Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas

Phone: (209) 523-4706 Fax: (209) 571-8412 3833 N McHenry Ave, Modesto, CA 95356 http://3833nmchenryavenue.midassacramento.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from Midas


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 23, 1997 Business started: 05/07/2010 Business started locally: 05/07/2010 Business incorporated 05/07/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 262220.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Moya, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Moya, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Tire Repair Auto Services - Oil & Lube Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Dadio & Co., Inc
Additional Information

BBB REPORT

THIS REPORT HAS BEEN OBTAINED FROM SOURCES DEEMED TO BE RELIABLE. iT IS NOT TO BE USED FOR SALES OR PROMOTIONAL PURPOSES.

AUTO REPAIR TIPS

Is your car in need of the services of a repair shop or are you planning a road trip? If you are not knowledgable about automobiles, the BBB has a few suggestions which may help you to protect yourself against being taken advantage of by unscrupulous auto repair operators, both at home and on the road.
Spend some time finding a good repair facility before you need one. Ask the local BBB for a member list of companies offering these services. Ask your friends and family for a recommendation.
If your car begins to make new noises or is not operating normally, don't hope the problem will go away be itself. Take your car into the shop to be checked out while it's still running. If you are suspicious about a diagnosis, you will still have time to take your car elsewhere. If there is anything you do not understand on the work order, ask for an explanation. Consumers should also ask what the total cost of the repairs will be and if there will be any charge for an estimate. If the problem appears to be the engine or a transmission problem, a diagnosis charge is to be expected. If you wish to have your old parts returned to you, let the garage know BEFORE THEY START WORK.
Make your own list of the symptoms you are experiencing, but let the repair facility make the actual diagnosis. Once a repair order is written and signed by the consumer, that order becomes your authorization to have the garage make the repairs or adjustments listed, regarless of cost unless you specify otherwise. Be sure to read and UNDERSTAND everything you are required to do to qualify for and maintain any guarantees or warranties on the parts or labor. Ask for clarification and written verication of anything you do not understand, or which is stated verbally.
If you are getting ready for a road trip, make sure that your car is in good working order, and that your tires are sound, and all fluid levels are topped off.
The BBB suggests that you also check with the BBB of Automotive Repair at 800-952-5210 to determine the current licencing status of the company before authorizing any work to be done.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Midas Modesto is all about making money every chance they get, they tried to rip me off for over $700 just to replace my break pads and clean the rotors on my 2007 Honda Civic, something that only cost me at another business just down the street $187, and since I did not take up their offer they ripped me off for over $70 for an oil change, I have the receipt. They are constantly over charging and ripping people off for simple repairs. You can go on google.com and look up the reviews, I am not the only one with this complaint. This business needs to be looked into. This is in no way right! This business is a scam and completely taking advantage of people on a daily basis!

Desired Settlement: I request a full refund of my oil change from 15Dec2014 and for this company to be inspected and given a fail for any inspection or awards for the next year. I would be happy if this business would shut down completely or have whole new ownership right away! I am a retired Navy Veteran of 6 years, I am ashamed of a local business trying to take advantage of it's customers on a daily basis! They smile at your face while raping your wallet! THIS NEEDS TO BE DEALT WITH NOW PLEASE!

Business Response: BBB,
After being on hold for the last 22 minutes with regards to questions about how to send you all the information I have on this situation with ***** ********, I decided to send as much that would fit in the attachments. I hope it is enough to assure you that I take my business very seriously and in no way ever want to make customers feel that they get ripped off. Now on to the issues.
***** ******** came into the shop on 11/15/2014 requesting an oil change and a brake inspection. My CSR, ****** asked what type of problems she was having with the brakes and if they had been worked on recently. ***** responded that she is having to press on the brake pedal harder and having to use the parking brake just to get it to stop. Also she stated that her fathers mechanic had recently worked on them. We normally offer a free brake inspection except when we have to diagnose someone else's work as it takes longer to verify what has been done and if the correct parts were used or possible masking of other issues in the system. ****** explained that the oil change service was $29.99 plus tax and the brake inspection is $48.28. Those items were submitted by ***** ******** to you in the complaint.
I asked her before I test drove the vehicle what issues she was having. She explained that it is harder to stop the vehicle and she has to use the parking brake when stopping to ensure she stops in time. I test drove the vehicle and noticed slightly more pedal pressure required but also a pulsation from the rear drums during stopping (because she was overheating the drums from excessive use of the parking brake while driving). The brake evaluation revealed that the front pads were worn, both front caliper boots were torn (scan0019JPG). According to the MAP Guidelines (Motorist Assurance Program) which we prescribe to, the calipers are a required replacement (scan0021JPG & scan0022JPG).
We then wrote an estimate for required replacement of the brake pads, calipers, and resurfacing the rear brake drums. The suggested items were to replace the disc hardware and resurface the front brake rotors. The customer declined the work and apparently had the work done for $187.00. I can assure you that the other shop did not catch the torn caliper boots and they probably do not have an approved brake inspection or process. A copy of the final invoice, last page only is on (scan0024JPG).
In review of the complaint and accusations ***** is making, I don't think she fully understood ****** when she explained the reason for the cost of the brake inspection even though she authorized the work. In further thought, I would be concerned what shop is doing substandard work. Overselling is a terrible situation that no just business owner should ever want. Underselling is ignorance!
If you have any other questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me.
Thank you
**** ****

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a break job done here and the owner was really rude and disrespectful. I figured ok I will just ignore his rudness. This man left the bolts loose so my calipers could fall off. This was my wife's car I was having worked on and she drives our babies around.I wanted him not to work on my vehicle because he was really aggressive and rude but he told me that the car was already in the air and they already started. I told him ok but only do the front break. I took my business down the street to *********** where they finished all the work I needed done. The *** * mechanic told me that the bolts on my calipers were falling off and loose. I have in writing from the *** * mechanic saying this is true. I then went back to Midas and explained the problem and my concern and he told me to take my business somewhere else and not to return. I have never been treated like this before and the problem was if the bolt would've came all the way out of my break system and my wife and kids were in the car, there could've been lives lost.I explained all this to the owner at Midas but he did not care.

Desired Settlement: The owner had a helicoil bolt put into my caliper that wasn't needed. He charged me 100.00 for this little bolt. This is the critical bolt that was left loose. *** * replaced it with the right bolt it needed. For putting my wife and kids life in danger I feel like I need to be paid for this un-needed bolt. 100.00. I have the receipt and paperwork.

Business Response: I called and left a message with **** ********* voice mail. I offered the $100.00 charge back as the heli-coil was not successful in holding the caliper bolt in place. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I would never recommend anyone to go here. The owner is nice but his manager is very disrespectful and rude.