Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of 1st Light Energy, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

1st Light Energy's vision is to provide alternative energy solutions that positively impact our
environment while delivering solid financial returns for our customers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1st Light Energy, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1st Light Energy, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on 1st Light Energy, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 16, 2009 Business started: 04/17/2007 in CA Business started locally: 04/17/2007 Business incorporated: 04/17/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 921371.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Justin Krum, President Mr. Gus Lackey, Complaint Handler Mr. Greg Smith, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Krum, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Gus Lackey, Complaint Handler
Business Category

Contractors - Solar Energy Contractor - Electrical Electricians

Service Area
Lower West Coast, Midwest, East Coast
Alternate Business Names
1st Light Energy Conservation, Inc.
Products & Services

1st Light Energy, Inc. specalizes in solar energy services for residential & commercial consumers.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

1st Light Energy, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Additional Business Login
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: services were never rendered and all monies were given to the contracter.They do not respond to phone calls or emails.Contract was signed and completed on 10/05/2014,was told job would be completed no later then 11/26/2014

Desired Settlement: refund

Business Response: We have been in contact with Mr. ********* regarding this issue.  Mr. *********'s installation was delayed due to a production drop.  This was due to a variance between our physical measurements and our computer estimations.  After discussing this situation with customer, he had decided not to continue with his solar project.  All funds withdrawn from customer's loan will be reversed.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:all monies have not returned, the returned monies is the loan from greensky financial that was taken by 1st light energy without my consent.I'm still haven't recieved my out of cost amount of $435 which was given to 1st light energy as deposit in a check.

Business Response: The funds were refunded to the customer's financing account on 1/14/2015.  The finance company does take a few days to process refund, however customer should see that the funds have been returned.  Our accounting department is in processing the refund of the customer's cash payment.  The cheque should be sent to the customer on Friday, 1/23/2015.  The customer should receive the cheque sometime next week.

Consumer Response:  
Hi i recieved check for $435.37,i am satisfied with customer all funds were returned.I would like to thank you very much for your efforts to help me in this settlement.i request for this complaint to be status as resolved.Thanks again so much.

1/28/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sales person contacted me in July 2014 to talk about solar panel installation in my house. He asked me to produce my electric bills so that he can calculate how much electricity I have consumed in last one year and based on that he calculated cost of solar panel to be installed at my house.I agreed to install solar panel which can produce electricity to cover cost based on my last one year electricity bill. He also explained me that all the installation of wire and conduit will be going to inside wall and it will not be exposed or visible outside other than in the roof area. He also promised me that permit and installation is going to be within 2 months so that I will get my tax benefit in 2014 itself.Based on his promised I paid his $1500 on July 29th 2014. They have not installed solar panel yet. First they have changed configuration of panels and which is not going to produced same electric as they promised and keep throwing lots of technical terms to confuse me. After calling them multiple time and sending several emails, I explained them that I am not solar expert and why you do not simple install same configuration which was promised to me verbally and in the email. I also sent them email which was sent by their sale person based on their request. Final after spending months they agree to install same configuration solar panel. When they came to install on my house without any prior design review from me, they told me that conduit is going to be outside the wall. I asked installer to talk to his manger as it was promised inside wall. They left my house without informing me and when I call them to find out they told me that they will install conduit outside and I have to pay more money if I want to be inside.After sending them emails and several calls with ***** ******** and **** ******* they told me that they willnot install Solar panel inside the wall and it is not going to be this year (2014) also. When I called them and talked to **** and asked them that refund my money which they took in July as you have not install solar panel yet and also asking more money, he simply refuse to refund and asked me that I have to pay more for cancellation too. After several phone call and discussion they have not install solar panel yet and for cancellation they are asking more money which I think totally unethical.panel

Desired Settlement: I am requesting either full refund of my money which they took in July 2014 or install sonal panel as they promised and take my tax refund as part of their payment which was one of the payment option Sales Person gave me earlier.

Business Response: 1st Light energy had been in communication the day Mr. ***** made this complaint and we refute his claims and his version of the events.  1st light acknowledges that in July a sales representative meet with him and took the proper steps in evaluating Mr. *****’s home and the 2 did enter into an agreement to have a solar system installed.  We have attached mentioned agreement.  The sales rep that was present in the home of Mr. ***** no longer works for 1st light so we cannot obtain his version of events of what was mentioned in the home, but a Mr. **** ******* spoke with the customer on 12/29/2014 and according to him Mr. ***** acknowledged that the specifics of how his electrical conduit was to be installed was not specifically discussed in the home at the time of signing the contract or at any other time until 1st light energy showed up to install the system and Mr. ***** was being walked through the installation plan that day and the matter of how the conduit was to be installed came up.  At that time 1st light informed Mr. ***** that the way he desired for his conduit to be installed was not a standard installation and additional funds would be required.  Mr. ***** was not willing to agree to this that moment and sent 1st light’s install crew home.  1st light indicated to Mr. ***** that we would have to have a 3rd party contractor come out to give an estimate on the price of the work before we could give him a new price.   1st light was not able to coordinate this with the customer.  Furthermore 1st light would like to site the agreement Mr. ***** signed that states the following under Acceptance and Authorization on the front page of the agreement: “By signing below, the Customer authorizes 1st Light Energy Inc. to perform the installation.  This Agreement expressly supersedes all prior written or verbal representations or agreements made by 1st Light Energy Inc., its agents, representative or employees, or anyone else. Except as set forth in this Agreement, the Customer agrees there are other oral or written representations of inducements, expressed or implied, any way conditioning this Agreement , and the Customer expressly disclaims their existence.”  There for any discussions Mr. ***** may or may not have had about the conduit and when the system was going to be installed are moot points unfortunately.  But for the record as previously mentioned we did attempt to install the customer’s solar project well before the end of 2014.  
Mr. *****’s claim that we changed the configuration of his system is somewhat correct but the changes we made were in his favor.  I realize the whomever is reading this is probably not in the solar industry but very simply we upgraded his solar modules from 245 watt panels to 250 watt panels, essentially meaning that his system would produce more electricity.  It was not our intention to confuse Mr. ***** with technical terms it was simply to explain the changes made in his favor which is allowed according to the agreement Mr. ***** signed.  Under the system description section says: “The proposed system is listed below.  The system size may be changed based on customer credit limitations or pre-site audit recommendations.  System size changes of +/- 5% will not change any terms of this contract except the total cost.” We did finally come to an agreement with Mr. ***** to install his system.  Mr. ***** says he did not approve the design of the system but we have an email from Mr. ***** from October 16 which I have also attached.  In that E-mail 1st light employee ***** ******** sent an email to Mr. ***** with a design of his system, to which Mr. ***** replied: “In that case, please go ahead.”  
When we showed up to do the installation as I mentioned previously one of our installers was going over the installation plan with Mr. ***** and the conduit issue came up.  Our employee informed him that was not how his system was designed and the manner he was requesting his conduit to be installed was not a standard installation and would cost him more money.  Mr. ***** would not agree to this so Mr. ***** was informed there would be nothing else we could do at that time and that we would have to leave and then the crew packed up and left.  Mr. ***** claims that we told him that we would not install the conduit inside his walls and this is not the case.  We did indicate that we would not do it without a new negotiated price which Mr. ***** was not willing to coordinate with us.  Mr. *****’s claim that we would not install him this year is not fully accurate.  The day we told Mr. ***** that his system would not be installed this year, the year of 2014, was on December 29th 2014 in the late afternoon.  Like I mentioned previously we did attempt to install the system in the 2014 year but we were able to at the customer’s request because of his disapproval of the manner a standard conduit installation is performed. 
1st light Energy did inform Mr. ***** that if we wishes to cancel his installation with 1st light energy that his deposit of $1,500 would not be refunded to Mr. ***** because we were and are willing to install his system according to the agreement we have with Mr. *****.  That agreement we have does not specify that we install the conduit in the manner Mr. ***** is requesting.  Once again 1st light is willing to work with Mr. ***** to come to some type of compromise in the form of additional funds to pay for the extra cost related to the untraditional installation of the conduit.  The cost that 1st light energy have incurred up to this point in time are much greater than $1,500, and that is why we indicated that if Mr. ***** wishes to cancel his project 1st light would have to asses all the total expenses associated with his project and then send him an invoice for those cost since the Mr. ***** would be in breach of our agreement by not allowing us to install the soar project on his home.  I have copied the wording in the agreement that specifies this under the Liquidated Damages section of the agreement which reads: “In the event the Customer refuses to allow 1st Light Energy Inc. to commence performance of the work to be rendered under this Agreement, or prevents 1st Light Energy Inc. from receiving the Rebate, or prevents 1st Light Energy Inc. to continue performance under this Agreement, 1st Light Energy Inc. shall be entitled to receive from the Customer as liquidated damages a sum equal to thirty percent (30%) of the Total Contract Price.” Furthermore under the termination section it reads: “If You breach this Agreement, or following discovery of previously undisclosed legal encumbrances or easements on your premises, building/zoning code violations, or hidden/unforeseen physical/hazardous conditions such as the presence of mold, asbestos, lead paint, or any other conditions differing from what You represented, 1st Light Energy Inc. may immediately terminate this Agreement without further obligation to You. In either event, the Customer agrees to pay 1st Light Energy Inc. the cost of materials, labor and services already provided up to the date/time of termination, plus any other amounts allowed under applicable law.” 
1st Light Energy still is willing to work with Mr. ***** and we are excited and ready to install his system once we come to an agreement about his request.  
Thank you, 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:


Ist Energyclaims given in response to my complaint are not reflecting truth. There had been many issues while dealing with 1st Energy, some are:

1)     Conduit is exposed outside on the wall: When Company’s sales representative ****** **** approached us, he clearly explained to me that NOTHING will be installed on the side walls of the house which would be visible
or exposed outside, only Solar panel will be exposed on the roof and all connections will go through attic and inside. I did not specifically used word conduit while talking to him and I explained same when I was talking to Mr. ****
******* on 12/29/2014. But company has twisted my statement in their favor while replying to my complained:

“……..Mr. **** ******* spoke with the customer on 12/29/2014 and
according to him Mr. ***** acknowledged that the specifics of how his
electrical conduit was to be installed was not specifically discussed in the
home at the time of signing the contract…….” 


Beside this they never sent any one to discuss design in person which was also told by Sale Person. They sent design via email and I told them that I
did not understand this design as I am not Solar Engineer (Please see email attachment for the same). In the design document also they did not mentioned that conduit
will be installed outside of the wall.

 

I gave my approval to install Solar Panel based on above understanding that all the installation will go through Attic and inside the wall based on my
discussion with Sales Person ****** ****. Additionally, since I hadn’t gotten design of conduit before, I asked installer to give me design. When I saw
design where conduit will be going from outside the wall, I told him that based on my discussion with ****** **** this is not correct design asked him to check
with ******. Installer said he is going to check, and after that he left without even informing me. I didn’t get any call from anybody else in 1st Energy
either, I got to know status only when I called company and talked to ***** but there was absolutely no communication from company.

 

2)    Changed in the solar panel configuration: Company tried to reduce solar panel configuration which would have produced less energy than promised. They
sent an email with some technical term which I did not understand at all. I expressed same during my email communication and only after insisting I came to
know that they are installing panel which will produce less energy. In this case I disapproved installation and kept following with ***** ********.
Finally they made some configuration changes and promised me that with changed confirmation
energy production will be aligned with promised level. (Please see attached email which I had with ***** ********).

Contrary to what 1st Energy is claiming in their response, they would have installed less producing solar panel if I would have not insisted on
providing details and multiple follow up through phone calls and emails.

In my opinion they tried to sneak in less producing solar panel configuration and not being transparent and honest with customer.

 

3)    Professionalism: Company always acted below expected level of professionalism.

a.     They promised me that a design team will visit my house with prior appoint to look space on my roof and Attic and provide final design. They also told me that final
designed will be discussed with me in person and they will answer all my questions.

Company sent a person without any prior appointment or even any notification. Person just showed up at the door without prior notice. My wife happened to be home that day and she was surprised
and anxious about it. Finally I convinced her over the phone to allow him to inspect roof and attic. This person came without necessary basic tools and my
wife had to provide him flash light to inspect attic. This person left our house without discussing any design with my wife.

b.     Design was sent through email and no one called or came to discuss with me or my wife. I also sent emails asking to explain this design but never got any explanation.
(Please see attached email). Now I feel that they were doing this on-purpose to hide details otherwise Conduit issue would have come long time back and I would
have definitely objected to it as it was not per our discussion with ****** ****.

c.     This project started in July and still not completed. I also lost an opportunity to get tax benefit in 2014 which is a big money for me to pay for this installation.
Most of time I was calling them to provide next steps to get this installation done. When I saw that this is getting late and may not happened 2014, I only called Mr.
**** ******* and ask him to expedite. I never saw that company is willing or eager to close this installation. During my conversation Mr. **** ******* told
me that if I tried to cancel this then I will not get my money back and in fact they threatened (rudely spoke) me that he will look into agreement and I will have
to pay more money for cancellation. In my opinion this is not a professional response especially when I was following up. Additionally after long discussion
Mr. ******* said he will send somebody at my home to evaluate how much would it cost to install conduit with no or partial visibility outside within a week,
but it has been more than two weeks since then and nobody has come for this
evaluation.

I am not at all breaching any agreement conditions and paid my installment $1500 in time and following with them regularly and working through this last from 6 months. If
fact they are trying to find loopholes/grey area and misusing them in their favor.

I am still willing to get this install provided it was done as promised and I am ready to pay all the money except tax refund which they can get once I receive it as
delay is on their side.

Thanks

**** *****

***********

 

Business Response: We regret to hear the dissatisfaction of Mr. *****.  It is our goal and hopes that all our customer are satisfied and have a good customer service experience.  Unfortunately we do not believe that we will be able to agree on the version of events leading to the installation or give Mr. ***** the resolution he is looking for.  Mr. ***** in his response refers to many verbal promises or arrangements.   Because we disagree on the content and existence of these verbal promises we once again have to site the agreement Mr. ***** signed which states under the Acceptance and Authorization on the front page of the agreement: “By signing below, the Customer authorizes 1st Light Energy Inc. to perform the installation.  This Agreement expressly supersedes all prior written or verbal representations or agreements made by 1st Light Energy Inc., its agents, representative or employees, or anyone else. Except as set forth in this Agreement, the Customer agrees there are other oral or written representations of inducements, expressed or implied, any way conditioning this Agreement, and the Customer expressly disclaims their existence.”    This being said we do not feel it is necessary to address every verbal account Mr. ***** refers to. 
We maintain that we are willing and have attempted to install the system per the agreement. Under the scope of work section it sites: “The Contractor does not provide, or arrange for, architectural/engineering services or structural changes to dwellings or buildings unless otherwise noted in the contract.”   And installing the conduit inside the walls of his house would fall under a structural change and nowhere on the agreement does it specify  or is it noted the manner in which Mr. ***** desires for the conduit to be installed.  Currently we are not able to perform the installation per the agreement because we do not have permission from Mr. *****.  If Mr. ***** does not wish to move forward with his project per the terms of the agreement then we once again site agreement  under the Liquidated Damages section of the agreement which reads: “In the event the Customer refuses to allow 1st Light Energy Inc. to commence performance of the work to be rendered under this Agreement, or prevents 1st Light Energy Inc. from receiving the Rebate, or prevents 1st Light Energy Inc. to continue performance under this Agreement, 1st Light Energy Inc. shall be entitled to receive from the Customer as liquidated damages a sum equal to thirty percent (30%) of the Total Contract Price.” Furthermore under the termination section it reads: “If You breach this Agreement, or following discovery of previously undisclosed legal encumbrances or easements on your premises, building/zoning code violations, or hidden/unforeseen physical/hazardous conditions such as the presence of mold, asbestos, lead paint, or any other conditions differing from what You represented, 1st Light Energy Inc. may immediately terminate this Agreement without further obligation to You. In either event, the Customer agrees to pay 1st Light Energy Inc. the cost of materials, labor and services already provided up to the date/time of termination, plus any other amounts allowed under applicable law.”  
Mr. *****’s belief that the changes we made to his system would result in a lower production are simply not accurate.  In fact the changes we made result in a higher production of his system like we mentioned in the last response.  We increased his system wattage by upgrading his modules from 245 watt modules to 250 watt modules.  The area where Mr. ***** was getting confused is in reference to AC and DC system size.  On the agreement we site the DC system size which is higher than the AC system size.  The 2 numbers will differ but the physical size is the same.  
We provided Mr. ***** a design of his system as mentioned in our previous response and the corresponding email was attached where the full version of events can easily be read, but furthermore it is not a requirement in the agreement that we provide a design of the system to the customer so even if we did not provide one to the customer, which we did, we would still be with in compliance to the agreement.  
Like we mentioned before it is not our desire upset Mr. ***** we are simply trying to provide the service that was agreed upon by us and Mr. ***** per the agreement.  
Thank you,



Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

First I would like to bring in your attention that  so far1St Light Enery did not address any of my issues which I brought in my complaint and previous reply. They are acting totally unprofessional and I made several points in my previous reply which they did not address in this reply.

Now coming to their latest reply where they mentioned contract terms “By signing below, the Customer authorizes 1st Light Energy Inc. to perform the installation.  This Agreement expressly supersedes all prior written or verbal representations or agreements made by 1st Light Energy Inc., its agents, representative or employees, or anyone else. Except as set forth in this Agreement, the Customer agrees there are other oral or written representations of inducements, expressed or implied, any way conditioning this Agreement, and the Customer expressly disclaims their existence.”  

By signing the contract does not mean that 1St Light  Energy can install whatever way they want. Neither contract nor design sent by them specify that conduit has to be outside of the wall. In this case any customer will go with what they have been told and promised by them. After talking to several other similar solar companies and looking around my neighborhood I found that installing conduit inside wall is a standard practice which was also accepted by their employee Ms April when I made this request.

Secondly they mentioned “……… And installing the conduit inside the walls of his house would fall under a structural change and nowhere on the agreement does it specify  or is it noted the manner in which Mr. ***** desires for the conduit to be installed…...”

Installing conduit inside dry wall should not result any structural change. Any I will pay all the cost of structural changes if any but 1St Light should pay other cost like dry wall changes etc. Besides as I mentioned before contract/design does not mention that conduit will be installed from outside.


Third they mentioned that I am breaching the contract and I want to be very clear that I am not breaching the contract at all and still want to install solar system but it has to be as per our contract and commitment given by 1St Light Energy.Like I mentioned in my previous email that 1St Light energy delayed this installation since July 2014 despite of several follow up and via email and phone. I had attached some the emails in my previous reply and unprofessional act by them.

Thank you
**** *****

Business Response: Company states: We have reached out to the consumer to work out a time to work on what is written in the contract. We will not do anything outside of the contract. If the consumer does not agree with it we will cancel the job and then the down payment will be kept per our agreement.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:


No one reached out to me yet. Last time I called them to talk about installation in the last wek of December. Since then no body contacted me.

I agree that we need to go with contract and I already stated I will be ready to pay any structural related changes if any to bring conduit inside wall but rest of expenses as I stated in my last response should be bear by company.

Thanks
****

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is based on my belief that the the contract with 1st Light Energy is false. The reason are stated below:On the first day a representative for 1st Light Energy completed and application and ran my credit and I was denied.The following day the same person came to my house and told me that my credit was approved and that i needed to speak with ***** *** loan company to give them a different ID # and to tell them not to run my credit again that everything was taken care of.After thinking about the process I was feeling uncomfortable and that they were not being truthful with me about the application, so I placed a call to ***** *** to cancel my loan and was told that they had already taken $1500 out. I told them that no one had notified me and that I was unaware.After speaking with ***** *** and placed a call to 1st Light Energy and was told that on the contract it states that I had three days to cancel and that I had exceeded those three days.

Desired Settlement: For First Light Energy to pay ***** *** back the $1,500 because they did not notify or have my approval. It does not state anywhere on the contract that I only had three days to cancel.

Business Response: 1st Light Energy will be issuing a full refund of the customers money.  We have contacted the customer and informed him of the refund.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract for solar panels and during the paperwork process (before solar panels were added to my home) I changed my mind. They are charging me $1500 in cancellation fees for their time on paperwork. I think that is insane. I did not see anything about cancellation fees when I signed a contract.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to pay the $1500 cancellation fee. If there is a permit charge I would pay for that but I think $1500 is excessive for paperwork and time.

Business Response: On early March, Mr. & Mrs. ******** signed a contract in the amount of $27,720 for a PV solar system.  The contract contains the following paragraph:  

“If You breach this Agreement, or following discovery of previously undisclosed legal encumbrances or easements on your premises, building/zoning code violations, or hidden/unforeseen physical/hazardous conditions such as the presence of mold, asbestos, lead paint, or any other conditions differing from what You represented, 1st Light Energy Inc. may immediately terminate this Agreement without further obligation to You.  In either event, the Customer agrees to pay 1st Light Energy Inc. the cost of materials, labor and services already provided up to the date/time of termination, plus any other amounts allowed under applicable law.”

1st Light began the extensive process of designing a solar system and obtaining permission from the municipality and the utility to install the system.  This process includes:
1.  Pre-site audit to obtain all necessary information is available to the system designers.
2.  Design a system with all information for installers and for the municipality to approve the permit
3.  Prepare an interconnection application for the utility
5.  Engage an engineer to ensure the structural integrity of the root to hold solar panels
6.  Compile building and electrical permit applications

The customer breached the agreement.  It is unfortunate that the customer had no idea of the extensive preliminary requirement specified by municipalities and utilities.
We realize that the customer is unhappy with the situation and would consider taking less than the $1500 to recoup some portion of the extensive costs that have been incurred by 1st Light. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  1st Light Energy stated in their response, "We realize that the customer is unhappy with the situation and would consider taking less than the $1500 to recoup some portion of the extensive costs that have been incurred by 1st Light."  At this time I am still waiting for **** ******* to send me an invoice of all the services provided with their fees along with the bill. He mentioned over the phone that some of the fees being charged covered things like the sales man that came out to our home and made the sale.  Also, I noticed the processes listed above are numbered incorrectly.  There are only 5 processes listed.  I understand paying them for their time and paperwork/ planning services but I think that $1500 is way excessive.  I have 3 small children and that amount of money would pay for a month's worth of groceries, diapers, and our mortgage payment.  The contract stated we would be liable to pay for all services rendered but if I had known that their fees to plan and process paperwork was so expensive I would not have signed that contract.  I would be willing to pay 1st Light Energy $500 in cancellation fees.

Business Response: Brenda ******** and 1st Light Energy have come to an agreement to settle for the amount of $500 offered previously by the customer. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I have sent a cancellation payment in the amount of $500 to 1st light energy that was received by them today (4/15/14). Thank you.

12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misleading Sales Practices and Falsifying Documents In 2008 I had ****** **** (1st Light Energy CEO) come to my home for a Solar Panel Survey. The meeting ended and we agreed to move forward with a nearly $40,000.00 system via the **** ****** I was told that placing the transaction through the **** ***** would allow me to "finance a portion" of the project in addition to being backed for 10 years with a parts/labor warranty. This year I began having performance issues with my system. When I reached out to them they offered to come out to my home for 90.00/hr. When I asked about the 10 year warranty this was ignored. I then reached out to **** ***** directly which launched a 3 month investigation. To summarize, I am now being told that my solar system was never purchased through the **** ***** as they cannot find any record of the project. Furthermore, their contacts at ** ***** have also verified as much. My correspondence with the contractor has led nowhere, I am simply redirected back to **** ****** The contractor used legitimate **** ***** applications/contracts for the paperwork process which I have sent to them and they still claim as much. Additionally, the contractor had me feel out a **** ***** Credit Card application and proceeded to purchase 9600.00 total at one of the stores. I have asked the contractor to provide me with Sales Orders or Receipts for the transactions and they have ignored me. I have tried reaching out to ****** **** and he has ignored me. **** ***** has reached out to the contractor and ****** **** and they have met the same result. I have tried bringing both the contractor and Home Depot together via e-mail correspondence and the contractor has dodged all attempts at remediation. Furthermore, last year ****** himself tried to sell me a 500.00 meter replacement when I already have the NJ mandated commercial meter required by the clean energy program (installed w/ the contractor and my utility company). At this point I am left at a loss with the warranty coverage and faced with litigation as my only resort should this matter not be resolved.

Desired Settlement: At this point I have no faith in the quality of this system. I wasn't provided with any information on the system itself and at this point don't even know if the system was "New" or "Used". I'd like a refund of the total system cost including the labor. In addition, I'd like the contractor to now honor the 10 year warranty on parts/labor as a result of their misleading information and shady business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
***** **********'s (the "Client") photovoltaic (solar) system was purchased through the **** ***** Solar program, and the solar system was covered under a 10 year Workmanship Warranty. The components of the system are covered under their manufacturers warranty. The solar program partnered **** ****** ** ****** and 3rd party solar installers, in this case 1st Light Energy, to sell and install residential solar systems. The partnership operated under the name UR Solar Power, LLC. The Client contacted 1st Light Energy on July 31, 2013, stating that the production readings on his residential solar system have been consistently lower compared to pasted readings. The Client requested to have a Solar System Check performed on the solar system in question. On August 13, 2013, 1st Light Energy made contact with the Client, at which time the Client verbally confirmed that the solar system was producing +/- 20 kilowatt-hours (kWh) rather than the +/-30 kWh the system had historically produced. 1st Light Energy suggested a Performance System Check to the Client to determine if the system was operating within reason. If the Performance System Check conclusion deemed that the solar system had no workmanship warranty issues, or if the system had been tampered with, the Client was responsible for the time 1st Light Energy spent on the system check, and would be invoiced accordingly at our standard rate of $90.00 per hour. If the Performance System Check concluded that The Client's solar system components were defective, or workmanship issues were detected, the cost of the service check was covered under the solar system workmanship warranty or the manufacturers warranty. 1st Light Energy suggested to the Client that he contact Home Depot, the holder of the contractual agreement, and they could be of better assistance. During this call the Client stated that he was at work and would contact 1st Light Energy the following day. On August 22, 2013, 1st Light Energy attempted to contact the client, and left a message for a return call. On September 03, 2013, 1st Light Energy attempted to contact the client, and left a message for a return call. During the week of September 23, 2013, Home Depot contacted 1st Light Energy regarding this open matter. The Client had contact Home Depot, as 1st Light Energy suggested, and Home Depot was unable to locate the contract for the Client. On October 01, 2013, 1st Light Energy spoke to a representative from **** ***** regarding this matter. An email was submitted to ***** ******** a corporate Home Depot Representative, outlining the details of the solar system agreement with supporting documentation for Home Depot's records. On October 03, 2013, a representative from UR Solar Power contacted 1st Light Energy stating that the Client had a 10 year workmanship warranty for the solar system. 1st Light Energy acknowledged the 10 year workmanship warranty, and reiterated to UR SOLAR Power, LLC that the business relationship between all parties ***** ****** ** ***** ****** and ** ****** dissolved in 2010 and that we, 1st Light Energy would be more than willing to accommodate and repair any workmanship issues that may be effecting the system however the contract is held by **** ****** and the Client is a **** ***** customer, so the first response to open issues need to come from **** ****** UR Solar Power, LLC and 1st Light Energy agreed to this service plan. UR Solar Power, LLC expressed to 1st Light Energy in an email that they will have an alternative service provider work with the Client to resolve the open issue.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It's good to know that 1st Light has kept detailed records of our correspondences. I have done the same. The interesting fact here is that their claims are false. I was only ever given the option of having my "system checked for 90.00/hr". In fact when I was told this was when I decided to contact **** ***** (this was done before 1st Light's "recommendation"), since I already suspected them of shady business practices. Furthermore, "***" was the individual that contacted me on 8/13, 8/22 & 9/3, the later 2 of which had been ignored simply for the fact that I had no interest in paying 90.00/hr for service and was running into brick walls with my inquiries regarding the project. At NO TIME was I informed that my system was under a 10 year workmanship warranty (I knew it was from 2008 when ****** told me it would be), even when I specifically asked such. ****** ****, ignored the e-mail I sent him and according to Home Depot, refused to speak with the representatives that contacted him. Additionally, I asked ******** ****** on several occasions to put me in touch with him over the phone and via e-mail. I am assuming 1st Light's correspondence with ***** ******* was in response to an e-mail I sent to ******** ****** and CCed her. At no point was I informed about anything that could have been said or wasn't said between them. My correspondence with **** ***** has yielded that the contractor was not supportive in their investigation. Furthermore, all correspondence with 1st Light ended after my last e-mail on September 24 asking for receipts and documentation for this transaction. No response and no documentation was ever rendered aside from the ****** ***** Application". Ultimately, I've wasted 3+ months of time and all because 1st Light directly, or indirectly, refused to be supportive and assist me in clarifying the contract stipulations. I suspect this is simply due to their "partnership with **** ******* ending on a sour note. Furthermore, the following statement: "1st Light Energy suggested to the Client that he contact Home Depot, the holder of the contractual agreement, and they could be of better assistance. During this call the Client stated that he was at work and would contact 1st Light Energy the following day." is wholly inaccurate as I was not told to contact Home Depot until very much later in the process. Had that been the case, *** would not have contacted me on 8/22 and 9/3 to proceed with next steps, since again, "the partnership was no longer in effect, therefore 1st Light would have no role in performing any services on the system". In fact the only "warranty" ever discussed was the 25 year performance warranty on the panels themselves, which ******** ****** had received a claim form from BP for. Again, this wouldn't have covered labor/service and of course I wouldn't have been re-reimbursed since 1st Light is no longer authorized to work with **** ****** I was just told that "we have to come to your house to check and make sure there is an issue". But again, it was offered at 90.00/hr. At the end of the day, I was informed by **** ***** 2 days ago that they have located all of my information. I will be dealing with them separately. Having said that, my complaint with 1st Light remains unchanged. It seems they knew from the start that the contract issue lay with Home Depot and deliberately chose NOT TO assist in closing this matter. At the end of the day I don't care what did or didn't happen to dissolve their partnership. It's not my issue. Most definitely not when you're spending nearly $40,000. Furthermore it upsets me that ****** **** and/or his lawyer has the audacity to respond to this complaint and include false information. But at this point, I wouldn't expect any less of him. Furthermore I will be validating his claims of correspondence with **** ***** as that should be useful in dealing with them as well.

Final Business Response
As per 1st Light Energy's original response, **** ***** is working to identify any issue(s) that may be associated with ***** ** ********** residential solar system. 1st Light Energy will continue to provide any information to **** ***** that is necessary and useful to identify these issue(s). As of November 08, 2013, **** ***** was requesting copies of archived documentation from 1st Light Energy that support the installation of the residential solar system in question. It is 1st Light Energy's process and procedure to document client issues in detail for case evaluation. 1st Light Energy's responses to the complaint were detailed documentations of the case from the 1st Light Energy staff that have had an active role in processing the case. Again, 1st Light Energy will continue to provide any information necessary to **** ***** in hopes of identifying and resolving the issue(s) with Mr. ** ********** residential solar system.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called several times to have the installation of my solar panels completed. I would told I would get a call back. It never happen. I had solar panels installed on my roof around Aug. 6. Electrican came out the following week to connect panels to elect. service. He could not finish job, had to have roofers come back to do addition work. Elect. said he would come back Friday or next Tues. Never showed up. I have called Aug. 12,16,19,20. I was told I would be called back that afternoon, never happen. Aug. 20 I was put on hold to transfer to voice mail.

Desired Settlement: I want the panels connected to my elect. service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@1stlightenergy.com The open items were addressed and completed by August 22, 2013. The local inspection for the work that was completed by 1st Light Energy was inspected and passed on September 10, 2013. Permission to operate the system was requested to the utility company on September 13, 2013. After permission is granted by the utility company, the solar system installed at Mr. ****'s residence will be turned on. We will continue to contact Mr. **** as he meets the final milestones of his installation.

12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had problems with 1rst light energy since i first had solar panels installed last year,it took them close 7months to get the solar panels powerd ,they do not comunication with each other in the company or with cutomers, they would delay project by not showing when they would make appointments, i would call and ask whats going on with the work process i would find out the person who made scheduling had left,this happen often with them,to the point that delayed state and federal inspections, I lost the peak time during last summer to create kwh from the sun,I complaints and i was ignored i just let it go,until this year this past month i notice no savings on my electric bill so i called to 1st light energy to ask them why they would you must have old appliances pulling to much power. told them is not that there is a problem after calling at least 20times they finaly listend and found out that there monitering did not detect that most of the panels were not working since may,of 2012 , I to a manager of 1st light energy **** ****** he found out it was neglect on there side part because they did not catch the problem earlier that i lost 1,600 kwh from the solar panels being down that they would fix the problem and reinburst the money that i lost in my loan that i have with my electric company and on my monthly electric bill, After 4 times having workers coming to my home they either come without a ladder, or enough workers or miscuminacation between themselfs After a month i finaly got the problem fixed I call to talk about the reinbustment I spoke to the manager **** ****** he told we do not owe you anything you are to be glad that we did not charge a service fee. This is plain and simple customer neglect and abuse for not monitering the system and notiffing me when there was a problem ,like they promised to do in the begining and take responsibility to pay back what I lost

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want to be refunded 1,600 kwh in cash equals to 695.000

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Exec. Asst. Contact Phone: (209) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@1stlightenergy.com In response to Mr. ****** R. ******'s Case Description, 1st Light Energy would like to state the following: Mr. ****** R. ******'s final contract was signed on July 8, 2011, and the installation of his photovoltaic (PV) system was installed by July 11, 2011. The PV system in question passed building inspection on July 25, 2011, passed the electrical inspection on August 15, 2012, and passed the state inspection on October 6, 2011. 1st Light Energy agrees that seven months of time had passed from the time that the preliminary contact was signed for Mr. ****** R. ******'s PV system to when the PV system was installed. Mr. ****** R. ******'s preliminary contract was drafted in December 2010. In May 2011, 1st Light Energy had performed all initial tasks needed for the installation of his PV system. At this same time, 1st Light Energy contacted Mr. ****** R. ****** via email to communicate that the second half of his PV system loan had expired, and asked him to call his lending institution to reapply for the expired portion of the loan, giving him all the information needed to complete the task. On June 17, 2012, 1st Light Energy received notice from the lending institution that the expired portion was reactivated, and that Mr. ****** R. ****** needed to sign the authorization form needed to process the reactivated portion of the loan. 1st Light Energy was able to proceed with Mr. ****** R. ******'s installation after these items were addressed. 1st Light Energy agrees that Mr. ****** R. ******'s system had not been working properly since May 2012, and that there were several occasions when employees from our company needed to go to Mr. ****** R. ******'s residence to detect the specific issue with his PV system. During these visits, it was determined that Mr. ****** R. ******'s PV system was not operating at capacity because PV wires had been chewed through by small wild animals in the area, which we suspected were squirrels. 1st Light Energy repaired and replaced the wires damaged to the PV system at no cost to Mr. ****** R. ******. In addition, Service Manager, **** ****** also had wire guards installed to help prevent additional damage by small wild animals at no cost to Mr. ****** R. ******. The loss of production to the PV system was due to natural occurrences at the ****** Residence, and not to poor installation of the PV system by our company, and therefor 1st Light Energy, Inc. ****** not be settling this matter with Mr. ****** R. ******'s desired resolution. Lastly, 1st Light Energy would like to recognize that this Better Business Bureau complaint was filed with the wrong company. The complaint was filed against 1st Light Energy Conservation, Inc., our lighting retrofit sister company. The complaint should have been filed against 1st Light Energy, Inc.