This business is not BBB accredited.

Standard Auto Care

Phone: (916) 924-8040 View Additional Phone Numbers 2240 Colfax St, Sacramento, CA 95815 http://www.standardautocare.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Standard Auto Care include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Standard Auto Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Standard Auto Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 12/26/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 249402.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Hipp, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Hipp, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Standard Auto Care provides a full range of general auto repair. Standard Auto Care will also pick up your vehicle and provide you with a loaner vehicle as well.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2240 Colfax St

    Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 273-4909

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2002 saturn, L300 series with 85,000 in to Standard Auto Care on May 6th because of a check engine light problem, idling, and surging problem. I received a call from *** who is ***'s office assistant and was told it would cost me $283 for a computer diagnosis and maintenance check on car's computer system. I stated that would be fine. But I asked him very specificially with that check would you be able to tell me what is wrong with my car and his answer was yes. picked the car up on may 8th and was told by *** that it is still surging but he think the problem is the exhaust system which he wrote me a estimate of $169. I told him no. I had paid him $1339.00 for his work. I took my car to Goodyear saturday 8th they installed a Map Sensor and EGR Sensor, My car runs perfectly. I paid them $404, I am asking *** for a refund because He incorrectly diagnosed my car.

Desired Settlement: I drove my Car to ******** may 8th and car was diagnosed and found that the Map Sensor and EGR Sensor were bad. Repairs were made by ******** and my car runs perfectly. I am asking for a refund of $404 the amount I paid to ******** for Repairing my car. I paid a total of $1339.00 but Standard Auto Care did not repair my car. I sent the shop a letter but received no response.

Business Response:

I've included a copy of Mr. *******'s original repair order #*****. As you can see we found multiple problems and addressed them individually. Mr. ******* claims that we missed the MAP sensor. As you can see at the bottom of the invoice under heading "Recommendations" we advised him to replace the MAP sensor also. Mr. ******* is lying about that. He claimed that he ran out of money and actually wrote me a postdated check for a small portion of his bill. I have provided a copy of the check. Compare the date to the date of repair on RO #*****. I have provided a copy of  the estimate I gave him for the MAP sensor. His initial diagnostic estimate was quoted to diagnose the fires set of codes, not the second set from RO #*****
 
He brought his car back again on 5/9/14 repair order #***** with a check engine light on again and had a new set of trouble codes present. I have documented those also with an explanation of what may be happening. He claimed Goodyear only found two of the codes but here they are. Documented!
 
He also claims that he wrote me a letter and that I did not respond. Again he is lying. I have provided a copy of the letter I sent him.
 
Mr. ******* had multiple problems fixed on his car and declined the repair he is accusing us of missing. He also lied to us about being out of money. Hence the Goodyear spending. A lack of integrity is what I call that.
 
It is a shame that customers will lie and cheat to try to get something for free. We have a good reputation for being highly skilled and our customer service is impeccable.
 
Feel free to contact me if you have any further questions
 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:    I  paid $1338 to Car Care Centers to repair my car.   They charged me for parts they replaced but failed to diagnose the real problem.   I took my car back twice and car was running the same.  I am asking for Car Care Center to refund the amount of $404 that I paid to Goodyear for repairing my car.


But if Car Care Centers do not refund the $404, my next move it to take the matter to Small Claims court to let a Judge decide.  I did not mind paying the money to have my car repaired but I wanted it done correctly.   They charged me a huge amount but the car was not repaired.

Business Response: On the original repair order we recommended the exact part (MAP sensor) that was replaced by Goodyear and recommended testing to confirm the EGR problem. Mr. ******* declined further repairs at that time due to lack of funds. He then went to Goodyear and paid for the same repair that we recommended and he denied. 

 
We therefore refuse to pay for those repairs on the grounds that his his demands are unreasonable. 
 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  I am going to take this problem to Small Claims Court.   This way the Judge will decide the merits of this case.   Car Care Center is refusing to refund the money I paid to Goodyear for repairing my automobile.   $1338 the money I paid  was ample enough to repair my car.  But they stated it would cost me an extra $169 to further diagnose my car.   So at this time I will be taking my Complaint to Small Claims

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car in to be diagnosed on 06/07/2013. Mechanic found that the Idle Control Motor had burned out which caused the Electronic Control Module (ECM) to burn out. A couple weeks later the Service Engine Soon Light came on, but went off after a few days so I didn't think much of it. The car slowly over the remaining few months started to drive bad. I would press on the accelerator and the tachometer would rev up but the car wouldn't go. I finally took it to the Infiniti dealership on 02/03/2014. They found that the Mass Air Flow sensor needed to be replaced and a further issue of the incorrect ECM had been installed in my vehicle. They explained to me that there are two different ECM's for the vehicle. One with a Traction Control System (TCS) and one without. The ECM that was installed by Standard Auto Care was equipped with TCS, but my vehicle does not have that option. Infiniti replaced the ECM with the correct part.I then went to Standard Auto Care about the fact that they installed the wrong part. The owner and a mechanic then told me that there is only one ECM for the vehicle and you simply re-flash it to work with the car, and that multiple other companies like Dodge and Ford are this way. They told me that Infiniti lied to me to up-sell an unnecessary part. Which I verified by looking on-line at three different sites that for my make and model and years before and later they all have two options; ECM's with TCS and ECM's without TCS. The owner then went on to say that I didn't give his shop the chance to check it out and that it was under their warranty still. To which I explained that the part I requested they get when they supplied my options, was a used part, and used parts and customer provided parts are not covered under their warranty. I then went on to explain that I as a consumer are not required to come back and give them a chance if I feel they did an inadequate job initially and I needed a second opinion. The owner finished the conversation repeating the fact that it was under warranty, I didn't give them a chance to look at it, Infiniti was wrong, and that Standard Auto Care would not refund my money.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $819.60: Labor- $226.00 Part- $312.50 which I have to give back. Reflash of ECM- $175.00 Towing charge to dealership- $65.00 Taxes- $41.10

4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was misdiagnosed, paid over $4k for repairs, my vehicle still does not work and Standard Auto Care will not fix it. On Oct X XXXX, I had my 2006 Nissan Altima towed to Standard Auto Care for diagnosis. I was told by ******, the owner, that my vehicle had a blown head gasket and 2 catalytic converters that needed to be replaced....all told over $4,000 of repairs. I decided to have the repairs done and finance the repair cost, as this is my only vehicle. I picked up my vehicle on Oct 25. On approx Oct 29,the oil light and check engine light came on in my vehicle. I put in approx 3 quarts of oil...the oil light off, but the check engine light remained on. On Oct 30 i called Standard Auto Care and returned the vehicle to them. ******, the owner, told me that I now had a piston ring/ rod issue that they had no way of knowing about, and that my engine would have to be rebuilt. He told me to check the oil often, and had a techician reset the check engine light. On November 1st, while driving on Interstate 80, my vehicle started to make a knocking sound and stopped. I was stranded on the side of the freeway, and was charged over $200 to have my vehicle towed to my home. I didn't even have my car for a week and it was broken down again. All told, after paying over $4,000 for repairs and over $200 in towing fees, I am still left without a car. I either want my car repaired or I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: It's not fair or right that I trusted Standard Auto Care with my vehicle repairs, payed over $4000 for repairs, and not have a properly running vehicle. They need to make things right. I should not have to pay any more money to have my vehicle repaired.....and if they cannot repair it properly I demand my money back, as well as towing fees so that I can afford to have my vehicle repaired somewhere else.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** has indicated that we misdiagnosed his car. The diagnosis that we initially performed was completely accurate and showed that the engine had a blown head gasket and a clogged exhaust due to catalytic converter overheating. The only way to cause this type of damage is to continuously drive a car that is running poorly. I submit that this constitutes neglect on Mr. ****** part. After informing him that we could remove the heads and inspect for further damage Mr. ****** agreed to proceed. Upon inspection we found no further evidence of damage that was visible and recommended reassembly. Unfortunately Mr. ****** had repeatedly overheated the engine and caused the piston rings to lose thier temper. This is not visible upon inspection and is always a risk when repairing head gasket problems due to overheating. The engine began to consume oil due to poor piston ring seating. At that time we recommended not driving the vehicle any further. And we made some recommendations to possibly slow the consumption of oil down. Mr. ****** ignored these recommendations and continued to drive the car as is untill it ran low on oil and developed an engine knock. This is when it broke down and Mr. ****** had the $200 tow. At that time when he called me I offered to arrange towing and have the car towed here for diagnosis but he declined and got his own towing. Since then he has asked us to tow the car here for inspection and then tow it back to his house which we paid for both times. Because Mr. ****** trusted us with his car we have offered to help him should he decide to continue repairs. This in no way constitutes an admission of guilt on our part. Mr. ****** needs to take responsibility for his actions regarding the irresponsible running of a car with known problems. We have offered to provide labor to install another engine if Mr. ****** would pay for the engine. This car has signs of long term neglect and we do not believe Mr. ****** is being fair in trying to shift all of the blame for his misfortune on our facility when most of the problems are due to negligent behavior on his part. Also I would like to mention that a good $1,000 of the work performed went towards the replacement of the catalytic converters which are still in good shape. It is the engine itself that has an internal problem.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The fact that ****** is now trying to blame me for the resulting engine problems after his shop performed repairs seems both desperate and disturbing. If a loose oil filter or drain plug or any other imaginary concoction that you think of caused the engine damage, how come you didn't identify those issues when the car was towed back to your shop? You had ample time to discover any issues of the sort....days went by before I heard from you regarding what could be done, and the only solution you had was for me to purchase a used engine that you would put in for me. Lets be real...I have no reason to cause any further damage to a car that I depend, that I'd already drained my bank account to fix? The fact is you refuse to stand by your shops faulty workmanship, your technicians misdiagnosed my vehicle, and now you are trying to cover it up.When i called you while still stranded on the side of the freeway after the breakdown, you made no such offer to have my vehicle towed to you facility.....only after it sat in front of my house for a few days did you email me offering to have it towed to your shop. Again, I'll list my offer of resolution for this matter. 1.I want a refund for half of the labor cost charged for my vehicles repair. 2.I want the remaining balance that I am still paying for in monthly payments waived. 3. I want a refund for the over charge of spark plugs. The NGK plugs that were installed on my vehicle retail at $7.99 per plug (that was the highest price I could find). I'll round up to $10 per plug for your mark up, which leaves a delta of approx $80 that I request to refunded. I complaint has been filed with the Department of Auto Repairs regarding this matter. I request a response by December 17 with your offer of resolution. I will not accept your offer of free labor for a engine installation....why would I ever trust your shop with my vehicle again?

Business' Final Response
I'm concerned about who changed the oil after it left our shop and whether there was a mistake made that could have caused the internal engine damage that is now present. Such as a loose oil filter or drain plug. Or not filling the oil correctly. It is very uncommon to develope an engine knock and usually results from lack of oil. The vehicle was shown to be consuming and leaking oil on a previous visit. The fact that the customer refused to allow us to have the car towed to our facility when he broke down raises suspicion that he was trying to cover something up. It's highly possible and probable that he ran it low on oil and caused engine damage. Then brought it home and topped off the oil before allowing us to tow it to our facility for inspection in the hope that he would not be held responsible for neglect which has been apperent so far based on the condition of the vehicle. I don't understand what he means by giving him a credit for the balace owed on the repairs. And as far as parts pricing goes we installed very expensive Iridium spark plugs in the engine and they are priced at aprroximately $1.00 over suggested list each. These are 100,000 mile rated spark plugs. We are very suspicious of the events that led to this engine damage but have aggreed to share the expence of replacing the engine if the customer wished to do so. We are not willing to submit cash refunds in liew of the circumstances.

9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repaired on 07/30/12 less than hour later car stops. I took car in for engine light on with lean codes to see why?, was told that my Mass airflow sensor was clogged and needed to replaced(9:40am)and told that they were going to oder replacement part. several hours later was afterwords that to to replace the fuel pump in the future.The part (mafsensor) that he installed and that he did a fuel service by cleaning by the fuel injectors. In less than 1 after leaving the shop my car stop on me, called the shop and was told that a tow truck will be sent. After a 2 hours no truck i called tow company to cancell. The next morning arrived at the shop , told that it's my battery,emailed the next dday my car was still having a problem even aftr i purchased the new battery the problem stilled presisted but this time I got stranded , called again on 08/07/2012 at 10:45 a.m. after being stranded forabout 1 hour in w.sacramento I called owner told a tow truck would pick up ,told owner that groceries were in the car and that I would bring in on friday for problem. Called the owner back at about 12:45 pm told that I needed to get my to the shop because it wouldn't start this time at all.Told to leave car there with key under the driver seat,the tow truck arrived to take car. Recieved a phone call from ****** at the shop at 4:21 p.m. telling me that my car was there also he thinks it was something other than the work he did on my car but he hadn't did a diagnosistic on it yet sometime in the morning he would but he's quite sure it had nothing to do w/repairs. He also asked was this the same thing that's been happening since I left their shop on 7/30/12, I said yes , he said I told you that your battery was badd!! I said it never had a problem starting up before well !told will recieved a phone call sometime tommorrow about what he finds.I will not be paying for anything else at that shop because he charge me for a MAF(reman) at the price of $258 and the core price ,because every else I called the maf sensor (new) at the dealership didn't cost that much and I beleive you over charged for that part. I figured for $682.33 my shouldn't have problem receiving power to start my car even with a new battery, paid for with a GE care card.

Desired Settlement: My car fixed back because I never had any problems with the starting up until I took it there to be repaired.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** service manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@standardautocare.com As I stated before we have confirmed that there is a problem with the car's factory security system and this in no way is related to replacing the mass air flow sensor. I'm sorry that you were not happy with our service but we're glad that you were able to restablise contact with a repair shop that you feel comfortable with. Good luck with getting your car repaired.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was never combative and the security light was on the first time I brought my car in for repairs. Everytime I've came in he kept saying it was my battery and only when I told him that was a lie and showed him the receipt then he went in and change his records.My car has been repaired by a professional shop since I purchased it!! He told me that I was a problem when after I picked my car up and said that I didn't need an oil change or a fuel treatment because it had just had one two weeks before on fruitridge;Trust issues didn't happened until I told him that what ever they did to clear the codes didn't take right and that price of the part(MAF) only costed $99.00 plus the core but he charge me $258 plus the core. AQnd no way was I ever rude or anything to him or anyone in that shop; First his mechanics war searching my car for paper work and I told him that that's not what I came here for,second I only agreed to a MAF sensor but they did a so called fuel treatment and charge me for that,then only after I produced an reciept he began to have trust problem with me only after I left his shop less than an hour my car stopped When I tool the car there my engine didn't have all greasy or oily stuff upon the base board of my car nor my motor. He only showed me four codes that was in the history of my car!! He went back and change the paper work in his computer several times after I said something or called him on some of his descriptencies. I believe that what ever he says you are going to beleive but I never raised my voice above a normal tone all the while in dealing with him. The security light has been on for several months and I have never had a problem with my ever starting or stopping since I purchased this car , and I told him that when I first entered his shop. When I picked up my car he wanted to change the paper work and told krystal not to give me the paper because he wanted make corrections first in which I brought in a witness to make sure; just like the day the work was performed in which he left the shop to court,he tried to tell me my car was on a battery charger but was a lie because I could see my car from the front desk window and he said OH! I thought it was. I told him that where I purchased my battery from said that wasn't nothing wrong with the battery but he kept saying it was so I allowed him to think what ever he wanted until I showed him and then he said that my battery must be low! this man has lied from the first day I stepped into his shop!! Never was ever I distruptive or anything more than polite to him and his bempployees even sitting there all day from 9 am til 4:30 pm on the day of repairs!! I choose never to step in to his business ever again nor allow him to work on my car, will be going back to the previous shop that I've been a coustomer at for the last 4 years.I never complained or gripe about anything with this man but ever I discussed with other people didn't have anything to do with him. His staff called me first to tell me that it was my ignition and the my starter so what I'm I suppose to think? or who to trust when everyone there is telling me something different.