BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Energy Savers

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 985-0733 View Additional Phone Numbers 8980 Grant Line Rd, Elk Grove, CA 95624 http://www.energysavers.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

     While many companies have come and gone over the past three decades, Future Energy Savers has been faithfully serving the energy efficiency needs of California consumers since 1978.  This has been made possible by building a company culture of extreme integrity that always puts the homeowner first, and by providing over-the-top customer service. 
     The family-owned company's roots were originally based on insulating homes to reduce energy bills and conserve natural resources.  Building on the company motto of “The Difference is Quality,” these efforts quickly expanded into new and innovative ways to provide energy efficiency solutions with cost-saving products.  Today, the company has expanded to other products and services including Solar Electric, Heating & Air Conditioning, Exterior Coatings, and Window Replacement. 
     The company vision has been fueled by CEO Jeffrey Adkins, pictured at right with his Uncle Gale Fueborn.  Adkins was born in South Carolina, served four years in the military, another six in the reserves, and attended West Florida University. He began his contracting career in 1978 and still continues in that chosen field today.  During that time, Future Energy has worked on many high profile community projects such as low income shelters, churches and homes for the Habitat for Humanity. 
     "I believe that in order to succeed in the business world, you need to be heavily involved with the local community and treat them like family," said Adkins.  "I share this vision with all of our associates. My message is that we must always perform high quality work, provide great customer service, and constantly look out and represent the customer's best interests.  It's in our company's DNA and culture, one that has come full circle with referral business."
     Future Energy has become an industry leader by providing a comprehensive offering of energy saving products and programs.  In the process, the company has won numerous awards from state agencies and local utilities. Among them are awards from the State of California, Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E), Southern California Gas Company, the Department of Water and Power (LADWP), and San Diego Gas & Electric Company (SDG&E).  The Gas Company has selected Future Energy Savers as "Contractor of the Year." Adkins was also a member of former California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger's Solar Roof Initiative.  
     Future Energy Savers was also named the 2011 Dealer of the Year in California by the SunPower Corporation.  Additional acknowledgments of praise have been presented by Vision Finance, Volt Viewtech, the League of California Homeowners, and the City of Anaheim.  Future Energy Savers was also recognized by the U.S. Government for the installation of solar equipment on the White House.  

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Energy Savers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Energy Savers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Energy Savers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 06, 2010 Business started: 02/28/1978 in CA Business started locally: 02/28/1978 Business incorporated: 05/28/1982 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jeffrey Adkins, CEO Mr. Jim Allen, Vice President Ms. Julie Durst, Vice President Mr. Kyle Franz, RME
Contact Information
Principal: Jeffrey Adkins, CEO
Business Category

Energy Conservation Products & Services Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Contractors - Solar Energy Contractor - Electrical Heating & Air Conditioning Windows

Products & Services

Energy Savers sells the following brand(s): Enphase, SolarWorld

Energy Savers offers the following product(s): Residential Solar Electric Systems

Method(s) of Payment
Future Energy Savers can provide homeowners with a financing plan.  We also except cash and major credit cards.
Service Area
Future Energy Savers has five Offices & Showrooms in California to serve California homeowners. We have offices in Elk Grove, Livermore, San Jose, Upland and Oceanside, CA.
Alternate Business Names
Future Energy Corporation Future Energy Savers
Products & Services

Residential Solar Electric Systems, Heating & Air Conditioning, Windows, Insulation, and Solar Hot Water Heating.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Energy Savers has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10481 Grant Line Rd Ste 125

    Elk Grove, CA 95624

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1671 West Arrow Route

    Upland, CA 91786

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    310 Piercy Road

    San Jose, CA 95138

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3163 Independence Drive

    Livermore, CA 94551

  • 8980 Grant Line Rd

    Elk Grove, CA 95624 (800) 985-0733 (916) 686-3008

  • 9721 Kent Street

    Elk Grove, CA 95624

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 686-3008(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Future Energy Savers solicits business for solar installations. I have told them several times to stop calling, but they continue to call. The last call just occurred on May 22, 2014. In this call, I told the female caller that I did not want the product and not to call. I asked if she understood and she said, "yes." The lady then continued to do her sales pitch. I stopped her again, said the same thing and had her verify she understood. She again continued her sales pitch. I had to hang up on her. I want this company to stop calling my phone number.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to stop calling me.

Business Response: We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. We have removed all of Mr. *****'s contact information from our data base. There will not be any calls in the future.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Future Energy Savers Salesman ****** ********** was invited into our home to explain to us how a Solar Energy System could be affordable to us through a rebate of $2400.00 and a Federal Tax Credit of $8000.00 totaling $10,400.00 towards the cost of their system bringing it down to $16,115.00,financed for 12 years at $192.00/mo. ****** arrived at his figures by asking us to see our Tax returns taking pictures of them on his cell phone and calculating from them how much money we would get back next year thorough our 2014 Tax returns with a $7935.00 tax credit. ****** ********** is not a professional tax preparer but we trusted that he knew what he was taking about. The deal looked good to us and he came up with a good package that looked affordable and we signed. Turned out it wasn't true it was bogus. There is no way Future Energy Savers can deliver ******'s deal to us. We know this by consulting with our professional tax preparer who looked at our last year's tax returns as did ****** and later ***** ****** (Regional Sales Manager for Future Energy Corp.),who further muddied it. But it was our tax professional who was correct. He stated to us that we would get approx. $2000.00 of the Federal Tax Credit and not $7935.00 that the deal was based on, which was misleading. We found a complaint on the BBB website by a woman who was promised $10,000.00 Federal Tax credit by a Future Energy Salesman. She found out when it was too late, as her system was already installed that she was only really getting $1700.00 back. Future had sent a measure man out who got on our roof to measure, he did not show us that he was a licensed inspector. We cancelled on May 14th by phone, then later in writing. Now they say we owe them $1000.00 because we cancelled too late. If Future Energy Savers could deliver what their Salesman promised we wouldn't be writing this letter. If anyone is looking into a Solar system make sure you consult with your tax preparer, the true cost of the system and rebate amounts.

Desired Settlement: The deal that they promised they cannot deliver. They are now threatening us with a mechanics lien on our home if we do not pay them $1000.00. We feel that because they failed to honestly present the true terms of the agreement and due to the fact that no improvements were performed, that we own them nothing.

Business Response: Mr. ******, We apologize for any mis-communication regarding your potential Federal Tax Credit. Our intention is to never mislead any of our customers, nor provide professional tax advice. As the way the law is written, you would have through the 2016 calendar year to collect your total tax credit - meaning you would have three tax years to collect your total credit. We acknowledge your cancellation of the transaction and there are no outstanding invoices regarding a cancellation fee with our company. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had solar panels installed in July 2013, and then pigeons started roosting underneath them. The company came out and installed wire mesh on the left/right/top sides, when we weren't even home, but neglected to put any in the bot*** where the pigeons fly in. We called the company and complained, so they came out again, and this time they zip tied chicken wire across the bot***. The birds managed to just step over the loose chicken wire, and now we have more pigeons, and pigeon poop in our gutters and on the ground below the roof. We have contacted Future Energy Saver's multiple times about this issue, and now they are telling us they can't help us, and it's up to us to take care of this problem. We're upset that they started to fix the problem and after trying multiple times, they are now giving up and saying we're responsible. We actually got a quote from our roofer for $775 to fix this issue, which is way too much money for us to have to pay for a problem that FES created.

Desired Settlement: We would like FES to complete pigeon proofing our solar panels, or pay another company to do so.

Business Response: We have communicated with *** ******** about this issue and have come to a mutually acceptable agreement and conclusion.  We have issued Mr. ******** a check ($775) to cover the cost of him hiring a pest control company to address the bird problem.  The work has already been completed.
 
Mr. ******** is extremely happy with the arrangement.

Consumer Response: After speaking with their So Ca manager, ****** ********, they finally agreed to reimburse us for the full amount for our pigeon abatement. We still would not refer any cus***ers to this solar company, but they did manage to finally do the right thing, so our complaint has been resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Future Energy came to my front door and stated they could make solar affordable to me. I agreed to an appointment. *** ****** came to my home as a sales representative of the company and explained to me what the process would look like. He stated I would receive $10,500 at tax time which could be applied to my loan and I would receieve a one time free refinance on my loan which would lower my monthly bill. I asked him at least three times if there were any possible scenario where I would not receieve the money. I explained to him I would not be able to live up to the terms of the loan with out the $10,500 and the refinance. He stated the money was "federally guaranteed" and there was no possiblity that I would not receieve it. He stated this at least three times. Come tax time, I found based on my income that I was only eligable to receive $1,770 of this money. I called the company and was refered to Mr. ****** ****** who I was told is upper management. Mr. ****** told me he was "befuddled" as to how my loan was ever approved with out a lien being placed on my home. He stated his compay's general ****** base are people who make upward of $80,000 per year.I make $36,000 per year. He stated the credit union (his company refered me to) should never have approved my loan. He then asked me what my home was worth and how much I owed on it. I told him I was not willing to bring my house into this, I never would have agreed to that. He stated he could not help me then. I was misled and deceived by Mr. ****** and then told by Mr. ****** that 99.9% of the time there is no problem. That because I don't make enough money I shouldn't have ever gotten the loan so he couldn't help me. Product_Or_******: Solar Panels

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I don't know. I just know that this isn't right.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Future Energy Savers provides homeowners with information about solar electric systems and the benefits and incentives such as Tax Credits and Rebates that may be available. Miss ****** was informed that she may be eligible to receive a 30% Federal Solar Tax Credit, which in this case could be as much as $10,500. In her case, she received approximately $1770 of her Federal Tax Credit for the 2012 calendar year. She has the ability to collect the balance of her tax credit in future years. There was never any intention to mislead the consumer. It should be noted that as a home improvement company, we do not provide kitchen table tax advice to consumers, because that is best left to tax professionals. In addition, we don't ask to view tax returns as we consider that to be evasive and private information to the consumer. However, we would like to propose an offer to Miss ******. If she is willing to provide tax returns for the past three years, we will seek and pay a tax professional to re-examine her situation to determine if she can earn some of her tax credits quicker. This would serve as a second opinion. Those returns should be sent via registered mail to our Elk Grove office. The address is Future Energy Corporation, 8980 Grant Line Road, Elk Grove, CA XXXXX. They will be returned promptly and treated with the utmost respect and privacy. And to clarify a statement, Miss ****** was complimented on her credit rating and her ability to secure her solar loan based on her annual income - once she provided that information to us.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved