BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Bertini Mechanical

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 795-2935 Fax: (209) 795-0219 PO Box 310, Avery, CA 95224 http://www.pauldbertini.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bertini Mechanical meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bertini Mechanical include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bertini Mechanical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 07, 2000 Business started: 07/22/1992 in CA Business started locally: 07/22/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Paul Bertini, Owner Debbie Bertini, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Bertini, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Alternate Business Names
P & D Builders, Inc. Paul D Bertini Plumbing & Heating
Products & Services

Paul D. Bertini provides plumbing, heating and construction service.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 18 Sheep Ranch Rd.

    Avery, CA 95224

  • PO Box 310

    Avery, CA 95224 (209) 795-2935

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paul Bertini never came back to install the service disconnect and 2 fuses needed(and promised)to complete the job. On 7-16-11, we hired Paul Bertini to install 2 air conditioning units that we bought to replace stolen ones. His employee, Karl, showed up to do the job. He looked at the area that the a/c units were going to be installed in and said that there was a problem because he only had one disconnect in the truck (and he didn't have the fuses either). I asked him if he could get what he was missing from a local hardware store - but he said they probably wouldn't have the right kind. He suggested bypassing the disconnects, but we told him we didn't want it hooked up that way. We wanted it done how it was originally intended to be setup with what was there before - and we didn't want a lesser job done because he forgot to bring it with him. He said he would call Paul about it - which we figured he had done because he told us that he would come back to install the disconnect/fuses when he was in the area (their office location is about 45 minutes or so away). He wrote down what he had promised us on Invoice #3197 "Need to install (1) - 60 amp disconnect & (2)50 amp fuses to complete job" and in good faith paid him the full price of the invoice (which we will NEVER do again if a job is not completely finished)I foolishly thought I could trust Paul because of the long, friendly conversation I had with him prior to hiring him. Paul called my husband's cell phone on 7-25-11 and said that he wanted to wait until next year when they come out to do a service to install the disconnect/fuses. He didn't want to make a special trip out to do it. I called him back the same day to let him know this was completely unacceptable (not only were we promised that they would come back and finish the job..when they were in the area..but there is no way that we would hire him to do a service when he wouldn't even finish this job as promised!) I didn't hear from him for a couple of weeks, so I e-mailed him on 8-7-11. Apparently he had sent a letter on 7-27-11 to our residence (which came back since we didn't have a PO Box yet)He had said in the letter that he overlooked the missing disconnects when he came to look at the job, and that he wanted to charge us $175 if we want him to return to install the missing disconnect(this infuriated me when I read it since we had already been promised that they would come back and complete the job - and the disconnects are right in front of you when you're looking at the units. Karl noticed that they weren't there right away)On 8/11/11, Paul responded to my e-mail, stating that he would "be glad to put in the second disconnect at no charge when I am in the area.If you want me to make a special trip to do this I will at a cost of $175. I think that you are overly concerned about this and should hang in there until I am in the area." I responded back on 8-11-11, letting him know that (as I stated all along) we were OK with them coming back when they were in the area - but it needed to be within a reasonable time frame (we didn't want to leave it open ended as to when he was supposed to come back - he had initially talked about coming back in a year - we wanted it to be taken care of within 3 months from the time that the units were installed). I asked him if he would be able to take care of it within what we thought was a reasonable timeframe. I never got a response so I wrote another e-mail on 9-23-11 - letting him know how disappointed I was. I asked him again to contact me to setup a reasonable timeframe. He never responded and I haven't heard from him since. Apparently my being "overly-concerned"(as he put it) about this was definitely justified, being that it's now been almost a year(I ended up waiting much longer than I originally planned before writing a complaint - both because of pressing,personal family issues that have occurred within the last year, and because I wanted to see if he'd actually make good on his promise. He (as I originally thought) obviously had no intention of coming back to finish the job.

Desired Settlement: We feel that we have given him more than enough time to come back to complete the job. He has broken the promises that were made and we do not trust his word, or that he would even do a good job with installing the missing disconnect and fuses (since he obviously didn't want to come back to install them to begin with). Therefore we don't want him to come back to the house now. We want to get a refund ($175 is what he said he was looking to charge) for the work that was not finished, so that we can have someone else do it.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The disconnects were never figured into the cost of the installation of the air conditioners. I assumed that they were already there for the air conditioners that were stolen. My workman ****** made an offer that was not his to make. The customer took my bid because it was the lowest bid. $175.00 is a reasonable price for the disconnects, however, she did not want to pay for them. Now she wants me to pay her for them?

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This company is trying to get out of a WRITTEN agreement. I have it IN WRITING that they were going to "NEED TO INSTALL 1-60 AMP DISCONNECT & (2) 50 AMP FUSES TO COMPLETE JOB" He also told me by e-mail that he was going to come back to do it. There was absolutely no confusion or misunderstanding on my part as to what was to be provided by them. This company had more than enough time to honor their WRITTEN agreement with us, and by not coming back and not being honest about what was promised to us, has shown that they are unreliable & unethical, and we do not want THEM to come back at all - we need to hire a reputable company to finish the job. This wrong needs to be made right by not allowing them to keep the money for the portion of the job that they never completed.

Business' Final Response
This customer hired us to install equipment she was providing. The only reason she got one disconnect was because my employee had one on the truck. If this customer wants disconnects then she will have to get someone else to do it and we are NOT going to pay for it. Again, our agreement with her was to provide the labor to install the equipment she was providing. This was a verbal agreement with the customer so we apologize if she was confused about what she was to provide.