BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Your Energy Source meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Your Energy Source include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Your Energy Source
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 06, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Smith, President Mr. Kyle Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Smith, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Windows Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Kevin L V Smith
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 11295 Sunrise Gold Cir Ste B

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95742 (916) 861-7800

  • 3450 Palmer Dr # 4-303

    Cameron Park, CA 95682 (877) 300-4937

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company did not fix the problem and wanted to charge me $120 to come back out to even evaluate the situation. Company came out on 7/30/13 to fix my air conditioner. They said it was fixed and working. The cost was $182. I tried to use the air conditioner for the FIRST time a month later and it still did not work. I called the company and they told me there would be a charge of $120 for them to come out again to look at the unit. I told them they never fixed tbe problem in the first place. They said it had been more than 30 days so there would be a charge. I said it didn't work the FIRST time i used it after they came out. They didn't care.

Desired Settlement: Come out and fix my Air Condtioner w/o charging me the testing they have to do. I will pay for the reapair, not the testing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Please review my timeline of events below. I'd be happy to address anything of concern. (Also please note at the bottom, I did leave the client a voicemail on her phone to schedule a NO COST diagnostic, which is what she requested in her complaint. Thank you for your valuable time with this matter. TIMELINE OF EVENTS: 7/30/13 YES Tech completed Free AC Maintenance Tech found system low on refrigerant, per authorization from h/o via phone, or per authorization from father, tech added 3lbs refrigerant.(Charged $182 for refrigerant) System working properly at that time upon departure. Recommendations: 1) replace system due to age/efficiency. (Per father, h/o was already thinking about replacement as they have had issues twice this year with the system. Father stated they had not had maintenance yet since the home was just purchased earlier this year; 2013. (Which was strange, as the property profile shows client purchased home 8/5/2011) 2) Service Club Maintenance, so they can keep maintenance ongoing for low cost and get discounts on repairs and diagnostic fees. Clients declined club membership and hvac replacement, as they are currently having a new roof installed and cannot afford extra costs right now. 9/16/2013: h/o called to schedule for technician to come back out, stating that last week, (week of 9/8-9/14/13), she went to use the system for the first time since our tech was out on 7/30/13, and there was no airflow coming out of the registers, but she could hear the outdoor unit running, and the indoor fan running. (Unclear how they wouldn't have used the ac for the whole month of August 2013, as where they live, the weather was high 80's up to 100 degree weather throughout the month. Informed h/o that we could definitely send out tech out to diagnose but would need to charge a diagnostic fee, since we are out of the 30-day company policy of warrantied work 30 days after last visit out. Quoted client $79 (flat rate) for weekday diagnostic appointment, but informed client that if the issue had to do with something our technician had done incorrectly, that we would waive the fee and stand behind our work to repair at no cost; also informed client that since her system is 20yrs old and they haven't kept up in maintenance, as per her father stated at our last visit, that breakdowns are more likely to happen when the system is that old. Re-addressed previous recommendation of hvac replacement and offered no-cost, no-obligation estimate for hvac replacement. H/O requested Saturday 9/21/2013 diagnostic, of which we informed client that we charge emergency rates for Saturday due to overtime, and quoted her $118 (flat rate) diagnostic, if she wanted to wait til Saturday. (Did offer earlier appointment times for weekday cheaper rate.) client was upset that she would need to pay for a diagnostic at all, which we then explained (again) about the 30-day warranty policy, but that if it was our error that caused the ac to not work properly, that we would waive the fees. Client opted for the Saturday 9/21/2013 appointment at a cost of $118 (flat rate for diagnostic). 9/18/2013 : client called into office to cancel her diagnostic appointment for 9/21/2013, stating that we have terrible customer service for charging her for us to come back out, then hung up prior to us being able to (again) inform her that we would only charge if it was NOT our error, nor able to provide any other discussion to resolve her complaint. We have not heard back from the client since. 10/9/13 Y.E.S. left client a message to schedule no-cost diagnostic (repairs not included), at her convenience, per Y.E.S. Owner, ***** *****.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: YES installed a brand new HVAC system at our residence last year. Although heater works fine, the AC does not cool the house. In the summer of 2011 I had YES out to our home for a free (coupon) inspection of the AC and installation of a new CO2 detector. Approximtately a week later my AC quit working so I had YES return. They indicated the compressor was bad, needed to be replaced but because of the price, they suggested that I get a whole new unit because mine was about 15 years old. The salesman, Sean Mahoney, promised that a new AC would work so well, it would be cold in the house. He also indicated that the need for new ducts and additional insulation was unnecessary. I applied for and received a $9000 loan from SMUD paid directly to YES that I am to make payments on for the next 10 years. Although the heater works just fine and keeps the house comfortably warm in the winter, last summer and this summer the AC just can't cool down or keep the house cool. I was told any AC can only cool a house about 20 degrees from the outside temperature, however, like today, it is 97 degrees outside, yet with our thermostat set at 76, it is a very uncomfortable 84 degrees inside. YES has added more freon, repaired a torn duct, enlarged the return air and sped up the fan/compressor but nothing yet has resulted in a resolution to our problem. YES is now recommending I get more insulation put into my attic and to add attic fans to the roof but I should not have to put out more money when I was already promised a cool house with just the purchase of their HVAC. At the time of the sale, I was also promised lower energy bills since I was getting a brand new, energy effificent product, however, our electricity bills are more now than they have ever been. Not long after the unit was installed and I started having issues, I was informed that the salesman who sold me the unit had been fired. In checking YES' information here on BBB website, I discovered that he had an expired salesperson license at the time.

Desired Settlement: I either want YES to provide us with additional insulation and attic fans at no cost to us or to provide a larger, new replacement unit. I just want what I was promised during the sale, 'a cool, comfortable, energy efficient home.'

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Prior to client's claim, Y.E.S. has been out to home numerous time throughout the last year since installation for issues with the functionality of the HVAC unit. Y.E.S. has not charged the client for the multiple trips nor any parts replaced under warranty if needed, has even had the manufacturer of the system's tech support out to the home with Y.E.S. technician to confirm the unit is working properly. Y.E.S. has recommended to client to add insulation to attic to bring it up to code, and add attic fans to help with attic circulation and the heat from the attic heating up the living space below; both recommendations were not part of original contract/scope of work that client paid for. Since receiving the client's complaint, Y.E.S. has been to the home, replaced the TXV on the unit, and system is now operating properly at this time. Client's request to have Y.E.S. either install the recommendations at no cost to the client, we decline to provide at no cost, due to we have fulfilled our contracted work. Client's request to have Y.E.S. install a larger, new unit at no cost to client is currently declined, as the unit is properly sized for the home and is currently working properly. Should the client like to have the recommended work done on the attic, Y.E.S. would be happy to supply the client with an estimate.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am holding YES to their 100% satisfaction guarantee and will not be satisfied until they return 100% of my investment and remove their equipment from our premises. My next step if this issue is not resolved will be to file a case with the appropriate court in Sacramento County. Thank you.

Business' Final Response
Our office has attempted many times to contact the client directly to meet with the hvac manufacturer, our technician, and our owner onsite to resolve the issues, with no response from the client. The client has contacted SMUD, of whom has contacted our office, and will be sending their representative out to inspect the installation. We are currently awaiting response from SMUD or the customer with the results of SMUD's inspection.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1