Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

GTL Construction Inc.

Phone: (916) 821-5046 1131 West Sunset Blvd Suite B, Rocklin, CA 95765 http://www.4gtlconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GTL Construction Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GTL Construction Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on GTL Construction Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 08, 2008 Business started: 03/27/2008 Business started locally: 03/27/2008 Business incorporated 02/04/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00948376.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00913106. On 12/2/2014 BBB confirmed that the license from Contractor's State License Board expired.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gordon Lewis, Owner Ms. Alicia Lewis, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Alicia Lewis, Director of Operations
Principal: Mr. Gordon Lewis, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Painting Contractors Doors Moldings

Products & Services

GTL Construction offers residential and commercial painting services for the interior and exterior of your building. GTL Construction also provides Crown Moulding and Door Services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 1131 West Sunset Blvd Suite B

    Rocklin, CA 95765 (916) 821-5046

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To complete a two foot length of 7" baseboard, GTL used two pieces; one was 3.5 inch and the other approximately 20. Since this was covered with paint, I did not notice until recently when the two pieces separated. When I asked that GTL address it, they refused saying I should hire a painter to come patch it. This was an expensive custom job throughout my house. Good craftsmen would not have used two pieces for such a small section around a curved wall. The pieces were bound to separate over a short time. I would have expected GTL to stand behind their work - they did not!

Desired Settlement: I would have liked for GTL to replace the section with a proper full length piece. They would not even come to fill and paint it, let alone replace it.

Business Response:

In our opinion, this complaint was made because of not wanting to do a simple touch up
 
After 4 years ( which is when the job was done) it is possible to get cracks in joints of baseboard.
It is is just part of owning a home and many deal with this issue as the house moves and/or shifts.
One small crack in a seam  ( in an entire house of baseboard that we installed) is not a big deal. There was no problem of where the splice was made
and you are only noticing it 4 years later due to a minor crack in a joint.
 
The fix is simple. A little five minute touch up.  You had asked us to replace the entire piece of baseboard.
There was no need. 
 
As much as we try to please every client, and because of this are top rated 7 years in a row on Angie's List, we had to draw the line on this one.
However, we don't like that you are unhappy. I would be more than happy to send someone to touch up this splice if you would like.
 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:  Why did I have to file a complaint to get GTL's attention.  As shown by the picture, this was a short length of baseboard which should never have been installed in two sections to begin with.  A good craftsman would never have used two pieces for a section that short.  I believe people have the right to know, the quality they are going to get.  It would have been appropriate to replace the section; yet GTL was not even willing to repair the section with a touch-up.  In an email on March 28th, I said:

"I will leave defer to ***** on how it is fixed.  Will he be coming by to fix it? 

In response, GTL flippantly responded as follows:

"***** told me that it has been 4 years and is a normal touch up job that can be fixed by hiring a painter.  Should be an easy fix!"

I followed up with a phone call and was told I need to hire someone myself.  That is not good business.