BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Clarke & Rush Mechanical

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 609-2665 View Additional Phone Numbers 4411 Auburn Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95841 http://www.clarke-rush.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clarke & Rush Mechanical meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clarke & Rush Mechanical include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clarke & Rush Mechanical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 31, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1963 Business started locally: 01/01/1963 Business incorporated: 07/31/1987 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Jackie Adams, Accounting Mr. Patrick Rush, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Jackie Adams, Accounting
Business Category

Contractor - Insulation Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Contractor Windows - Installation & Service Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Contractors - Sheet Metal Windows Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Solar Energy System Design & Installation Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Berkan & Clark Heating & Air Clarke & Rush Insulation & Windows Dial One Metro Energy Isulation & Windows
Products & Services

Clarke & Rush Mechanical specializes in repair and maintenance on plumbing, ventilating and any air conditioning or heating units for residential and commercial consumers.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1016 Marcum Rd

    Nicolaus, CA 95659

  • 4411 Auburn Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95841 (916) 722-1110 (916) 348-0271 (916) 988-1252 (916) 268-1722 (916) 482-4404

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 268-1722(Phone)
  • (916) 348-0271(Phone)
  • (916) 482-4404(Phone)
  • (916) 722-1110(Phone)
  • (916) 925-9055(Phone)
  • (916) 988-1252(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was hired to repair heating unit. Sent technicians who installed inferior after-market parts not meeting requirements for unit, without consulting customer about choice of proper quality parts. Technicians installed materials improperly, causing further unit failure, and then attempted to get customer to purchase replacement unit as solution. Customer hired independent technician who identified inadequate work and materials from Clarke and ****, that left unit in a defective condition, and led to failure of heating unit.

Desired Settlement: That company remedy damage it has caused to unit. That is, Clarke and **** should provide competent, experienced and honest technician who will replace relevant parts in unit with appropriate manufacturer-quality materials, in proper locations, and in proper configurations. Clarke and **** should further pay for verification that work was completed properly, by independent technician.

Business Response: We are in communication with this customer. We should have this issue resolved within the next few days. 

Consumer Response: Clarke & **** sent a mechanic back to my house to correct improper work done on my heating unit, and that I subsequently had an outside mechanic verify that Clarke & **** used appropriate parts in this last repair.  Clarke & **** also sent me a $100 check, after I asked that they pay for the verification by the outside mechanic.  I am done dealing with Clarke & **** at this point.  I would add, however, that Clarke & **** has never explained to me why they did the work improperly in the first place, or why they initially used secondhand parts without telling me.  Nor did they have anything to say about my supposition that they had left the unit in a condition that would cause it to repeatedly fail, intending to get me to purchase a new unit.  After I filed my complaint with the BBB, Mr. **** did call me to say that he apologized, without specifying what particular actions he referred to.  He very much wanted to get me to put an end to the complaint process with the BBB.  As I said, Clarke & **** has taken the steps I asked them to take to remedy my situation, after I filed my complaint filed with you.  I do believe, however, that consumers should be extremely wary of this company.  Thank you for your help.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/8/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Clarke & **** Air Conditioning to install a Carrier air conditioning unit. This unit had a 10 year warranty and only 5 years have elapsed since the warranty was issued. We specifically chose this company because they advertise 24 hour service for their products and repair services. On July 4, 2013 the air conditioning failed, and they sent an air conditioning repair technician to repair the unit. We were told that, because it was a holiday, that the technician was not obligated to go to their office to retrieve a Carrier motor, and that if we wanted the motor repaired we would have to agree to use the "universal" motor the technician already had on his truck. We were also advised that not only would the universal motor not be covered by the warranty, but that our agreeing to the universal motor would mean that the entire unit was no longer under warranty. The technician also tried to convince us that warranties can be "suspended" in emergencies, meaning that Clarke & Rush was not responsible for honoring the warranty. There is no such warranty law in California. Since Clarke and Rush had already agreed to the service visit and had already informed us of the service fee, they knowingly accepted a service fee with the advance knowledge that without using Carrier parts, any service performed would require that the Carrier warranty could not be applied to that part. They therefore accepted a service fee with the intent to violate the warranty. In addition, since it was 110 degrees out, they also knew in advance that the repair would have to be made the same day, leaving us with no choice but to accept the "universal" part offered. This was not only deceptive in advertising 24 hour service (but refusing to provide it including the parts they advertise and represent) but also engaged in a service contract for repair with the advance intent to violate the warranty. We would appreciate your investigating this matter and making Clarke & Rush accountable for their warranties. Product_Or_Service: Carrier Air Conditioning Unit

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We would like Clarke & Rush to reinstate the unit warranty as well as refund the amount for the motor we were forced to purchase ($475). Since they knew Carrier parts would be required and accepted a service call knowing that they could not be provided, they intentionally acted outside the bounds of the warranty agreement. We feel this action on their part was not only extortive but constitutes deceptive business practice.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
After speaking with ***** at this time, the problem that she had experienced with Clarke & Rush has been discussed as well as resolved.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Clarke and Rush agreed to send a letter stating that in future they will honor the existing parts warranty on the equipment, so we are satisfied that they will agree to honor this warranty in the future for the remainder of the warranty period.

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: Jessica ***** Sales Coord Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@clarke-****.com After speaking with the customer as well as contacting Carrier, we were able to have Carrier agree and authorize to use the after market O E M motor that was available due to it being a holiday weekend. (The 4th of July) The installed part is still under her current warranty and the customer was only billed for the diagnostic fee as well as labor.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1