Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Precision Automotive

Phone: (209) 521-1651 Fax: (209) 521-8432 1203 Scenic Dr, Modesto, CA 95350

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Precision Automotive offers automotive repair services. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Precision Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Precision Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 1989 Business started: 07/15/1981 in CA Business incorporated 10/04/1983 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 156775.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Halsne, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Halsne, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Smog Inspection Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services - Oil & Lube Fuel Injection Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Halsne Enterprises, Inc.
Products & Services

Precision Automotive specializes in auto repair, brake & smog services.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 1203 Scenic Dr

    Modesto, CA 95350 (209) 521-1651


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



We brought our vehicle to you in the beginning of October 2013, we informed you we has just purchased it from a charity and driving it home. We noticed it was difficult to start, the engine was running rough and we wanted it tuned up. We requested that you perform a tune-up on the engine and check the radiator and brakes. We informed you that we travel to the desert quite often and could not have the vehicle overheating and leaving us stranded in the desert. You informed us you would need to do a diagnostic check to determine what exactly, if anything, was wrong. We authorized the diagnostic.

You then contacted us and told us the motor was a worn 360, not a 440 like we believed, and recommended we replace it with a manufactured engine. Marty authorized the remanufactured engine. You called him back a few days later and advised that you were having difficulty obtaining an engine from one company that you were going to another. You also told us whoever we bought the vehicle from must have cut the A/C unit, but that you could get us another one. You requested a deposit towards the work to be performed and on October 18, 2013 we paid $5,000.00. On November 5, 2013, we paid an additional sum of $3,500.00.

When the work was completed, we received a phone call advising us the unit was ready. On November 8, 2013, we came in, paid the balance owing $447.25 and took possession of our vehicle. We were not provided with any receipts or warranties for parts purchased, nor were we shown the worn/replaced parts as requested when we brought it in. We took the vehicle to ******* ***** in Vacaville in February, May, and June of 2014 for interior work.

The vehicle overheated on every trip. We have driven the motorhome less than 800 miles since we picked it up from you and the unit continued to overheat. As your invoice states, “Warranty on most parts is one year, labor is 90 days or 4000 miles whichever comes first.” As it has been a year and a half since we picked up our vehicle from you, we located a mechanic closer to us, and asked him to check out the unit and determine what was causing the continued overheating. We were informed our radiator was shot. It was not a new radiator and further, that due to the constant overheating, we blew a head gasket.

It was suggested we replace the radiator with a new radiator and to repair the heads. I provided a copy of your invoice to the mechanic, as I believe this work had already been done. I trusted you to do the work you charged me for and argued with the mechanic that the radiator was indeed new. We authorized the work and were called into the shop two days later. You cannot imagine my shock when we were told not only was the radiator shot, but the engine was not a ****** Remanufactured 360 long block, as your invoice states. Still I believe you would have not cheated us like that. Apparently you did.

I am now sure that I bought back my own AC unit for $400.00. Therefore, I am requesting a refund of fees in the total sum of $7,081.52. Your own invoice shows a radiator was never removed nor installed in my vehicle. Before you tell me, I am incorrect about the engine, I was in your shop on July 24, 2015, requesting a copy of the invoice for the engine and warranty paperwork.

The gentleman in the office told me you didn’t have any. He looked at the invoice and stated “****** engines are generally a 100,000 mile warranty”. I asked how you determine warrantability if there is no paperwork and was further told, “we go by the date on the invoice that we installed the engine and the mileage at that time” I couldn’t believe it. I thanked your staff for their time and left.

I returned home and called ****** and was informed they have no records of selling your company a gas engine during the time you had possession of my vehicle.

Please refund the sum of $7,081.52 within 35 days of the date of this letter. Should you choose not to refund our money, we will be forced to seek legal consultation. Respectfully, ***** ** *******

Desired Settlement: Please refund the sum of $7,081.52 within 35 days of the date of this letter. Should you choose not to refund our money, we will be forced to seek legal consultation.

Business Response: Company states: 

We had to ship the core. We told them we had another source called ******* ****. They have been around since the 50’s. I have the receipt from him for the engine. They said we did not put the new radiator in. I have the receipts for that. There was never any complaints since I got this letter from them. They never brought the car and never said that they had an issue. We never talked to them. Yet they said they took all these trips and everytime it overheats. Why did not they not take it to us. I have been in 44 years. 10/22/2013 is when we got the engine. The date on that invoice is 10/31/13 from ****************

Consumer Response:

Invoice Number: *******

I contacted Precision on two (2) separate occasions and was told both times, by two different employees that there were no receipts. Now, receipts exist? I have not seen them, (and, yes, I understand they do not have to show them to me), however, when one request to see the old parts, pays over $8,000.00 for repairs, and places a $5,000.00 deposit when requested, I don't believe providing copies of receipts is too much to ask for. Then again, I never saw the old parts either.

Regardless, the work on my vehicle was not completed as stated. I do NOT have a re manufactured long block. Nor did they install a new radiator or water pump in my vehicle. Although the work was not done, they did not hesitate to charge me for these items.

Precision knows this, as do I.


******** *******

Business Response: Company states: I have included the invoices and work orders which show the radiator and water pump and everything else. The consumer never contacted us directly about their issues with the problems. 

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing in regards to my recent dealings with precision automotive. I was referred by several different repair shops who could not work on my vehicles carburetor in order for it to pass smog. I provided them with a written list of things that needed to be fixed in order for my van to pass smog. I was given a quote of $1,121.24., which I approved and agreed to. The day I paid the balance and picked up my van I was told my van had passed smog and that is was in good enough condition to go anywhere I wanted to. I specifically remember a remark about my van's engine being almost restored to new. Within half a mile from the shop I noticed my van was surging and I called the office and was told to bring my van back in to the shop. They were very busy and it was almost 5 pm. So I was told to bring my van back the next day. One of the workers drove my van around the block and parked it and then gave me a paper stating I needed a new carburetor and quoted a price of $705.41. for work that they listed was included in the 1,321.24 estimate. I started to complaint and the owners offered to drop the price from 705.41 to $570.00 I declined-When I returned to the shop with my male companion the owner offered to drop the price again from $570.-- to $241.00 it was then that I know I had been scammed and declined his services to fix what he should have already fixed. I am very dissatisfied and this experience has lead me here.

Desired Settlement: I'd appreciate it if this be investigated. In hopes that I be acknowledged and fairly compensated for my loss. If catalytic converter is bad the carburetor should have looked at and worked on at the same time! I need help!

Business Response: The customer came in for smog system repairs that had failed at another shop. Checked system and found base timing was incorrect. Reinstalled pcv vacuum hose, reconnected TAC hot air tube system. Replaced plugged air filter and pcv valve. Found ignition wires were crossed at #4 and #8 cylinders. Had a bad surge at idle caused by a defective egr valve. Repaired the fuel evaporative system for a leak. Found catalyst was defective due to poor running conditions and replaced catalyst. Adjusted carburetor best possible due to internal wear and was able to get mixture within specifications. After repairs and smog test were complete, we found the carburetor has internal wear and offered to repair the carburetor at a discounted price. Customer refused additional repairs at that time.