Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Behind The Scene Sounds

Phone: (916) 682-3395 8447 Modena Way, Elk Grove, CA 95624 http://www.btssound.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Behind The Scene Sounds meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Behind The Scene Sounds include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Behind The Scene Sounds
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 05, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1998 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Elizabeth Terry, Owner Mr. Derwin Terry, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Elizabeth Terry, Owner
Business Category

Disc Jockeys Theatrical & Stage Lighting Equipment Wedding Supplies & Services

Products & Services

Behind the Scene Sounds provides dj, sound and lighting services for weddings, parties, special events.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never signed contract, being told that there is a non refundable retainer fee. I booked this deejay on September 19, 2012 for our wedding at the end of April. I cancelled on October 30, 2012 by email. We received no paperwork by mail and I have signed no contract. I gave the company the agreed upon $1000.00 and expected a good portion of that back when cancelling. I was told that this is a $500.00 non refundable retainer fee and we would not be receiving any more than that. It is my impression that retainer fees are there to protect the companies from being fired close to the date of service and for work that may be done in that time period. No work has been done for our wedding, no playlists, we have not met to discuss anything about the wedding, there have been emails back and forth to get them booked and two phone conversations while booking and that is all. I believe the $500.00 is a bit steep for the administrative work that has been done e.g. emails and invoice. They have not purchased the plane tickets (I made sure to confirm this before cancelling.)I tried communicating this with Elizabeth and was told that even if there was no signed contract they would only refund $500, the first check to be sent in November for the amount of $250 and the second check to be sent in December for $250. Elizabeth Terry claimed that they would not refund that since they purchased a mini sound system for our wedding, this should not be a valid reason for non payment. I feel that $500 without a signed contract and with no work other than booking the agency done is unfair and an abuse of the deposit.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the full amount if possible, $1000.00 was paid by Visa on September 19, 2012.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Ms. ****** & her fiance met my husband and business partner at a Spring of 2012 bridal show at the Elk Grove Event Center in Elk Grove Ca. On 9/12/2012 Ms. ****** contacted us via email to inquired about retaining our services for her 4/27/2013 wedding to be held in Altamont Utah. She wanted to know how much our travel cost would be for her destination wedding. I called her on the telephone that week and we discuss the total cost of our services. We agreed on the balance of our services. I emailed her a contract with the total and a request for a non-refundable retainer fee of $500. On 9/17/2012 Ms. ****** called me and gave me a deposit for $1000 to retain our services. We agreed that she would give me an extra $500 to purchase plane tickets and the balance would be paid at a later time. She never bothered to send the signed contract and I got busy with running my business to request that she send the contract. In September of 2012 we purchased approximately $700 of DJ equipment that we could travel with to save Ms. ****** money on DJ rental equipment. We also turned down 2 potential weddings because Ms. ****** had already retained our services. On 10/29/2012 Ms. ****** called me and informed me that she was no longer able to retain our services due to her miscalculating the cost of her wedding. She asked me to refund $1000 deposit. I informed her that it was a non refundable retainer fee and she quickly reminded me that she had not signed a contract. I agreed and told her based on that fact I would be willing to refund to her a $500 deposit. She reluctantly agreed to a $500 refund. Via email we agreed that I would send 2 checks of $250, one in November of 2012 and a second check of $250 in December of 2012. I was very shocked that on 11/5/2012 I received a BBB complaint from Ms. ****** after we agreed via email to a refund agreement. She didn't even try to renegotiate the terms of the refund before she made this complaint. My DJ services reputation should not have to suffer because Ms. ****** overextended herself and had such lofty goals for her wedding day. Ms. ****** and her fiance should have never hired us if they didn't properly estimate their wedding budget. Now my company potentially has a negative mark on our A+ BBB rating. Obviously Ms. ****** doesn't understand that a business uses deposits to pay for equipment, administrative cost and turns down potential clients who's event fall on a booked date. It was explained to Ms. ****** about our non-refundable retainer fee and she verbally agreed to it. We were looking forward to Ms. ******'s wedding. It's a shame she and her family didn't get a chance to experience our DJ service first hand. We do wish Ms. ****** and her fiance a long and fulfilling marriage!

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do agree that I was emailed a contract, however, the contract received on September 17, 2012 had incorrect information, the price discussed was inaccurate and the date of the wedding was entered in for April 26, 2013, our wedding is April 27, 2013. I did not sign this agreement. I was told when I spoke with ****** that we would be mailed paperwork going over our options etc. I never received anything by mail. I believe that part of running a business is sending over paperwork with the correct information and following up with your customer, non of which happened. In response to contacting ****** to negotiate before contacting better business bureau, I did try to negotiate a reasonable refund of $750.00 with them keeping $250.00 for phone calls and emails that had taken place, they turned this offer down and were unwilling to reconsider. I have yet to receive the first refund of 250.00 from ******. My goal in this is not to give them a bad mark, it is to not feel cheated out of money that was given for work that was not done. I understand contracts, I also understand that it is for both parties to hold up to the terms. Our wedding did not receive the attention other than our credit card being charged,no instructions for our monogram, no play list or do not play list instructions, nothing. I expected something more for $1000, For the money situation, it seemed that there were additional costs that were not discussed in the agreed upon terms for travel expenses, my fiance and I did not feel that this was the way to go for us as it was going to raise the price higher than we agreed to with Behind the Scenes. ****** said that equipment could be rented from a local company in Utah and that we would be paying the rental costs, if new equipment was purchased this was not solely for our wedding but for their business, I do not feel I should be penalized for that. As I stated before, I would accept the refund of $750 and we can part ways.