BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Quality Construction by VM

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 370-7410 Fax: (916) 861-0561 View Additional Phone Numbers 3333 Sunrise Blvd Ste C, Rancho Cordova, CA 95742 http://www.qualitybyvm.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quality Construction by VM meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quality Construction by VM include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Construction by VM
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 15, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2007 Business started locally: 05/01/2007 Business incorporated: 07/08/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Vadim Zyubanov, President Mr. Jay Agayev, General Manager Ms. Milda Ragenaite, Office Manager Mr. John Wu, Project Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vadim Zyubanov, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Floors - Laminate Remodeling Services Countertops Floors - Hardwood

Products & Services

Quality Construction by VM provides full residential home service.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3120 Santa Rita Rd Ste B

    Pleasanton, CA 94566 (800) 370-7410

  • 3333 Sunrise Blvd Ste C

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95742 (916) 861-0561 (916) 296-5653

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 296-5653(Phone)
  • (916) 861-0561(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not honor contract for installation of kitchen door and patio retaining wall as promised. Contacted *** at Quality Construction by VM and planned meeting in June 2013. Did not show up twice, offered to do free patio door install and fill dirt on patio retaining wall to make up for not showing up. Assessed construction needs and made quote for kitchen remodel which included back splash tile, painting entire room, replacement of lighting and install of LED lights and kitchen door replacement. Construction started in 6/18/13. Tile, lighting and painting were completed on schedule as promised. Was told that door was to be ordered by the company - gave them paperwork required for ordering. Door not ordered. Contacted ***, he said that he would order through another vendor - fell through. Was to order through ****** *** seemed confused as to the need for measuring the door for pre-drilling of the handle, hinges, etc as I had previously mentioned. Arrived to take measurements and told me he would order the door that day. He informed my mother that due to all of the inconvenience and stalling of the project he would pay for the door. Door would be in in 2 weeks time approximately. After 2 weeks: contacted *** - told me that he called ***** and there was a problem locating the door - that he had made the order and it was not submitted and gave me a cost and an approximate 10 day projected time before it could arrive even though it was to be done at no cost. This is current as of 9/28/13. Additionally, a few days into the project he informed us that a bigger project in SF had come up and he would not be able to do the retaining wall portion of the project. He offered that he could give us names of others who might do the job instead. We were rather unhappy with the situation since we agreed to use his company for the convenience of getting everything done at once. The companies that he suggested either did not speak fluent english or did not provide an estimate and passed on the job. At this point, I have found another company to provide the retaining wall. I still do not have a patio door as promised. It has been a fiasco trying to get him to order this door (it has to be made since it is a dog door) and have it installed. I will be on a trip for 14 days out of the country and the door was essential for my pets while I am away to allow them to come and go while my partner is at work. The balance for my project has been fully paid minus the previously projected cost for the backyard wall.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have *** and Quality Construction by VM order my door through ***** and have the team at ***** install the door all at Quality Constructions cost due to this never ending string of unfinished business and run around which has cost me time and caused me and my family stress.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
This took a bad turn so quickly. If we knew that our customer was this upset the minute we said we would like to drop the back yard work, I would not have left my client un happy. It turned out later that ******* wasn't happy at all, thats when I realized I should have continued work. Our company has good quality product and service, we don't wan't to leave any one unhappy!! we would like to keep our customers happy, and we are willing to buy the door install the door paint the door all at our cost, under the condition that we would be able to clear reviews on bbb, facebook, angieslist, yelp. By canceling the back yard work we thought it wasnt big deal, since we done work before for ***** (mother) and I spoke to ***** about giving her the number of landscaping guys and that she would be able to save few hundred dollars, she agreed and I thought that was it. We now know that that won't happen to us again. We would like to settle this and we ordered the door! once it comes in we will be able to install and put this behind us. And hoping that we would stay in good relationship with ********. They are a good family and unfortunately this happened.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kitchen remodel not completed. They have not come for a month to finish work / provide missing elements. The last email promised to finish March 11. Kitchen remodel started January 24, 2013. There were problems with communication and workers not coming according to the schedule. Manager/Owner, ****** said he needed a final inspection from the city and the glass door was wrong. He emailed me that the corrected glass would be brought March 11, the cupboard that doesn't close would be adjusted, the missing inserts brought and the construction garbage would be removed from the garage. No one came on March 11 and no work was done. No one has come since February 19. I have received no communication since March 9. I want the job finished and my keys and sales receipt.

Desired Settlement: I want them to finish the job and I want to be done with this frustrating experience! Hopefully before March is over. ****** initially told me they would be done by February.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Here is the timeline and attachments of the remodel. As you can see there were no issues with miscommunication on our part. I will get a letter from ****** stating that there are no issues and everything was done and completed. The kitchen remodel started on Jan 24 and completed on Feb 13. ****** started moving into the kitchen and making a punch list for us. On Feb 17 ****** ordered extra shelves (email attached) On Feb 23 ****** sent 3 items for punch list (email attached) On Mar 4 ****** sent final punch list (email attached) On Mar 5 we placed an order with our Rev A Shelf distributor for Insert for deep drawers and tray divider for fridge cabinet On Mar 22 everything arrived and I emailed ****** on Mar 24 midnight that everything arrived and we can be there on Tuesday if she is OK with it (email attached) On Mar 25 you contacted us about the complaint On Mar 26 when we talked over the phone we were already working at ******'s house and completed the punch list There were additional communication in between those dates where we brought in glass for the door and manufacturer cut it incorrectly. We also stopped by her neighbor and did some work there as well. If you have any additional questions please let me know. I will ask ****** to contact you to confirm that everything was completed.

Consumer's Final Response
The complaint was resolved in that the majority of unfinished items were completed on March 26, after filing the complaint. However, in response to the manager's response that the kitchen was completed and ready on 2/13, I disagree. Components that determine how the cupboards and drawers are used were missing for over a month. These were in the original contract signed in November. I was left in limbo for much too long! It was hard to clean and paint and move in when their work was not done, they did not come when they said they would and did not communicate what the delay was and when it would be resolved. I am thankful that it is almost over-when my keys are returned and I receive the clips for the additional shelves.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kitchen remodel incomplete. Started Nov. 2011 and was only supposed to take several days. Final inspection still not complete. Since the job started in Nov. 2011, there have been days when work was scheduled and no one showed. Basically no communication from ****** the general contractor. After the work was finally complete (?) there was problems with the final inspections. Items that needed to be resolved were not. Now they are out of time and have to buy more. I called the city and they said it had expired. ****** told me Josh had called the city and they said it had been finalized. I called the city the next day and they said only plumbing had passesd still needed electrical and mechanical final inspection. Corrogated vent ducting in my range hood needs to be replaced to smooth. They were told this before and it was not done.

Desired Settlement: I want the job completed which includes fixing my spice drawer that they messed up notching out a space for a flex pipe cover in the back of the cabinet. The final inpection alos needs to be completed

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
RE: ****** ******, San Jose We remodeled kitchen for Mr. ****** on time. When we tried passing final inspection, the inspector came over and said that panel has incorrect breakers installed by somebody in the past. I told Mr. ****** that I will have 3rd party electrician stop by and change those breakers and bring panel up to code -- No charge, even though we do not have this work listed in the agreement. The electrician's schedule was booked up, he finally scheduled and never arrived and didn't call right number for the client. Customer got disappointed and called BBB. Electrician called few days later, rescheduled, stopped by and replaced breakers and we passed the inspection. Month and a half later after completion BBB called. If you have any questions please contact me directly. Thank you, ****** *****

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There were a few issues that were not the fault of the contract. But there were some issues that were. I only have issue with the issues that were under their control. I am not trying to be unreasonable or bad mouth the contractor. Just saying that when a customer does not hear from a contractor for such a long period that he feels the job has been abandoned, they are going to complain. I have finally received my spice rack (nice job I might add) just this past Saturday. Late but appreciated. I just expect people to keep to their schedules and show up when they say they are. And if they can't at least inform me of this. It will eliminate some problems and misunderstanding. Thank you BBB for your following up with this complaint. My issue has been resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.