BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Tracy Automotive Center LLC

Phone: (209) 833-6928 Fax: (209) 833-7944 4160 Commercial Dr Ste D, Tracy, CA 95304 http://www.facebook.com/pages/Tracy-Automotive-Center-LLC/185712581451183?sk=wall

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tracy Automotive Center LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tracy Automotive Center LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tracy Automotive Center LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 19, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated: 01/10/2006 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Angel Lustina, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Angel Lustina, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a coolant leak and left there $1700.00 with a major oil leak that they will not fix. We brought our 2003 Land Rover with 67,000 mi for a small coolant leak. We left there with a major oil leak and over a $1200.00 in repairs and the day we picked it up the check engine light was on and a puddle of oil underneath. ***** said we had a 90 day warranty and we brought back 3 times and each time we had to pay more money and still a major oil leak. He refuses to fix the leak and said thank you for your money.

Desired Settlement: I want all of my money back, since now I have to take it to a seperate mechanic before the motor is ruined. My driveway has turned into an oil puddle. I do have a copy of all reciepts in my possesion.

Business Response: I will provide the dates and repairs that were worked on the 2003 Landrover

Discovery LIC plate *******. VIN *****************.


01-17-2013 - 03 Landrover has (63,413) - Services: Oil and Filter Change, Cooling System Service ($80.61)


09-11-2013- 03 Landrover has (67,669) - Customer wants Coolant leak fixed-
Services: Remove and Replace Thermostat w/housing, Serpentine belt, and Oil and Filter Change ($337.23) no check engine lights were on.
*Recommended customer to fix Valve cover gasket and intake manifold gasket due to oil leak.


10-11-2013- 03 Landrover has (68,201)- Customer returns to get oil leaked fix as we suggested from last service- Service: Remove and replace intake manifold gasket, lower and upper intake gaskets and Valve cover gaskets both sides of engine.
($671.23)


10-21-13 - 03 Landrover has (68,338)- Customer returns stating still an oil leak and now complaining about various Check engine lights are now on (which were not on from repair of gaskets). Hairline oil leak coming from intake manifold gasket from defective intake manifold gasket we replaced. We order a new gasket removed defective and replaced (No Charge)
This is now a new oil leak from under which customer is stating. The intake manifold and valve cover gasket is no longer leaking and dry as we fixed that from previous repair (10-11-2013). One check engine light out of a couple relating to O2 senor, we replaced it with NO LABOR charge. Customer only paid for part ($171.39)

We suggested the customer to go to another shop because we did not have the proper scanning tools for the 2003 Landrover Discovery to diagnose the other codes from check engine light.

Total spent our shop from 4 visits
$1,260.46


We have verified repair for coolant leak and the problem was fixed. We saw oil leak from valve cover gasket and intake manifold gasket. Customer gave ok to fix. The owner came back complaining about the oil leak, we checked gaskets we replaced we saw a hairline of oil leak from intake manifold gasket from defective gasket so we replaced it with another new gasket no charge and also replaced one o2 sensor relating to check engine light. Customer comes back again complains still oil leak but it is no longer coming from the gaskets we replaced. It is now a new oil leak that was not there before. We have done the repairs as we stated in our work orders above. As owner found new issues with car which were not there during time of repairs, kept bringing it back to us saying we did not fix it. Customer also came back saying check engine lights are on which we're not there during time of repairs and complained it was our fault. We have done the repairs and fixed the issues as stated in work order. When new issues came up with the landrover after all work has been completed customer came back and complained that it was our fault. We did state that there is a 90-day warranty for the work we have done to the car. We stand by that warranty and we fixed the gasket that we replaced for a second time. No more coolant leak and no more oil leak from valve cover gasket and intake manifold gasket which we suggested and fixed. As the new codes came up we fixed one which was the o2 sensor, as for the other codes we could not get the exact code because we do not carry the scanner for Landrover so we suggested going to the Landrover dealership or another shop to get exact codes verified.

I understand that Mr. ****** frustration with the whole thing, but i am a certified professional mechanic running an honest shop. I am not trying to rip off anybody.

Consumer Response: Where to start? My truck is currently being fixed at different certified auto mechanic not an auto parts changer. After my truck was transferred to the new shop, I got a phone call from the shop and asked if the motor had caught fire due to fresh fire retardent that was evident in the motor compartment (pictures taken). I said "No" not while in my care. They said there is new electrical tape on some burned wires with retardent in the tape. Also my reciepts show that the front 2 o2 sensors for $171.39 were replaced and now the response only shows one replaced for the that large amount. Also the new shop looked up the parts (o2 sensors) and I was told that the cost of $171.39 was extremly high and that the cost of the labor was built in to the cost and not a no charge as stated by the so called honest shop. This truck only came in with a coolant leak and never had an oil leak until they tore into the gaskets. The check engine lights continued to come on after Tracy Automotive tore into the gaskets and my wife was told to drive it and the lights would eventually go out. This is a typical mechanic taking an advantage of a woman. I have since come in contact with another customer of Tracy Automotive who has experinced the same problems. IF he was a certified professional mechanic and never had the correct scanner, how did he ever know what to replace?? It was only when I asked his mechanic (**) to write all the codes down for me which I took a photo of, so for ***** to say they didn't have the proper scanner, he is Wrong! The truck only came in with a coolant leak and left with a major oil leak. I never stated that there was a new oil leak, it just never stopped leaking oil after the gasket repairs. There was only a difference of 137 mi between the lldays that it wasnt at the shop. I am currently building a timeline of photos, receipts and the current mechanic who has fixed the problem that was created by Tracy Automotive, and will pursue this case in court if I need to. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS SHOP AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE BBB TO INVESTIGATE THIS SHOP. BBB if you want copies of my receipts, photos and the new mechanic, feel free to contact me anytime.
Thank you.

Consumer Response: This response by Tracy Automotive absolutley doesn't address anything from my last response. In his first sentence now he is saying he replaced two sensors after already saying that he replaced one and charging me for two. The new mechanic even said it looks like only one has been replaced judging by the condition the O2 sensors are in for only 137 miles between taking it back to Tracy Automotive and to finally to my new mechanic. I have contacted Superior Auto(Superior was noted as were the parts came from in the previous reply by Tracy Automotive) Parts and have obtained a detailed report of all o2 sensors available for the Land Rover and none of the 25 they have available list for $140.95 each. They also said they never charge a list price, however they do show list prices, but always charge a discounted price, which I can forward to you if you would like(BBB)? I have instructed the new mechanic to keep a detailed log including pictures and parts that have been sent to BBB already showing missing bolts, fire retardent, electrical tape on wires around the area of repairs from Tracy Automotive which were never noted in any work orders on any one of the times we picked up the truck. He also stated(*****) that the check engine light was never on at the time of pickup, which in fact I have pictures showing it on at the time of pickup, which have been sent to BBB. The LIES have started from day 1 and continue. Everytime we brought it back in after the work to the gaskets was to fix the oil leak that was never there or never noted on any outbound workorder. And when we did is when we got charged for something else and still left with an oil leak. The oil leak that became present after the intake manifold gasket change was the only thing we wanted stopped. WE NEVER HAD AN OIL LEAK EVER!! IT was brought in for a coolant leak and never in any workorder does there state there was a oil leak that needs to be addressed, even after bringing it in countless times does any workorder say the leak has been fixed. I have never been put into this type of situation before, but I am completely confident in going forward and will not stop until I get my money back from Tracy Automotive. I belive in getting paid for a job well done or even done satisfactory. But I do not belive in getting ripped off or sit by and let this happen to someone else.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like to reject the offer of Arbitration for complaint ID *******.
Thank you,
But I am pursuing this matter in a different direction. I don't want to waste any more your time or mine. I wouldn't have contacted the Better Business Bureau about this but I was mislead about the BBB and what it was about. So again, sorry for the trouble and thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1