Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of R.A.L. Builders, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R.A.L. Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R.A.L. Builders, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on R.A.L. Builders, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 10, 1993 Business started: 08/01/1993 in CA Business started locally: 08/01/1993 Business incorporated: 08/02/1993 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 677466.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Phil Raynal, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phil Raynal, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Awnings & Canopies

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 500 Giuseppe Ct Ste 1

    Roseville, CA 95678

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 893-8600(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our sunroom was suppose to be installed in June, it didn't happen. Left a message in the office, no return call. Talked to owner, no return call. We entered into contract with R.A.L. Builders on 4/6/13 to build a sunroom and provided a $1,000 deposit. The owner & salesperson measured on 5 different occasions with an understanding the installation would start the first week in June after we retired on 5/31/13. I received a bill for $6,396 for material order, which was due on 6/21/13. I paid it immediately. Since I didn't hear from the builder I left a message on 6/28/13 and requested a date for installation, I never received a return call. I contacted the salesperson on 6/29/13 and asked when the room would be installed, his response was "that's a good question". He also mentioned that he pulled the building permit two weeks ago. I contacted the City of Auburn Building department on 7/2/13 and check if the permit was pulled. As of 7/2/13, the permit had not been pulled. I contacted the owner on 7/1/13 about installation date and he said he would return my call after 9:00 am on 7/1/13. I still have not received a return call. I left another message on 7/2/13. The salesperson has not returned our house building plans which are valued at $10K.

Desired Settlement: I expect our sunroom to be installed immediately, or return our funds in the amount of $7,396.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This particular project required site specific engineering, special ordering and a highly skilled crew to install it. The project consists of enclosing a 2nd story deck with a custom glass wall system. Keeping that in mind, below is the timeline of events: XX-XX-XXXX Contract is signed. Contract states that substantial commencement of work is defined as permit approval and will begin approximately on May 25, 2013 and no later than June 15, 2013 with additional time to be allowed as defined in paragraph 17 of the terms and conditions. Paragraph 17 allows for extra time to allow for material procurement. The uniqueness of this project falls under paragraph 17 in that the material had to be special ordered after the site specific engineering was completed and the permit could be obtained. 05-09-2013 Customer is contacted for a pre-construction conference in order to take measurements required for the site specific engineering.Customer informs us that we cannot access the property until after May 30, 2013. 6-04-2013 Permit was issued by the City of Auburn on June 04, 2013 Permit #XXXXXXXX. The permit is on the job site and the owner can verify the issue date. date of permit issuance falls within dates specified. 6-5-2013 Upon permit issuance the drawings and site specific engineering are sent to the manufacturer for a material layout. 6-7-2013 The material layout is received by R.A.L. Builders with questions regarding specific dimensions. These questions can only be answered by physically taking measurements at the job site. Once the measurements are obtained they are sent to the manufacturer at the job site. Once the measurements are obtained they are sent to the manufacturer for a revised material layout. This process is done a few times over an (8) business day period. This is a normal procedure for a special project such as this. 6-17-2013 R.A.L. Builders is notified by their lead installer Jose that his mother is seriously ill and he must leave the country the following week to take care of her during her final days. This leaves R.A.L. Builders without the installer needed for this particular project. 6-19-2013 Final material layout is approved and the manufacturer begins production. 6-24-2013 R.A.L. Builders Inc. has secured the services of another qualified installer for the project. 6-25-2013 **** ******, owner of R.A.L. Builders is informed of his father in laws passing and subsequently leaves on June 27, 2013 with his family to be with his in-laws. Funeral services are scheduled for July 02, 2013. **** is notified that material will be ready. **** states that he does not want installation to begin until he returns and can be onsite with the new installer because of the uniqueness and difficulty of the project. The installer is notified of ****'s whereabouts and kindly agrees to rearrange his schedule to accommodate building the project the week of July 08 in order for **** to be onsite. X-XX-XXXX The customer contacts *** ********* the sales representative and would like to now what the status of her project is. He informs her that the permit was issued on June 04, 2013. He cannot answer her with regards to the installation schedule because that is not his position within the company. He informs her that he will leave a message with ****. As a note, *** ******** is in another state on vacation at the time he is contacted by the owner. 7-03-2013 **** ****** returns form the services for his father in law. It is during this week that the owner contacts **** for a status on her project. Making no excuses he apologizes to the customer for the lack of communication the past week and assures her that the project will begin the following week. 7-11-2013 Installation of the project begins. It is R.A.L. builders Inc. position that the project took its proper course from contract signing up to installation starting. R.A.L. Builders Inc. acknowledges the lack of communication during the time in which **** ****** was away due to personal loss and hopes that the customer understands and is compassionate to the circumstances. At this time we are still in the process of completing the project. There are specific pieces of glass that require exact measurements that could only be obtained, ordered and made after the room itself was built. The customer is aware of the process. R.A.L. Builders Inc. firmly believes that the customer will be completely satisfied with her project upon its completion.

Consumer's Final Response
R.A.L. Builders completed our room and we are happy with the results. The complaint was issued prior to our knowledge of unfortunate events that the owner was dealing with. The communication during installation was excellent. I would like to withdraw our complaint to enable R.A.L. Builders to have a clean record with the Better Business Bureau.