes in composite roofing and decking. And were, by the way, more expensive than ****** ****'s fastener.  WE, (*** and I), agreed on them, because I informed him that the saber clip used a stainless steel screw, which was/ is superior to ****** ****'s "generic" screw.  After a few years of replacing ****'s decking debacle, of inferior screws and failed decking, the greater construction industry recognized the need for stainless screws to be used with composite decking, which is commonplace and required today.  I emphasize with Mr. ******* on this situation, and I facilitated him getting in contact with the greater powers at ****** ****, as well as expedited the claim process for him.  If anyone looks at the deck, it is more than obvious that the failure is the decking and not the fasteners.  ****** **** has denied his claim, under the loophole that we did not use their fasteners.  It should also be noted that ****** **** no longer makes this decking product, has completely eradicated it from circulation, and has since been bought out by another company.   I feel that Mr. *******'s energy would be better placed in the direction of going after ****** **** for his replacement material.  I did generously offer to repair the deck for ***, for a nominal fee, that would have cost my company money to perform.   I remain steadfast that this is a product failure and not a craftsmanship issue, not to mention that we are passed the construction, statute of limitations.  Mr. ******* has mockingly declined my offer several times.  I always strive for excellence in my company's work and customer satisfaction.  We have been in business for 10 years and build 40-50 deck per year, and have never had a complaint.  To question my morals, business ethics and fiduciary duties is simply unfair.  I wish Mr. ******* the best of luck.

Sincerely,
**** *******
CEO
Deck Envy Construction INC.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

Dear BBB,

I am rejecting the response made by **** ******* of Deck Envy Construction for the following reasons;
First, the contract I signed with Deck Envy Construction specifically included the following; "Screw the deck boards to framing by running 3' screws through the top face of the deck boards into joists." There was one addendum/change order to the original contract for bench seating, cedar railing and cedar gate, only. Neither in the original contract or addendum was there any mention made of using fasteners in the construction of the deck.
Second, **********'s letter denying my claim for the failing deck boards specifically states the contractors use of NON ********** fasteners as the reason for the failing deck. **** ******* is wildly mistaken if he believes that I gave him my consent to use anything but ********** authorized materials and run the risk of voiding the manufacturers 25 year product warrantee.
The above facts are indisputable and in writing. I would be glad to send the BBB the signed contract and addendum, **********'s letter of claim denial and photos of the present deteriorating condition of the deck. **** ******* has mentioned several times that in hind sight he would have done things differently. Unfortunately, he continues to deny responsibility, preferring to blame the manufacturer for his errors in judgement and construction and leave me, the homeowner, with a failing $65,000. deck. 

Thank you,
*** *******