Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Yee's Auto Tech

Phone: (916) 442-8340 3073 Freeport Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95818 http://yeesautotech.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Quality Auto Repair is our Reputation! Complete Professional services:  air conditioning service, tuneup, brakes, wheel alignment, check engine light, periodic maintenance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Yee's Auto Tech meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Yee's Auto Tech include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Yee's Auto Tech
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 1988 Business started: 02/14/1977 in CA Business incorporated 10/01/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 214490.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Diane Yee, Owner Wesley Yee, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Diane Yee, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Yee's Auto Tech sells the following brand(s): Castrol Motor Oil, NAPA Auto Parts

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards
Service Area
Sacramento
Products & Services

Oil Change (Castrol Motor Oil)
Tuneup
Engine Repair
Brakes
A/C
Electrical
Cooling
Suspension/Steering
Shocks/Struts
Transmission
Exhaust/Muffler
Tires, mount/balance
Wheel Alignment
Headlamp lens restore
30/60/90 PM

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 3073 Freeport Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95818

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle Service Date 10/06/2014I taken my car in to ***'s Auto for minor maint.serv.,on a 1999 Toyota Camry ************ for an oil change,$29.00 with veh.inspec.,*** the shop owner said the veh.needed to repl.A/C&Altern.,Power Steering Belts,Timing Belt,Water Pump(Please Note: *** did not remove timing belt cover for inspection),Thermostat Coolant,Distilled Water.No written est. repair cost provided from the owner&tech *****.I requested the Owner ***&auto tech ***** for a detail cost brake-out on all the parts and labor cost.Mr.*** the owner&***** tech writer should take not more than four hours.Mr.*** ***&***** did not know that I'm part owner of two import high perform. **** ***** **** in N.Highlands,Torrance Ca.,part owner of an Import racing team.Mr.*** *** told me the total cost & show me the billing of $1,144.02.I told Mr. ***/*** the owner& ***** the tech it's not fair & resemble and is to high/over charge on parts and labor. No adjust.to the billing to date.I'm doing this for four old customer(This Year)of ***'s Auto request my opinion on ***'s Auto fair&resemble cost&repair@ ***'s Auto,so I took my son school car, 1999 Toyota Camry to ***'s Auto for service.Please note I have only use ***'s Auto serv.for minor trams.Oil & coolant and oil change, no major work.I called around Sacto.area for pricing on parts&labor, both for list price on parts,labor cost&my cost/disc.parts.Cost Reg.Price(CRP)&Disc.Price(DP),Fair Market Cost on Parts from two Part Toyota Serv.Dept.Center,Napa auto parts supplier warehouse,two auto repair shop for this repair, price range from $700to$780 in the Sacto.Area.Note:CRP&DP-Fair Market Fair Market Cost on Parts:Timing BeltCRP $50,DP$34,Water Pump w/Gaskets&O-RingsCRP$110, DP$82,Tensioner&Idler Bearing KitCRP$87,DP$54,Toyota Service Center-Parts&Labor Timing Belt L4 Compl.$300,Water Pump-Compl.$135 ***'sParts Refer No.From ***'s list billing-(maybe ***'s profit markup)Part TKT002N Timing Component Kit&Water Pump-$416(Part Billing markup is about 219%)Cost to High/Over Charge, this should be around $190 to $220 part around Sacramento area. Part 25050433N A/C & Alternator Belt, ***'s - $52, Fair Market $13Part 25030295N Power Steering Belt, ***'s - $37, Fair Market $16Part 31928N Thermostat, ***'s - $20, Fair Market $12Part Coolant2 Coolant, ***'s - $54, Fair Market $22, and Assume 1 Gal.Part DSW Distilled Water, ***'s - $7, Fair Market, Assume 1 Gal. $2 to $3 (maybe ***'s profit mark-up) (Maybe ***'s part of profit mark-up)Total Labor Cost $472 as shown on billing is not resemble/over charge,  provide break-out/itemize for $472 labor cost, this for four hr. work you said ***. Note shop rates not posted, Requested shop hourly rates. To ***'s Auto Tech, *** owner ***'s Auto, The total cost as shown around of $1,144 is not fair & resemble.  Total cost for this work should be around $760 to $820 from two Toyota service center in Sacramento area. ***'s Auto Tech is about $ 360 to High for this work. Total cost with all discounts on parts and labor for this vehicle is around $ 735.00, complete.

Desired Settlement: Cost to High/Over Charge,this should be around$190to$220 part around Sacto. area.Part25050433N A/C& Altern.Belt,Yee's-$52,Fair Market$13, Part 25030295NPower Steering Belt,Yee's-$37,Fair Market$16,Part31928N Thermostat Yee's-$20,Fair Market$12,Part Coolant2 Coolant,Yee's-$54,Fair Market$22-1Gal.,PartDSW Distil.Water,Yee's-$7,Fair Market,Assume 1Gal.$2to$3(maybeYee'sprofit mark-up).Maybe Yee's part of prof.markup) Total Labor Cost $472 as shown on billing is not resemble/over charge. Im requesting belling adjustment/credit back on credit card around $ 365 account for the over charge labor/parts.  I’m requesting belling adjustment/credit back on credit card around $ 365 account for the over charge labor/parts.Shop Information for Yee’s AutoVehicle Inspection Old Parts for replacement - I and opinions of two Toyota parts Sr. Mech. Service Center for spec. data requirements parts replacement, and Mech. N. Highlands shop.1)     Timing belt – 70% Good , Did Not Need To Replace,2)     A/C & Alternator Belt -  75% Warn, Replace with New3)     Power Steering Belt – 70% Good, Did Not Need To Replace4)     Thermostat, Conduction Good  Did Not Need To Replace 

Business Response: We advised Mr. ***** to replace the Timing Belt on his 1999 Camry based on the Toyota Service Schedule.  Toyota indicates Timing Belt replacement every 90000 miles.  The vehicle odometer reading was 225,000 miles.  Mr. ***** stated to us that the Timing Belt had not been replaces at 180,000 miles.
We advised Mr. ***** to replace the A/C and Alternator Belt, the Power Steering Belt and the Thermostat based on our visual inspection.  The belts were age-worn and had visible cracks. 
Mr. ***** verbally approved the job estimate of $1144.02.

Consumer Response:

My ID No. ******** - Respond to ***'s Auto Tech, Mr. *** ***
 
Yee’s Auto, Mr. *** is missing eight main points, the following are:
1) ***’s Auto Tech – Billing Statement - Over Charge on Parts& Labor,
2) I mention to Mr. *** the last time timing belt and water pump replace/change was done at around 185,220 miles, the average replacement should be around 95,000 miles to 110,000 miles or 9 years, Toyota Service Center.
3) The only written approval is an oil change on the 1999 Camry and a/c & alternator belt, no whiten approval for timing belt & water pump kit, sense Mr. *** did not take the timing belt & water pump cover off for inspection. Mr. *** only inspected two belts only, when I was in has shop, timing belt & water pump. Mr. ***’s best guess estimated should be around $760 to $980, he said trust me.
4) I also suggest/mention to Mr. *** I will supply the parts and paid for the labor for the timing belt kit & water pump. When I came by to pick up the car the next day, review for the final billing I was shock. (Note: Shop rates was not posted, I requested shop hourly rates). 
5) Mr. *** told me the total cost & shows me the final billing of $1,144.02.  I told Mr. ***/Wes the owner it's not fair & resemble and is to high/over charge on parts and labor.
6) Cost Data for Fair & Resemble as follow:
Cost Regular Price (CRP) & Discounted Price (DP), Fair Market Cost on Parts from two Part Toyota Service Dept. Center, Napa auto parts supplier warehouse, two auto repair shop for this repair, price range from $700 to $780 in the Sacramento Area.    Note: CRP & DP - Fair Market
Fair Market Cost on Parts:
Timing Belt – CRP $50, DP $34
Water Pump with Gaskets & O-Rings – CRP $110, DP $82
Tensioner & Idler Bearing Kit – CRP $87, DP $54
Toyota Service Center - Parts & Labor
Timing Belt L4 2.2L Complete - $300
Water Pump - Complete - $ 135
Yee's Parts Refer No. From ***'s list billing - (maybe ***'s profit mark-up)
1. Part TKT002N Timing Component Kit & Water Pump - $ 416 (Part Billing mark-up is about 219%) - Cost to High/Over Charge, this should be around $190 to $220 part around Sacramento area.
2. Part 25050433N A/C & Alternator Belt, ***'s - $52, Fair Market $13
3. Part 25030295N Power Steering Belt, ***'s - $37, Fair Market $16
4. Part 31928N Thermostat, ***'s - $20, Fair Market $12
5. Part Coolant2 Coolant, ***'s - $54, Fair Market $22, and Assume 1 Gal.
6. Part DSW Distilled Water, ***'s - $7, Fair Market, Assume 1 Gal. $2 to $3 (maybe ***'s profit mark-up)
(Maybe ***'s part cost is for profit or labor mark-up)
7) Total Labor Cost $472 as shown on billing is not resemble/over charge,  provide break-out/itemize for $472 labor cost, he said Mr. *** it would take only four hours.  Please note shop rates not posted, requested shop hourly rates.
8) ***'s Auto Tech, Mr. ***/Wes owner ***'s Auto, The total cost as shown on my billing statement around  $1,144 is parts and labor is overprice, it’s not fair & resemble. 
The cost for this work should be around $760 to $820 from two Toyota service center in Sacramento area, ***'s Auto Tech is about $ 360 to High for this work.
Total cost with all on parts and labor for this vehicle is around $ 735.00, complete.
I’m requesting billing adjustment/credit back on credit card around $ 365 account for the over charge labor/parts.
Information for ***’s Auto, Mr. ***
Vehicle Inspection Old Parts for replacement - I and opinions of two Toyota parts Sr. Mech. Service Center for spec. data requirements parts replacement, and Mech. N. Highlands shop.
1) Timing belt – 70% Good, Did Not Need to Replace,
2) A/C & Alternator Belt - 75% Warn, Replace with New
3) Power Steering Belt – 70% Good, Did Not Need To Replace
4) Thermostat, Conduction Good Did Not Need To Replace
Ps. ***’s Auto Tech - I'm doing this for four old customer (This Year) of ***'s Auto Tech request my opinion on ***'s Auto Tech fair & resemble cost & repair @ ***'s Auto, so I took my son school car, 1999 Toyota Camry  L4 2.2L 2164CC to ***'s Auto Tech for service.  Please note I have only use ***'s Auto service for minor trams. Oil & coolant and oil change, no major work.

Business Response: A goodwill check of $365 will be sent to Mr. ***** this week.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

8/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The shop said it would be a good idea to replace my car battery. They called me later to say that the battery and installation would cost $440. I called the Toyota dealer and they quoted me a price of $222 for the same battery and installation. When I picked up the car, I complained about the mark-up in price (over $200 more than the dealership charged). The owner of the shop, ***, said I was paying for the "convenience". He said most people in the Land Park area don't care what they pay for auto service, as long as it's convenient in the neighborhood! I don't think fleecing your neighbors is really that honest.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a refund of $200.

Business Response: ****** is the shop service adviser who spoke with ***** during the duration of her vehicle's possession in the shop. Before calling the customer, the technician working on her vehicle let ****** know that there was a lot of stuff in the trunk area, impeding the technician from accessing the vehicle's battery - making it necessary to add extra labor time to the battery repair. ****** called ***** at 10:16 am 8/15/2014 to inform her of the state of the vehicle's battery and at that time told her the cost of the repair, $439.95 plus tax. ***** was perplexed at the cost, and after ****** explained to her the need of a specific type battery needed for her vehicle, she agreed to have the repair done. Also, the technician took time to drive to dealer to pick up battery from dealer. The cost given to the customer covered all parts of service. This is how the shop arrived at the price for which ***** authorized shop to proceed with repair. From this point forward, we did not receive any word from ***** other than ****** contacting her around 2:30 pm on 8/15/2014 to let her know her vehicle was done and ready for pick-up. It was about 3:40 when ***** arrived at the shop to retrieve her vehicle. She told *** that she called the parts department only, not the service department, at the dealer to receive a price quote for a battery replacement. The price quote she received from the dealer was given without any knowledge of the stuff that was in the trunk of the vehicle, blocking access to the battery. She price shopped after authorizing battery replacement and did not call shop to stop progress of repair to inform ****** and technician to hold off. We did not feel that this was fair but offered to give her a discount at our expense, but she refused the gesture. *** then offered to remove the new battery and install the old battery back into the vehicle for a full refund back to the customer at that time, to show the customer that the shop was willing to do something to help her out. This gesture was also declined by *****. This customer was a first time customer and did not allow us a fair chance to make amends do anything. She just paid the cost, thanked us, and left. Her request for a $200 refund is unreasonable because to give her $200 back will be like us performing the job for free.