BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of APEX Marble Granite Tile Company?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that APEX Marble Granite Tile Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for APEX Marble Granite Tile Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on APEX Marble Granite Tile Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 19, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2003 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated: 06/24/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 890262.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Igor Lomov, President Ms. Tanya Osipov, RMO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Igor Lomov, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Kitchen Cabinets - Refinishing, Refacing & Resurfacing Granite Stone - Cast Tile & Marble Marble - Natural Natural Stone Restoration & Cleaning Stone Setting Stone - Natural Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design

Alternate Business Names
APEX Home Renovation Inc.
Products & Services

Apex Marble Granite Tile Company specializes in:

Counter tops for kitchen, bath
Fabrication of natural or engineered stone
Slab or tile application on walls, floor, stairs, and fireplace
Custom design

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 11367 Trade Center Dr Ste 100

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95742 (916) 852-7113 (877) 408-2739

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 408-2739(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This has been, and continues to be, the worst experince I have had with a business. I didn't file this complaint after the work was done because of the president of the company, ****, who ended up having to take over the handling of my remodel. He promised me that he would make things right, and for me to call him personally. He said would give me "REAL GOOD PRICES" and oversee the next remodel when I'm ready for that project. I recently contacted **** for estimates on replacing a couple of counter tops and the quote he gave me was nowhere near what I expected, and told I him so. **** was suppose to get back to me. Instead I attempted to contact him several times, with no response. Previous to the lack of communication(Oct 28 2014) I called him while he was on his way to his office and informed him that the demo was not done to the bar counter top per the final contract of last years work. He was supposed to call me back once he got to the office, but he never did. Then, on Nov 10th, I was able to finally reach him after I noticed that we actually overpaid for the original work. He informed me, at that time, he was in Texas. I expressed my disappointment and irritation, and that I didn't appreciate him ignoring me. The lack of customer service, professionalism, and comunication continues. We were told that our first remodel would be done in 2 weeks, instead it was 2 months and my house was left in shambles. There were days nobody showed up to work, and when some of the work was done, such as painting, it was done poorly. I had to do touch up in all the rooms except the 2 bathrooms, and my furniture was damaged. **** was shown all the damage, which is why I believe he gave me the yet unfullied promise of making things right.

Desired Settlement: Would like a refunded for the work that was not done, but was on the final contract. Compensation regarding the sloppy paint job by the painters (had to touch up in all the rooms except bathrooms) the chips in my furniture, and scratches and chips in stairwell, the damage done to my leather chair.

Consumer Response: Due to the Holiday, and not being able to scan my attachments until back to work I'm unable to send this information  until Monday. I hope this responce will at least satisfy the 5 days response.  I would appreciate if someone can contact me by phone I have some questions ###-###-####. Thank you *******

Consumer Response: Due to the Holiday, and not being able to scan my attachments until back to work I'm unable to send this information  until Monday. I hope this responce will at least satisfy the 5 days response.  I would appreciate if someone can contact me by phone I have some questions ###-###-####. Thank you *******

Consumer Response: The amount requested is $112.13 for the cost of demolition of bar top and $1000.00 for damages.

Total= $1,112.13

Consumer Response: The amount requested is $112.13 for the cost of demolition of bar top and $1000.00 for damages.

Total= $1,112.13

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

This complaint comes as a complete surprise to us. About a month ago I was contacted by ******* ***e to give her an estimate on the fab***ation and installation of a few Vanity-Tops. My Earlier experience with the customer ended in a job that was completed and completely paid for without any major issues. When we completed work for ******* about one year ago she informed us that she would need more work on her house done in the future. She gave me a call sometime around the beginning of November to obtain an estimate because I promised to give her a good deal on her next job. After I gave her the estimate she then proceeded to inform me that my quote was much higher than that of another quote she received. After reviewing her counter offer I realized that if we were to give her the p***es she asked for then our business would be the one that financed over half the costs of the project. I told her that, as a licensed contractor, this was the best p***e that we could give, we would however be willing to provide her with the materials free of charge.

                At the time of the measurement I also asked her if she was happy with the previously completed work. At which she answered that they were completely satisfied and the work looked great. After taking a tour of the house I saw that everything still looked nice even close to a year after completion. 

According to the letter that she wrote you, her furniture was damaged and she wants to get re-compensated for said damages. However, ******* has three Indoor dogs that are given free reign over the house; One German Sheppard and two or three smaller dogs. During the time of the work, all of her furniture was carefully covered and handled.

In my experience if there is any real damage or problems on a project, the customer does not wait a full year to report said damage. During the course of our work we have always been accommodating and helpful at every turn. We did a lot of extra work that was not even on the contract and did not even bring up the issue of payment for any of the jobs except the ones that would cost us extra money. However I am beginning to fear that she is starting to take our helpful nature to be one of weakness.

As a proud member of the Better Business Bureau we make it no secret that we have a good repute with this Organization. She used this fact to try to get us to do a job for well below our costs and when that did not turn out the way she had hoped she is now trying to push for damages. We have the original contract and all of the subsequent payment information from the job we completed. The p***es we charged were fair and reviewed by our company and ******* at every turn. She went over the estimate a minimum of ten times and reviewed every charge line by line, if at the time of the job no extra charges were found we are sure that none were made. Just as an example of our accommodating nature: the original contract was signed for $11.199.24, attached is a copy of it. A couple weeks after the contract was signed, midway through the job, she asked us to help her out a little bit financially, we gave her a break and the final amount she paid was $10,757.91. In addition to giving her a p***e break, throughout the entire project we completed many small tasks without additional charges.

 

We would like to address all of the alleged damages one by one.

1.       the sloppy paint job by the painters (had to touch up in all the rooms except bathrooms)”

 

When we first started the project the customer had requested that we remove all texture from the ceilings and paint only the ceilings. We covered everything up, removed the texture and applied the paint. When the painter was finished we asked the customer if there was anything else that she would need from the painter or if there was anything we missed. She informed us that everything was fine.

 

2.       “the chips in my furniture, and scratches and chips in stairwell, the damage done to my leather chair.”

 

As to the damage in the furniture,, logic dictates that in a house full of dogs, one big dog and a few small dogs, minor scratches and blemishes are bound to show up on any of the furnishings, and/or stairwells. Given that the house was older and lived in, the stairwell had minor scratches and chips before our work even began. We never agreed to do any work on the actual stairwell itself, so we cannot be held responsible for the past or current state of the area.

 

If a customer has a horrible experience with a contractor that customer normally does not call the same contractor back to do more work. The fact that these damages only surfaced after we gave ******* a quote that she was not happy with leads us to believe that this entire complaint is unfounded and is an attempt to get money out of our company for a perceived offense.

As a company and a valued member of the Better Business Bureau we would not like to lose our reputation over the misguided anger of one person nearly a year after the work in question was completed.  We hope that this letter clarified the intentions of all parties involved. As a company we have made a special effort to rectify any and all complaints and/or issues brought to us by any and all customers. However we cannot be expected to give in to this unsolicited attack on our reputation as anything more than an attempt to get some extra money out of an anticipated easy target (a small business that is concerned about it's reputation and ratings.)

Best Regards,

**** ***** - President

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

This complaint comes as a complete surprise to us. About a month ago I was contacted by ******* **** to give her an estimate on the fabrication and installation of a few Vanity-Tops. My Earlier experience with the customer ended in a job that was completed and completely paid for without any major issues. When we completed work for ******* about one year ago she informed us that she would need more work on her house done in the future. She gave me a call sometime around the beginning of November to obtain an estimate because I promised to give her a good deal on her next job. After I gave her the estimate she then proceeded to inform me that my quote was much higher than that of another quote she received. After reviewing her counter offer I realized that if we were to give her the prices she asked for then our business would be the one that financed over half the costs of the project. I told her that, as a licensed contractor, this was the best price that we could give, we would however be willing to provide her with the materials free of charge.

                At the time of the measurement I also asked her if she was happy with the previously completed work. At which she answered that they were completely satisfied and the work looked great. After taking a tour of the house I saw that everything still looked nice even close to a year after completion. 

According to the letter that she wrote you, her furniture was damaged and she wants to get re-compensated for said damages. However, ******* has three Indoor dogs that are given free reign over the house; One German Sheppard and two or three smaller dogs. During the time of the work, all of her furniture was carefully covered and handled.

In my experience if there is any real damage or problems on a project, the customer does not wait a full year to report said damage. During the course of our work we have always been accommodating and helpful at every turn. We did a lot of extra work that was not even on the contract and did not even bring up the issue of payment for any of the jobs except the ones that would cost us extra money. However I am beginning to fear that she is starting to take our helpful nature to be one of weakness.

As a proud member of the Better Business Bureau we make it no secret that we have a good repute with this Organization. She used this fact to try to get us to do a job for well below our costs and when that did not turn out the way she had hoped she is now trying to push for damages. We have the original contract and all of the subsequent payment information from the job we completed. The prices we charged were fair and reviewed by our company and ******* at every turn. She went over the estimate a minimum of ten times and reviewed every charge line by line, if at the time of the job no extra charges were found we are sure that none were made. Just as an example of our accommodating nature: the original contract was signed for $11.199.24, attached is a copy of it. A couple weeks after the contract was signed, midway through the job, she asked us to help her out a little bit financially, we gave her a break and the final amount she paid was $10,757.91. In addition to giving her a price break, throughout the entire project we completed many small tasks without additional charges.

 

We would like to address all of the alleged damages one by one.

1.       the sloppy paint job by the painters (had to touch up in all the rooms except bathrooms)”

 

When we first started the project the customer had requested that we remove all texture from the ceilings and paint only the ceilings. We covered everything up, removed the texture and applied the paint. When the painter was finished we asked the customer if there was anything else that she would need from the painter or if there was anything we missed. She informed us that everything was fine.

 

2.       “the chips in my furniture, and scratches and chips in stairwell, the damage done to my leather chair.”

 

As to the damage in the furniture,, logic dictates that in a house full of dogs, one big dog and a few small dogs, minor scratches and blemishes are bound to show up on any of the furnishings, and/or stairwells. Given that the house was older and lived in, the stairwell had minor scratches and chips before our work even began. We never agreed to do any work on the actual stairwell itself, so we cannot be held responsible for the past or current state of the area.

 

If a customer has a horrible experience with a contractor that customer normally does not call the same contractor back to do more work. The fact that these damages only surfaced after we gave ******* a quote that she was not happy with leads us to believe that this entire complaint is unfounded and is an attempt to get money out of our company for a perceived offense.

As a company and a valued member of the Better Business Bureau we would not like to lose our reputation over the misguided anger of one person nearly a year after the work in question was completed.  We hope that this letter clarified the intentions of all parties involved. As a company we have made a special effort to rectify any and all complaints and/or issues brought to us by any and all customers. However we cannot be expected to give in to this unsolicited attack on our reputation as anything more than an attempt to get some extra money out of an anticipated easy target (a small business that is concerned about it's reputation and ratings.)

Best Regards,

**** ***** - President

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 for the gentleman to suggest that I am trying to exhort him and his company is slanderous.  He seems to forget that I showed him the damage done to my home when the job was finally complete. The job that took a month and a half longer than scheduled. that is not fiction. What is fiction is that  that my dogs did the damage.  At no time did any one of the workers come into contact with my pets inside or outside of my home. My dogs spend the bulk of their time outdoors and two of them sleep in kennels when indoors. The third is less than a foot tall. So it would be impossible for her to damage things in the area where workers would carry tools and fixtures(waist to shoulders). 
When I showed **** the damage that had been done, I suggested to him that I was NOT happy and might send my story to the BBB. It was at that point that he asked that he be given the opportunity to "make it right" by offering me a "great deal" on future work. 
 When we went into the original project, we understood full well the costs associated. We DID NOT ask for any financial assistance from this company. The only financial relief received from this man and this company  was in the form of contract revisions due to the incompetency of the lead on this job.  And I can assure you that there was no request made for them to do ANY extra work. I'm not sure that given the extended time it took to complete what was done, that asking for extra work, compensated or other wise would be smart on my part.
So, naturally, having not been satified with the offer on the new work, I stuck to my original words and did indeed contact the Better Business Bureau. But I might not stop with the BBB.  While I maintain that I am not attempting to extort this company, I also feel compelled to make sure that my friends and family don't experience the same apathy and unprofessionalism that my family went through. 
In the future it would be wise for the heads of a company not put a rookie in charge of such a large project and then refuse to give him any significant help until they got a refusal to pay for an electrician that was never mentioned during the drawing of the contract.  After that *****(the rookie) was relieved from the project and **** took over. by that time the project was already way off schedule. AND the electrician hired installed the incorrect electrical outlets. Admittedly, I purchased and submitted them for installation, but the electrician should have stuck to code and informed me of the error. it's HIS profession.
How ever this turns out, I will have the rest of the work done by someone who can appreciate good business practices and treats their customers with respect. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 for the gentleman to suggest that I am trying to exhort him and his company is slanderous.  He seems to forget that I showed him the damage done to my home when the job was finally complete. The job that took a month and a half longer than scheduled. that is not fiction. What is fiction is that  that my dogs did the damage.  At no time did any one of the workers come into contact with my pets inside or outside of my home. My dogs spend the bulk of their time outdoors and two of them sleep in kennels when indoors. The third is less than a foot tall. So it would be impossible for her to damage things in the area where workers would carry tools and fixtures(waist to shoulders). 
When I showed Igor the damage that had been done, I suggested to him that I was NOT happy and might send my story to the BBB. It was at that point that he asked that he be given the opportunity to "make it right" by offering me a "great deal" on future work. 
 When we went into the original project, we understood full well the costs associated. We DID NOT ask for any financial assistance from this company. The only financial relief received from this man and this company  was in the form of contract revisions due to the incompetency of the lead on this job.  And I can assure you that there was no request made for them to do ANY extra work. I'm not sure that given the extended time it took to complete what was done, that asking for extra work, compensated or other wise would be smart on my part.
So, naturally, having not been satified with the offer on the new work, I stuck to my original words and did indeed contact the Better Business Bureau. But I might not stop with the BBB.  While I maintain that I am not attempting to extort this company, I also feel compelled to make sure that my friends and family don't experience the same apathy and unprofessionalism that my family went through. 
In the future it would be wise for the heads of a company not put a rookie in charge of such a large project and then refuse to give him any significant help until they got a refusal to pay for an electrician that was never mentioned during the drawing of the contract.  After that Chile(the rookie) was relieved from the project and Igor took over. by that time the project was already way off schedule. AND the electrician hired installed the incorrect electrical outlets. Admittedly, I purchased and submitted them for installation, but the electrician should have stuck to code and informed me of the error. it's HIS profession.
How ever this turns out, I will have the rest of the work done by someone who can appreciate good business practices and treats their customers with respect. 

Business Response: To whom it may concern:


The bulk of the rejection to our reply was no more
than a fabrication to slander our name. In the following response we
will go over her last letter line by line in an effort to provide an accurate
picture of what actually transpired.

We will attach paper work to counter the statement that ******* made when she wrote
"The job that took a month and a half longer than scheduled. that is not
fiction." From the start of demolition to the completion of the project it
took exactly two weeks. We have records of every payment made on this job by
******* as she paid by credit card.

You will see in the attachments that:

12/18/2013: $1,000 (Down Payment) Made on the date
that we had drafted up the rough draft of contract we agreed to plan for the job at hand.

12/27/2013: $3,399.75 (Material Payments and Misc Prep) Payment was made before the beginning of the project. Date that the 
contract was signed (*******s handwriting.)



01/06/2014: $3,399.75 START DEMOLITION/BEGINNING OF ACTUAL WORK AT HOUSE (Progress Payment) START OF JOB.
"Approximate commencement date" On Contract

01/20/2014: $2,958.41 COMPLETION OF JOB, final payment.

These Payment records disprove the claim
that ******* had made on this job taking “a month and a half.” The whole entirety
of our time at her house was exactly two weeks. The claim that we took a month
and a half longer than scheduled to complete the work is just as exaggerated and
false as the rest of the complaint.

As to the issue of the dogs, while we were
doing the work they were outside, but it was obvious that they were indoor
dogs. Just because they sleep in kennels does not mean that they do not roam
the house before or after we completed the job. One of the dogs is small but
one of the other two is a full height German Sheppard, having owned a German
Sheppard myself I can attest to their potential for damage. A German Sheppard
is more than capable of damaging furniture and stair railings on its own. I am
confident that our employees were not the cause of any damage to anything in
the house other than what we were scheduled to demolish.

When ******* wrote that: “…We DID NOT ask for any financial assistance
from this company. … … And I can assure you that there was no request made for
them to do ANY extra work.”
We can only assume that she had forgotten about the following events:

The original Estimate for the job was around $16,000 (SECOND ATTACHMENT.) 
******* asked us to work with her a little bit and reduce the
prices so that this remodel would be more affordable. We came up with a
contract for over twenty five percent off ($11,199.24.) The final amount paid
for the job was $10.757.91.

The first day that the project started and
we asked ******* to provide us with the paint that she wanted us to use for her
ceilings, she refused. She told us that as far as she was concerned the paint
should have been included in the estimate. Before the job began we told *******
that the line for "Texture and Paint: Living Room, Master Bath, Addition
to Master Bathroom and Remove Popcorn Ceiling in Full House" was for Labor
only and did not include paint. However, she refused to pay. To avoid any
further tension or confrontation we decided to just cover the cost of her paint
and move on. 

When the job began and our popcorn ceiling texture removal guys showed up: none of
the furniture in any of the rooms had been moved or covered. After Clearing it
with ******* and her husband: Our workers also proceeded to move and cover
everything free of cost to ******* even though the preparation was also not
included in the estimate.

After we completed the bathrooms, we also carried up a very heavy vanity up the stairs,
because ******* told us that she didn’t have any one that could move it up
there for her. We paid our guys take an extra hour and leave our other job
sites just so that they could come and help move the vanity. Just so it is
clear, the above mentioned vanity was still a hard task for six big guys to
carry up the stairs, it was no small task.

These services were not included in our contract but we still did them because we try
to make it a habit of going above and beyond for our customers. Furthermore, during my last visit to her house about a month ago; when we were
doing the last estimate, she gave me a full tour and expressed at how pleased
she was with the final result. This is why we were surprised to receive this complaint.

******* finished off her letter by writing:
“having not been satified with the offer on the new work, I stuck to my original words and did indeed contact the Better Business Bureau.”
We did not offer ******* to do more work she requested an estimate
from us. After we gave ******* an estimate she then proceeded to tell us that
she had another bid that was lower than ours. We let her know that we simply cannot
reduce the price any further. She then proceeded to tell us that we had
initially overcharged her. We reviewed all of her billing information and
confirmed that we did not in fact over-bill her for any amount. Only when we
did not reply to her demands for unwarranted compensation did she submit this
complaint. The job was completed approximately a year ago and if there was
really significant damage caused by us: No one would wait a year to report it.

The fact that this complaint originated as retribution for not compensating the customer for a
none-existent over-billing incident should speak for itself.

I take no pleasure in having dealings like this with any customer,
but in our whole nearly ten years of business as members of the Better Business Bureau
we have never had a problem like this with any other customer.
Our record should speak for itself. Just in case that
isn’t enough to protect us from these unsolicited complaints on our good name;
I composed the rest of this letter to argue our point. In the past and
presently if there was ever a problem: we have always been quick to fix it.
This complaint is full of exaggerations, empty complaints and sometimes flat out lies.
We maintain that this is nothing more than an attempt to get extra money out of our company.

**** *****,

President.

 

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

The bulk of the rejection to our reply was no more than a fabrication to slander our name. In the following response we will go over her last letter line by line in an effort to provide an accurate picture of what actually transpired.

We will attach paper work to counter the statement that ******* made when she wrote  "The job that took a month and a half longer than scheduled. that is not fiction." From the start of demolition to the completion of the project it took exactly two weeks. We have records of every payment made on this job by ******* as she paid by credit card.

You will see in the attachments that:
12/18/2013: $1,000 (Down Payment) Made on the date that we had drafted up the rough draft of contract we agreed to plan for the job at hand.

12/27/2013: $3,399.75 (Material Payments and Misc Prep) Payment was made before the beginning of the project. Date that the  contract was signed (*******s handwriting.)

01/06/2014: $3,399.75 START DEMOLITION/BEGINNING OF ACTUAL WORK AT HOUSE (Progress Payment) START OF JOB.  "Approximate commencement date" On Contract 01/20/2014: $2,958.41 COMPLETION OF JOB, final payment.

These Payment records disprove the claim that ******* had made on this job taking “a month and a half.” The whole entirety of our time at her house was exactly two weeks. The claim that we took a month and a half longer than scheduled to complete the work is just as exaggerated and false as the rest of the complaint.

As to the issue of the dogs, while we were doing the work they were outside, but it was obvious that they were indoor dogs. Just because they sleep in kennels does not mean that they do not roam the house before or after we completed the job. One of the dogs is small but one of the other two is a full height German Sheppard, having owned a German Sheppard myself I can attest to their potential for damage. A German Sheppard is more than capable of damaging furniture and stair railings on its own. I am confident that our employees were not the cause of any damage to anything in the house other than what we were scheduled to demolish.

When ******* wrote that: “…We DID NOT ask for any financial assistance from this company. … … And I can assure you that there was no request made for them to do ANY extra work.”
We can only assume that she had forgotten about the following events:

The original Estimate for the job was around $16,000 (SECOND ATTACHMENT.)  ******* asked us to work with her a little bit and reduce the prices so that this remodel would be more affordable. We came up with a contract for over twenty five percent off ($11,199.24.) The final amount paid for the job was $10.757.91.

The first day that the project started and we asked ******* to provide us with the paint that she wanted us to use for her ceilings, she refused. She told us that as far as she was concerned the paint should have been included in the estimate. Before the job began we told ******* that the line for "Texture and Paint: Living Room, Master Bath, Addition to Master Bathroom and Remove Popcorn Ceiling in Full House" was for Labor only and did not include paint. However, she refused to pay. To avoid any further tension or confrontation we decided to just cover the cost of her paint and move on. 

When the job began and our popcorn ceiling texture removal guys showed up: none of the furniture in any of the rooms had been moved or covered. After Clearing it with ******* and her husband: Our workers also proceeded to move and cover everything free of cost to ******* even though the preparation was also not included in the estimate.

After we completed the bathrooms, we also carried up a very heavy vanity up the stairs, because ******* told us that she didn’t have any one that could move it up there for her. We paid our guys take an extra hour and leave our other job sites just so that they could come and help move the vanity. Just so it is clear, the above mentioned vanity was still a hard task for six big guys to carry up the stairs, it was no small task.

These services were not included in our contract but we still did them because we try to make it a habit of going above and beyond for our customers. Furthermore, during my last visit to her house about a month ago; when we were doing the last estimate, she gave me a full tour and expressed at how pleased she was with the final result. This is why we were surprised to receive this complaint.

******* finished off her letter by writing:
“having not been satified with the offer on the new work, I stuck to my original words and did indeed contact the Better Business Bureau.”  We did not offer ******* to do more work she requested an estimate from us. After we gave ******* an estimate she then proceeded to tell us that she had another bid that was lower than ours. We let her know that we simply cannotreduce the price any further. She then proceeded to tell us that we had initially overcharged her. We reviewed all of her billing information and confirmed that we did not in fact over-bill her for any amount. Only when we did not reply to her demands for unwarranted compensation did she submit this complaint. The job was completed approximately a year ago and if there was really significant damage caused by us: No one would wait a year to report it.

The fact that this complaint originated as retribution for not compensating the customer for a  none-existent over-billing incident should speak for itself. I take no pleasure in having dealings like this with any customer,  but in our whole nearly ten years of business as members of the Better Business Bureau  we have never had a problem like this with any other customer.  Our record should speak for itself. Just in case that isn’t enough to protect us from these unsolicited complaints on our good name; I composed the rest of this letter to argue our point. In the past and presently if there was ever a problem: we have always been quick to fix it.  This complaint is full of exaggerations, empty complaints and sometimes flat out lies. We maintain that this is nothing more than an attempt to get extra money out of our company.

**** *****,
President.

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
In regards to the completion time and the corresponding payments. I have record of payment for demolition at the end of December and the last payment at the end of January.
That would be closer to a month. I do remember being disappointed that some the the workers didnt show up on certain scheduled days. I also remember Igor stating that such a large job should never have been scheduled for two weeks, as it would be almost impossible. Regardless, that is what sold the job and that is NOT what was delivered.
In closing, I want to reiterate two things...
first, I never wanted ANYTHING from this man and this comapny other than what was promised. I delayed filing a complaint with the BBB originally because of Igor's promise to take care of me on a future deal.  A promise that was unfulfilled. The purpose of this rebuttal is simply so that others may read this thread, and seriously think long and hard about conducting business with APEX. 
Furthermore, in response to the email that Igor sent me on the same day as his last reply here, I would like like to say, if he had done a better job responding to my numerous calls and text messages leading up to this complaint, I may have had no reason to write it in the first place. 
Second, I will make sure that my recommendation for home improvement work will be SOMEONE OTHER THAN APEX. And I will hold this experience up, for anyone that asks, as an example of what can go wrong when dealing with contractors.
My business with this company is complete. I refuse to let this drag on.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
In regards to the completion time and the corresponding payments. I have record of payment for demolition at the end of December and the last payment at the end of January.
That would be closer to a month. I do remember being disappointed that some the the workers didnt show up on certain scheduled days. I also remember Igor stating that such a large job should never have been scheduled for two weeks, as it would be almost impossible. Regardless, that is what sold the job and that is NOT what was delivered.
In closing, I want to reiterate two things...
first, I never wanted ANYTHING from this man and this comapny other than what was promised. I delayed filing a complaint with the BBB originally because of Igor's promise to take care of me on a future deal.  A promise that was unfulfilled. The purpose of this rebuttal is simply so that others may read this thread, and seriously think long and hard about conducting business with APEX. 
Furthermore, in response to the email that Igor sent me on the same day as his last reply here, I would like like to say, if he had done a better job responding to my numerous calls and text messages leading up to this complaint, I may have had no reason to write it in the first place. 
Second, I will make sure that my recommendation for home improvement work will be SOMEONE OTHER THAN APEX. And I will hold this experience up, for anyone that asks, as an example of what can go wrong when dealing with contractors.
My business with this company is complete. I refuse to let this drag on.

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Apex was hired to paint and glaze kitchen and laundry room cabinets. the job has the following faults:1.the color of the doors and drawers do not match the cabinets2.lifetime warranty not provided 3.refrigerator cabinet not glazed4.refrigerator not reassembled correctly 5.touch up unpainted areas6.touch up material not provided7.paint overspray not cleaned up

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) complete the following:1.glazing of refrigerator, doors and drawers 2.correct assembly of refrigerator trim 3.provide touch up material4.touch up unpainted areas5.clean up overspray6.As promised, provide written warranty

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The contract was signed with Mr. ***** ******* on 05.31.13. Prior to the contract being signed we provided the customer with many painted cabinet samples to choose their color from. Mr. ***** and his spouse did not want to have a pure white color for their kitchen cabinets and kitchen doors, they preferred a bone color or off white color. We made special samples according to their color preferences. As soon as the color was confirmed and customer was happy with it we went ahead and signed the contract. After they signed the contract we took their existing cabinet doors and brought it back to our shop to paint them in a controlled environment. After painting one door for a test, we brought it back to the customer for their final approval. The customer was very satisfied with the color and did not express any concerns or objections. Then we selected a glaze for the cabinets & doors. At first they wanted to glaze just the cabinet doors, not the panels or boxes. They said "we want the cabinet doors to pop" so we glazed just the doors lighter. However, the boxes and the panels appeared too light to our customer so we applied extra glaze to make it darker and the customers were left happy and satisfied. There cabinet doors are a bit lighter then the other areas making them appear to "Pop" And yes it's true that the doors and drawers are a little bit lighter than the boxes, We did it that way per the customer's request. They wanted that way and their words were at the time "it looks more custom and outstanding". They said "the job turned out very beautiful and unique looking" Some of the extra work we did that was not in the contract, these items were completed at no charge to make the customer happy and provide them with a better looking final product. 1) We painted the inside of all the upper cabinets and drawers. 2) We painted the crown molding at no charge 3) Glazing of the cabinet boxes The customers seemed very happy with all the worked that was performed and our workers received a lot of compliments from them during the process and after completion. We did not proceed with any steps without their approval. We finished the job on 06.19.13. On June 21 I, **** ***** and my project coordinator **** ********* went to the house and we received our final balance check and a lot of compliments about our company's processes, our workers and the work itself. They expressed their approval and satisfaction and said "the kitchen's final look is beautiful". We didn't see any over spray or unglazed cabinet parts they are mentioning now in their complaint. They shook our hands with a friendly smile and left us their best regards. After about month 07.17.13, I **** ***** stopped by to drop off some paint for touch ups and qt. round moldings that we painted for them as a favor without any charge. ***** was very thankful and I heard yet another compliment about our work and the new kitchen look and how they're happy that they contracted with our company. During that same month they had tried to contact one of our workers, *********** to have more work completed directly by him. He refused and informed me about it. On the 07.18.13 we received the first email from them which caused some confusion. We replied back to them. Please note that in that first email they never mentioned overspray or any unglazed parts or something about a different color on cabinets and doors. They did mention the kitchen cabinet boxes and doors a different color. They also said that our work does deserve compliments. After our work they hired a designer to paint their interior walls in a different color and the designer said that the cabinets look too light which caused the problem. As I told the homeowner In order to make the cabinets darker we have to redo all the work that was completed. We have been members with BBB for many years and we have never had any problems. We work hard to keep our high A+ rating. We do our best to keep our customers happy. Unfortunately in this case I believe we've done everything we could to meet the customer's expectations (which we did originally). As far as their refrigerator, it is very old and crooked and the legs need to be adjusted so it is level. Per the contract we painted and glazed the front wood panels to match to the kitchen door & drawers. However, we could not fix to make it straight and paint the whole refrigerator since it's not our specialty. We never touched the actual refrigerator itself, just painted and glazed the wooden panels. I don't know what kind of warranty they're asking for but the paint supplier provides a 25 year for the paint however we could not be responsible for their already existing old cabinets From our understanding BBB is an agency that also helps businesses like ours from bad customers.We believe this matter to be resolved.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The company's written response was not quite correct. However, The company came out and corrected all the concerns we had. They finished all the work with expertise and care.