BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sierra Hart Auto Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sierra Hart Auto Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sierra Hart Auto Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 21, 1994 Business started: 08/13/1988 Business started locally: 08/13/1988 Business incorporated: 06/01/1988 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick A. Hart, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick A. Hart, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Repossession Service Towing - Automotive

Alternate Business Names
Sierra Hart Inc. Sierra Hart Recovery Sierra Hart Towing
Products & Services

Sierra Hart Auto Center is a full service auto maintenance and repair center.


Additional Locations

  • 1050 Triangle Court

    West Sacramento, CA 95605 (916) 371-8027 (916) 371-8028 (916) 447-8080 (916) 780-1448

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 371-8027(Phone)
  • (916) 371-8028(Phone)
  • (916) 447-8080(Phone)
  • (916) 780-1448(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company towed my vehicle after being involved in an accident since they were contracted with ********** **** ****** **********. After putting a 30 day hold on the vehicle I was told that I could either pay $1695 to get the vehicle out or $800 to sell them my vehicle to auction off. 2 years after I had paid them $800 to keep my vehicle and auction it off, a collection shows up on my credit report for $1695. They are money hungry theives. Please look into this company.

Desired Settlement: Letter of Apology

Business Response: Please find attached a letter that was sent to the customer today. A call was also placed to the customer formally apologizing and to let her know that the letter was in the mail.

 
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.
 
Thank you,
 
**** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my card was towed from 12th & e st by request of sacramento police department to the sierra hart towing on 600 sunbeam ave not even a mile away on fri 3/21/14 approx. 10:00 pm I was unable to locate my vehicle until that following mon 3/24/14 about 1:30pm due to the report not being filled properly by the police I was giving the information after I called the area tow companies and located the car on my own. At sierra tow I went to the agency talked to a rep and was given more information about why my car was towed I as I talked to the rep I was informed of the current cost $420 at that point on Monday 3/24/14 I also informed him I was unable to retrieve the car until after 12:00pm tues he then told me the fee will be an additional $50 I said ok all together im looking at $470 so tues 3/25/14 when I come to retrieve the car I was informed I was an additional $70 because the put a lien on the car the lady told me after 72 hr they put a lien on the car ( I think they was try to keep it )I ended up paying the tow company $590 I don't think they should charge for storage until the car is in there possession for 24hrs other wise your paying for tow and storage at the same time and why is the tow $270what is the rate to tow a car in general if the state agencies are not open on the weekend why are counting those days as part of your 72 hrs lien sale why didn't I get that packet if I paid for it. I feel ripped offand placed in a situation between the spd and the tow company were they get paid what ever they feel and I just have to deal with it . between the two agencies I paid $720 to get my car back for a weekend I chose to take a cab rather then drink and drive. (my car was parked and a crime happen near the car that caused it to be part of a investigation that why it was towed)

Desired Settlement: I understand that it was towed due to police activities(non criminal on my part) but I don't feel I should pay for lien sale, nor should I have to pay for tow & storage in the same day at the rate of $270+50= $320 unless the car is kept for 24hrs. if you retrieve your car that day you should not have to pay unless it is after 5:00pm for the whole day.I want my $120 refunded back towed fri after 5:00 just tow feesat: storage fee 50 a day sun: storage fee Mon: storage feetues: before 5:00pm

Business Response:

On 3/21/14 at 10:05 pm we were dispatched by Sacramento Police Department to pick up a Jaguar from 12th Street and E street in Sacramento CA for 22651 ( 0 ) Expired Registration.  Even though this location is 1 mile away from our shop,  our rates are from the time we are dispatched which is when we get the phone call. Per agreement with the Sacramento Police Department, we have 20 minutes to arrive to the location. We drove to the location arriving at 10:20 pm. Upon arrival we had to unlock the vehicle for the investigator and sit and wait while the police investigators searched the entire vehicle looking for evidence.  We then loaded the vehicle onto our truck with no keys at 10:50pm. The vehicle was towed it to our storage yard at 600 Sunbeam.  After arriving at our location we have to unlock our office, roll up our door and unload the vehicle. Unloading the vehicle was not easy considering it was in park and we did not have the keys. All labor work and paper work was completed at11:35pm.  Please note that the time does not stop until AFTER the vehicle is dropped at our yard and all paperwork is done. This call took 1.5 hrs x $180 per hour making the tow and stand by time $270.00. Storage starts as soon as the vehicle is dropped into our yard. Owners have the 1st 24 hours on the clock for it to be considered 1 day of storage. After that first 24 hours passes it reverts to calendar days, so time does not come into play after that first 24hours; even if the car is stored for a single hour the following day.

 

It is not our fault that the customer was unable to retrieve this vehicle on Tuesday after 12:00. We have no control over when the police department files their reports and makes them available. No control over State agencies being closed on weekends and holidays. Although inconvenient to the customer, we have no control over the vehicle owner having to find the vehicle on their own.  This vehicle was towed due to a possible shooting. We were instructed by the Sacramento Police Department Investigator not to allow anyone into this vehicle to retrieve personal property. Furthermore, we were instructed to call them, the police department, if the registered owner showed up so they can get into the trunk of this vehicle. 

 

On Monday 3/24/14 when the registered owner called us the amount should have been of $470.00; $270 for the tow and 4 days at $50 day=$200 totaling $470. Also, to pick up this vehicle on Tues 3/25/14 as the registered owner requested from us should have been $50 more making the total $520.00; $270 for the tow and 5 days at $50 day=$250 totaling $520. If we include the correct charge of $35 to the 3/25/14 release the total should have been $555.

 

The charge for the Lien Sale is justified.  All vehicles in our possession for 72 hours must be liened. We were not trying to keep their vehicle or rip them off.

Civil Code 3074: Lien sale preparation Costs: No lien sale charge before 72 hours of storage for cars valued at $4000 or less: maximum charge for same day is $35.00 when printout has been requested, or $70 maximum when lien agent has mailed lien documents.

In this instance the registered owner should have only been charged $35.00 for the lien sale preparation. Making a refund of $35.00, not $120.00

 

Desired Settlement:

It is unfortunate that our representative did not convey to the registered owner the additional $70 fee for the Lien sale preparation to be started on Tuesday. Our regular dispatcher was off on this day and we had temporary staff filling in for her. Bottom line is that the $70 lien sale was not conveyed to the registered owner when the fees were quoted. When our regular dispatcher came in on Tuesday she performed all Lien sale preparation that should have been started.

 

Since the $70 fee was not conveyed to the customer, we will refund the full amount of the Lien sale preparation of $70 , waiving the appropriate $35 fee, to appease our customer. 

Making a refund of $70.00 not $120.00

 

 All other charges are correct.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
ill take the refund I tired of this legal grand theft auto anyways ( and I had a one day moving permit and it was removed before if got off work I couldn't even use the permit)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried contacting the manager with the promise of a call back every time regarding an issue with them. He refuse to return any of my calls. The company damaged my car while towing it, so I have tried contacting the manager multiple times through email and by phone and he completely refuses to return any of my calls. Every time the office assistant forwards me to his voicemail and states she doesnt know why he is not calling me back, or comes up with some other excuse of why he is busy.

Desired Settlement: A phone call back on the issue before I decide to escalate it to small claims.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We spoke with Mr. ***** when he picked up his car and told him there was no way that we could have done the damage he is referring to during the tow. The manager **** has left messages for Mr. ***** and has not heard back. If he would like to speak with **** he is more than welcome to call his cell phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The manager has not tried to contact me once. Just look how long it took to respond to the BBB complaint. Once again there is no answer from "****" as he refuses to answer my call. I have the company that painted my car willing to attest to the fact the car was just painted and I will be filing a lawsuit against Sierra Hart. Worst customer service I have ever experienced, and I will continue to file complaints elsewhere online.

Business' Final Response
If Mr. ***** has any information he would like to send directly to me he can email it to ****@sierrahart.net **** will be in the hospital for the unforeseen future, so if he needs to speak to someone he can call me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX but please understand that at this point I have been told by a 25 year veteran in the tow industry that there is no way that the damage Mr. ***** is claiming could have been done by my driver however, I will be glad to listen to his side of the story and look at any documentation he would like to provide. **** A. **** XXX-XXX-XXXX

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sierra ****** damaged the engine on my 03 Ranger pickup, failed to adequately repair it; cheated me on unnecessary and unauthorized parts See Attached March 30, I had what I thought was a leaking water pump my 03 Ranger Pickup 7CXXXXX and I had it towed into Sierra ****** Auto center for repair but it turned out to be a leaking head gasket? Invoice ROXXXXX. Apparently, in the process of removing old gasket material off the intake manifold to pull the heads, the gasket debris was left in the engine and it clogged the engine oil screen pickup in the pan. Oil pressure was lost several times as they tried to trouble shoot the problem from what I was told by Mike who called himself the shop foreman. Mike tried to sell me a replacement short block before they discovered that they caused the problem Mike said they had to pull the engine to check the oil pump for the problem and that's when they found the gasket material completely restricting the oil screen. Mike also claimed they pulled one main bearing cap and several rod bearing caps to check for bearing damage, but claimed they found none. This was insufficient inspection and they did not check the camshaft and lifter for damage and did not show any documentation on the bill and made no offer to warranty the short block for future problems. After paying, I was given the bill summary and found they had charged me with parts for correcting their screw up with the oil system, and also unauthorized parts replaced at my expense, including spark plugs, oil pressure switch, drive belt tensioner, torque converter nut, bolts, misc. etc., Sierra ****** also failed to return any old parts, even my old water pump which was still good. I also believe they ripped me off on what they claimed was a valve job on the cylinder heads; they would not show me an invoice in what was done at the machine shop. Further, Mike claimed I had a bad battery and replaced it with an inferior NAPA battery (someone there had turned on the dome light and left it on), at a cost to me of over $100. I bought a new battery at Costco, which they installed and gave my old 6 year old battery back. As it turned out, my old battery was weak but still good and I reinstalled it in my truck, I took the new one back to Costco for refund. They also caused an oil leak on the transmission pan when they pulled the engine After cheating me on the parts and labor and permanently damaging the engine and leaving the truck so unreliable; I only dare to drive it about 25 miles from my Sacramento home. I also lost use of the truck for several weeks because of their screw ups and paying for lawnmower service at my rental house in Rocklin. Sierra ****** did nothing after I filed a Bureau of Automotive Repair complaint except fix the transmission oil leak they caused when they pulled the engine to remove the engine oil pan I do not expect Sierra ****** to respond to my BBB complaint.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking 1. A replacement short block installed at reputable Ford dealer 2. Cash refund for overcharges on unnecessary parts and labor. 3. Payment for loss of use; including the future replacement of the short block & payment for damage to my original battery. I estimate my loss over $5000.00 and I reserve the right to amend my complaint as new information becomes available.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response Better Business Bureau NE California Division Re.: Case# XXXXXXXX Dear Sirs, I would like to address this matter in the order that the original complaint is written: 1. Let's start with this customers' first statement: "Sierra ****** damaged the engine on my 03 Ranger pickup, failed to adequately repair it; cheated me on unnecessary and unauthorized parts See Attached": a. This entire statement is FALSE. At this time there are no problems with his vehicle. He has stated this to the BAR, Bureau of Automotive Repair, and to my knowledge this has not changed. The customer also approved the dollar amount for the job but states he was not given, a detailed breakdown of the total amount at the time of his authorization. Mr. ****** also stated that he believed that, in his opinion, some of the parts were not necessary. Despite our disagreement with him in this regard, and our belief that customer service is the lifeblood of our company and our good name, we have offered a reimbursement for those parts which Mr. ****** felt were unnecessary. 2. This customer also states: "After paying, I was given the bill summary and found they had charged me with parts for correcting their screw up with the oil system": a. This statement is true. We did, in fact, mistakenly bill him for torque converter nuts. These nuts should not have been on his invoice. The total amount charged for the nuts was $2.18 which, again, we have offered to reimburse to Mr. ******. 3. Additional Statement: "Sierra ****** also failed to return any old parts, even my old water pump which was still good": a. Mr. ****** never asked for the old parts. Upon request we will always save old parts for our customers. We would have gladly saved the old parts for Mr. ****** had he asked. 4. Additional Statement: "I also believe they ripped me off on what they claimed was a valve job on the cylinder heads; they would not show me an invoice in what was done at the machine shop": a. Yet another FALSE statement by Mr. ******. He not only knows that this request has been satisfied, but he himself has actually spoken to the company that did the work. He also spoke to the BAR on this matter. I do not know why Mr. ****** would fabricate such a blatantly false statement. If he wanted an additional copy of the invoice, again, all he had to do was ask. 5. Additionally Quoted: "Further, Mike claimed I had a bad battery and replaced it with an inferior NAPA battery (someone there had turned on the dome light and left it on), at a cost to me of over $100. I bought a new battery at Costco, which they installed and gave my old 6 year old battery back. As it turned out, my old battery was weak but still good and I reinstalled it in my truck, I took the new one back to Costco for refund": a. This entire paragraph is confusing so let's clear it up. Sierra ****** did in fact replace the battery. However, Mr. ****** did not want the NAPA battery so we re-installed his 6 year old battery. He then buys a battery at Costco. He then returns it believing that his battery was just weak. b. If Mr. ****** truly believes his battery is "still good", then why in his resolution does he want Sierra ****** to purchase a new battery? I have to ask which is more plausible. The customers' six-year-old battery was not functioning properly, as originally diagnosed by Sierra ******, or that we somehow damaged the very battery he stated was fine after he left? Again his statements are confusing and contradictory to each other. 6. Further Stated: "They also caused an oil leak on the transmission pan when they pulled the engine": a. Again, we wholeheartedly disagreed with Mr. ******. But, in the spirit of customer service, we repaired this at no charge as we truly wanted to keep him happy. 7. Further Quoted: "After cheating me on the parts and labor and permanently damaging the engine and leaving the truck so unreliable; I only dare to drive it about 25 miles from my Sacramento home": a. Nobody cheated this customer. As far as anybody knows at this time, there is nothing wrong with his engine. 8. Final Statement: "Sierra ****** did nothing after I filed a Bureau of Automotive Repair complaint except fix the transmission oil leak they caused when they pulled the engine to remove the engine oil pan": a. Let me clearly state that we did not feel we damaged the transmission gasket. But yet again, in the spirit of customer service, and since the problem was just a leaking gasket, we made the repair for Mr. ******. b. The reason we did nothing further in regards to this statement is because there is no additional problem. We firmly believe that our offer of an extended warranty and reimbursement of the parts that Mr. ****** felt were not needed was more than fair. The BAR closed the case when Mr. ****** refused the offer. We at Sierra ****** believe that every reasonable effort has been made in an attempt keep this customer happy. We have, unfortunately, been unable to do this. At this time the customer is requesting us to pay $5000.00 for a new engine for his 2003 Ford Ranger. As far as we know, his vehicle runs great with no problems and the replacement of his six year old battery he states in his letter was just weak and works fine. Sierra ******, its managers, service writers and employees take customer service very seriously. This is evident by the many positive reviews posted on the web from some of our thousands of customers. We try and do the best job possible at a fair price. Sometimes mistakes are made and we address them, we are honest about what happens and we attempt to rectify and fix the problem in the name of fairness and customer service. We followed this standard with Mr. ****** and we are disappointed that he refused our offer to close and settle this dispute. Sincerely, ****** ****** President Sierra ****** Auto Center

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved