Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

.Com Computers

Phone: (530) 533-0202 2114 5th Ave, Oroville, CA 95965

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


.Com Computers offers computer services and products and web, graphics, and printing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that .Com Computers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for .Com Computers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on .Com Computers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2005 Business started: 01/31/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
The number is 82674.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Dane Nelson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dane Nelson, Owner
Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair Web Design Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Products & Services

.Com Computers offers the following product(s): Company offers computer repair and maintenance services.

Alternate Business Names
.Com Graphics & Web Design Dane Nelson Consulting
Products & Services

.Com Computers provides computer repair, advanced data recovery, virus removal, custom performance computers, graphic design & business cards.

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/10/2014 I visited .COM Computers & Graphics store shopping for a desktop computer. It was going to be a Christmas gift for my children. There in the shop were laptops desktops running on display. All customer built by the owner **** ******. He told me the computer on display that I was interested was running Windows 10 and wouldn't be available to register for another year. I said I wanted a genuine operating system because it was going to be used online by my children. He assured me that he installed and sold only genuine products and that he could install a Windows 7 operating system with product key and installation disk. I said that would work for me and chose to purchase a computer system from him for $616.75 (I have included a copy of my receipt) Because he was going to install a fresh Windows 7 and it was going to take awhile I would have to pick it up the following day. I agreed to this and left with my receipt. When I returned on 12/11/2014 to pick up my computer he told me, and now this is where it starts to get shady because my computer was not ready nor was it even the same computer! He informed me that rather than doing the installation that we agreed to. He, completely without my knowledge, chose to switch out my computer to a totally different computer. One id never even laid eyes on before. He said it was going to take at least 2 or 3 more days before I could pick it up. On 12/14/2014 he called and said my computer was ready to be picked up. On 12/15/2014 I went down to the shop and picked up the computer. I get home and set it up figuring I would register it online in my name...So on Christmas morning my children can get right to it and begin using it. Then I discovered there an administrative account created not with my name but with his name that's password protected. When I purchased my computer I CLEARLY STATED THAT I DO NOT WANT NOBODY'S INFORMATION OR PASSWORDS BUT MINE ON MY COMPUTER AND **** HAD AGREED TO ME THAT HE WOULD ONLY USE THE INFORMATION THAT I ORDERED ON MY COMPUTER AND THE INFORMATION I HAD ASKED **** TO INSTALL ON MY COMPUTER WAS TO INSTALL WINDOWS 7 WITH NO PASSWORDS/PUT ONE GUEST ACCOUNT WITH MY NAME/NO PASSWORDS ONLY/I SHOULD BE THE ONLY ONE WHO CAN REGISTER MY COMPUTER WITH THE PRODUCT NUMBER THAT CAME WITH THE WINDOWS 7 I HAD PURCHASED ON 12/10/2014 On 12/16/2014 I called **** to let him know I was not happy with the computer. The computer was not the one I paid for it was clearly a used product/WITH **** INFORMATION/PASSWORD ON MY COMPUTER WITCH I CLEARLY STATED **** NOT TO DO I told him I wanted to return it and for him to make it right. He lashed out at me with insults. He told me I knew nothing about computers and refused to make it right. Needless to say I was very upset, but not wanting to make things worse by yelling back at him, I just hung up. Now I gave it a lot of thought and decided to give **** one more chance to make it right before I go and make a big old stink about his business practices! So on 01/05/2015 I called him and calmly explained to him that although I am not an expert at computers I know enough to see when someone's burning me on one. He told me I could bring it down to the shop and he would reinstall my windows 7. So I took my computer back to him. It was just a few hours later that I get a call from **** that it was ready for me to pick it back up. So this time I get home and turn it on and I try to go online and register it but I still can't and I find that **** still has his profile loaded as the administrator. I also see that **** had added 2 more account's to my computer when I got back with his information on all 3 account's [LOOK AT THE PICTURE THAT I SENT WITH THIS COMPLAINT IT CLEAR SHOW'S WHERE I HIHG LIGHTED IN YELLOW THE 3 ACCOUNT'S WHIT HIS INFORMATION ON THEM. I CLEARLY STATED TO **** WHAT I WANTED ON MY COMPUTER NOBODY'S PASSWORD OR INFORMATION ON MY COMPUTER BUT MINE HE ALSO 9 HAS A PASSWORD ON MY WINDOW'S 7 [LOOK ON MY RECEIPT HIGH LIGHTED IN BLUE THAT **** HAS AN PASSWORD ON MY COMPUTER]. I feel at this time **** was not going to make it right for me. On 1/09/2015 I called better business bureau and you told me to write this complaint/what I want out of it. When I was on the phone with you guy's you told me to write to give **** one more call to see if he would refund my MONEY back because I am not happy with my computer and the way he treat his customer's/it's not what I had ordered or paid for. So I called **** on 1/09/2015 to see if I could get my money back because it is not what I asked for or paid for. **** ALL OF A SUDDEN STARTED YELLING AT ME AND TOLD ME HE DOES NOT HAVE ACCOUNT'S WITH HIS INFORMATION ON MY COMPUTER/I TOOK PICTURE TO PROVE IT/HE ALSO TOLD ME HE DID NOT HAVE A PASSWORD ON WINDOW'S 7/I HAVE A RECEIPT SHOWING HE DOES SO I ADVISED HIM THAT I WAS GOING TO CONTACT YOU GUY'S/HE LAUGHED AT ME AND SAID YOU WOULD BE THE FIRST IN 15 YEARS.THEN **** SLANDERED MY NAME BY TELLING ME TO GET OFF DRUGS/I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT HE WAS TALKING ABOUT/HUNG UP ON ME/THAT WAS THE LAST TIME I SPOKE TO HIM.


Business Response:

First, I will have to respond to the interactions described by Mr. *****. In short, in every phone call or interaction he would ask questions, then add something or ask additional questions before or while I was trying to respond. Thus, many issues Mr. ***** describes were mixed together.

Mr. ***** asked about buying a brand new display machine that was running a demo of Windows 10 Preview edition. He wanted Windows 7 Home Premium so I told him I could build him another brand new machine with the Windows 7 operating system on it and would do my best to have it done the next day. I did indeed, build him an identical computer, installing a genuine Windows 7 Home Premium operating system, just as I said I would. However, the updates to Windows 7 now total about 184 and the downloading and installing of these updates can be difficult to impossible for some customers depending on their bandwidth and knowledge of how to install all updates, so I had, as I do with almost all computers, started the process of the updates. It was still installing and had quite a bit of time left to go when he came in the next day to pick up the computer and I informed him of that. Because it was Thursday, I said it should be done by Friday but certainly by Monday as we are closed on weekends. The operating system, holograph disk was included with the packaging, and the license sticker was applied to the side of the computer, as mandated my Microsoft.

Mr. ***** picked up the machine and called me with his issues. 

Online Registration... As I tried many, many times, to explain to him. There is no online registration with an OEM install on a computer that I built and sold. He gave me his information at the time of purchase and the warranty on the computer is through my company, automatically. If he had bought some corporate branded computer, yes there would be a custom registration because they do not know when you buy the computer through another store.

Passwords... It is simply not true. I never put extra accounts or passwords on computers without specific requests from the customer. The image of accounts provided by Mr *****, as anyone actually familiar with networking will know, is a section used to give permission to network access and is not the user account section. It simply does not apply. Again, I tried to explain this and Mr. ***** became toxic on the phone yelling and cussing at me on several occasions.

Used Product: Simply not the case. This is a brand new, custom built PC, built the same way I've built computers for 20 years, with never, someone accusing me of the things I've been accused of. That's the reference to the 20 years. All the paperwork for individual components were included with the PC as well.

Mr. ***** referenced the software pack that I preinstall on new PCs including the needed items like Adobe Flash, Reader, Java, a free office program Open Office, and Skype. These Items are harmless and are needed to have useful functionality of the computer. Many times I tried to explain this but as it was impossible for Mr ***** to understand, I agreed to wipe the hard drive and re-install the operating system again, with no other software installed. That Is what he said he wanted. "I only want Windows 7 and nothing else." He had someone bring the machine back in and I booted it up before wiping it and many of the system files needed for proper function of the computer had been deleted including the showing of hidden system files. The computer would not boot properly as a result.

I proceeded to clean install Windows again and installed the drivers for the included hardware in the system to it would function. As an additional service I created a backup of his fresh, installed system (with no passwords and only one user account) and burnt them to DVDs, writing what they were on the surface with a sharpie.

As explained before, the image of "user accounts" is a section of the operating system to give permissions for networking. There were no additional accounts or passwords. Mr ***** called me again and lit into me for that and for selling him pirated software because of the backup disks I made for him. When it was picked up I made sure he had a copy of my warranty that does not included software, for just the reasons above where I found files deleted.

I feel with the 9PM phone calls at on Christmas and the time resetting the machine for free with a free backup DVD set made, that I have gone over and above my responsibility of taking care of this customer. I am sorry that he doesn't understand computers enough, which he freely admits, but I live in this town, my friends are here, may family is here, and my reputation is here. I would never "pull one over" selling used equipment for new and I would never sell pirated software, and for goodness sake, I don't have time to create fictitious accounts on peoples machines or created passwords just to cause problem, nor do I have any interest in try to have remote access to someone's computer unless they are paying me on a contract to remotely maintain their computer.

As posted in my store and on my receipt, if Mr. ***** wants to return the computer, it must have all original packaging, and be in undamaged condition and is subject to a 30% restocking fee, because it will have to be refurbished at that point and sold as a refurbished machine at considerable discount. This is normally for store credit but in this case I would provided a cash reimbursement.