Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Efficient Energy Solutions, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Efficient Energy Solutions, Inc.

Phone: (800) 858-9013 Fax: (866) 980-7030 4153 Northgate Blvd. Suite # 6, Sacramento, CA 95834 View Additional Email Addresses http://eesolutionsinc.net/ View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Efficient Energy Solutions, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Efficient Energy Solutions, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Efficient Energy Solutions, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1978 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated: 11/10/2011 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 365598.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Hill, RMO Ms. Jessica Gonzales, Manager Mr. Tim Kwan, CEO/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Hill, RMO
Business Category

Contractors - General Contractor - Electrical Electricians Glaziers Home Improvements Contractor - Insulation Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Weatherization Remodeling Services Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Insulation Materials - Electric Screens - Door & Window Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Windows - Vinyl Energy Conservation Products & Services Insulation Contractors Equipment & Supplies Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy

Service Area
We proudly serve our local clients throughout Northern California.
Products & Services

Efficient Energy Solutions, Inc. is a well-established licensed and bonded home improvement company. We are currently providing heating, air-conditioning, windows, roofing, and insulation replacement. We have been servicing the greater Northern California area since 1978.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 4153 Northgate Blvd. Suite # 6

    Sacramento, CA 95834

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Efficient Energy Solutions has been to my house 6 + visits (H/AC) - job is not complete! Poor, incomplete, sloppy workmanship in many areas of this job. A heating air conditioner was installed with many incomplete procedures. (Example - Air conditioning/heating ducts in garage have been wrapped on 3 different dates - All 3 have come apart - due to wrong materials, no straps and not sealed, etc.) The last final inspection FAILED and inspector wrote 10 + items not completed, not done properly no smoke alarms, no co alarm etc, etc, etc I received ?? A letter from this company indicating HVAC corrections were done - they have not been to my house since it failed county inspection. How could the work be completed?

Desired Settlement: I do not want any dealings with this poor company. I want my $1,000 deposit returned and H/AC unit returned to them.

Business Response:

All of the customers complaints are unfounded. Homeowner purchased a Heating and Air system along with Blown in Attic Insulation on 2-19-2014. We installed a new roof package unit on her roof (furnace and air conditioning) on 4-24-14. The Sacramento City Building permit was issued 2-26-2014. Pursuant to State Building Code after the installation a third party (independent) duct test must be done. Her duct test failed. At that point the homeowner became very upset. I explain to her that we sealed the ducts the best we could before the duct test was administered. I informed her at that time that new ducts would run approximately $200.00 per duct run. She continued to be upset so I told the homeowner we would install all new ducts for free. The home owner agreed.

The hurdle was she was getting her floors done and would not let us come back and re do the duct work or install the blown in attic installation. We called many times to finish the job. Homeowner was either having other work (painting) on the house being done or busy at work and did not have time for us to finish the work. Finally in early August Homeowner allowed us to install new ducts and do the Attic Insulation. Once the new ducts were installed we called for a re test for the ducts. This time the duct test passed. At that point we called for a final inspection from the building department.

The inspector wrote up 10 items that needed to be done. Items 1 & 2 referred to smoke alarms in the bedrooms and hallway. Smoke alarms are the homeowners responsibility but, I was willing to install them for the homeowner at no charge but, I could not get to the house in time to install them before the inspection. We have them and homeowner needs 4 total. They take 10 minutes each to install. Items 3 thru 6 have to do with small items at the unit on the roof. We did those corrections the next day. Item 7 provide insulation certificate. The certificate was not present at inspection and we have it now ready for the inspector.

Item 8 install breaker label. We have it and ready to install it. It will take 5 minutes or less to label. Item 9 & 10 has to do with a insulation wrap on a existing metal duct in the garage that we did as a accommodation to the homeowner. It had nothing to do with our installation. The tape came loose and we need to re tape it. Inspector ask us to seal the seal at the wall also. This work will take no more than 30 minutes to do. We are willing and able to complete the work at any time. The permit will expire on 2-25-2015. We have all the items for the correction notice ready to finish. The Homeowner has promise many times to let us finish but, each time something new comes up. We have all the records phone messages, reports, permits and certificates for anyone to review or inspect at anytime.

Consumer Response:

Final Inspection Work - Your letter dated 1-21-15 stated the HVAC corrections have been made. You have not come to my house to do any work since this inspection was made. How can all of this work completed in 1 hour? 

Based on final inspection the following items need to be completed

1- Install smoke alarms in hall and all bedrooms

2 - Install co alarm in hall

3 - Block and strap condensate drain 48"

4 - Re-configure gas line drip leg - gas and change floor direction of top of drip leg, put flow across it

5 - Protect exposed stat wire on roof

6 - Seal gas line penetration through roof jack

7 - Provide insulation certificate

8 - Label A.C. breaker in main panel and install handle tie on breaker if needed

9 - Securely wrap insulation on all garage duct work

10 - Seal fire wall penetration at duct

 

I have enclosed a picture of current ducts in garage again failing apart after 3 wraps done by your company. Also a picture of unit on my roof showing I have been told the

2) dents are touching the coils/condenser panel. This new product should not have dents!!

3) Corrosion on line - should have been painted - especially since worked asked me to buy paint at Home Depot on day of installation.

 

At this point, I no longer have confidence in the company to complete the work and do not want the company back out here to do the work. I have found another company that I am going with and will want to be reimbursed for the work that was failed to be completed. 

Secondly, I am requesting to have the Insulation Certification faxed to be today at # ###-###-####.

 

Business Response: I CANNOT FIX ANYTHING IF  THE HOME OWNER WILL NOT LET US COME BACK.  THE DUCT IN THE GARAGE WAS JUST A WRAP THAT WE DID AS A ACCOMMODATION .  THE TAPE FAILED AND WE ARE
PREPARED TO REPAIR/REPLACE IT.  THIS IS A RETRO FIT/REPLACEMENT JOB.  THERE COULD BE SOME PRE EXISTING ITEMS THAT WE WILL BE MORE THAN HAPPY TO ADDRESS AND FIX.
BOTTOM LINE IS THAT I HAVE A BUILDING PERMIT WITH A CORRECTION NOTICE THAT NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED AND SIGNED OFF BY THE BUILDING DEPARTMENT.
WE HAVE BEEN TRYING FOR A YEAR TO COMPLETE THE JOB.  THE HOMEOWNER HAS PUT US OFF LONG ENOUGH. I CANNOT  MAKE OUT THE PICTURES THAT WERE SENT BUT,  WE ARE WILLING TO
ADDRESS EACH ITEM ONE BY ONE.  OF COURSE IF THERE ARE ADDTIONAL ITEMS NOT ON THE CORRECTION NOTICE THAT SHE WOULD LIKE US TO ADDRESS IT WILL TAKE MORE THAN A HOUR TO FIX.
I CANNOT DO ANYTHING UNTIL I CAN REVIEW IN PERSON THE EXTRA ISSUES.
WE HAVE A SIGNED CONTRACT AND OUR INTENTION IS TO COMPLETE WORK AND GET PAID.  THE HOMEOWNER HAS ONLY GAVE US A SMALL DEPOSIT.  THE HOMEOWNER GAVE US A PROGRESS PAYMENT
OF $5000.00 AND SIGN A COMPLETION STATEMENT AFTER THE HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING WAS INSTALLED AND BEFORE WE DID THE ATTIC INSULATION.  BECAUSE THE DUCT TEST FAILED
BECAUSE OF HOW BAD THE DUCTS WERE WE GLADLY GAVE HER BACK HER $5000.00 PROGRESS PAYMENT.  WE RE INSTALLED NEW DUCTS AND THEN COMPLETED THE ATTIC INSTALLION.
WE CALLED FOR A FINAL INSPECTION AND ONCE THE CORRECTION NOTICE WAS ISSUED BY THE BUILDING DEPARTMENT THE HOMEOWNER HAS NOT LET US FINISH OUR WORK.  WE HAVE TO
HAVE A FINAL FOR THE PERMIT.  IT IS THE LAW.  EXAMPLE,  I GOT A CALL FROM HOMEOWNER ON 2-4-15 TO LET ME KNOW SHE WOULD BE IN SACRAMENTO BETWEEN 2-12 AND 2-17-15 SO THAT WE COULD FINISH THE JOB.  SHE WOULD LET ME KNOW WHICH DAY WOULD BE BEST FOR HER ON ANY OF THOSE DAYS.  I SAID GREAT WE WILL BE AVAIL. ANYDAY.  I DID NOT HEAR FROM HOMEOWNER SO I CALL HER ON FRIDAY 2-13-15.  SHE TOLD ME SHE WAS IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA AND SHE WOULD CHECK WITH HER SON IN LAW AND SEE IF HE WOULD BE ABLE TO LET US IN THE HOUSE TO FINISH THE WORK AND SHE WOULD GET BACK TO US.  SHE NEVER CALLED BACK.  NOW TODAY 2-18-15 HOMEOWNER CALLED MID MORNING AND DEMANDED I FAX A COPY OF THE INSULATION CERT TO HER RIGHT AWAY. I HAD THE FILE WITH ME IN MY TRUCK BECAUSE I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION THAT WE WOULD BE ABLE TO FINISH THE JOB AT THE END OF LAST WEEK OR BEGINNING OF THIS WEEK.  SINCE I HAD THE FILE AND WAS ON A JOB IN THE BAY AREA I COULD NOT FAX RIGHT AWAY.  I STOPPED WHAT I WAS DOING AND GOT THE INSULATION CERT FAXED TO HER ABOUT A HOUR LATER.
I TOLD THE HOMEOWNER THAT ALL OF THIS IS SILLY AND PLEASE JUST LET US FINISH OUR WORK AND GET THE BUILDING FINAL.  WE ARE READY AND ABLE TO FIX, REPAIR AND REPLACE ANYTHING THAT NEEDS TO BE DONE EVEN IF IT IS NOT RELATED TO OUR SCOPE OF WORK..ell us why here...

9/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told by **** ********* that I had to decide today to the get the money from some unnamed source due to being low income. Pressures you for an immediate decision: A reputable professional ****** recognize that you need time to consider many factors when deciding which contractor to hire. You ****** want to check references; look into the contractor's standard of work and his professional designations and affiliations; verify his insurance; check to see if he needs a license (and if so, that it is valid); get written estimates from several firms based on identical project specifications, and, contact the Better Business Bureau and local consumer protection agency to see if they have information.

Desired Settlement: Change your sales practices. I was given no written quote.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@aol.com Our policy is to give the customers all the facts and pricing and then let them decide when and who to sign a contract with. We always leave a written estimate when possible. I have very little information to go on. The estimator ****** ********* has never had a complain of this nature. I ****** write ****** ****** and apologize for any sress that our company may have caused her. If I find that our estimator needs more training we ****** bring him in and review our policies with him. Sincerely ****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response does not fully address the complaint. No investigation into the unscrupulous sales practices.

Business' Final Response
Again I do not have enough information to respond to ****** ******'s complaint. We do not have a unnamed source for low income. The financing we have is thru Enerbank, Umpqua Bank and a FHA title 1 thru Admirals Bank. ****** ****** has always been a polite, competent field inspector. I ****** forward a copy of the letter I wrote ****** ****** stating that I would be glad to come to her house myself and re-evaluate anything I can do for her. She indicated that she would be interested in a electric heater. Thank You ****** ******